RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Decopedia Volume 1
Publisher: Felbrigg Herriot
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2015 23:01:17

A collection of interesting ideas. Written mostly in reference to the 3rd Imperium setting but easily used for other Traveller setting or even other science fiction settings/rules. Plus a price of $2.99 for 50 pages of actual content a great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decopedia Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2014 03:21:58

Another example of the game design theory of, "if I use enough f-bombs and try to be 'edgy' they won't notice how mediocre (at best) this module is."



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Otherverse America Campaign Setting
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2014 02:25:42

First off does the author know what editing and formating are? Because the "book" seems to show a complete lack of both. Secondly I had no idea it was even humanly possible to be this laughably ham fisted about a political message, farms around the world are missing their scare crows because this book has so many straw men in it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Otherverse America Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fat Cat Far Trader
Publisher: DB Game Design
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2014 18:02:05

While I grumbled about the original $12 price tag for this book at $6 It is a good value. I especially like the 2 page spread color cut away diagram. My only remaining complaint is that I thought it would be better if the NPCs included were and example of a crew for this ship that you might run into as allies or rivals.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Cat Far Trader
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2014 03:07:27

If you search the words "city guide" on drivethrurpg.com you can find everything in this guide that is even remotely useful from other people who can write in a coherent style.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HackMaster Basic (free)
Publisher: Kenzer & Company
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2013 14:22:07

Years ago this product came out with great fanfare, I bought a printed copy, and eagerly awaited the full product. THAT KENZER CO TOOK ALMOST 5 YEARS TO FINALLY RELEASE!!! NOW THEY GIVE THIS AWAY FOR FREE?! THANKS FOR TAKING MY MONEY AND THEN LAUGHING IN MY FACE BLACKBURN, THE JOKE ISN'T THE GAME IT'S YOUR PATHETIC RELEASE SCHEDULE. FOOL ME ONCE, AND THATS THE LAST KENZER CO PRODUCT I'LL EVER BUY.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
HackMaster Basic (free)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

System Book 2: Xibalba
Publisher: Spica Publishing
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2013 02:46:54

12 pages...no that counts the cover and open license so really it's 10 pages pages and $3.99 to basically say it's a spooky place were things go bump in the night, and no there is no actual explanation or reason for it. Oh sure there's some nice pictures, well 1 nice picture on the cover which they recycle again inside. Seriously unexplained sounds and lights, phantom voices you've seen it all before for less than $4. Spica dropped the ball here a lackluster phoned in performance.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
System Book 2: Xibalba
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
On page 10 there are 5 explanations listed. There are 6 other pieces of art, spread across pages 3, 4, 5 and 6. Art is one of the most expensive parts of producing an RPG title. It is difficult to offer both more and better art and also offer a low price point.
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2013 03:58:37
  1. Political dedications, seriously? Stephen Colbert, and John Stewart "speak truth to power" really they seem to speak agreement to power as long as it's somebody they like.
  2. Rolling low is good now. Huh? Why did decide to reverse one of the basic tenets of 3rd edition?
  3. A single new weapon system which is basically just the space version of a submarine wipes out interstellar civilization. Sure because remember how U-boats wiped out human civilization in Europe during the first World War.
  4. Science Check needed. The revolutionary new fuel source requires the elements platinum and osmium for all the full tanks and fuel lines. That's pricey stuff, imagine if your car's gas tank, fuel lines and engine needed to be made out of gold or else they would explode, ya that'll make it affordable right.
  5. Rules that make you go "huh?". Any damage to a person using a flamethrower has a chance to cause it to explode. So if I kick them in the shin...KABOOM!
  6. Feats had to be renamed because...?
  7. Sure the pictures are pretty but anybody can cut and paste stuff from the internet.


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Preview #1
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2013 19:41:30

It's a short story. Catalyst if all i cared about was stories I'd buy novels they're a lot cheaper. This gives me no clue if this will be a useful new edition. Or yet another slash and burn of the setting in order to obsolete all my old books in order to try and make me buy new ones.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Preview #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sector From Hell (beta test, 1st subsector)
Publisher: Spellbook Software and Games
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2012 01:55:21

If your idea of hell is painfull boredom than this is the product for you. It is nothing but generic world stats and absolutley has nothing in it about demons, vampires etc. If this is what Spellbook Software and Games thinks passes for a gaming product it will surely be their first and last.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Sector From Hell (beta test, 1st subsector)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
First pass at a beta product. First update has gone up and there will be weekly updates.
Amethyst: Renaissance (FREE PREVIEW)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2012 01:50:57

I really would like to say something good about this game, but I can't. Why? The preview tells you nothing, it's 30 pages of fluff pure and simple just fiction and some discussion of the reasoning behind the setting. Which I find spurious at best, for example magic supposedly suppresses the normal laws of physics so your digital wristwatch will cease to function then shouldn't you keel over dead when your nervous system that depends on the same laws to transmit electrical impulses stops? Even though the text states that human beings are a naturally evolved non-magical species? Now bad setting I can and have ignored in the past but a total lack of examples for the game mechanics? Nope sorry deal breaker there fellas, not gambling my money away on a risk that big.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Amethyst: Renaissance (FREE PREVIEW)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
In response, we have increased the free preview from 30 pages to 91, including more information on the setting and an introduction to weapons. I hope this helps.
Denizens II: Biaxial System
Publisher: K Studio
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2011 23:10:45

Pros: Great artwork

Cons: Not much actual information on the planetary system Way to much space devoted to deckplans for a single spacestation (20+ pages!)

Conclusions: More text less art especially uninteresting overdetailling art for a price of $14



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Denizens II:  Biaxial System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starquest: The Last Flight Of MS-TK3000--Adventure C4
Publisher: New Dimension Games
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2009 00:37:17

Quite possiblly the worst adventure I have ever paid money for. I was expecting a sort of dungeon crawl in space, simple right explore this old wreck and uncover it's secrets and dangers. WRONG. There is no cohesion to any of the encouters and no overarching plot, basically it can be summed up as "you find a derlict spaceship and a bunch of weird stuff happens". Oh and as a final annoyance no map or diagram of the ship. Lastley in a vain attempt at humor there is a Mystery Science Theatre 3000 reference joke (a lame one at that) in the post adventure epilouge. PLEASE save your money and buy something else!! This adventure is so bad that being hit in the head and shot into space would be preferable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Starquest: The Last Flight Of MS-TK3000--Adventure C4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG