RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Fantasy AGE Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2015 23:46:04
Very good generic fantasy system. same system used in the titans grave web series on geek and sundries. Although slightly modified it is also the core system in the Dragon Age roleplaying game.

It's a good basic system. the real charm of the system is the stunt system. on a roll of doubles you get between 1 and 6 stunt points to spend on a menu of special maneuvers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Taking the Narrative by the Tail: GM Intrusions & Special Effects
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2014 20:04:39
A steal for the price. Touches on one aspect of the cypher system I was wondering how I would implement. The GM intrusion. Great advice on how to use them, and use them creatively.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Taking the Narrative by the Tail: GM Intrusions & Special Effects
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

When Worlds Collide: Converting Numenera and The Strange
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2014 19:59:13
When worlds collide is a short and to the point document. Its all about using numenera materian in The Strange and the other way around. How to use foci from one game in the other. I would say in this way its more about rules conversion than it is about "fluff" or story reason. Which is covered but just slightly. Over all it was a good purchase since I will be using Numenera in my The Strange games.

-Gaming Ronin

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When Worlds Collide: Converting Numenera and The Strange
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Strange XP Deck
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2014 19:44:47
I ordered the PDF+Cards, the cards are beautiful. These cards are not a must have item to play, you could get by without them. That being said I'm very happy with this purchase. I feel like the cards add flavor and I really enjoy them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange XP Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Covert Ops Role Playing Game
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2014 13:19:15
I cant recommend this game enough if you want to run espionage or paramilitary style games. The system is fast and intuitive. There is even a supplement Neumann protocol that brings Covert ops into the future, great for cyberpunk.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Covert Ops Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2014 23:49:59
This book is amazing. I got this book after enjoying the savageworlds version. This is the first OGL book I have read in a long time that could draw me back into running d20. Its a full and complete book nothing else needed to play. This book could easily be used to run all kinds of Victorian as well as modern fantasy. This is what d20 Modern should have been. If I do run any OGL setting this is my new OGL main rule set. So much good in this book. The racial feat trees are just the touch of customization that is missing from a lot of OGL books.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds Edition)
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2014 21:18:25
Any one who knows me knows I love Victorian era mystery and horror. What stands out to me in Gaslight is its information on secret societies and hidden places. Every page gives me ideas for games I would like to run. Again for its size, this product is full of campaign starters. From secret societies pulling strings behind the scenes, to creatures of the night walking the streets of London. Magic, Monsters and Dark agendas. Its everything I could ask for in a Victorian era source book.

As a side note. I started off thinking Gaslight would make a great supplement to PEG's very own Rippers setting. Which I love. Now I feel Rippers would make a great supplement for Gaslight. Gaslight could take Rippers games well beyond the Rippers world. Gaslight has a (in my opinion) better social standings rules than Rippers does as well.

If your a Victorian era fan as I am, I don't think you can go wrong with Gaslight.


Here is my favorite line out of the entire book.
"The head of MI 7 is the
quiet yet brilliant Mycroft
Holmes, elder brother of the
noted detective."
......I'm SOLD!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Krampus - a system neutral holiday NPC
Publisher: Troll in the Corner
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2012 14:23:21
This little write up is a good jumping start for a holiday based adventure. Or some modern take on the Krampus. (which I may use when I get my Grimm game going again) Its a fun 3 page write up with all the basics covered. The only complaint I would have is the font for the body of the text. Its a little hard to read with the parchment style background. Reading it on my Kindle I had to zoom in a bit. And even on the desk top it was easier to read at 120% zoom. If this had been a pay product I would have gone 4 stars for the ease of read thing. But as a free product its 4 stars all the way.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Krampus - a system neutral holiday NPC
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
Publisher: Troll in the Corner
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2012 13:48:40
I'm really not sure how I got along these last 18+ years of gaming without this product. Best part is it will work with any system. Although I will say some of my story gamer friends will not like this product for the lack of confusing terms and no real explanation on how best to FUDGE the dice. OSR fans will love this product though. It pulls no punches and lets the die do all the work. Rolled a two...too bad, better luck next time.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2012 15:56:51
This is a great game. Lite yet still detailed. Its a streamline percentile (%) system That is classless and instead uses skills as class. It really has an old school sensibility to it while being innovative and quick to play. I thought I had enough fantasy games. I diffidently have room for this one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2012 13:06:08
I'm very impressed with this book. I own and have played RQ2 (chaosium) quite a lot. And I think Legend is a great format for it's successor. Streamline and fun version on the BRP system. A+ in my book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2011 17:00:04
Modern20 Is head and shoulders above anything else I've seen. Its like they took the d20 system and rebuilt it from the ground up. Too much for me to list all of it here. I did a deeper look on my blog.

http://gamingronin.blogspot.com/2011/05/modern20-part-2.-
html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern20
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2011 21:25:40
Like every one else I have been waiting a long time to get my hands on the CKG. I could not get in on the pre-order.

I really struggled with the idea of paying $32 for the PDF. In the end my better judgment lost and I got it.

After reading through it I have got to say Its a great book. Part DMG part campaign planner.

For me the expanded rules for character building is great. As well as options for fine tuning the siege engine to taste is great too.

My only complaint is the price really. Too much for a PDF. If this was any other book. And any other company I would never have paid so much. $20 or even $25 I would have not hesitated.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tainted Lands
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2011 21:15:18
I really like C&C and the siege engine, And I'm a long time fan of dark fantasy.. So picking this up was a must. It is what it is, a small campaign setting for C&C. Its dark and the over all power level is kicked up a notch or two. For what it is its a lot of fun.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tainted Lands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2010 13:03:33
Great game. One of the best resources for using unisystem in any setting. This too me is what WOD tried to do.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG