RPGNow.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info













Back
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
28 60
6 5
1 2
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by John Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2017 08:19:39

Simple enough rules for a four year old, seemingly heaps of potential for adventure customisation for years to come. First encounter went really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Shannon H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2017 13:22:23

Totally worth it. Easily expandable, easy system for kids to learn role playing. My 8 and 11 year old girls really like it. One suggestion: use lego figurines for the heroes and bad guys, they fit perfectly into the one inch grid and don't fall over all the time like the figurine tents. Or use character tokens form Pathfinder, but Legos are more fun, and then if they really dig it you can buy some Reaper miniatures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Colin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 14:15:33

(Copied across from my posted review for the 'Complete Hero' bundle - if it's still on sale, well worth the price in my opinion)

I spotted that the Hero Kids Complete Fantasy Bundle was on sale for an absolutely massive reduction - $19.95 down from $63.83 - and so decided to pick the thing up. I'd played a few simple homebrew scenarios with my 5-year-old son, and had heard some neat things about this game.

I'm delighted with the results. A simple ruleset for my son, a clear guide for his first-time-GM Dad, and a rich collection of printables, inventory items and character sheets to really add to the experience. My son and I have both been having a great time with this - well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Robynn W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2017 14:17:21

First adventure has gone really well and the whole family (with kids of 4 and 8) is revved up for more. As GM I chose to be pretty flexible on the details of turn-taking, movement etc, for the sake of smoother game-play; I don't think the system as written is clunky, I just found the more organic approach worked better for us.

My only criticism is that the introductory adventure, Basement O Rats, is a bit too repetitive. After the first encounter my 4yo was already declaring himself sick of rats. But I'm looking forward to trying out other adventures, and inventing our own. (The 8yo is highly impatient to try her hand at GMing!)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2017 16:10:13

My son is 4 1/2 and so far he loves this. Only him and I have played so far, but I can imagine if he ever gets to play with his friends or when Mom gets to join he will love it even more. I haven't tried any other table top RPGs for him, but so happy he likes it. One rough thing for me (it's about him though, so it's definitely worth it) is that I've never played a table top RPG before. I've played plenty of video games RPGs though, so I understand the concept. But filling in and trying to make sense of some of the gaps in the instructions and story and how to actually do the gameplay has been a challenge for me. I would love to see a more easily accessible version (no previous RPG experience required).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jesse H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2017 13:38:32

Really good. Played with my 5 yeard old and 3 year old. This their first time playing an RPG (and mine too!) went pretty well. Easy to understand rules. It's also fantastic that everything you need is included. Maps, hero minis, monster minis... Great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Colette E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2017 16:18:32

This is a comprehensive and fantastic guide to roleplaying for young kids. As a beginner GM, I was able to start our families first campaign with the addition of one game from Hero Kids and then use this format to build my own and the families own ideas and adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Lauren R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2017 13:17:45

This is perfect. My 7 year old son watches our DnD games in fascination, but hasn't been able to join because his reading and writing isn't great (the math, which seems to hold most kids back, is no problem). We've struggled to find a similar game he could play. Most of the games made for kids seem to be very limiting and boardgame-like. Hero Kids lets you do whatever you want, or whatever the DM will allow, just like in DnD.

My husband and son are playing a pair of brothers in the game I'm DMing. The older brother (my husband) is always putting the younger one (my son) down, telling him to hang back because he's squishy or not strong enough, and although the younger brother takes offense, it's clear the older one is just being protective. They bicker over who's going to hit things first, they get fed up and go different directions, leading to separate encounters and the occasional cry for help that may or may not be answered, they use dead giant rats as bludgeoning weapons... and as the DM, I can allow all this and decide what rules apply, just like I would in DnD.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2016 08:45:41

Perfect intriduction for kids. i can't believe how much my girls enjoyed this game. (7 & 9 years). A suprising bonus to the printable componoents, was that they loved choosing their characters and colouring them in, even before we started playing. They loved using their imaginations while still having rules and a bit of a challenge.The rats adventure was very basic but easy to embellish during play. The rules are quick and easy for them to understand but provide enough structure and mechanic for it to be fun. Also we took the advice of another review and used chocolate coins as treasure and tiny rocket sweets as life points.(Unfortunately I couldnt find any heart shape candies.)They got to eat the chocolate coins at the end, and the rockets when they knocked a life off a monster. (Mummy even got to eat some when her monsters knocked a few lifes off the heroes, yeah!). Normally i have to beg the children to play a game with me(sad I know), now its the other way round. I highly recommend Hero Kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Alec M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2016 14:29:57

I've been looking at buying this game for a while now, and with the teach kids RPG sale I couldn't refuse. I bought the whole bundle. My son's been watching me prepare D&D games for a few years now, and always wanted to play with me (and with all those cool dice!). He's 5 years old so D&D is obviously a bit out of his reach, but this was perfect. I printed out all the character and monster minis, character sheets and equipment cards for every adventure at a local shop on heavy paper for under $20 (Canadian) and they look and feel great! I also printed out the colouring book, and have been giving him the pages with the monsters before each adventure to get him excited about them, then I'm colouring in the minis to match his creations, he really liked that. My son had a blast running through the Basement o Rats adventure and is looking forward to playing more. This is a great product and I would recommend it to anyone looking to play RPGs with their little one(s)! I've been telling all my friends with kids/nieces/nephews about it, a few have picked it up and are having the same results as me. Well done Justin Halliday!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Shontell D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2016 14:23:36

Hero Kids is an excellent rpg. I have played it with my two boys 4 and 5 years old and they loved it. The rules are simple and the adventures appropriate for a quick start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2016 05:54:01

I have started playing this with my seven year old son and as a long term D&D roleplayer I have to say I have been impressed with the simplicity of getting started and the quickness of learning of this system.

I very much liked having so many pre-generated adventures to get started with as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2016 12:26:53

This game was a great way to start table top RPGs with my kids. We got pizza, picked our characters, talked about back stories, and got straight into Basement Full o' Rats. My daughter is 7 and my son is 5, and when we got done with the adventure, they wanted to jump straight into another arc! The rules are simple and make it easy for little ones to get right into the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Chris G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2016 12:19:11

I picked up Hero Kids after my 6 year old son found my old set of DnD dice and kept asking to play that game with the cool dice.

I bought the whole bundle, for a great price, and got to work with setting up for the first adventure... Basement O' Rats.

With my son as the knight and my 4 year old daughter as the hunter, we started the adventure.

They grasped the basics of the rules quickly and could easily keep up with the turn sequence. My daughter lost interest about 3/4 of the way through, but my son was engaged through to the end. He even made a new character with custom powers and wanted to fight the rat king again.

All in all a great value for the money and I have barely scratched the surface of what came in the bundle.

The rules are simple and sufficient. The adventures are very easy to run. The extras like equipment cards and pets are goin to add to replay value and setting up an extended campaign.

The only thing I can think of to improve this game is to add a leveling system. What kid doesn't want to get stronger, faster and more powerful? I'm certain that I will be homebrewing a leveling system before too long, but I would like to see the author address this especially because of the amount of work he has put in to make Hero Kids complete.

9/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by William P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2016 20:10:07

This game is terrific for kids. My youngest, 6, can play without help. My oldest, 13, is not too bored to participate making a great family game. Also, my older kids have been too impatient to go through the process of making their characters for some other RPGs so we haven't actually made it to gaming in them prior to this game. After playing this, my older kids were excited to create characters for other games they want to try as well. I purchased the pack that had all the modules and they were quite well written and easy to use, but I am not going to bother to evaluate them all separately. The magic items and pets add fun for the kids without throwing the game out of balance if you add them gradually as you move to the harder adventures. The only thing this game needs in a way to advance the characters, but it wasn't too hard to come up with one on my own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 67 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG