RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying $1.00
Average Rating:3.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 1
1 6
1 0
0 1
0 1
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Click to view
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Brett B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2014 22:36:09
The game is what it is. It's eight pages of a minimalist attempt at a complete game setting. What it is not is what the reviewers made it out to be. Not that playable. Not that complete. Not that wonderful. It's a simple 2d6 game without much of anything that is innovative or clever in it's mechanics or setting. At a buck, I don't mind taking a chance. However, my expectations were ratcheted up by the reviews. I don't think I'll get another game based on the reviews. Having the text in various formats is a plus, but there are certainly better systems and more complete games that are completely free.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Marc D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2014 09:44:49
As fan of the Warhammer 40k fiction and boardgames, I was looking for a rules-lite and affordable alternative to the thick and costly RPG books from Fantasy Flight -- and I found it!

This nice little d6 system has it all - character creation, weapons/gear, skill checks, combat, enemy stats, movement. There is an even information for the setting and includes a mini-module adventure.

As to what this game is "lacking", well that's a matter of opinion. For me I like making it up on my own by using my imagination.

Time to purge the xenos threat...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Alexandre J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2013 12:04:19
The game is 7 pages long so don't expect a lot of material. But still, there's everything you need : from character to creation to equipement with a setting and stats for 4 different types of Bugs.

The rule are quite easy : 2D6 + Skill vs TN

The adventure is straightforward as well but it just works very well. You can download the game, read it and play it 15 minutes later. You could have a 3 to 4 hours game session just for 1$.

If you want to run a quick and dirty Starship Troopers/Aliens game, you can't go wrong with this game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! I am glad you enjoyed it!
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by christopher h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2013 01:40:57
Awesome seed to start your next space adventure. Light flexible d6 rules allow for quick play. Very easy to bring beginning players into the fold. I got my hands on the physical product that came as an awesome little scout book & an adventure. Ran it quickly for a few store patrons & the general consensus was WE WANT MORE!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Brent N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 23:41:22
Edge of Space is a lovely little d6-based sci-fi system that comes with its own basic space marine setting. Choose from one of 6 professions, then roll 4d6 and consult a table of skills for your profession. Rolling multiples of the same skill gives you more points in that skill. Come up with background and "Strings" that connect your PC with other PCs. Each PC has essentially 4 HP. That's your character.

For the core success/failure mechanic, roll 2d6 and add points in a relevant skill, trying to beat a target difficulty number. The system comes with a set of standard difficulties, from easy (4) to epic (14). There's even a simple mechanic for leveling up.

Most weapons deal 1-2 damage, and all have a range (in meters) and number of rounds.

The game also comes with information on the standard setting, which primarily consists of space marines against sentient alien bugs. You also get stats for 4 of these bugs.

Even better, your purchase includes a PocketMod version of the game, which you can print out for easy transportation and reference.

My only problem with the rules lies in the awkward grammar and odd word choices spread throughout the PDF. For example, the big galactic federation is referred to as a "banding of planetary governments," there are a lot of run-on sentences, and most of the setting description is composed of simple statements in a bland passive voice ("The Confederacy is...A senate is formed...Colonists are average citizens...The Space Marine Corps was formed...."). It doesn't communicate the big space action feel I expected in an action SF system like this. Fortunately, I'm sure this will be resolved in future editions, and it doesn't affect gameplay.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by felbrigg h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2012 02:44:40
This is a small game designed with a what appears to be a single purpose. That purpose is to have you read the rules, makes some characters and get playing, all in one session. The simplicity encompassed by this system is great, the careers, skills and strings (traits) are evocative and fit the theme.

There is just enough background info here to give you a taste for the alien bashing that the game is designed for.

Marines IN SPACE!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review, glad you like the game!
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2012 10:32:43
If I need to run a quick, off-the-cuff game in the style of ALIENS, this would be it. Simple rules with a bit of depth to get a feel for your character, it's all you need to get dropped on some miserable rock of a planet for a bug hunt. It's EXACTLY what I want for a PocketMod game, at the price I like for a mini-game.
My only negative would be the mechanics behind Strings. While I LIKE Strings (connections to other characters), the way you use them to help others seems a bit wonky (a String roll resulting in 6 or higher is added to the other person's roll? seems a bit overpowered...maybe just add +2 to their roll?). But the rule about "burning" Strings is perfect, in my opinion.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2012 17:39:24
Save your dollar. Other than the most basic of character creation and task resolution there is nothing here resembling a game of any substance.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Mr Messina, We have updated EoS with additional material, partly based on your comments as well as feedback from others. We invite you to take a look at the updated files and would appreciate your feedback and thoughts on the updated product. Thank you, Matt Jackson CMG
Edge of Space: Science Fiction Roleplaying
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/10/2012 00:51:53
I like Edge of Space a lot because it shows a lot of analysis and design. That said, it has some major issues, one of which being that it's so minimalistic that it's actually suffering for it, while there's some really, really good stuff there in terms of what could be expanded upon, it just doesn't do it and it kinda hurts. I recognize that there's something to be said for a game that can fit on just a few small pages, and if this were an entry for, say, Game Chef, it would be phenomenal. It's still a good game, but I'm just not feeling the pocket mod format, since it provides two formats it could very well be made with an examples and description "fluff" rich version and it would be a lot better, since at its short length (about 1300 words), it feels very good but still lacks some of the things that I'd like to see, namely at least some description of the alien menace, since as is it's not terribly engaging.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review and your honesty. We are looking at your suggestion to expand the full size version of the game with more details on the setting and the aliens. We hope to have an expanded version completed soon. Thank you for the suggestion!
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG