RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 28
1 1
0 1
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2014 13:19:53
Having been an RPG player as a kid I was looking for a way to share that experience with my two kids, 8 & 6. Hero Kids is fantastic fun for all of us! I get to be the controlling GM, adjusting play as needed for their experience. The kids get to delve into the rich experience of RPG games at a level appropriate for their age.
My Son (6) said it best when he stated how excited he was to be able to actually CHOSE what to do in the game, unlike his favorite video game!
We are now working on playing pieces for the game. There is nothing like mixing crafts with RPG gaming for kids!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jon m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2014 16:08:21
I don't often give feedback on things but had to for this. I have played a bit of D&D when I was in my youth and enjoyed the game. My boys (9 and twins 6) like to play iPad and playstation. I thought I would give this a go to see if they Gould open their minds and be a bit creative rather than staring at a screen. The rules are pretty simple and easy to follow with flexibility to make your own bits up.
My kids absolutely love it. They come home from school and instead of asking for the iPad they ask for Hero Kids.
He have done a few of the adventures now I have also made a few up and have then traveling between quests with the use of the map.
This really is fantastic and a very good price. Best bet is to get the bundle. I find the games last longer than they say but that's 3 kids (plus baby sister stealing dice) and they have a character and pet each. You should get figures or use the standup cards. Get the kids to colour them in too! The couloring books are a great touch too.
When we are not playing the kids make up their own characters, pets and sometimes maps!
I just got the new space one too, but not tried that out yet.
fantastic game and great to spend some quality time with the kids. Also introduces them to RPGs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2014 10:32:44
My son is almost 4 and he had a great time sneaking through the basement trying to clear it of rats. We played a heavily slimmed down rule set, but I think that is the beauty of Hero Kids, you only need to enforce the rules that the young attention spans will allow. As he gets older I'm sure we'll revisit the adventures in more complicated versions.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2014 17:49:05
I can't even begin to explain the joy I had with my young daughter as we learned to play an RPG that is tailored to the younger audience!

Thanks Hero Forge Games, you've produced an absolutely invaluable product!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2014 02:10:56
I played a couple of games of this with my 5 year old daughter (very short attention span) while on holiday.

I was very rusty and but the game mechanics are really straight forward and scalable. She absolutely loved it.

We played "Basement of Rats" a number of times (which did get a little tiresome on the 4th repeat, but she was still going strong), and then moved on to "Curse of the Shadow Walkers" which was more involved and much more fun to GM. My daughter liked this even more.

I am going to print out "Glade of the Unicorn" and give that one a go.

A hugely enjoyable game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Agust B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2014 15:36:16
Fantastic intro for kids in to the world of RPGs. My two kids (4, 7) had no trouble picking up the mechanics and surprised me with their creativity. The 4 year old didn't get strategy stuff but got a solid handle on the fighting mechanic very quickly. The 7 year old easily grasped mechanics and was starting to get a grip on strategy by the end of our first session playing Basement o Rats. Buy it if you have kids and you're even remotely interested in playing RPGs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Loren N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2014 09:36:54
Purchased this one afternoon. After 10 minutes of printing and another 20 of cutting and taping, we were playing!

I've been trying to find ways to start introducing role playing elements to a 4-year-old. Hero Kids did the trick! Things I like:
- simple dice rolls and comparison of results
- the character and baddie images are very nice
- the maps are wonderful: our players love revealing new locations as we play
- plenty of open hooks for us to add rules or options as our players learn
- more than just combat: characters have other interesting items to achieve their goals with

"I want to use my bag of gold to distract the pirates!" - 4-year-old first-time role-player getting clever

I'm so proud to have successfully introduced role-playing to such a young gamer, this will certainly change his life.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jeffrey S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2014 09:39:40
I have 2 boys, age almost 7 and almost 10.

This game exceeded my expectations on awesomeness for kids in this range. The drawings, maps, and adventures are perfect.

Half (or more) of the fun for them is looking at the pictures and discussing the characters details and pretending to be one or the other. The actual game -- while perfect for them -- wasn't even the thing they were most interested in. As a result, just the first *map* of the Rats in the Basement adventure took us around an hour to finish, from printout, character selection, discussion of the game world, etc. In other words, you should expect to get much more than "30 minutes" of fun and play out of a single adventure.

Thanks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Roger D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2014 20:04:01
Great. My kids really love this and ask for new adventures every weekend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jordan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:14:23
I briefly skimmed the rules and ran my kids and wife through the introductory adventure. My son (8) and wife really seemed to enjoy it. My daughter (4) had a hard time focusing on the game and kept wandering off. I did find the adventure to be a little encounter heavy. I would like to have seen a little more opportunity for role playing and character/setting development. Hopefully some of the other adventures will have more such opportunities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Sandra R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2014 16:49:05
As much fun for Mom and Dad as it is for the kids. We thoroughly enjoyed our first adventure. The game mechanics are just right for both our 7 year and and 10 year old to understand. We had an epic night! Great introduction to RPG gaming.

Now I want to try using it with my students! Should make for some very interesting classes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Michel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2014 14:30:06
Ich spiele mit meinen Jungs 4 und 6 Hero Kids, sie lieben es. Zuerst das Basteln und Bemalen der Figuren und danach das Abenteuer selber top für uns passt es . en

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by John H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2013 08:51:34
My kids absolutely love this game. We played the Basement of Rats adventure a few weeks ago and the ask me to play 2-3 times per week. I just logged back into DriveThruRPG to buy one of the premium adventures and figured I'd drop a review. Great work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2013 19:04:56
Thanks to this game tomorrow will be my first time running a PnP game for my five year old, words can not express how excited we are! The rules look easy enough but still fun, and the over all concept of the game is just fantastic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2013 12:39:04
This was fun. I played it with my 5 year old daughter who immediatly wanted to play the girl with the hiar and the tiar on the cover. So she did. She had a great moment when she wanted to push a stack of barrels shown on the map onto a couple of rats she was going to have to fight. She hit one and missed the other.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG