RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 37
4 2
1 1
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2015 08:24:56

I have three girls, 9, 7, and 3. My wife decided to play as well. We played the first adventure tonight and loved it! I had everyone write up a back story (creative writing skills). We spent the first hour discussing how all of the kids are related or friends in the village of Rivenshore. They were hooked before we even started adventuring. I was impressed out how their creativity started flowing!


We took about two hours to explore the rat caves, knock out all of the rats, and free Roger. Since there were 5 adventurers, I maxed out the rat count. That probably caused us to take longer than most.


All said and done, my girls loved it and can't wait to play again. My wife even admitted that she had a great time. Looks like many family fun nights are in store for us! Thanks for your wonderful game!


To anyone thinking about introducing your family into roleplaying games, this is a great deal on a great product! The amount of fun we've had already makes the price worth it, and we're just getting started! Turn off the TV, put away the iPads and the iPhones, gather around the table and adventure together as a family! Trust me, its worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2015 00:15:17

A great game for younger kids! I bought this back in August for my four year old son who wanted to play a "miniatures game" like his parents do. The system is fast and easy for him to use, without it feeling "dumbed down". The intro adventure was fun. He really likes the variety of characters available. I like that while the rules are ideally suited for young children, it is still capable of supporting a full roleplaying experience. I can easily see how this game is rich enough to continue to hold his interest when he is 9 or 10. If you have or know kids who want to take up the tabletop roleplaying hobby, you really can't go wrong with this game. It's a real winner!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2015 07:47:32

I ran this last night for my seven year old daughter. She's played LEGO Heroica and other RPG-esque board games, but this was the first time she had a character sheet and a chance to make bigger decisions about how to play the game and get into character. She had a ball with it and was begging to play more. She spent the rest of the evening after the game creating and drawing a new character to use the next time we play.


This is a very effective age-appropriate design, and a great introduction to RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Khana S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2015 12:29:24

This was one of the presents for my son's 4th birthday. Just barely within the age range!


He absolutely loves it. Since his birthday, he's begged to play it very nearly every day. We've had to make official Hero Kids days of the week (Monday and Friday), so he can handle the disappointment of not playing it every day.


I haven't even had time to prep many adventures (I bought a big combo pack thing), so he's ended up playing the Basement O' Rats 3 times, before I had the next adventure ready. He loved it, all three times. And then loved the next adventure (I did the Fire in Rivenshore one next).


It's an amazing way to spend time as a family - I've been running the games, and my husband has been playing alongside the little guy. It's been wonderful.


And actually, I feel like it's improving my GM skills - it requires description and NPC handling in an entirely different way, and that's forcing my perspective to broaden. Always a good thing!


Seriously, this is amazing, for any tabletop players with young ones in the family.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2015 14:45:03

Picked up the Fantasy Bundle for this. Played through the first adventure with my 5yo last weekend and he had a blast. Looking forward to playing the rest!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2015 10:10:00

I would like to thank the publisher's of Hero Kids for creating this great product as looks like it is going to be a regular gaming activity for my daughter and friends. We had our first gaming session this past weekend and it went over like gangbusters. Our group included two 7 year old girls (my daughter and a friend), two adult players (to help out), one 9 year old boy and myself as the game master. The kids picked up the basic mechanics very quickly and within an hour had advanced beyond basic combat into skill and encounter tests.


Everyone loved the creative and inspiring character cards, and we had almost as much fun cutting out and prepping the well drawn monster and hero tokens. We got through about 3/4 of the Basement O' Rats Adventure (which took a bit longer than expected due to the size of the party and some energetic role-playing on all sides of the table) before it was time to fold everything up for dinner. Groans were muttered by many at this time, and questions about when we would finish quickly came up.


My only complaint about this product (and it's a minor one) is that my daughter was a little disappointed we would not be using "Daddy's cool dice" sets.


The art is great, the story was fun, and the mechanics were simple enough to learn quickly while still leaving room for growth in complexity if need be.


Thank you from Buffy the Brute, Fred the Hunter, Sophia the Healer, Ash the Rogue, and Blackrose the Druid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Vinicio A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2015 12:49:18

I played AD&D for over 15 years (as player and DM), so i could easily build something for my kids (6 and 8 years old).
I somehow end up on this set... im glad i did; not only saved me a lot of trouble by simplifying rules; i should add, very intelligently. :)


I love it, they love it, its super simple which is what i needed for my kids. Only problem is finding the time to play again since we had such a blast they dont want to stop playing :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Tiest V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2015 08:23:34

Haven't had a chance to play this with my boys, but seems well thought out. Really nicely described complexity progression for different age/abilities. I was disappointed that there weren't more female characters in the core rulebook: they start with male and female versions of the first two character types, and then it's just boys boys boys.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review Tiest. Five of the ten heroes in the core game are girls: Rogue, Hunter, Warlock, Healer, Warrior http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-gXe3I-6BSMs/UI8ZgXWwIGI/AAAAAAAAFFs/GauYFxwJPRM/s1600/Hero+Kids+-+Hero+Line-Up+-+540x153.png
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2015 09:35:13

I've played this game with my two daughters, ages 4 and 5, and they really seemed to have liked it. They managed to play through the entire beginning scenario without stopping. I was a bit surprised.


The system is very simple, and I have to say that it works rather well. The girls were able to play with just a little bit of help and (more importantly) without getting frustrated. Instead of XP's in a typical RPG, they were rewarded with M&M's, which are infinitely more valuable to a preschool player.


The oldest is in kindergarten and reads only at Level 1. The younger child is still in preschool and doesn't read at all. Their math skills are pretty much limited to simple addition. Nevertheless, because of how the system works, they can understand the dice rolls -- how they work and how they are resolved -- and they can understand the "stats" of their characters. I have to remind them of their characters' "class" abilities, since they can't effectively read the words on their character sheets, but these abilities are few and some are obvious, such as the healer's ability to heal.


In addition to how the rules work, the system has a few more advantages for kids. The game is set up so that the characters themselves are children, which makes them much easier for young children to identify with and role play. The artwork looks like it came off of a Saturday morning cartoon show, which also helps young kids relate to the game and identify with their characters. The fantasy theme meshes well with what they are already familiar with from Disney films.


The system is completely d6. The idea is that you can be ready to play by raiding the family Yahtzee set. The materials are easy to print out and use. There are even free PDF's of the characters that can be printed for children to color or draw on.


Since my girls have asked (almost begged) to continue playing, I have bought the expansions to this game as well. I recommend this system to anyone interested in getting their children, particularly very young children, into the imagination-inspiring world of role-playing games. It's a great start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Christina B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2015 18:34:11

This game was all I hoped for and more! My 4-and-a-half year old and I played it tonight for the first time (thanks to the PDF version, because he just couldn't stand to wait another week or so for the soft cover to arrive), and as soon as we finished, he wanted to play again. The basic rules, storyline (for Basement O' Rats), and character sheets were very age-appropriate, and he was very quickly able to understand the opposed dice pool concept. The storyline is flexible enough to allow (and encourage!) customization and role-playing. The story also lasted much longer for us than the 30 minutes suggested (it took us almost 2 hours), and while this may be because my son is so young, or because it was our first game and we were learning the mechanics, it worked out great. He doesn't have much of an attention span normally, but the gameplay and character involvement kept him super-focused and excited the whole duration, and we had no idea that much time had passed. We cannot wait to order more adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Rob S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2014 13:19:53

Having been an RPG player as a kid I was looking for a way to share that experience with my two kids, 8 & 6. Hero Kids is fantastic fun for all of us! I get to be the controlling GM, adjusting play as needed for their experience. The kids get to delve into the rich experience of RPG games at a level appropriate for their age.
My Son (6) said it best when he stated how excited he was to be able to actually CHOSE what to do in the game, unlike his favorite video game!
We are now working on playing pieces for the game. There is nothing like mixing crafts with RPG gaming for kids!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jon m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2014 16:08:21

I don't often give feedback on things but had to for this. I have played a bit of D&D when I was in my youth and enjoyed the game. My boys (9 and twins 6) like to play iPad and playstation. I thought I would give this a go to see if they Gould open their minds and be a bit creative rather than staring at a screen. The rules are pretty simple and easy to follow with flexibility to make your own bits up.
My kids absolutely love it. They come home from school and instead of asking for the iPad they ask for Hero Kids.
He have done a few of the adventures now I have also made a few up and have then traveling between quests with the use of the map.
This really is fantastic and a very good price. Best bet is to get the bundle. I find the games last longer than they say but that's 3 kids (plus baby sister stealing dice) and they have a character and pet each. You should get figures or use the standup cards. Get the kids to colour them in too! The couloring books are a great touch too.
When we are not playing the kids make up their own characters, pets and sometimes maps!
I just got the new space one too, but not tried that out yet.
fantastic game and great to spend some quality time with the kids. Also introduces them to RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2014 10:32:44

My son is almost 4 and he had a great time sneaking through the basement trying to clear it of rats. We played a heavily slimmed down rule set, but I think that is the beauty of Hero Kids, you only need to enforce the rules that the young attention spans will allow. As he gets older I'm sure we'll revisit the adventures in more complicated versions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2014 17:49:05

I can't even begin to explain the joy I had with my young daughter as we learned to play an RPG that is tailored to the younger audience!


Thanks Hero Forge Games, you've produced an absolutely invaluable product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2014 02:10:56

I played a couple of games of this with my 5 year old daughter (very short attention span) while on holiday.


I was very rusty and but the game mechanics are really straight forward and scalable. She absolutely loved it.


We played "Basement of Rats" a number of times (which did get a little tiresome on the 4th repeat, but she was still going strong), and then moved on to "Curse of the Shadow Walkers" which was more involved and much more fun to GM. My daughter liked this even more.


I am going to print out "Glade of the Unicorn" and give that one a go.


A hugely enjoyable game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG