RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
23 53
4 3
1 2
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Alec M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2016 14:29:57

I've been looking at buying this game for a while now, and with the teach kids RPG sale I couldn't refuse. I bought the whole bundle. My son's been watching me prepare D&D games for a few years now, and always wanted to play with me (and with all those cool dice!). He's 5 years old so D&D is obviously a bit out of his reach, but this was perfect. I printed out all the character and monster minis, character sheets and equipment cards for every adventure at a local shop on heavy paper for under $20 (Canadian) and they look and feel great! I also printed out the colouring book, and have been giving him the pages with the monsters before each adventure to get him excited about them, then I'm colouring in the minis to match his creations, he really liked that. My son had a blast running through the Basement o Rats adventure and is looking forward to playing more. This is a great product and I would recommend it to anyone looking to play RPGs with their little one(s)! I've been telling all my friends with kids/nieces/nephews about it, a few have picked it up and are having the same results as me. Well done Justin Halliday!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Shontell D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2016 14:23:36

Hero Kids is an excellent rpg. I have played it with my two boys 4 and 5 years old and they loved it. The rules are simple and the adventures appropriate for a quick start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2016 05:54:01

I have started playing this with my seven year old son and as a long term D&D roleplayer I have to say I have been impressed with the simplicity of getting started and the quickness of learning of this system.

I very much liked having so many pre-generated adventures to get started with as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2016 12:26:53

This game was a great way to start table top RPGs with my kids. We got pizza, picked our characters, talked about back stories, and got straight into Basement Full o' Rats. My daughter is 7 and my son is 5, and when we got done with the adventure, they wanted to jump straight into another arc! The rules are simple and make it easy for little ones to get right into the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Chris G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2016 12:19:11

I picked up Hero Kids after my 6 year old son found my old set of DnD dice and kept asking to play that game with the cool dice.

I bought the whole bundle, for a great price, and got to work with setting up for the first adventure... Basement O' Rats.

With my son as the knight and my 4 year old daughter as the hunter, we started the adventure.

They grasped the basics of the rules quickly and could easily keep up with the turn sequence. My daughter lost interest about 3/4 of the way through, but my son was engaged through to the end. He even made a new character with custom powers and wanted to fight the rat king again.

All in all a great value for the money and I have barely scratched the surface of what came in the bundle.

The rules are simple and sufficient. The adventures are very easy to run. The extras like equipment cards and pets are goin to add to replay value and setting up an extended campaign.

The only thing I can think of to improve this game is to add a leveling system. What kid doesn't want to get stronger, faster and more powerful? I'm certain that I will be homebrewing a leveling system before too long, but I would like to see the author address this especially because of the amount of work he has put in to make Hero Kids complete.

9/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by William P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2016 20:10:07

This game is terrific for kids. My youngest, 6, can play without help. My oldest, 13, is not too bored to participate making a great family game. Also, my older kids have been too impatient to go through the process of making their characters for some other RPGs so we haven't actually made it to gaming in them prior to this game. After playing this, my older kids were excited to create characters for other games they want to try as well. I purchased the pack that had all the modules and they were quite well written and easy to use, but I am not going to bother to evaluate them all separately. The magic items and pets add fun for the kids without throwing the game out of balance if you add them gradually as you move to the harder adventures. The only thing this game needs in a way to advance the characters, but it wasn't too hard to come up with one on my own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Serge B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2016 13:55:33

Very well done RPG-with-(paper)-minis for kids. It has the right level of complexity and difficulty that can be hard to gauge as a parent. My youngest (10) is able to play a "real" system like Fate to an extent, but enjoys the physicality of pushing minis on a board and combat a lot. Hero Kids also includes ability tests, which makes it a pretty complete "My First RPG" system. The setting is also well done: it isn't very detailed, but does a good job of creating a world where it makes sense for kids to be the adventurers instead of their parents.

All in all I highly recommend this for parents who want to get their kids into the RPG hobby.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2016 15:15:28

This is a great basic RPG for my kids. I play with two younger family members aged 4 and 8. They're always excited to play the game. It is simple enough so that they are not overwhelmed with complex rules or scenarios. The stories provide a fun hook to get them started and the environment is stimulating enough to allow them to get invested in it. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:02:05

My kids and I have throughly enojoyed Hero Kids adventures. I had no prior experience usign RPG's and Hero Kids core info gave me all the info I need to get started and have our first adventure. I highly reccomend Hero Kids for families to experience together ( my 6 and 9 yos) had no trouble picking up rules and what to do ,and each additional adventure has gotten smoother with more description actions from everybody. Hero kids offers many other adventures are avialable ( we really enjoyed Ghost pirates and Wizard's tower!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2016 09:41:13

Excellent product! Clearly created by someone who (A) understands solid game design, and (B) understands kids. Speaking as a teacher and a father, I have absolutely zero complaints about this product and much love. As a longtime gamer who wants his kids to love gaming, it was important to me that product be simplified without being "dumbed down" and that it emphasize game play and enjoyment over rules lawyering. Hero Kids hits it on both counts.

The core system is solid, using a basic opposed dice pools dynamic. There is some flavor text in the adventures but not an overwhelming amount. I've chosing to expand upon what is already a solid foundation by adding named PCs, custom flat figs, and papercraft buildings.

Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jammy L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2016 05:50:58

A good starting point for my kid in role playinh RPG. I think starting from 5 years old will be more interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Eapen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2016 19:36:53

My two daughters, ages 7 and 5, enjoyed their first tabletop RPG experience with the rat adventure the mechanics were easy for them to grasp. The setting and classes are all fun to play and inspired their imaginations. i think it hit the mark for the older kid. the younger needed some guidance at first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Cameron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:03:07

I have two boys ages 8 and 10. I had tried to introduce them to D&D but the rules were far too complex. I found an article online and it had mentioned Wil Wheaton suggesting parents try Hero Kids. I bought and downloaded the PDF's and learned the game very quickly. It was very easy to explain to my boys and easy to set up. They really loved Tomb of the lost king and we just finished The lost village. My youngest is a big fan of large hulk-like characters and only ever plays the Dragon-kin Brute from the Hero Cards expansion. The equipment cards expansion gave the game the element of "loot" which I think are my boys favorite feature of RPG's. Overall I am very satisfied with this game as are my sons. The game could be a tad more colorful or the maps more detailed but our imaginations greatly supplement this small con. Overall I give hero Kids a 9/10 rating and have suggested it to all my tabletop friends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Joe J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2016 17:11:24

If I start out with "my 5 year old loves this game," you will forgive my lack of originality. The simple dice-pool mechanics, printable maps and paper figurines engage his imagination while the hero and monster cards fit into what he has seen in video games. Sure, the advantages of ranged-vs.-melee combat elude him and we sort of fudge movement rates, but he has fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2016 13:45:38

Ive played two adventures with my 5yr old and hes loved it. He gets really into the adventures which are short enough to keep his atyention, but ling enough to provide a small story. It's very basic, but he can pretty well understand his character sheet. Ive been waiting for him to get old enough to play RPGs with and thanks to Hero Kids the day has come sooner than i ever expected.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG