RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Mazes & Perils RPG $0.00
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 7
2 2
0 1
0 1
0 4
Mazes & Perils RPG
Click to view
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Francois B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2014 13:50:04
Looks like a standard 0e/1e port, fast reading gave no indication of much change. Rather bland presentation.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Tomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2014 09:43:32
Too many things are left to DM's discretion. It might speed up the whole "story making" process but it creates room for pointless arguing.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Dennis Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2013 07:44:43
It looks and reads like someone's drunk version of a late 1970's fantasy RPG. With Labyrinth Lord, Swords and Wizardry, OSRIC, etc. on the market is there any reason for this? No, there is not.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2013 17:34:04
Mazes & Perils is a nice homage to the Holmes Basic D&D set of years past. The game compliments the original Holmes set as great additional material for those who wish to take their game beyond the low level cap of the original game. Art work is a bit sparse and a bit too cartoonish for my tastes, but with a free price point I can easily over-look this. There are a lot of retro-clones on the market, but none that integrate with the Holmes set so well. I would encourage in any future revisions to possibly make the game a bit more newb friendly... I think with its simplistic mechanical approach this game could be a great gateway drug for someone trying to introduce another gamer to the OSR style of play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by ash m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2013 08:45:12
As an old school gamer who just recently got back into RPG gaming I thoroughly enjoyed discovering this product. It will definitely appeal to D&D 1E players but is also simple enough for a novice RPG'er to pick up, enjoy, and not feel overwhelmed by rules. Even if this product were not free it would be bargain for the amount of fun you can have with your gaming group. Thanks for making it available and can't wait to start a campaign!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Eleazar C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2013 17:20:54
Just was curious to download to check it out since it was nominated. It looks pretty cool! It's pretty basic so someone who is new to this kind of game can easily pick it up and play it. Has the whole DnD feel without being overwhelming.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 12:24:55
NOTE: This is an updated review.

A while back I wrote a review for Mazes & Perils, a 2012 Holmes-Basic Retro-clone from Vincent Florio.

http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2012/09/review-mazes-peri-
ls-2012.html

The 3rd printing/edition is now out (or rather it has been out for a bit) and I promised then I would re-review it.

This new version is cleaned up considerably and it does look like it has been rewritten. It is still free and the idea here (I think) is to provide a means to play "D&D Basic" or provide a common ruleset to allow people to create Basic-era compatible works. As a goal, that is a pretty solid one really. At 61 pages it is also really tight and it is also free.

I do want to address some of the issues that plagued the previous editions, but only as a means to talk about the improvements on this edition.
Like I said, the text has largely been rewritten. It now reads less like someone with a copy of Holmes Basic on their lap, but instead someone that played Holmes Basic for years and scribbled what they could from memory. The game now goes to 12th level, which is a good place to go to be honest. Yes, it is only 3 more levels than the previous version, but those are three levels that really make a difference in terms of end game play. Have a look of Adventurer Conquer King to see the same logic at work.

There are only the four basic classes (Cleric, Fighting Man, Magic-User, Thief) and the four basic races (Human, Elf, Dwarf Halfling).

I want to restate the things I did like about the previous versions. Obviously the name of the game is a nod to John Eric Holmes' book "The Maze of Peril" and I can respect that. If you are going to do a Holmes' homage or pastiche then that is a perfect name really. Clearly the author has done his research.

Others have complained about the art. I rather like it to be honest. The cover is very cool and the interior is no worse than what you would have seen in Holmes. In fact I was under the impression that the art was exactly what the author wanted. "Good" or "Bad" is subjective. To me it is perfect for this book.

What does this book do? OR What is it good for?
Well if you do want a simple game to give you the feel of D&D Basic, then it works well.
If you want an EASY book to create your own "Basic Era" products then it is also a good choice.
If you want a game with lots of options, then maybe Basic Fantasy, Labyrinth Lord, ACKS or even D&D Basic/Expert will work better.

This newer version is cleaned up and is certainly an improvement over the previous versions.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Angela W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2013 12:06:51
Not very well done. Only looked at it because of the podcasts. Waste of my time.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2012 21:54:38
I have the original 1st edition AD&D and D&D. Why would I need this. It's a poor copy.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
This is based off and inspired by the Holmes Edition of D&D. This was done so people can enjoy those rules since it is not being sold and copies are hard to come by. Please learn to read before making a misleading review.
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2012 23:58:52
This is a good solid retroclone. The ideas here are from the Holmes edition & are much tighter. This is no nonsense game. The layout is crisp & the are work very much in the old school tradition. The whole thing reads very well & works in a very tight way making combat a breeze. Very nice edition to the retroclone community. The author knows his D&D very well. Great product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Sheryl B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2012 19:09:08
Much better! I downloaded this like a year ago, and the layout was rough on the eyes, but then I got an email the other day and it said it was updated. So I downloaded it and to my surprise, it was done well. The format is very nice, as well as the new surprise of 3 more levels! I was happy to see this change and happy Vincent Florio fixed what was wrong. I hope others see this and download it again for a review.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Oliver O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2012 10:06:51
This game was not written well.

I had expected to have a retro-nostalgic experience of delving into an early version of D&D updated to make it relevant to the modern reader. The writing is extremely amateurish, making me wonder if the author had completed grade school, or if English were his second language.

As for the concepts and mechanics, it is too married to all of the "bad stuff" we have moved beyond. Instead of a nostalgic experience, it felt like a stifling, frustrating penning-in of creativity and free thinking.

For example, this system still imposes rules setting level limits for certain races depending on what class they take. Fighters are referred to as "Fighting Men". Elves can still do everything, and are pretty much better than everyone else. This game does little to add to or improve the existing body of work. It gets hung up on stupid gaming cliches in the most unoriginal, derivative way possible. It not only re-invents the wheel, but re-invents the bad, dysfunctional model that we all know doesn't work.

Did I mention the writing is eye-splittingly aweful?

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your review. This book has been corrected and a new layout and error free is on the way. To answer your statements, this book is not a clone, its a RPG inspired by Holmes Edition. Fighters are referred to as Fighting Men, to keep in spirit with the Holmes style. Apparently you are not an old school gamer, as all the old school books had level limits. If you want unlimited levels and your fighting men called warriors or fighters, then please look into what most of us avoid, called Fourth Edition.
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Brynjar B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2012 18:28:07
Excellent product. I don't game much anymore, but what I do know, is what a game I would love to play looks and reads like. And this is it. The rules are simple enough, the WGP-team has put an awful lot of love and effort into this to make it feel like it is THE thing. Even down to the choice of font they've used throughout the PDF, you instantly get this "old school" feel. The rules themselves are light enough to pick up in a matter mayhaps 30 minutes, yet offers a flexibility that seems to have been completely forgotten and/or ignored, in later editions.

My only gripe with Mazes and Perils, is that each individaul chapter isn't marked very clearly, neither is there anything to mark the "Games Master Section" which would likely leave me to use a LOT of post-it markers to find what I want/need a bit quicker. I would give this 4.5 stars out of 5, but I'm not allowed to give a half star, and I feel that my personal gripe doesn't justify pulling off a full star. Therefore, 5/5 for Mazes&Perils from the Wild Games Productions.

Get it&Play It. Otherwise, you'll Regret it ;)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by John T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2012 21:14:48
So I saw a bunch of things about this on the web, and I decided to check it out myself to see what its all about. After downloading it and first opening it up. I have to say I was impressed with the cover, the artwork reminded me kind of as if I was back in the early '80s. I would say '70s, but I vaguely remember if anything was really in color then. Flipping through the first couple of pages, I saw a that this looked like it was inspired by the late Dr Holmes edited D&D title from the late '70s. I quick pulled out my Holmes book and looked it over compared to this one. First thing I notice, was that there was additional notes and things added to help GM's and players. Also I noticed that the levels in this book went up to level 9. So I quickly deducted this was not a copy, it was a "What if Clone" as in what if Dr Holmes was able to write further with his book. Next thing I noticed it was written very well, and it was easy to understand, unlike the Holmes book, while awesome in its own right, but if you picked it up and never played, you'd be confused a bit. Mazes, gets right into character creation steps very quickly so there is no questions at all. The last thing I loved about this book is the layout. Its very old style feeling, as if it was made back then. I've been a magazine layout editor for a while now, and this person did a good job of capturing the feel of the old, paper on the typewriter feel.

To wrap this up, if you enjoy Holmes D&D then you will LOVE this "What if" clone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by dwayne w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2012 21:46:06
Awesome!!! Finally, a clone of one of the most overlooked but also most fun "editions" of d&d.. Holmes. The rules are put onto paper in an easy to understand, simple way, much like the game itself. Unlike the original however, you do not need to use the od&d rules to go past 3rd level. Mr Florio has extended the tables out to 9th level, for more adventuring. The interior artwork by Mr. Halstorm is great, he is definately a talented artist. If you want to play a simple, fun, elegant game, pick this up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG