RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Dungeon World $10.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
46 21
7 6
2 2
2 0
0 0
Dungeon World
Click to view
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/02/2014 07:02:14
WHAT WORKS: Holy smokes...talk about taking the World Engine and running with it. These guys clearly have a fondness for D&D tropes, because you don't write a 400 page book about emulating D&D tropes in a different game system without having some kind of fondness for it. Again, speaking from experience, the World Engine does work pretty well, so long as you're not afraid to improvise. The bestiary is impressive and covers a LOT of ground (not surprising, given the context of the game). Lots and lots of explanations.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: They may have updated it since then, but the PDF I've got had some clickable bookmarks and page numbers that went back to the first page instead of where they were supposed to go. This is still going to be an exhausting game if you can't improvise well (or your group just doesn't want to play along).

CONCLUSION: This is D&D for folks who don't want to play D&D. If you like the D&D tropes but want something lighter and more free flowing, this is a really good choice. If there's something that isn't quite clicking with the game, some folks made a Dungeon World Beginner's Guide as well that'll help you out. Given my experiences with tremulus, I'm inclined to consider Dungeon World for my group's eventual visit to Ravenloft, though part of me really just wants to go into an open setting and see what happens. It covers a TON of ground...before turning around and giving enough advice and examples for you to tinker with it however you need to in order to fill out the game you want to play. Adding it to the short list of games I want to get to the table sooner, rather than later.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/01/tommys-take-o-
n-dungeon-world.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by James L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2014 16:53:44
I really enjoy the type of game that Dungeon World encourages, but unfortunately it just didn't seem to click for me. I also can't wrap my head around the notion that this is supposedly a rules-light system, yet it's 400+ pages. It doesn't bode well when a common recommendation is to read a free fan-created Beginners Guide just to understand this game.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Adrian T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2014 20:49:02
Dungeon World is the Roleplaying Game I've been wishing I was playing while I'd been playing Palladium and D&D years ago.

Dungeon World describes itself as a conversation, and this is absolutely true. The game doesn't differentiate between "Roleplaying" and "Combat", treating everything as roleplaying in a seamless flow as the players and GM talk about what is going on.

The game is very improvisation-heavy, giving the GM tools to decide what happens when the players either look to them to see what happens, or when they roll the dice. Instead of a binary pass/fail state, the game uses a good result/good result with complication/bad result, interested in consequences as opposed to success and failure. When the GM speaks, nothing never happens!

The rules are divided into smaller chunks, called moves. A move consists of a trigger, which is usually something a character does, or an event that occurs, then a mechanic for deciding the consequences, often rolling 2D6 and adding a stat, and the consequences, which the move will direct you to something interesting happening. Character sheets have everything you need on them to create and play your character. Character creation is fast, consisting of a few decisions that help describe your character, their motivations, and their origin You also have bonds with the other players' characters. This gets the players talking about their characters' relationships with each other very early on in a way that shapes the kinds of adventures they will have.

The GM has rules as well, helping them decide what to say in any given situation. The game plays very fast, bouncing between the GM and players and the rules very smoothly. Everyone describes what is happening, or what their characters are doing, while paying attention to see if they trigger a move. When a move is triggered, it steps in, directs the action to a particular consequence, and steps back out.

The game doesn't have a setting of it's own, but instead encourages the GM to ask questions in the setup phase to establish the setting. The benefits of this method is that there's no great dump of information that the players have to wade through. It also allows the players to introduce elements they are interested in and shape the types of adventures they will engage in. As the game goes on, and more questions are asked and answered, the world fills up with exciting and interesting details.

Dungeon World can be a paradigm shift in focus for people used to more traditional RPGs, with it's emphasis on improvisation. Players and the GM will need to rely heavily on their imaginations to simulate the world and bring the consequences of their actions to life. Tactical depth in the game also doesn't come directly from master of the rules, but of positioning your character in the events and places that allows them to get what they want. This makes talking about what's going on, and the GM being honest about the situation and consequences very important, so the players can make informed decisions.

If you are looking for something that plays fast, and requires very little preparation time to set up, and you love making up adventures as you play and bring surprised, I recommend Dungeon World wholeheartedly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Bryan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2014 12:20:40
Dungeon World is a beautiful game.
The rules can seem a like a vague, loose mess at first, but with a little further in depth reading (and consulting the game guide on the Dungeon World home page) you begin to see the beauty in the chaos.
DW is designed from the ground up to bring the narrative (or fiction as they put it) first. Combat has no set turn order, or special separate mechanics, and the GM is encouraged to play it by ear, and swing focus around the table organically as the narrative dictates. The GM is told, in no uncertain terms, to ignore the mechanics when they would make no sense in the narrative

It can be very confusing at first, but I would encourage you to keep plugging away at it. For those who find the rules especially challenging, as I did, I heartily recommend consulting the DW Guide:
http://www.dungeon-world.com/dungeon-world-guide/

Happy gaming!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Emery M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2013 14:13:17
Up until recently my only experience with pen and paper RPG's was Dungeons and Dragons, from AD&D up to 4th Edition. I recently got into a gaming group on Roll20 that alternates from D&D 4e and Dungeon World. We've had a few sessions on Dungeon World now and I gotta say I really like the mechanics. It's similar and familiar but also different. The ability to create and resolve bonds with people in your party is a great idea. Simplified combat is nice for a lighter game with less focus on looking through sheets of abilities. The game is focused on keeping a steady flow of conversation going be it GM to players, players to game or players to players. I also like how the game is whimsical in it's approach. I feel very comfortable with this game and I recommend anyone who loves pen and paper RPG's to try it and even if you're new to the gaming genre, this would be less reading, more gameplay and experience to try out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Simo T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2013 07:06:24
After one session of the Dungeon World as GM, I like it. The system is easy to learn for players and character-creation does not take lots of time. I like how the players are encouraged to take part into creating the world and the system offers excellent support for GM for how to orchestrate the first gaming session.

The GM content and how to create Fronts is not as clear as the player's section of the game. I do not yet know how well creating fronts supports me in preparing for the character's adventures, but the general idea that the players and their characters are the ones who create the details of adventures is excellent.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Collin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2013 12:54:58
I love this game, it's a refreshing take on an old school game. The focus on the interactions and winging it over the old school games I used to play makes for a really fun game. Totally recommend this product!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Katie M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2013 12:10:31
Product delivery was top notch. More importantly, it's the elegant RPG system I have been looking for -- old school flavor without too many mechanics to bog you down. I look forward to playing more and more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2013 16:33:09
If you are looking to add a bit of awesome to your fantasy gaming. Well buddy, this is for you.

10 bucks will buy you a paradigm shift in how to run a fantasy adventure. Fundamentally changing the way you and your players interact. It is a game that really immerses the players in the adventure world that is fashioned just for them. It is a system that allows your players to make the characters they want to play in the ideal game they want to play in.

It is well suited for playing around the table with friends or online using hangouts or some other such video teleconferencing. The system is very simple and can be picked up in under a half hour for players of any experience level.

I can not suggest this game enough. If it is not in your hands or on your shelf you are missing out.
So spend the best 10 bucks you have spent all month on something that will bring you thousands of hours of fun and amusement with your friends.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2013 16:18:17
Awesome new game - no matter what you are playing today, I daresay this will change how you approach running a game, how you engage your players and how you and your players share the creation of the world story of your game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Chris L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2013 10:18:14
Fast, fluid, and simple to play, Dungeon World is an interesting take on the dungeon crawl genre. Having almost enough elements of the Most Popular RPG to be called a "retroclone", Dungeon World takes a left turn when it replaces the core engine of the traditional d20 game with Apocalypse World's mechanics. The result is an interesting hybrid that gives you much of the best of both worlds, with only a few of the faults.

Apocalypse World's engine is wonderful for it's quick and simple character creation and advancement, it's extremely solid move-based core mechanic, simple NPC design, easy and friendly structure of game plot, and the shared narrative structure of world creation where the setting starts sparse and gets richer as both the MC (or DM) and players add to it. Dungeon World does a great job of taking these elements, and melding them with the D&D atmosphere that old-fashion gamers will love. The classes that are presented are archetypal, and the use of one-sheet characters is absolutely excellent, being exponentially easier for newcomers to try this game as opposed to an actual Edition of D&D. The game-bogging mechanic of initiative has been axed, instead allowing players and DMs to determine pacing for themselves... which seems confusing but turns out to be very fluid and fun (especially since the game is designed so that the DM will rarely if ever roll). Lastly, the use of tags simplifies both rule management and tactical play, grinding down the usual exact measurements that D&D required during movement and action down to descriptive terms that define range, effects and a whole lot more.

Unfortunately, it does fail at points. While we are all used to the traditional six attributes of D&D, they almost seem forced into the design structure of Dungeon World, and at times don't feel like they fit well. An extreme lack of uses for attributes like Charisma and Wisdom, though in the vain of recent iterations of D&D, are a weakness for the game even if it is homage. Polyhedral damage dice almost seem like a forced mechanic (as Apocalypse World was lauded for only requiring the easily-accessible d6), and the game would have been better served with fixed damage from attacks or the use of d6s rather than using this holdover. Spellcasters still have an excessive amount of power if prepared the right way, and even sometimes have a tendency to run out of spells less often than they did in D&D, making them in many ways more dangerous. More so to the point, the Defy Danger mechanic (an Apocalypse World-styled replacement for saving throws) is terribly explained and organized, leaving many playgroups assuming that these rolls will occur all the time throughout the game.

These failings don't detract much from the experience, and most of them are just as rampant in various iterations of D&D that the sheer number of improvements leave it still a refreshing and great experience.

The game tries to be a complete and full panoply of options for playgroups, but it doesn't always fulfill that role. Some character options alluded to in the book (like compendium classes) are completely absent, leaving you to make them yourself or find some other product with them in it. I don't mind this to an extent, but it still would have been nice to get at least a small set of samples of this concept, rather than just a reference on what they are and how they are made. Hopefully this is just a sign that this book is the start of something, and definitely something good.

All in all, I highly recommend Dungeon World. It injects new life and ideas into a roleplaying genre that is over 40 years old, and does so while still paying deep homage to its roots. Grab yourself a pile of dice, a character sheet, and get into the game!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2013 23:13:22
This game is almost exactly what I was looking for. And I didn't even know it. It's a ruleset that was designed to play the way I had been hacking other versions of D&D to play for decades. I've said in the past, Castles & Crusades is the best version of D&D ever written. Well, this game is probably the best non-D&D iteration I've seen. Unlike C&C that looks feels and smells like classic AD&D, but with all the pointy bits filed smooth, this game plays just like you remember D&D playing when you were 10 years old, because, well you had no idea what the heck you were doing. Other reviewers have done a great job of explaining just how the rules work, how they're unique and why they're fun. So go read those reviews. Then buy this book. (or, avoid the mistake I made, and buy the hardback first, because at the time of this review, it comes with the PDF for free and I think you're going to want a hardcopy if you're like me).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Allen H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2013 20:36:18
I'm split on the stars for this game, so I will solidly middle ground it. The rating will be determined by how much experience you have gaming and how much you like story game vs dice game (or traditional, I guess).

As I read through the game I kept asking myself what this game does that other games don't. The answer is that it doesn't. Everything in here is stuff that any good gamemaster already does with their own system of choice. Sure, it's written a little different and changes the words around, but the advice is, or should be, well known by now.

If I were to rate this from my own perspective I would give the game one star. I found nothing of value in the product.

If I were new to the hobby, unsure of what I was doing, new to gamemastering, etc, I would give the product 5 stars.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Timothy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2013 06:52:56
Dungeon World saved gaming for me. As I get older, taking time to prepare games and be a dad don't really mix. DW offers a great way to weave a story with minimal effort. I've now purchased Apocalypse World as well, all thanks to the intro DW provided.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Albert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2013 10:35:32
Remember the fun parts about playing D&D "back in the day", then drop all of the not-so-fun parts like unnecessary charts, rules that make no sense, and DM/GM railroading. Do that, and you pretty much have Dungeon World.

A few notes about playing DW: Other reviews already covered the mechanics (roll 2d6, and either fail, succeed with complications, or succeed outright). It's so simple, so basic, and so powerful. Something I'm not really sure that people are talking about as much is the concept of "to do it, do it" that comes from Apocalypse World.

The language in the Dungeon World rulebook is slightly different, but basically means the same as in AW: "When a player describes their character doing something that triggers a move, that move happens and its rules apply. If the move requires a roll, its description will tell you what dice to roll and how to read their results."

Unlike certain popular "RPGs" which people have been playing for the last decade or so, where a player might stare at his character sheet after counting how many "squares" their mini is from each monster mini or whatever, then eventually declare something like, "Since I'm one square too far away to do what I wanted to, I'm going to use my 'Uber Cleave' on that green guy over there. Rolling... Hit! That guy takes x damage", a DW player is encouraged to describe what their character is ACTUALLY DOING, and the GM and other players should notice when a "Move" is happening, and call for a die roll. A DW player would not need to consult their sheet nearly as often during what should be a fast-moving scene (such as a combat), and would be more likely to say something like "Rolf raises his mighty warhammer and swings it with all of his might at the nearest goblin." The GM should then say something along the lines of "That sounds like 'Hack and Slash'. Roll to see what happens." If the player just skips straight to "I'm going to do 'Hack and Slash', the rules state that the GM should be responding, "Ok, but HOW are you doing that?" rather than just having the player roll dice.

And, yes, I realize that some people or groups can still play D&D with all of its unnecessary maps, minis and rules complexity, and still manage to throw some imagination and good storytelling into the mix, but unfortunately those players/groups are few and far between at this point. I believe that the current rules have a lot to do with this. Along those lines, if you set any random few players together with the DW rules, you're far more likely to see a group of people having a fun time weaving an exciting story together, and less time counting squares on maps or tracking how many times per day they can perform a Feat or whatever.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG