RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
13th Age: The Strangling Sea
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/23/2015 03:35:19

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This module for 13th Age clocks in at 44 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside front cover, 2 pages of editorial, 1 page ToC, 3 pages of advertisement, 1 page blank inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 34 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This was moved ahead in my review-queue due to me receiving a print copy in exchange for a critical, honest review.


We begin this module with a briefing and a selection of the icon patron for the PCs - and, let me state this from the beginning, this section is very detailed: Each of the patron icons and also, each of the antagonist icons you can choose to frame the narrative in, changes the subject matter in subtle ways - though arguably, I'd suggest involving the Dwarf King in some way - you'll note why when reading the module.


And this is the extent to which I can get regarding the module without delving into the SPOILERS. From here on out, only GMs should read on - seriously, even when playing another system, you may want to move on to the conclusion.


...


..


.


All right, so it should come as no surprise that in a highly magical setting like the Dragon Empire, there sooner or later emerges a genius. In the case of the 13th Age, this Leonardo DaVinci-style super-genius would be Inigo Sharpe. However, the brilliant man takes "problematic" to whole new levels. What do I mean by this? well, the man has made a living out of solving (partially) the issues of an Icon and then getting the hell away, leaving shambles and large bills. Yes, he is not a nice guy and while the concepts his inventions would have had for the respective icons are massive, none work as intended/are completed - instead, this brilliant man elected not to put even more power in the icon's hands.


This does not, however, change the fact that, at some point, Inigo had to jump ship time and again - and then, he vanished. At the behest of their patron icon, the PCs have to track down Sharpe..with the only good trail leading to Silver Cove and a burned former partner of Sharpe left to clean up one of his messes. Indeed, the mage Frigin's dome soon comes under siege by some hoodlums, showing the PCs that they are not the only ones on the hunt for Sharpe. The annoyed and frightened mage does have a means of tracking down Sharpe, though - a concealed, magical boat that always returns back to its port of origin, to be activated via a peculiar song.


Thus, the PCs board the vessel, sing...and on it goes. The magical boat brings them right into the ocean, to be more precise, to the eponymous strangling sea. This would be a tightly-interwoven mat of Sargasso, fungi, wrecks and worse, all clumped together to form a floating, unstable place. Navigating the strangling sea's less than reliable: One false step can see you crash through the ground and into the sea that's teeming with lethal predators...and then there would be the inhabitants: The strangling sea features a tribe of degenerate, xenophobic goblins on the verge of becoming something wholly different and these beings, with their psionics-inducing parasites are just one issue. The other factions contain a group of shipwrecked people and a huge metal box, which is an experimental dwarven ship of metal. Oh, and there are, obviously, deadly parasites and flesh-eating fungi to be found here as well in one of the most unique iterations of this trope I've seen in ages.


Finding Inigo here is hard - particularly, since neither the paranoid, hostile dwarves, nor the other factions prove to be friendly: The PC's arrival changes the strangling sea's power-dichotomy, with their boat being a grand prize to be wrestled from the PCs...and the desperation and paranoia of the locals makes sense. Why? Because the strangling sea houses a malevolent, chthonic intellect that drives its inhabitants into desperation, paranoia and even suicide. Yes, darker than you thought, hmm? The brilliant rules-representation of the Strangling Sea, though, is what makes it shine even more: Basically, the Strangling Sea gets a kind of evil relationship die that can further influence PCs in ways most unpleasant. I expected the neat rules for swimming under the sea - I did not expect this awesomeness.


Better yet, the fully mapped sea (player-friendly, just fyi) retains the modularity promised by the set-up: You see, Inigo can be freely placed...and there's a reason for this. The PCs won't simply find the eccentric inventor - unless they are smart: You see, Inigo's "death" was not just perfectly faked...he kind of died. However, he downloaded his personality and mind into a steampunky replacement body...of which only the head remains. So yeah, the goal here is to escape the strangling sea alive, sanity mostly intact, with a severed and still very conscious (and talkative...and extremely abrasive) head of a century's genius... whether their ship is stolen or not, whether they reactivate the massive dwarven ship or not - one way or another, the PCs can hopefully return - to a final encounter that amounts to rugby/American football with Inigo's head. And yes, this encounter, like each and every one in this book, has several cool, unique factors that make it more unique.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, i noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to 13th Age's printer-friendly, elegant 2-column b/w-standard. The original b/w-artworks are copious and nice and the strangling sea's map is neat. The electronic version is fully bookmarked for your convenience. The softcover version comes on glossy, thick high-quality paper.


All right, let's cut this short: GET THIS! This is the 13th Age introduction-module you always wanted: Beyond the absolutely awesome location, the icon-related customization options and the story, this awesome sandbox offers unique, cool encounters galore. Even if you're not playing 13th Age, the creative and well-written module practically demands to be converted into other systems: Robin D. Laws has executed a firework of high-concept awesomeness in these pages that render this a joy to read and the playing experience actually surpasses this still.


The unique use of 13th Age's rules and the diverse selection of foes and scenarios render this sandbox one thing: Superb. If I had one complaint, it would be that I would have loved the module to be longer, for there to be even more madness and time in the Strangling Sea...so yeah. I literally couldn't get enough of this. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval and a must-own recommendation for any fan of 13th Age.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
13th Age: The Strangling Sea
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tomb Raiders
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/23/2015 03:31:08

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The second of Legendary Games' Mummy's Mask plug-ins clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 pages editorial, 1 page hot-to-use, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 27 pages of content detailing the exploits of Lara Cro...wait, I'm just kidding!


The most interesting component of the Mummy's Mask AP, beyond the focus on a kind of archeology-like theme, is the competition between teams of explorers, at least to me - alas, NPC-groups of rivals take a lot of space to properly portray...and it is here this book comes in. What we have here is an array of competing adventurer groups, ready to really sour the day of the PCs, with the first being Eskelpian Acquisitions (Unltd). Led by the alchemist Alermo Eskelpian, plus rogue, brawler and sorceror, this group is interesting in that it works like a slightly more professional murder-hobo group: They try to get the material and then get the hell out - preferably sans bloodshed, but if it can't be helped... Beyond that, their reliance on combat-drugs adds an interesting exploitable twist to the team. One thing you'll note right from the get-go here is that the team has its character-dynamics and methodology explained in lavish detail, a courtesy that not only makes the group more memorable, but also helps the GM properly portray them and their methods - and yes, this level of detail is provided for all groups.


The second group would be the Nazir family, united by their blood-ties: With several means of getting dupes...ehem, I mean "allies" to do their dirty work, a cultivated semblance of wealth, rogue, barbarian, sorceror and tracker make for a group tailor-made to fool others and get out - and the barbarian btw. has a new, unique rage power. One note to mention here pertains to the sometimes rather hilarious quotes also provided for the respective characters: When Jaul Nazir begins a tirade on how the desert is alive...only to nonchalantly exclude the guy they just killed from the diatribe, you'll be smirking.


The Third group, the Twilight Four, also have an intriguing angle: Their relationship is, first of all, strictly professional and not based on sentimental concepts such as friendship: Instead, the daemon-spawn tiefling witch, brawler, skald and bladebound magus are mostly driven on by the agenda of the magus' blade, Nightshard, which sports a hunger for esoteric lore of all kinds. Ranging from CR 5 -8, they are also some of the more competent competitors after the previous low level groups. The skald's statblock does sport a very minor hiccup in the formatting of his hyperlinks, but nothing to truly fuss about.


As you may note, there's a trend going on here, from shady down the alignment axis - and if the name was not ample clue, guess what - the Court of Slaughter is not a nice group. They are pretty much the opposite, consisting of a vampire cleric separatist, a mummified sniper stygian slayer, a skeletal champion boodrager and a good bard archivist - yes, these undead menaces are as deadly as you'd think and pitting their combined force against the PCs will make the players loathe these CR 12 - 9 villains even more.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to the gorgeous, beautiful 2-column full-color standard of Mummy's Mask plug-ins and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience and with the well-made, unobtrusive hyperlinks that actually work and help. Beyond what may be one of the most beautiful layouts among the diverse array LG uses, the aesthetics-department has done a great job here: Each of the adventurer-groups gets their own 1-page full-color depiction, all of which adhere to the high level of quality you see on the cover. This is a beautiful book indeed.


It is also a pretty long book: Not only are the 4 teams of tomb raiders distinct in methodology, flavor and challenge, each of the characters contained therein has roleplaying potential galore and is memorable in some way - there is literally no filler NPC in here. Better yet, the mechanics supplement the characters well - from the combat-performance enhancing drugs to unique fighting styles, archetype-combos and classes used, the level of care and love that went into these NPCs is readily apparent. Jim Groves, Jonathan H. Keith, Benjamin Bruck and Mike Shel deliver a truly inspired supplement I wouldn't want to miss from Mummy's Mask games - and indeed, more so than in many AP-plug-ins, these characters can be used in just about every circumstance, thus rendering this book extremely useful even in contexts beyond the AP. My final verdict will hence clock in at unsurprising 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb Raiders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Baleful Sorcerer of Tsathag'kha
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/23/2015 03:25:38

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This free supplement clocks in at 6 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, so let's take a look!


We begin this pdf with a one-page introduction of the origin of the class. The baleful sorceror gets d6, may not wear armor and are proficient with daggers, short swords, sickles and scimitars. They may also use poison as a thief of the same level and may rebuke, command or destroy undead as a cleric of the same level. This sorceror learns one spell of a higher level every level, though more power can be gained via trafficking with dreaded Tsathag'Kha, putting that control in the GM's hands. The sorceror may also try to cast more potent magic than he can, requiring a save. If he fails, he takes the Constitution-drain of the magic himself and is whisked away by Tsathag'kha's servants to be looted and/or forced to sign a pact in blood.


This power obviously needs some balancing: Baleful Sorcerors of Tsathag'kha can never acquire a familiar, multi-class or be lawful/good. Upon death, his soul is forfeit and there is a 7% chance that the sorceror rises as a lich after dying. These guys do not require spellbooks. Aforementioned Constitution-drain either is equal to the spell-level or as noted in the spell's description, but these may be relegated to willing and unwilling targets, provided blood was drawn by the sorceror, and no more than 1 hour prior to the casting. Constitution recharges at 2 points per hour of uninterrupted rest, but characters below Con 3 must save to avoid systemic shock and subsequent death from the recovery.


The spell-list runs the gamut from magic detection (rolling a bunch of spells into one) to infernal conducts, blackish-purple tentacles, green, ichorous infernos and insta-kill at level 9. I wished the spells had more detailed casting/duration-infos, but ultimately can live with what's here.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a nice two-column b/w-standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. The pdf has a damn cool b/w-artwork in addition to the full color cover.


Venger As'Nas Satanis provides a solid, nice character kit here; by virtue of the rules being designed to work with several iterations of OSR-rules, the crunchy parts are a bit less precise than what I personally enjoy, but ultimately, the class works with a minimum wok required - and that is pretty impressive. Oh, and it is FREE. FREE is hard to beat indeed and hence, I will award full 5 stars + seal of approval in spite of this minor nitpick for this pdf - well worth the download!


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Baleful Sorcerer of Tsathag'kha
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Genius Guide to Variant Multiclassing Rules
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/23/2015 03:21:12

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This massive Genius Guide clocks in at 44 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page ToC, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 39 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Basically, each character in this system can choose a secondary class at 1st level and train in said class throughout the character's career without giving up levels. Instead of the feats gained at 3rd, 7th, 11th, 15th and 19th level, the respective character gains class features from the secondary class. If used in conjunction with regular multiclassing, the character may not multiclass into this secondary class.


All right, in order to make this quicker than usual, I'll break down what each secondary class offers by level - the first ability gained is linked to 3rd level, the second to 7th, and so on. This avoids me feeling like a redundant idiot and decreases the review's bloat factor. Got that? Great, so here are the secondary classes!


Barbarian: This fellow gets rage, then uncanny dodge and then a single rage power (for purposes of which you can choose, you are treated as 1/2 level barbarian, for purposes of effects full); 15th level nets DR 3/- and 19th greater rage. Bardic characters get bardic knowledge, then bardic performance (inspire courage & competence) at -4 character levels, versatile performance, then lore master as a 5th level bard and finally, dirge of doom and inspire greatness. Clerics need to choose a deity (with all associated restrictions) and get the cleric's spontaneous casting - but here, we have an issue: A cleric can "use [this] with any prepared casting classes that have the appropriate spells on their spell lists. I assume this refers to cleric spells being on their spell-lists, but I'm not sure; additionally, when spells on another class's spell-list are a higher level than on the cleric's spell-list, does the conversion of them into healing equivalents pertain in potency to the spell's spell level on the cleric's spell-list or to the spell level on the other class's spell list? 3rd level nets a domain (including 1st level domain power; then, we get channel energy at -6 levels for 1+Cha-mod times per day (which improves to level - 4 and -2 respectively at 11th and 19th level) and 15th level nets the additional domain power.


Druids get druidic as a language and must abide by the code, then get wild empathy, at 7th level a companion at level -4 (11th level: full level), 15th level nets wild shape and 19th level extends the wild shape's options to 6th level druid options. The latter could be phrased more precisely, since the base wild shape is not as precise, but that's a nitpick. Can companions stacked upon another?


Fighters get the ultimate short end of the stick here - bravery and then armor and weapons training. Oh, yes, let me give up half of my feats for that. Monks get unarmed strike at -2 levels, evasion, then ki pool at -2 levels with 1/2 level points, then +3 AC and improved evasion. Paladins must abide by their code, then get detect evil and thereafter, lay on hands, 1/2 level times per day, at level -4. 11th level nets Smite Evil, then we get one mercy and finally, divine bond at level - 3. Antipaladins work, fyi, like the inverse...and don't get a Cruelty but a mercy in a slightly confusing glitch. Rangers get track, then favored enemy, then favored terrain; both woodland stride and swift tracker at 15th level and at 19th level quarry; Woodland stride and swift tracker are gained pretty late here, though I get why. Rogues get trapfinding, then sneak attack (scales every 4 levels), then evasion, at 15th level uncanny dodge (Yay?) and then improved uncanny dodge. Sorcs begin play with a chosen bloodline, but no effects - the first bloodline power is gained at 3rd level, the second at 7th. 11th level nets Eschew Material or a bloodline feat and the last bloodline powers are gained thereafter. Wizards choose a school and then gets a familiar; the chosen school power is gained at 7th level (sans capstone bonus at 20th level), 11th level provides cantrips and 15th level an arcane discovery; 19th level nets the 8th level school power. All sounds familiar? You'll see why in the conclusion...


So, that would be the core-classes and they probably have provided a good inkling of what to expect from this pdf - so from here on out, I'll provide a kind of highlight reel for the rest of the classes, which include the APG; UM, UC and the ACG. Cavaliers get the tactician class feature at 11th level, which seems like a pretty solid place for the ability - similarly, solo tactics fo the inqui is pretty well-placed. Gunslingers lack the grit to actually use the one deed they get, unless they choose a passive one - something btw. extending to the swashbuckler. Oracles are a bit restricted - their revelations have to be drawn from a limited list, which is problematic regarding future-proofing and campaigns using many resources. It's also odd that orisons are gained after revelations. The summoner's eidolon is gained at 7th level. Ninjas are identical to rogues, with the exception that they get poison sue instead of trapfinding - sooner than the alchemist, btw. Samurai get the very powerful resolve-ability at 11th level, which may be too soon. On the plus-side, the investigator's ability-dispersal here is pretty solid. Shamans get their spirit animals pretty soon.


Beyond the base-classes, the pdf also covers prestige classes. At 5th level, you may choose and thus lose the feats gained at 5th, 9th, 13th and 17th level, effectively locking you out of using variant prestige classes and dedicated variant multiclassing (see below) at the same time. EDIT: I'm always for transparency - one keen eye of a fellow Paizonian spotted me botching the previous sentence, with an annoying omission. This has been rectified. Mea Culpa and thanks for the catch!!


Conversely, these prestige variants still have (changed) prerequisites. Alas, things get confusing when spellcasting is thrown in, let's for example take the Eldritch Knight: "At 5th level, he gains new spells per day as if he had also gained a level in an arcane spellcasting class he belonged to before adding the prestige class." Why do I consider this confusing? Well, it makes perfect sense in the base PrC...hwoever, in this system, the character allegedly still belongs to the base class and gets the prestige components IN ADDITION, thus blurring the line between what class he belongs to regarding the gained level. This is further exacerbated by 13th level granting +2 levels of casting progression, which wrecks havoc with how the system works - the variant eldritch knight does not have the level penalty that would necessitate this ability in the first place. Similarly, shadowdancers can get Hide in Plain Sight as soon as 5th level, which is one level sooner than usual. The shadowdancer's darkvision also fails to specify its range - I assume the default, but there are some deviations from it, so yeah.


Okay, where things get pretty tight regarding the mental gymnastics you need to perform is with the dedicated multiclass character advancement - mainly because the explanation of what this system does is extremely lacking: "With this system, characters can give up additional feats to further advance in their secondary class. This system must be used with the variant multiclassing system. Many of the dedicated multiclass options grant the ability to cast spells as spell-like abilities a limited number of times per day. These spells must be selected when the ability is changed, but one spell can be swapped out (losing the ability to cast an existing spell and replacing it with a new spell of the same level) at every odd character level. The character’s caster level is equal to his total level/hit dice." Ohm, so what about classes that do not have more feats? What about those that have more, do they give up all of them? I have riddled my brain for 2 days now regarding how to interpret this and the table, which alternates "Secondary class feature" and "Dedicated secondary class feature" - I think I know how this works: Basically, you give up all feats, but get more class features of the class in question. Why the table notes them as separate entities sans explaining that is a bit beyond me. Think about it as the big brother to the previous system - you give up all feats, but also get more class abilities of the secondary class...though not necessarily sooner, with spell-casting usually working, as per the above, as SPs. Fighters add Weapon Specilization, Disruptive and Greater Weapon Specialization, but still maintain the sequence, when the base variant multiclass's abilities are gained. While the table's alternation is still unnecessarily confusing, the results are pretty decent, though the dedicated options obviously inherit some minor weaknesses from their non-dedicated counterparts - the poor gunslinger still doesn't get grit, for example.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are good, but not up to Rogue Genius Games' usual high standard - I noticed more glitches in here and in a book of this complexity, that hurts. The pdf adheres to RGG's no-frills two-column full-color layout (not the more beautiful, but also more ink/toner-consuming grimoire-style employed by other releases) and the pdf sports a couple of solid full-color artworks - which are beautiful. However, if you're fan of Legendary Games, you'll have seen almost all of the before in various books. The pdf comes fully bookmarked with nested bookmarks for your convenience.


I'll address the elephant in the room first: Yes, I am aware that this is essentially a variant and expansion of Pathfinder Unchained's variant multiclassing. While I'm not a fan of PFU's take on the subject matter, the deviations made in this book do feel justified - and the expansions are, for the most part, welcome. At the same time, I really wished this went one step beyond and balanced the respective variant multiclassing options better than in PFU. While there are some minor improvements in the wording of abilities and details, there are also some unnecessary cut-copy-paste errors here; and I really wished the pdf deviated significantly from the very flawed variant multiclass balancing of the material introduced in Pathfinder Unchained. Fighter and Rogue, for example, once again get the short end of the stick and the monk's benefits also are simply not that pronounced. What we have here, basically is erected on a flawed foundation. Granted, not one with crucial or crippling flaws, but still a foundation that could have used tweaks. What about e.g. archetype qualification via these rules?


I went into this book consciously NOT with PFU open right at my table and started picking this apart as per the my usual guidelines and what you see here is the result. This is by no means a bad book, mind you; in spite of its flaws, I consider it superior to Pathfinder Unchained's basic version and it does cover a broader spectrum, so it has that going for it. At the same time, this book left me feeling like it had squandered a chance to truly streamline and improve the system - a more precise balancing between classes and a slightly tighter explanation of how the dedicated system works would have made this a truly legendary tome. As written, it is a solid system that Jenny Jarzabski has crafted, but also a flawed one. My final verdict will hence clock in at 3 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Genius Guide to Variant Multiclassing Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A24: Return to Crypt of the Sun Lord
Publisher: AAW Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/20/2015 03:39:17

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This module clocks in at 41 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 37 pages of content, so let's take a look!


It feels like yesterday when I first reviewed a module that was flawed, but had promise: A1: Crypt of the Sun Lord. The short level 1-dungeon crawl introduced to PCs to a nice little complex and provided some pretty easy challenges...but it also introduced us to the fascinating frontier's village Rybalka, saw some improvement, and, more than that, it already exhibited what I consider the most crucial strength of AAW Games' modules: A mix of action and brain-teasers and, more importantly, an admirable ability to depict cultures that feel "real" - yes, they feel alien and fantastic, but a sense of realism and detail suffuses the best of AAW Games' works that can't help but draw one into the diverse world of Aventyr....though, back then, the world had no official name yet. ;)


Since then, the company has grown by leaps and bounds, so let's revisit the crypt of the sun lord and see what now can be found in the place where the PCs first hands on the mystical blade of the sun lord. It should btw. be noted that the blade of the sun lord, even when you have not played A01, will be found and gets full stats. Before you ask: Yes, this module works even better with groups that have run through A01, now to return here, though this is no requirement. But you may have already guessed that...


This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.


...


..


.


All right, still here? Great! The previously explored upper floor (with a graphically enhanced map) has seen better days - beyond bandits, a sense of dilapidation haunts these halls and thus, the PCs venture forth - and may find that a stair is not what it is supposed to be: The wards that keep a mimic in stair-form suspended in time are about to fall, thus adding a level of danger and eureka-effect to the exploration of groups that have braved A01 back in the day. In Ka'Teek's final resting place, the PCs can now unearth a secret door that leads from the muck-filled, crumbling tomb to the halls below - and here, you'll be blown away. No, really. The lower level not only sports one glorious full-color map, it also has a lavishly-detailed isometric version of the already beautiful map. And yes, the isometric map is full color and drop-dead-gorgeous. I'm talking about as detailed as back in Ravenloft, only in color! A key-less version of this one is provided as well, though I'd only hand out the respective rooms after the PCs have explored them - e.g. traps and the like can still be found on the isometric version's key-less one. Still, this map is gorgeous and greatly enhances the sense of immersion - not that the module required that, mind you.


What do I mean by this? Well, first of all, the exploration of the temple of the sun, hidden here in these depths, does sport bulettes that have dug into the temple...but the temple also has an ingenious intrusion-countermeasure: The very doors of the complex. You see, the exploration itself is an interesting puzzle, with doors preventing the opening of others while open: Some doors can only be opened while others are open and some can only be opened when others are closed. While the puzzle can potentially be brute-forced by capable PCs willing to spend time and resources, exploration with it intact proved to be much more rewarding. I mentioned, in the beginning, the strength, as a company, to create a blending of the fantastic and realistic and indeed: From paralytic flees to spikes of searing light, this oscillation is well-represented in the hazards of this complex. On a cultural note, a fountain of balance that provides boons, but also dishes out pain to those dishonest - and yes, there is a clear and interesting logic to this test of a creature's honesty, one that can be gleaned from experience and one that constitutes a great example of unobtrusive storytelling.


The temple also houses iron-pyrite clad guardian warriors and indeed, the interest of PCs and players and the understanding of the dynamics of the temple may prove to be helpful - for the challenges faced inside are nothing to scoff at: The respective combat encounters are interesting and dangerous with not a single boring one among them. PCs will thus be motivated to actually unearth the methodology of the temple's beliefs - if they understand it, they are rewarded.


Things become, at least in my opinion, even more interesting once the PCs manage to bypass the crysmals and breach the sanctuary - for here, the runes of the ancient people are provided as inscriptions that the players can decipher. I really liked this section, particularly since I can fluently read runes and since we have a pretty simple letter-substitution, so no, your players won't be flustered for a long time, even if they have no idea regarding the meaning of runes. Within the depths of the complex, a secret altar awaits, providing not only a glimpse into ages long past, but also offering perhaps one of the coolest boss fights I've read in a while: The blade of the sun lord can be used to conjure forth the spirit of Ka'Teek - when have you last fought an honorable LG spirit of an ancient priest-king with a blinding aura that also may yield you a better blade? Oh, and this is NOT the end - You see, the temple also hides Ka'Teek's suit, which is the only way to handle the true treasure herein: The Sliver of the Sun. Unprotected exposure to this artifact can lead to many very dangerous effects - and the table of these effects also constitutes a great scavenging ground for more lethal exposure to radiation and the like.


What does the sliver do? Well, it friggin' CHANGES THE CLIMATE. This may break a particularly nasty winter or make a summer truly devastating...and its weaponized use can carry whole campaigns on its own - the potential outcomes presented certainly suggest different ones and can be used by any GM worth his craft to make plentiful follow-up modules. In fact, this could easily be the story for a whole campaign, should you wish to go that route... And yes, if you don't want such a game-changer in your campaign, you can easily destroy the item in a cataclysmic blast...which coincidentally, with minor modification, would make for a compelling adventure in the plane of shadows...


Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no problematic segments. Layout adheres to a beautiful two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked with nested bookmarks for your convenience. The book offers a significant amount of gorgeous artwork and the cartography by Tommi Salama and Justin Andrew Mason deserve special mention: The maps are GORGEOUS. The inclusion of an isometric map (including a key-less version of it) render the map-material of this book, at least in my opinion, absolute top-tier; not only regarding 3pps, mind you.


But, know what? All of that wouldn't be enough, were it not for the crucial part - the writing. Jonathan G. Nelson & Stephen Yeardley have surpassed themselves here: The core-authors of AAW Games deliver a perfect culmination of the development of the company in this module: With formal quality turned up to eleven, the duo has retained the unique feeling or realism blended with the fantastic, the fascination for these cultures that makes the module feel like exciting, fantastic and strange archeology. The inclusion of material to occupy one's mind via several unobtrusive puzzles also improves the module's feeling of diversity beyond the varied encounters and hazards. However, the true accomplishment here is, much like in Stephen Yeardley's superb C07: The Sussurus Tomb, the fact that the players are rewarded for engaging in the indirect storytelling the complex offers.


If the above was not ample clue: I LOVE this module! It feels like a great culmination, at least up until now, of the development process of AAW Games as a company and the authors: While retaining the key-strengths of the captivating cultures depicted, the diverse challenges herein are much more streamlined than in previous modules. Better yet, the rewarding of players engaging the indirect storytelling as well as the inspiring end of the module render this one exceedingly well-rounded dungeon, perhaps one of the best in this size out there. My final verdict with clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval and a nomination as a candidate for my Top Ten of 2015 - a wonderful tribute to Cliff "CJ" Jones, to whom this module is dedicated.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A24: Return to Crypt of the Sun Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Everyman Archetypes: Skald
Publisher: Everyman Gaming, LLC
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/20/2015 03:37:46

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Everyman Archetypes-series clocks in at 10 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 7 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This book begins with clearly stated explanations of the design-intent, ultimately helping not only the reviewer, but also, and more importantly, the reader - and soon afterwards, we dive into the archetypes. The first of these would be the Blood Skald, who replaces Scribe Scroll with Blood Vigor. More importantly, at 9th level, the archetype gains the ability to spend rounds of raging song in favor of temporary regeneration equal to the blood skald's Str-mod. The intriguing component here, if that does not sound impressive, would lie in the additional benefits regeneration offers over fast healing and similar healing options. Furthermore, action-economy-wise, starting this as a move action (at 14th level: swift action; 19th: immediate action and spend 2 rounds for double effect) renders it a valid set-up that can be used quickly. This ability replaces DR. An interesting alternative - not something flavor-wise awesome, but the mechanics are interesting and change the way the class plays in an adequate manner.


The Chivalric Harbinger gets an order, but must necessarily adhere to the order's tenets. On the rather cool (but also borderline "too powerful for some games") level would be the fact that the skald gets order's song, which lets him not only share teamwork feats via the song (provided he has Tactician), it also extends the order's challenge benefit to the respective allies. While fitting in a high-powered game without cavaliers, this does somewhat cheapen the cavalier's signature challenge's effects, so please beware when using this guy - I know my players would be annoyed by having their unique tricks being made available easily to other characters. Additionally, 5th level and every 6 levels thereafter nets an order ability instead of spell kenning. All in all, a per se cool archetype that may be overshooting the target by a bit, also since being a bit front heavy.


The Jarl Extoller is interesting in that we get two variants of the archetype - one for the base skald and one for the cool unchained version introduced in Everyman Unchained: Unchained Rage. Instead of Scribe Scroll, both get a better aid another. At 4th level, the jarl extoller gets extolling song, which may duplicate inspired rage, controlled inspired rage and song of the fallen, but this special song is limited to one target - the song cannot be maintained at the same time as a regular raging song and draws on the same resource. Activation will scale from standard action to swift action, though inspired rage provides +2 Str and Con in addition to the regular effects when used thus: Basically, you focus on one target and increase the potency of your song. This ability, then, obviously is also one of the abilities that changes appropriately in the unchained version, instead pertaining to temporary hit points and melee attack bonus. Similarly, the 8th level nets an improved controlled inspired rage for the class, including appropriate scaling mechanisms depending on the chassis used. These abilities are paid for with (improved) uncanny dodge. All in all, a nice one - no complaints on my part, added flexibility - I like it!


The Rage Baiter gets Perform (Comedy) and can use it via versatile performance. At 6th level, the archetype may use raging song to antagonize enemies unwilling to be subject to the song's benefits -while not required per se to use this archetype (this works on its own), I love the rules-aesthetic synergy with the stellar psychological combat-rules first premiered in its own pdf, now expanded and collected in Ultimate Charisma. This type of holistic design is really appreciated.


The showboat skald emphasizes acting and comedy over instruments via the modified skill-list and may extend the benefits of the Performing Combatant-feat to allies subjected to the inspired rage raging song. The showboat thus also gets a variation of versatile performance and performance combat feats that can be woven into the effects of the respective raging songs, also enhancing the checks by Str-mod at higher levels. I love this archetype - it's inspired and absolutely flavorful in both style and execution.


The Unarmored Canter may add a scaling, Cha-mod-based (but also tied to the level regarding its scaling) bonus to AC (and CMD), gets no armor proficiencies, fast movement and better drumming/marching song. A cool one in theme and I like the archetype's elegant scaling, but I still wished it had a bit more unique active tricks.


This out of the way, things get truly interesting -the final two pages of the pdf are devoted to equipment tricks for bells, drums, horns and general music instruments: From lucky bells to drumming on shields or the still-attached skulls of your fallen foes to detecting burrowing creatures via your drumming skills, these two pages are where the book truly shines: Not only are these tricks AWESOME, they increase the versatility of not only the skald. What about e.g. infusing a horn with a splash weapon? Yeah, this section is pure gold! The book also provides two solid traits.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, as I've come to expect from Everyman Gaming. Layout adheres to a 2-column full-color standard and the piece of artwork by Jacob Blackmon is nice - and this time, I'm positive the guys's not a kitsune! (Or at least, he's incognito...) ;) The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Alexander Augunas and Justin Whitley deliver herein what I'd call function-archetypes - basically, we get archetypes that are less defined by a cool flavor or intricate web of new abilities, instead focusing on significant, but pretty much self-contained tweaks of the skald-class's mechanics. This is not a bad thing in itself and the archetypes herein can be combined with others for that effect. The content provided in this book is solid and does its job well - and some of the mechanics are downright awesome to see. At the same time, they did not blow me away to the same extent some of Alex's designs manage and I'm a bit weary of some choices made. This, however, is offset by the excellent equipment tricks-section; in fact, I liked the new tricks here so much, I'd consider them worth the very fair and low price of admission alone. So yeah, if you want to put more emphasis on the instrument, these two pages alone will more than justify this book for you. If, on the other hand, you are less interested in them, you'll lose perhaps the coolest part herein, one of which I admittedly would have loved to see more of. In the end, I will settle on a rating of 4 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Everyman Archetypes: Skald
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

U02: Murder in Stoneholme
Publisher: AAW Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/19/2015 03:13:24

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The second module set in the subterranean dwarven city of Stoneholme clocks in at 36 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 32 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.


...


..


.


All right, only GMs left? Great! The waves of supernatural darkness sweeping the city's streets have ebbed away (either as a background info or due to the PCs playing this module's predecessor "Dark Days in Stoneholme), but the dwarven city gets no rest - 3 dwarves have been found cruelly murdered. Now whether the PCs begin the module with a mapped encounter of a perpetrator or by being contacted again by advisor Deppenkhut depends on whether you've played the former module. Both set-ups are solid. In both cases, though, the PCs get some nice tools for the task at hand, a promise of pay and are sent off towards the scenes of the crimes.


In the cellar of the bakery Golden Scone (fully mapped), the PCs can investigate the murder of Hylda Guldbrot; in a small "stonegarden" shared by two families, the PCs can take a look at the remnants of poor Tavis Stonekauter and, in an alleyway, that of Eklya Hearthfall - it is this murder that the PCs have perhaps interrupted in the alternate beginning. During the assembling of these clues, strange things happen, as clouds of shadow appear and e.g. pit the PCs against a shadow drake (with class levels!). They may also meet a bard and relation to Deppenkhut, receive a business-proposal and thus be notified that Deppenkhut's PR-machinery already extols the virtues of the PCs and their involvement - so much for incognito! And indeed, this hasty move may see demonic assassins targeting the PCs! During a progress-meeting in the city's finest restaurant, the PCs will also have a chance to thwart an attack on Deppenkhut, which may cast some doubt on their benefactor's true intents, as his power strikes an assailing foe immediately dead.


Further assassination attempts via caustic spider swarms leave not much time to think, though, and soon, with all the clues collected, the PCs are properly deputized to use secret tunnels to enter the manor of the Flintblade dwarves and catch them in the act, so to speak. Unholy skeletons. Abyssal larvae. Abyssal, shade-touched shadows with class levels. Yes, the tunnels are no cake-walk, but they pale before the fully mapped, quadratic Flintblade manor: Most Flintblades clock in at 4 levels, but that's certainly not the pinnacle here: A small living wall; a powerful thaumaturge, a demon-possessed dwarf (the killer) and a lethal alchemist make for powerful foes - the PCs better used the cramped environments to their advantage, for the manor can be very dangerous - and with the copious demon-worshipping evidence gathered from the manor, the clan can be shut down, thus ending the threats to Stoneholme...right? Right?? (The answer is "No", but that's a story for another module...)


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches or grounds for complaints. The pdf adheres to a beautiful two-column full-color standard and sports several neat pieces of full-color artwork. The book's cartography is, as almost always in AAW Games-modules, great - though I wished the dwarven manor and tunnels had a player-friendly version sans keys. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


After the somewhat weaker previous installment, this second trip to Stoneholme by the pen of Jonathan McAnulty is once again a return to the author's usually pretty impeccable form: From the tunnels to the locales, a lot of underworld/dwarven flavor can be found herein and while you could arguably still run this on the surface world, it would lose a bit of its unique flair. The read-aloud text this time around is clearly and easily distinguishable from the rest of the text, making this one easier to run.


The important thing here, though, is that the module is simply more interesting and capitalizes well on the developments kicked off in the first module, which I strongly advise you to play before this one. Why? While working as a stand-alone, this has an added edge of gravitas and impact when combined with the previous module. The investigation provided is solid and, while not breath-taking in itself, sufficiently detailed for a short module to be fun. The optional encounters provided allow the GM to enliven the fact-gathering with unobtrusive metaplot developments and maintain the desired pace, so modularity-wise, this is neat indeed.


The true shine of this book, though, comes from the challenges posed: Much like its predecessor, this is not a module for the faint of heart - while not unfair or a meat-grinder, the adversaries and their templated, class'd builds mean that you will have quite a fight on your hands. Particularly in the final parts of the module, players should be well aware of the fact that they should act smart - here, dwarven architecture proved to be the star in my game: The cramped, uncommon set-up required some nice tactics from the PCs to prevail. Advanced players will definitely appreciate the challenge and even pros will find some interesting set-ups here. How to rate this, then? While I liked the increased emphasis on underworld-ish components, I couldn't help but feel that player-friendly maps and a slightly expanded investigation (as in: more diverse skill uses than just Diplomacy and Perception...) would have made this even better.


As provided, it is just short of a very good module, clocking in at 4.5 stars, rounded down by a margin to 4. All in all, I'm excited to see the next module and, more importantly, whether it increases in flair and panache like this did over the first one!


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
U02: Murder in Stoneholme
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chronicle of the Gatekeepers Sidetrek: To Not Serve Man (PFRPG)
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/19/2015 03:11:00

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the chronicle of the gatekeepers campaign serial clocks in at 11 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, 1/2 page advertisement, leaving us with 6.5 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.


...


..


.


Among the races of NeoExodus, few have as bad a reputation as the ominously-named Calibans - the white-skinned creatures can consume their foes to take their strength into them and as such, do not have a particularly nice reputation. Civilization does what civilization does, though - ultimately, it is superior to less developed societies and as such, by now a significant array of these humanoids have become more enlightened, more civilized. These beings are known as the kalisan and the module begins with one of these people arriving in Teryth with dire news: Branded an outcast and expelled from the caliban tribe to which she once belonged, a caliban named Koorka, now turned kalisan, brings news of a vast amount of calibans preparing to raze Teryth to the ground. Unfortunately for her, she lands in prison for her troubles and it'll be up to the PCs to make the populace see - the caliban hunters and their hounds on the heels of Koorka lend further credence to the veracity of her claims.


In any way, time is of the essence: Getting the mayor on their side, the support of the church and springing free Koorka are all valid actions, all with their own consequences - and ultimately, the number of casualties the assault will have depends on the PCs - they will have to stand their ground against the assault of the calibans. After driving back the attack, Koorka is free to go and leaves with warnings of the Vespans... The pdf comes with full stats of calibans and their dogs, a magical, bite-attack-granting item and stats of the caliban bola.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good. Layout adheres to LPJ Design's elegant 2-column full-color standard for the series and the module comes fully bookmarked and in a second, slightly more printer and mobile phone-friendly version.


Michael McCarthy and Louis Porter Jr.'s "Not to Serve Man" has a somewhat interesting twist regarding its name. Over all, I enjoyed the simple basic set-up of this sidetrek and its climax is sure interesting. At the same time, this module is slightly more conventional than most siege scenarios I know: The PCs stand their ground against the waves of the foes and that's basically it - casualties depend on their actions, sure, but unlike other installments in the series, there is less distinction regarding the rewards gained than in other sidetreks and during the siege, there is not much variety in the tasks - just kill the foes, done. No infiltration, no sudden eruptions from underground, no disgusting, plagued meat flinging catapults... Ultimately, this is a good, fun sidetrek, but one that falls slightly short of the best installments of the series. My final verdict will thus clock in at 4 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicle of the Gatekeepers Sidetrek: To Not Serve Man (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fear Itself
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/18/2015 04:09:34

An Endzeitgeist.com review


Fear Itself clocks in at 91 pages, 1 page front cover, 3 pages of editorial, 1 page ToC, leaving us with 86 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?


This book was moved forward on my review-queue due to me receiving a physical copy in exchange for an unbiased and critical review.


We begin this variant of the GUMSHOE system with a disclaimer that kind of makes me sad for its necessity: Fear Itself is, more so than ToC, Esoterrorists or Night's Black Agents a hardcore horror-game. PCs will die. Uncomfortable topics will be mentioned and explored. The fact that players and GMs buying a horror game have to be notified that horror can be horrific...well, I get why, but still am kind of shocked that we've become this cuddled and unaccustomed to hardship and failure. For those out there that are sensitive to such topics - you have been warned.


Fear Itself takes places in the same world as Esoterrorists, which means that the AWESOME creatures of the Outer Dark, the superb, disturbing aesthetics of the creatures and their themes, remains intact - but the focus is a different one: Where Esoterrorists centered on professionals bringing the fight to the adversaries, Fear Itself's inspiration is clearly the vast plethora of horror movies out there: From slasher movies to psychological dramas to current movies like "It Follows" - and it revels in this inspiration: You see, the premise centers on the PCs playing characters associated with archetypes of the genre - "The Jock," "The Nerd," "The Authority Figure," "The Sexy Girl" - you get the idea.


Now if you've been to any amount of horror movies, you will have noticed certain traits being used to guarantee a character's downfall: This is the best component of this book from a rules-perspective and something that all GUMSHOE games I run feature. I'm talking about Risk factors. Risk factors are traits that may be deemed character flaws - whether it's an unbridled libido, greed, a desire for vengeance or curiosity: Each character has a risk factor, but is, surprisingly, not required to heed it's dictates. There are hard and soft risk factors - and not heeding them incurs a stability loss. This system is VERY smart and works exceedingly well in game - it rewards players for not meta-gaming and still maintains control over the character's urges as opposed to the player trying to ensure that the PC survives. On a nitpicky side: Risk factors are presented at the very beginning, when the respective rules-repercussions of them can be found on page 48 - 4 pages after the begin of the stability rules, so why not directly point towards that rules-information?


PCs also are supposed to have a dark secret - basically, the worst thing the character did...which is kind of realistic. After all, the longer we live, the more likely it is that we fail our own moral compasses. As always, we get points depending on the number of players to invest in investigative abilities. The interesting thing here is that the abilities may be capped: The combat/investigative expert of the group pretty much determined how good other players can be - precisely half as good. If e.g. the police cadet has 8 in shooting, the rest of the PCs can only have a shooting value of 4. If the combat/investigative expert increases the shooting value, the other PCs may increase the value until they reach the half-way point. And yes, rounded down, though explicitly mentioning this wouldn't have hurt. Your second highest rating must be at least half your highest rating. There is another special type of restricted character of which there can only be one per group: The psychic. These characters have special skills like aura reading, being a medium or having strange messengers or premonitions - these abilities, unanimously, are narrative gold and I strongly advise the GM to properly make use of psychic's cool powers. Take Synchronicity: Happy circumstances, unlikely happenstances - this can be used to massive effect. However, psychic powers leave the psychic open to the influence of the outer dark - each time you use a psychic power per session, you increase the difficulty numbers of stability rolls by the number of times you have drawn on your psychic powers. The character also suffers from a flat-out +1 increase to stability difficulty numbers, though I believe that explicitly mentioning whether this stacks or not would have made the rules here more concise.


If you're coming to Fear Itself from another GUMSHOE-game, you'll note something: The severely limited selection of investigative abilities. With characters being flawed everyday guys and gals, it should come as no surprise that even on this basic level, they will have a harder time dealing with the horrible threats they face. This is also emphasized by perhaps the single most important ability in the arsenal of Fear Itself characters: Fleeing. Fleeing can be used to substitute for Athletics when escaping, but not when pursuing...and it is the balancing mechanism for the combat/investigative expert and psychic's additional tricks: All characters but those two get 2 rating points per point invested. Yes, much like in horror movies, the capable characters will have a harder time escaping the horrors.


Now, if the prior emphasis on stability was not ample clue: Yes, Fear Itself does sport "Sources of Stability"-rules and a personal goal you should determine - both not only tie your character to others and places in the world and the guidance for affinities and enmities between PCs helps establish hierarchies and social dynamics: We e.g. all know the following set-up: The jock is together with the sexy girl, but is in love with the good girl. The nerd is in love with the sexy girl, who, however, dislikes the nerd. The good girl, though, has a secret crush on the nerd... Yeah, this may sound simple and is entirely optional, but it does work and can be seen as a fluffy precursor and less complex version of Night's Black Agents betrayal mechanics. The other rules regarding abilities pretty much follow the system you're already familiar with - however, dealing damage in scuffling is pretty hard: Sans proper weaponry, the PCs will be pretty ill-equipped to deal with the horrors they face.


As always in GUMSHOE books, the special requirements on handling clues and structuring the story are well-explained for the GM, alongside simple rules for combat, death, injury - you know the deal by know. More interesting for the GM would be the creatures introduced in this book. For one, we once again get absolutely stunning b/w-artworks for them. Secondly, if you've read my review of Esoterrorists, you'll have an inkling of how friggin' awesome these beings can be. All right, the first creature herein already shows a significant difference in comparison to the adversaries faced in Esoterrorist-games: The Mystery Man. What does this guy do? Well, think Phantasm's Tall Man...or Q with a personality that would make Pinhead blush with indignation: This godlike adversary has practically infinite powers and one grand motivation: Ocean Game, i.e. driving mortals insane for his own sickening pleasure (and the thinning of the membrane)... The second creature featured herein, the Ovvashi, is no less disturbing, but better suited as a short-term adversary than the BBEG-mystery man: The Ovvashi would be a deadly, unpleasant demon that has a face of all mouth - no eyes, no nose, just a thing clad in rags...and the thing is recruiting beggars, making the unfortunate into its beholden minions and servitors. And it smokes your soul. Literally. It can SMOKE YOUR SOUL. That's so disturbing... This creature is awesome and, if this and Esoterrorists are any indicator of the monster quality, the adversary book must indeed be superb.


As in other GUMSHOE-books, we do get advice for players and GMs, but it is provided after the monsters - which is something I noticed here: Compared to the other GUMSHOE-games I've been playing, Fear Itself's organization feels less intuitive and, sometimes, a tad bit confusing. For example, shouldn't the stability rules and explanations of the mechanics be found sooner? A concept is fine, sure, but as presented, you begin with fluff, then choose mechanics, then the next chapter explains the rules of the system like damage, stability, etc. - over all, this makes the presentation feel more fragmented and less intuitive than in similar GUMSHOE titles. And yes, I understand that this is in line with other GUMSHOE-game rules presentations, but in this book, I had the distinct feeling that, if you're not familiar with the rules yes, you may end up being somewhat confused. The general GUMSHOE-rules chapter also blends rules for PCs and GMs - again, understandable; but the advice for clue structure etc. imho belongs to the GM chapter, not in the player-section. Then, the awesome monsters come and THEN, we get GM and player-advice? Structure-wise, this is extremely unfortunate, since players should NOT read the entries of the monsters and their interesting weaknesses. So yes, presentation-wise, this one does feel a bit more confused than its brethren.


However, there is one point wherein Fear Itself manages to reach the perfect level of drool-worthy awesomeness of Esoterrorists: The sample scenario. I am not engaging in hyperbole when I'm saying that the sample scenario is by far the best I've ever read in a given campaign setting. No, really. It is not the perfect sandbox-set-up of Esoterrorist's Station Duty, but the module is brilliant in many ways.


You do NOT want to spoil this scenario, so if you ever want to participate in it, PLEASE jump to the conclusion.


...


..


.


Only GMs left? Sure you want to SPOIL yourself? Really sure? All right.


So, the sample module provided herein begins with the PCs in a van, en route to a game-changer of an event. You see, CEO-wunderkind Cory Sluman, brilliant financial wizard and eccentric nerd, has established an array of interconnected setups to make his latest vision come true: He wants to establish LARP as a competitive sport and the PCs have an invitation to the inaugural event - for one reason or another, they need the money prize - they need to win. The set-up is as smart as you can possibly be: The PCs are all nerds, played by nerds: All those roleplaying jokes, Monty Python references...they make sense in game. This also immediately generates a connection between players and PCs as they banter, establish character-relations etc. - and then, suddenly, a van comes careening towards them, almost crashing into them. In the aftermath of the accident, the crew of the other van perishes and, as the PCs try to save them and the aftermath with the authorities is resolved, they may note a strange figure in the distance, cat-like fluorescing eyes staring.


But the game must go on - and the PCs arrive late, are almost disqualified...and meet a group that contains all the people you and your players love to hate in real world contexts. These rivals add a further human dimension to the happenstances that are about to unfold: For the LARP escalates horribly: As the PCs try to roleplay their characters (LOVE this meta-level!) in the context of Sluman's fantasy world, psyches start breaking apart and violence continuously escalates. Worse, all but the PCs seem to be oblivious to any results of the violence they participate in. Oh, and the PCs have foam swords. And LARP-pew-pew spells. Congratulations, this will be truly nasty... But whether the PCs blow the whistle or not, the event will end at some point...and if you're playing at a convention, this is where the adventure ends.


If not, though, then insanity has just started. You see, the strange occurrences do not end and the mysterious figure is still haunting them...and things become more sinister: The people that perished en route to the event? Well, investigation into their backgrounds reveals no easy connection: Different characters, social circles, no shared hobbies - only by researching those left behind in lavishly-detailed sections, the PCs can determine the unifying factors: For one, a change in personality and growing paranoia; and, more subtly, a theme of dogs...which leads towards the "Kozy Kennel", property of one Alex Ibragimbekov - while he tries to bullshit the PCs, he confesses soon: The practically unstoppable entity that goes by the moniker Hungerwood which has plaguing the PC's predecessors and now them, has been tormenting the poor man ever since he was a child.


The entity only changes targets when it can find a sufficiently dark spot on the souls of his victims to be (remember the dark secret?)... Oh, and he thinks he has found a way with the help of the deceased to stop Hungerwood or at least drive him away - for this insane purpose, he is torturing dogs to create the "Silent Howl," a ritual supported by a sound file of high-frequency howls that may at least temporarily stop Hungerwood - but are the PCs willing and desperate enough to capitalize on something so undoubtedly vile and disturbing? Probably, at this point - and so, the ritual commences in an unique, intriguing climax...that comes with a nasty aftertaste, as Alex is found dead...and Hungerwood's defeat proves to be short-lived or just another part of his macabre game...


The book concludes with a character sheet, a handy sheet called matrix of misery that lets the GM keep tabs on PCs and a detailed index.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column b/w-standard and the book sports numerous, gorgeous b/w-artworks of the highest caliber. The book's print edition is a nice softcover with glossy covers and high-quality paper. The pdf-version is something I would recommend only to a lesser extent: The lack of bookmarks the electronic version sports constitutes a significant comfort detriment, particularly considering the more spread-out presentation of the rules.


Robin D. Laws' Fear Itself is, and let me state that loud and clear, an EXCELLENT game. At the same time, the GUMSHOE system as depicted herein also represents the most disjointed of the presentations when compared to the other books I've covered and minor rules-ambiguities can be found here and there. While this does not cripple the book, it does detract a bit from its user-friendliness for novices to the system - which is a pity. Why? Because the Fear Itself, as a system, lends itself, like the horror movies it emulates, works best for brief campaigns and one-shots: The lethality of this iteration of GUMSHOE and the scope of the system is geared towards this...or towards prologue/first chapter-style gameplay.


The perfect way to use this book, at least in my opinion, is to lead into a longer campaign: The hapless PCs witness the horrible things about to happen and there we go: After several encounters, they are recruited into the OV, properly trained and now use Esoterrorist-rules, supplemented by some from this book. (And yes, in this instance, I'd slowly unlock the more action-packed spy-rules from Night's Black Agents as the PCs become more and more professional threats to the creatures of the Outer Dark and the vampiric conspiracy...)


Beyond even this use, one can also look at Fear Itself as the ultra-gritty version of GUMSHOE: Want to play a truly low-powered Esoterrorists-game or a Dustier-than-dust-mode Night's Black Agents-game? Scavenge the fleeing rules and the power-level. Even beyond such a model, the psychic powers may be a great addition to your game and the sources of stability/risk factor-mechanics offer A LOT of inspiring material that works just as well in more pulpy contexts. So while the presentation of the rules may not be as refined, the actual rules themselves are inspired in all the right ways.


The 2 monsters, the implied and extremely compelling Esoterrorists-world and the SUPERB scenario included herein also constitute excellent reasons to get this book. Fear Itself is a thoroughly compelling, excellent book, though one that is slightly more flawed than its brethren. Still, I wouldn't ever want to miss this book and its contents among my library and can whole-heartedly recommend it. While incapable of being able to rate this the full 5 stars due to the slightly confused presentation and the electronic version's lack of bookmarks, I can still rate this 4.5 stars + seal of approval, rounded up...However, only for the print version. The electronic version's lack of bookmarks exacerbates the aforementioned issues and should be considered only 4 stars and loses the seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear Itself
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

U01: Dark Days in Stoneholme
Publisher: AAW Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/18/2015 04:04:37

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This underworld introductory adventure clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 26 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.


...


..


.


All right, still here? Great!


So, we begin in the subterranean dwarven city of Stoneholme (which comes with a schematic map), generally a pretty hospitable place as far as the underworld is concerned, though here, as well, the forces of evil just wait for goodness to stumble: A sect of Dispater-worshipping devil-cultists has put into place a series of machinations to bring the city wholly under Dispater's control. And, as befitting of master-schemers of infernal patronage, the basic plan does not directly involve them - instead, the PCs are brought together by circumstance, as they witness one particular version of the strange phenomena that have haunted Stoneholme - this would be waves of supernatural darkness that even clouds darkvision - the PCs meet at the intersection (fully mapped) of two minor streets -as suddenly, a wave of darkness sweeps the terrain. Children scream, afraid. And suddenly, as the darkness lifts, fiendish shadow-rats and a fiendish lesser shadow make for a demanding first encounter - with abilities to temporarily become incorporeal, the NPC carrying holy water should make for a welcome addition to the party's efforts. If the PCs do not immediately jump at the chance to investigate this strange phenomenon, the subsequent 3 minor combat encounters will do that...


Anyways, the morning after the initial combat, the PCs receive an invitation to dinner with one influential individual - Shtawn Deppenkhut, advisor to the king. (Slightly ironic for Germans - "Depp" means "idiot" in German...) - he does offer them compensation and points them towards an abandoned glassworks, where, purportedly, darkness is lasting, rather than just a wave. He gives them a pendant, holy water and send the PCs towards the dilapidated glassworks, where the PCs can find a darkness-maintaining gem and test their mettle against more shadowy creatures as well as a shadowy dretch - it seems like the forces of the abyss are involved.


Indeed, with the help of advisor Deppenkhut, the gem and demonic influence point towards the Sandstone Warrens, where a particular tribe of goblins is allegedly known to have created such gems - in order to reach the warrens, the PCs will have to scale a massive wall of razor-sharp slag, brave earth-infused spiders, not get eaten by vampiric mist and finally, clear the Felltooth goblin's temple - a fortified, relatively dangerous environment with dark-infused adversaries as well as a templated human wererat high priest. The dungeon is solid, though I do not get why we don't get a player-friendly map of the warren as usual. It is here, the PCs can find nuggets of solid, supernatural darkness and hints that point towards the involvement of the Flintblade dwarves... How all of that turns out, though, is another story.


The pdf also sports the new CR+1 dark-blessed template.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches, though the read-aloud text is not as clearly ffset as in most AAW Games-modules, requiring closer scrutiny of the non-boxed text. Not a detriment, mind you, just something to be aware of. The pdf's layout adheres to a gorgeous two-column standard and the book sports nice artworks (though you may know some from Rise of the Drow, since that book also features Stoneholme as a sidetrek). The pdf's cartography is great, though I'm a bit saddened by the dungeon's map not coming with a player-friendly version.


Jonathan McAnulty can write. Seriously, when I read the premise for this module, you couldn't have imagined me more blasé about it. So, shadowy-foes, gobbos, a sprinkling of outsiders? Oh, haven't heard that one before. /sarcasm I was pretty surprised by several things: One, this module dares to challenge the PCs. The shadowy foes are not just the obligatory boss - they're the main antagonists. While the goblins and their creatures remained okay, the boss of the module is BRUTAL. Seriously, this module may sound all cutesy from the premise and it isn't long. It's much harder than it looks at first glance.


And it plays much better than you'd imagine. While the subterranean backdrop could have imho had significantly more influence on the story (you could run this on the surface sans major modifications...), it is ultimately Jonathan McAnulty's skill at adventure-crafting that saves this book from being only average - it plays much better than anticipated and in fact has me excited for more. At the same time, you have to be aware that the unique darkness-wave-effects could have been used more extensively and in ways that further increase the dynamics of the combat, when herein, they fall slightly short of their own potential. My final verdict, hence, will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 due to in dubio pro reo.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
U01: Dark Days in Stoneholme
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Knowledge Check: Thieves' Cant Dictionary
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/18/2015 04:02:20

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Knowledge Check-series clocks in at 14 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 9 pages of content, so let's take a look!


So, this is something different. As you all may know, I'm a bit obsessed with languages and sociolects - I've been pretty vocal in my love of the inclusion of slang in Fat Goblin Games' PWYW Carnival of Sinners. This inexpensive book provides essentially a number of words you can use to make your underworld feel more unique. While some of the words are pretty obvious ("bene" meaning "good", for example), there are quite a few intriguing slang words herein: A "Holy Lamb" is, for example, a thoroughly despicable villain; "Jibber the Kibber" is the practice of using a horse and a lantern to make ships run aground. Oh, and "lacing" something means to beat someone.


While some words herein are simply that, others inspire regarding the practice to which they refer: "leggers" e.g. sell low-quality goods, purportedly smuggled goods, and thus avoid repercussions for the bad quality of their merchandise. Knowing about "Hangman's Wages" may also prove useful within the consistency of your game-world.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to an easy-to-read, beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. Artwork is sparse, but fitting.


Richard D. Bennett provides a damn cool little dictionary here - the practices and words herein can inspire and certainly help you make your depictions of the seedy underbelly of your campaign more exciting. What's here, is certainly awesome, particularly for the low price point. At the same time, I really wished this was longer and that it had some invented, new fluff to account for the different reality of most fantasy settings - words for halflings, goblins, magic and sorcerous pursuits would have been much appreciated, at least by me. What we do get here is a nice glimpse at real world thieves' cant for a low price and as such, this is a nice book - my final verdict hence will clock in at 4 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Knowledge Check: Thieves' Cant Dictionary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadly Gardens Volume 2: Blood Rose Swarm
Publisher: Rusted Iron Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/17/2015 11:16:56

An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised edition


The second installment in Rusted Iron Games' Deadly Gardens-series clocks in at 5 pages, 1 page front cover, 1/2 page SRD, leaving us with 3.5 pages of content, so let's take a look!


We begin this supplement with supplemental alchemical items, the first of which renders plant creatures dormant for a time - nice one!


Clearwater Drops can be used to purify water - I like those. I have gone on record time and again, stating that DR is overvalued in PFRPG - thus, the 40 gp Tough-skin Oil, which nets you DR 2/slashing for 10 minutes for 40 gp may be a powerful item which I'd personally price at twice or thrice that, depending on your campaign's power-level, is still a nice notion - underpriced though it may be in my book. Finally, we get a fertilizer that nets a plant creature fast healing 2 for 10 minutes. On a nitpicky side, the wording here implies that it takes a different action to apply the Vita Grow fertilizer if you're applying it not to yourself, but that's just nitpicking - much like the fact that I would have enjoyed a guideline for what intelligence is required for plants to apply items to themselves - per default, I assume the trick-guidelines for Handle Animal, but a slight clarification would still have been nice.


The Blood Rose Swarm itself comes with an impressive, hand-drawn b/w-artwork and clocks in as a CR 2 plant swarm. Blood Roses emit an alluring scent that can fascinate targets and their attacks carry with them a poisonous blood thinner. The swarm is also naturally camouflaged and may move faster through vegetation, offsetting the usual problem plant creatures have regarding mobility. It should be noted that the toxin is also depicted as a refined poison for your convenience.


Now hereafter is easily my favorite section in this pdf - as much as I enjoyed the critter -we get rules for low level sinkholes and rockslides as hazards and no less than 5 different terrain types - from scree to kudzu and dense thickets, these can neatly enhance many an encounter beyond the scope of this pdf - neat!


The final page covers two magical items, the first of which would be the Cloak of Fallen Leaves - made from autumnal leaves, it grants the wearer concealment versus AoOs incurred by movement, while Quickgrow Beans generate easily scalable beanstalks 40 ft. high - the spell duplicated by this Jack-inspired item has not been italicized.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting, while not perfect, can still be considered good. Layout adheres to Rusted Iron Games' two-column full-color standard and the piece of original artwork is sweet indeed for such an inexpensive pdf. The pdf now even has bookmarks!


Russ Brown's second Deadly Garden is in many ways more experimental than the first - the creature is more complex and the items are a bit more far out. While personally, I bemoan the lack of power components herein, the hazards and terrain-types provided can be considered absolutely worthwhile - as far as supplemental material goes, this delivers more than its asking price. Indeed, at this point, I find myself intrigued regarding more installments in the series: There is quite some potential here, particularly for fans of the Witcher games and those of us that prefer a more down-to-earth, organic, low-magic type of gameplay. My final verdict, in spite of the minor rough edges, will, again, clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval - definitely a well-invested buck here!


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Gardens Volume 2: Blood Rose Swarm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadly Gardens Volume 1: Phoenix Lily
Publisher: Rusted Iron Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/17/2015 11:13:17

An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised edition


The first supplement released by Rusted Iron Games clocks in at 5 pages, 1 page front cover, 1/2 page of SRD, leaving us with 3.5 pages of content, so let's take a look!


The Deadly Gardens-series obviously depicts uncommon plant creatures at an affordable price - the creature herein being the Phoenix Lily - but before we dive into that one, I should mention the two magic items provided in the beginning, the first of which elicited a "D'OH, why didn't I think of it?"-response - the Specimen Jar allows you to collect sample, which then remain fresh - whether it's volatile, fast decaying material of the foes you research, seeds of odd plants or something different. Nice one! The second one, the Fecund Totem, greatly increases plant-growth and even enhances plant-creatures - the presence of such an item may provide an interesting tactical component to a given fight - or act as a quest item to combat a particularly nasty blight.


The creature - well, Phoenix Lilys clock in at CR 4 - and generally, are interesting: The plants can emit devastating scorching rays and have an inherent resistance to fire, one, which, when surpassed, may result in the plant exploding. The creature is nice, fun and comes with a gorgeous b/w-pencil-drawn artwork I did not expect from such an inexpensive, short pdf.


The supplement does not end here, though -instead, we get a short primer on harvesting natural items - including, obviously, the phoenix lily's volatile blossoms as well as fire beetle glands, basilisk blood and shambler wafers. I thoroughly enjoy this take on harvesting monsters etc. - I've been basing my main campaign's whole crafting system around the harvesting of the like - so yeah, awesome, particularly now that the presentation has been further streamlined. Even cooler, the pdf takes Basilisk's Blood and Phoenix Blossoms and codifies them as power components - with different effects for various spells, whether if used as focus or material component - a phoenix blossom used with burning hands, for example, renders the spell's area of effect a 20-ft.-line. This is intriguing and supplements the notion of the magical world well - kudos!


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to a nice, printer-friendly two-column full-color-standard and the pdf now is fully bookmarked. The pdf's artwork is gorgeous and deserving of praise, especially considering the low price point.


Russ Brown's first offering is a pretty impressive one - this small pdf provides an interesting adversary, some nice botany-themed option and goes a step beyond what would be required regarding the immersion-enhancing aspects of rooting (haha) a creature within the world by tying it into items, magic, etc. For the low asking price, this is a fun, neat supplement that makes me look forward to the next supplements. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Gardens Volume 1: Phoenix Lily
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fearsome Foes: The Ravenous
Publisher: Rusted Iron Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/17/2015 11:06:52

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The first installment of Rusted Iron Games' fearsome foes-series clocks in at 5 pages, 1 page front cover, 1/2 page SRD, leaving us with .5 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This pdf's premise is pretty straight-forward - to deliver monster codex-style statblocks of creatures - this time featuring two ogres from the eponymous, roving horde of straightforward ogre-marauders. The first of these creatures would be the ogre depicted on the cover, one Kurhn Bonecrusher - a CR 13 brute that has, built-wise, had his HD increased and the barbarian creature template applied.


The second ogre would be Urusk the Iron turtle, named thus for the preference of heavy armor - and his discipline, for the ogre has 5 fighter levels.


Supplementing these two characters would be two magic items, the first being the merciless maiden, a magical greatclub made from a marble statue of a woman (COOL!) that allows for a 90°-variant of whirlwind attack by foregoing all attacks. (If one were to nitpick this, one could state that foregoing all attacks could use further clarification, but the intent is clear and so this gets a pass.) The other item is a truly nasty rattle - this one can change cure spells in the proximity into inflict spells 3/day. I really love this concept, but in practice, this is kind of problematic - while powered as an immediate action and action-wise, the item is pretty solid. EDIT: The item has been cleaned up and now works well.


The unfortunate layout-choice in teh previous version has been taken care of. On the plus-side, beyond these solid hooks, the pdf also sports 5 different sample encounters that utilize creatures from the Monster Codex alongside statblocks provided herein.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are pretty good, I noticed no relevant glitches. Layout adheres to a pretty printer-friendly two-column full-color standard and the pdf sports a cool, original b/w-artwork of Kurhn -especially nice in such an inexpensive pdf. The pdf comes fully bookmarked.


Russ Brown's first fearsome foes provide decent builds - personally, I think class-levels would have suited Kurhn a tad bit better, but that may just be me. It should be noted that the statblock does contain the base stats, assuming raging as default. Personally, I would have preferred a slightly higher degree of optimization, but that's just me being a prick. I do like the supplemental items, though the wording, while not bad in any way, is still not as precise as I'd like it to be. The insertion of the statblocks, which cuts the adventure hook-section in two, also felt jarring to me.


All in all, this is a good pdf for the low asking price - the fixing of the skull rattle nets this +0.5 stars, for a final verdict of full 4 stars.


Endzietgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fearsome Foes: The Ravenous
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

101 Shadow and Darkness Spells (PFRPG)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/17/2015 04:30:51

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The fourth installment of Dave Paul's thematic spell-collections clocks in at 47 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 42 pages of content, so let's take a look!


This pdf was moved forward in my review-queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreons.


We begin this supplement with a piece of information that makes you appreciate the things to come - namely, a list of diverse lighting conditions - 8, to be precise. Does this terminology seem overly complicated to you? It's actually not - it simply codifies what's already out there in proper terms. The darkness you can only see through with magical aid? Jep, that one has no its own concise terminology. Spells affecting the shadows of targets also offer an issue - where is the shadow? How long is it? An easy default-ruling plus GM-empowerment-statement result in a basic framework that is more solid than what I expected going into this book.


After the massive array of spell-lists (including, obviously, the ACG-classes), we dive into the respective spells - and fret not, there are quite a few spells and effects herein that deal with light as well: E.g. better sight in good light conditions that can be expended for a bonus to saves vs. blindness etc. Taking a cue from the Dark Souls-game-series, Cloud of Fire and Shadow (erroneously called Cloud of Shadow and Flame below the gorgeous artwork depicting it) provides a nasty, powerful terrain control that not only sets up shadowy terrain, it also can deal negative levels and fire damage and even move the cloud around - OUCH. Absolutely awesome - contrast orbs that allow you to modify lightning condition, move it around and utilize the orb to generate contrasts to the lightning conditions caused. It also provides a significant array of catch-terminology for all kind of movement and cases that would have generated gaping rules-holes in the hands of a less capable designer.


It should be noted that this attention to detail, which ultimately renders the spells very precise and versatile, also extends to the spells utilized to creating light and shadows. Want your own shadow plane pocket dimension? The spell is in this book. Want to go nova and blast foes with dazzling rays emitting from your body? There's a spell for that - one that may be chosen as a sun domain spell. Want to condemn a target to emit supernatural darkness, which not even darkvision can penetrate? Yes, the spell is in this pdf. Speaking of curses: Cursed to Walk in Shadow is narrative platinum, nay, mithril. You curse a target- whenever the creature walks in bright light for too long, there is a chance the creature slips into an eerie duplicate of the surroundings, shifting to the shadow plane. If you need any guidance why that's creepy, may I point towards the Silent Hill games...only the duration is shorter for each trip. Still, this spell is incredibly awesome and could carry a whole campaign. Absolutely glorious and perhaps one of the most intriguing spells from a narrative point of view.


Of course, more combat-relevant spells for quicker movement in shadows (can I get a "Nice!" from the Dishonored-fans out there?) to magic-impeding darkness, these spells offer a vast array of tactical and narrative options.


What about the long overdue darkness-based mirror of daylight powerlessness? Indeed, the spell is in this book and the quality it bestows should be scavenged for monster-creation rules...and it should have been part of the base rules from the get-go. Granted, though - not all spells reach this abject level of awesomeness - there are some variants like shadow-centric dispels I consider to be slightly less compelling and more like variants. Immediate action steps into the shadow plane for 1 round can also be considered rather intriguing, opening a new array of tactical options for the characters employing these spells. Want to glamer your shadow or assume the form of a darkmantle? There are spells for this around here...


Among the most powerful spells herein - what about making a target carry, literally a piece of the night sky with him alongside the darkness - which makes this both a curse and a blessing, the latter primarily for the undead... Supernaturally clear sight is powerful - but at higher level, it gets awesome: What about a spell that conceivably allows you to grant such a power to vast amounts of allies, allowing e.g. armies to combat invisible foes? Communal spells and a shadow-based blinking effects (with unique rules), shadow or light-based force-explosions or stripping a target of its shadow provide unique benefits that resonate well with the tropes we all know and love. What about gazing to the stars to detect creatures, as the lines between stars, silvery and shining, guide your intuition? Fantastic visuals.


Speaking of which: If your shadow touches a creature, you can switch places with it via shadow transposition...and if you can't see the vast tactical potential here, I can't help you. Speaking of which - there is a high-level spell to pit a vast area into perpetual darkness...which is an apt and awesome final spell for this book.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches of significance. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's classic full-color 2-column standard with a purple-ish tint and the book comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. the book sports numerous gorgeous full-color artworks.


This book is more than a return to form for author Dave Paul...though that may be the wrong way to put it. Basically, the first two books are pretty much my reference-level of what an awesome spell-book should be. The third fell slightly short of this echelon-level of awesomeness. This one, quite frankly, surpasses them. Yes, there are some minor hiccups here. Yes, some of the variants are not that awesome.


But I am not engaging in hyperbole when I'm saying that no other spell-book has inspired me to the extent this pdf managed. There are spells herein that not only will be a vast boon to each light/darkness-themed character, the book also sports concise terminology and several spells that conspire to allow you to create effects for campaigns: Whether you want a vampiric domain of eternal dark, a narrative of Silent hill-style cursed characters, Plane of Shadows-related awesomeness - this pdf delivers.


To an extent, where I actually think it transcends the limitations of its own focus, of its genre. This book can conceivably be read not only as a cool expansion to e.g. the arsenal of Ascension Games' "Path of Shadows" or as a mechanical scavenging ground to get inspiration for more material for Interjection Games' Antipodism-designs; this book actually could conceivably be considered a selection of spells that allow you to depict creatures of shadow, whether they be shadow fey, dark creepers or shadar-kain, as thoroughly unique. Beyond even that, I maintain that the spells herein can carry whole modules, perhaps even whole campaigns. This is one of the few spell-books out there that can be considered to be so inspired it may be worth the effort to change modules and perhaps even plotlines to utilize it - it's that good. This is the most inspiring spell-book I've laid my eyes on in quite a while - and well worth a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval. It is also a candidate for my Top Ten of 2015. If you like the theme in any shape, way or form, then this is a must-have, inspired book.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Shadow and Darkness Spells (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 2129 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG