RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Blue Razor 5 Page Background
Publisher: The Knotty-Works
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/07/2018 15:27:43

Needed a cool background for a project and this one is just perfect. Can't argue with the price either!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Razor 5 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Going Through Forbidden Otherworlds
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/22/2018 11:55:36

Going Through Forbidden Otherworlds, or GTFO (cute huh) is again a case of me getting something that is exactly what I need. While I am not going to play it as-is, there is a tweak mentioned in the book itself that works perfectly for me. In fact, a lot of this book works perfectly for me and my next set of adventures. I can't believe I am saying this, but I will turn up the gore factor in this Lamentations product for my needs.

Not a real fan of the art inside but I see why it works for this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Going Through Forbidden Otherworlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Premium Edition)
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:31:49

Fun while it lasted. This could have been a GREAT book for the MHR line. To bad it seemed to have died before it really got going.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Premium Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Premium Edition)
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:29:51

Fun while it lasted. This could have been a GREAT book for the MHR line. To bad it seemed to have died before it really got going.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Premium Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Essentials Edition)
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:29:36

Fun while it lasted. This could have been a GREAT book for the MHR line. To bad it seemed to have died before it really got going.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Essentials Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Female Witch with Serpent
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:13:19

Very interesting little witch with snake. Can't wait to find a good home for it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Female Witch with Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PFV: Fire Witch (Poster Sized Jpeg)
Publisher: Stainless Steel Dragon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:01:23

Well there is a woman here and there is some fire. But nothing really "witchy" about it.

Still I downloaded it and used it as my phone background for a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PFV: Fire Witch (Poster Sized Jpeg)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RIO DRACO: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 08:45:44

I don't play a lot of Wild West games (ok almost never) but I own a lof of Fat Dragon products and this one does not disapoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RIO DRACO: Base Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Companion Expansion
Publisher: Barrataria Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 08:43:07

The Companion Expansion by Barrataria Games didn't get the same level of hype as the B/X Companion, but it covers much of the same ground. I have not looked at them together to see how they cover similar topics, but they seem very compatible.

For new races there are gnomes and wild-wood (sylvan) elves, half-orcs, half-ogres and half-elves as race-classes. Wood elves share the same spell lists as do druids and gnomes share a list with Illusionists and bards. All for the B/X system

It also has a Bard, Druid, and Illusionist Classes that are roughly equal with the AD&D versions. But the real feature of this book is the expanded spell list. If you are looking to extend your illusionist, druid or bards a bit more with more spells then this is a good way to do it.

While this book does not have the feel of the first Basic and Expert books, it does have a ton of useful information and all of it (well all but about 0.5%) is 100% OGL.

I consider this book a forgotten treasure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Companion Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monsterhearts
Publisher: Buried Without Ceremony
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:13:30

Avery Alder's Monsterhearts has been one of those games I that I have wanted to review and play some more ever since I first encountered the First Edition all the way back when I was introduced to it at Gen Con.

Monsterhearts is a game on what it like to play teenage monsters. Monsters as metaphors for teenage life and feeling a little outside the norm. I think it is something everyone can relate too I think. The system is an easy one, based on the Apocalypse World Engine, something else I have wanted to delve into further. The base mechanic is simple; 2d6 + whatever mods (depending on the game), get higher than 10 for a success, or a 7-9 for something weird.

Characters have playbooks (much like many PBA games) but they also have a "Sex Move" they can use on other characters. They are teens afterall.

Don't expect a lot of combat here or a detailed combat system, this is not "Supernatural", this is Buffy in the early seasons, Twilight, or Carmillia the Web Series.

I am giving 1st Edition a nudge up in the ratings because that is the edition I played at Gen Con and the woman running it did a hell of job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monsterhearts 2
Publisher: Buried Without Ceremony
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:12:21

Avery Alder's Monsterhearts has been one of those games I that I have wanted to review and play some more ever since I first encountered the First Edition all the way back when I was introduced to it at Gen Con.

Monsterhearts is a game on what it like to play teenage monsters. Monsters as metaphors for teenage life and feeling a little outside the norm. I think it is something everyone can relate too I think. The system is an easy one, based on the Apocalypse World Engine, something else I have wanted to delve into further. The base mechanic is simple; 2d6 + whatever mods (depending on the game), get higher than 10 for a success, or a 7-9 for something weird.

Characters have playbooks (much like many PBA games) but they also have a "Sex Move" they can use on other characters. They are teens afterall.

Don't expect a lot of combat here or a detailed combat system, this is not "Supernatural", this is Buffy in the early seasons, Twilight, or Carmillia the Web Series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Boudicca
Publisher: AAM Markosia
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:00:00

150+ pages. A superb retelling of the legend of Boudica, the Queen of the Iceni Celtis in Roman Britian. This cleaves close to the legends we have all heard with the addition of some interesting (and some hated! [we are supposed to hate them]) characaters.

The art is fantastic and each character is carefully crafted.

For the history buff there are plenty of little "Easter Eggs". The "Bar Bar Bar!" was a favorite. I paid $4.00, but printed it would be worth a lot more.

If you are a fan of the story, the time or of Celtic Britain, then this is a must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Boudicca
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lazy GM: Undead and Other Fell Foes
Publisher: Creative Conclave
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 21:00:33

Nearly 100 pages of solid crunch for d20 3.x. No art. No fluff. Just a bunch of ready to go undead and other nasties.

The title may say Lazy GM, but a lot of work went into this title.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy GM: Undead and Other Fell Foes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Plants
Publisher: The Le Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 20:42:23

Great source book for Rangers, Druids and other herbalists.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
17 Plants
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Moebius Adventures Core Rules
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 21:29:55

A very interesting, if a bit crunchy, universal RPG system.

The game has a great character creation system and that really seems to be the gem of this book. The other sections; skills, combat, are also good and support the main system well. I have not played the game, but it feels like one that will take just a little used to at first. I can see this working great for the right group and even one that can really make it shine. There is a great game here, it will take the right group to find it.

The book itself is 140+ pages, black & white art. The book listed originally at $24.95 but is now Pay What You Want. I think this is actually a great plan for this book/game. Sell the core at a cheaper, or nearly free price, and sell the additional books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Moebius Adventures Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 909 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG