RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
32 66
6 5
1 2
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 20:13:24

6.5 year old has very much enjoyed the game - we've played 2 of the adventures so far - one of which we did one evening while on a family vacation - just had printed the adventure beforehand - handful of 6 sided dice and a very compact game to play whereever the desire (or boredom) may strike.

Simple rules, simple math, the adults have had fun, she has had fun. Works on listening skills, critical thinking, some good math practice for the age group, and at least one of the adventures highlighted a discussion we needed to have on what kinds of things are appropriate for "keeping secrets" vs what should be discussed with an adult.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Chad L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2018 06:56:34

What a great system to introduce RPGs to my 6yo boy! I was an AD&D and GURPS player from waaaay back when, and have been missing the hobby. When my son found my old D&D books and expressed interest, I jumped at the opportunity. I went looking for an age-appropriate system, ultimately landing on Hero Kids.

We had our first extended session this past weekend, and boy howdy did he have fun! He picked up the game mechanics straight away, and I got back into my old GM groove (just like old times!) He immediately gravitated to the Wolfchild character, and we spent several hours just developing his backstory, and my mind is abuzz with some fun ideas for an extended storyline. I'm so jazzed he's taken to the hobby so enthusiastically, and that I'm able to scratch that RPG itch after so long.

Thanks for creating such a great game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Carlos T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2018 19:23:03

My 7 year old son loves this game, and I can't recommend it strongly enough. I've told friends with young kids too.

Is there a forum for exchanging user-written adventures or ideas? My son has blown through almost all the published adventures, and we'll soon need to write our own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 11:14:49

I DM D&D for my family and friends, but my younger kids and their friends want to play, too, and it is just over their heads. Hero Kids is simplified enough where the kids can grasp the concept, yet versitile enough that they can bring their own flair to the premade characters, or create their own custom characters. The system is well thought out and balanced fairly. I like how the hit points are simplifed and are "knocked out" instead of killed (Though I have some kids with huge imaginations that want the deaths to be cartoon bloody. lol).

I bought the completel package with extra heros, bad guys, and adventures. They're all awesome. I absolutely love that every hero and mob comes with a paper mini, too, that can be colored in for personalization. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2017 15:35:37

I have played D&D since Red Book as a teenager. I was looking for a game to get my children into “D&D”. This is it. The mechanics are simple and the kids (age 7(B) and 10(G)) were able to pick them up in 5 minutes and focus on the story. I totally recommend this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Curtis B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2017 13:55:21

Absolutely amazing! I figured my seven year old son and myself would have fun, however I did not expect to have as much fun as we did. He is very imaginative in general, and it applied very well to this game. The modules are very easy to use and require very little preparation, so we can play without delay. The rules are simple and fun and leave plenty of room for improvisation if desired.

I cannot recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by John Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2017 08:19:39

Simple enough rules for a four year old, seemingly heaps of potential for adventure customisation for years to come. First encounter went really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Shannon H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2017 13:22:23

Totally worth it. Easily expandable, easy system for kids to learn role playing. My 8 and 11 year old girls really like it. One suggestion: use lego figurines for the heroes and bad guys, they fit perfectly into the one inch grid and don't fall over all the time like the figurine tents. Or use character tokens form Pathfinder, but Legos are more fun, and then if they really dig it you can buy some Reaper miniatures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Colin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 14:15:33

(Copied across from my posted review for the 'Complete Hero' bundle - if it's still on sale, well worth the price in my opinion)

I spotted that the Hero Kids Complete Fantasy Bundle was on sale for an absolutely massive reduction - $19.95 down from $63.83 - and so decided to pick the thing up. I'd played a few simple homebrew scenarios with my 5-year-old son, and had heard some neat things about this game.

I'm delighted with the results. A simple ruleset for my son, a clear guide for his first-time-GM Dad, and a rich collection of printables, inventory items and character sheets to really add to the experience. My son and I have both been having a great time with this - well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Robynn W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2017 14:17:21

First adventure has gone really well and the whole family (with kids of 4 and 8) is revved up for more. As GM I chose to be pretty flexible on the details of turn-taking, movement etc, for the sake of smoother game-play; I don't think the system as written is clunky, I just found the more organic approach worked better for us.

My only criticism is that the introductory adventure, Basement O Rats, is a bit too repetitive. After the first encounter my 4yo was already declaring himself sick of rats. But I'm looking forward to trying out other adventures, and inventing our own. (The 8yo is highly impatient to try her hand at GMing!)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2017 16:10:13

My son is 4 1/2 and so far he loves this. Only him and I have played so far, but I can imagine if he ever gets to play with his friends or when Mom gets to join he will love it even more. I haven't tried any other table top RPGs for him, but so happy he likes it. One rough thing for me (it's about him though, so it's definitely worth it) is that I've never played a table top RPG before. I've played plenty of video games RPGs though, so I understand the concept. But filling in and trying to make sense of some of the gaps in the instructions and story and how to actually do the gameplay has been a challenge for me. I would love to see a more easily accessible version (no previous RPG experience required).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jesse H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2017 13:38:32

Really good. Played with my 5 yeard old and 3 year old. This their first time playing an RPG (and mine too!) went pretty well. Easy to understand rules. It's also fantastic that everything you need is included. Maps, hero minis, monster minis... Great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Colette E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2017 16:18:32

This is a comprehensive and fantastic guide to roleplaying for young kids. As a beginner GM, I was able to start our families first campaign with the addition of one game from Hero Kids and then use this format to build my own and the families own ideas and adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Lauren R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2017 13:17:45

This is perfect. My 7 year old son watches our DnD games in fascination, but hasn't been able to join because his reading and writing isn't great (the math, which seems to hold most kids back, is no problem). We've struggled to find a similar game he could play. Most of the games made for kids seem to be very limiting and boardgame-like. Hero Kids lets you do whatever you want, or whatever the DM will allow, just like in DnD.

My husband and son are playing a pair of brothers in the game I'm DMing. The older brother (my husband) is always putting the younger one (my son) down, telling him to hang back because he's squishy or not strong enough, and although the younger brother takes offense, it's clear the older one is just being protective. They bicker over who's going to hit things first, they get fed up and go different directions, leading to separate encounters and the occasional cry for help that may or may not be answered, they use dead giant rats as bludgeoning weapons... and as the DM, I can allow all this and decide what rules apply, just like I would in DnD.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2016 08:45:41

Perfect intriduction for kids. i can't believe how much my girls enjoyed this game. (7 & 9 years). A suprising bonus to the printable componoents, was that they loved choosing their characters and colouring them in, even before we started playing. They loved using their imaginations while still having rules and a bit of a challenge.The rats adventure was very basic but easy to embellish during play. The rules are quick and easy for them to understand but provide enough structure and mechanic for it to be fun. Also we took the advice of another review and used chocolate coins as treasure and tiny rocket sweets as life points.(Unfortunately I couldnt find any heart shape candies.)They got to eat the chocolate coins at the end, and the rockets when they knocked a life off a monster. (Mummy even got to eat some when her monsters knocked a few lifes off the heroes, yeah!). Normally i have to beg the children to play a game with me(sad I know), now its the other way round. I highly recommend Hero Kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 73 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG