RPGNow.com
Narrow Results













Back
Dungeon World $10.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
104 36
17 8
3 2
3 0
1 0
Dungeon World
Click to view
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2018 06:17:13

Literally changed the way I approach Role-Playing Games. While this game may not be for everyone, I would insist that everyone wishing to improve at playing or running RPGs at least read it, as there's surely something to learn. Can't recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2018 19:02:39

I won't waste time reviewing this product as it's been reviewed to death. Chances are, if you're here then you already know what Dungeon World is about. Let me say that if you're on the fence, DON'T HESITATE AND JUST BUY IT. The gameplay is very fun and satisfying, and if you get the bundle the GM's guide is just chock full of great info that can actually be used to enhance just about any other RPG system. Hands down a great buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 22:22:09

If you like D&D but feel it focuses too much on game mechanics and not enough on story, this is the game for you. While it preserves most of the feel of D&D, especially old-school flavor, it does so by sweeping away most of the crunchiness and getting to what matters most while still recognizably paying homage to its source material.

In my mind, if you redesigned D&D for streaming, it would basically just be DW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Robert E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 16:21:05

Some notes and suggestions.

  • The game itself is topnotch. Excellent system. Well written. Five stars. Buy it.
  • The e-book version, which is greatly appreciated, has some wonky graphical issues and missing headers (I'm using Google Play Books), but it reads fine.
  • A number of downloaders are confused by the multiple files. Although it seems pretty straightforward to me, maybe some explanation is required. I would, however, eliminate the "all files" zip archive since DriveThru zips the files anyway.
  • If there is ever a second edition, I recommend having the cover artist do the interior illustrations as well.

None of these quibbles diminish my wholehearted enthusiasm for this book. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Why C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2018 23:50:36

I love using this system to introduce new folks to the world of tabletop RPGs. Fast and fun, while still retaining a familiar flavour that even seasoned gamers can enjoy. Dungeon World nudges the unique Apocalypse World resolution system into more comfortable territory, making it a solid way to shift traditional gamers into a more narrative system as well. This book has everything you need to run a game-- any game-- with minimal prep and maximum enjoyment. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Theodore S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2018 11:21:20

Im new to the system but not roll playing games and I found this to be a breath of fresh air. This is such an easy setup, simple rules to get new folks to game and a very fulling move and pacing system that I've fallen in love with. I'm not sure I can go back to traditional D&D any more...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by gabriel o. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2017 06:18:53

Just played my first ever session as a GM with a group that had never played an RPG before (myself included) and we all loved it, it's the day after and the entire group are already asking me when out next session will be!

The rulebook makes starting very easy for new players but I can see how easily it can have more complex levels added to it, I highly reccomend Dungeon World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by James R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 16:02:33

Great game so far.

We have only run one session, but very keen on continuing. It plays fluid and instrinsically keeps interest in a way that some games don't.

Some transitioning awkwardness came from falling back into D&D routines, but I'm sure with a bit of experience these can smooth out. The game coaches you through a lot of this implicitly anyway.

The rules are a bit squishier than I am used to, and I'd say if you like games like Torchbearer, Dungeon World might be a stretch.

It very much looks like a smaller publisher's game, as while the art is nice enough, it is clear they haven't poured money into artists, so don't expect Pathfinder-style art. But this publishing style also allows for a more conversational book, which makes a lot of sense, considering the nature of the hobby.

In short, liking it a lot. Not a revolution in gaming, but if you like D&D, or similar games, and you're sick of pausing the game to do some research because someone decided to grapple, you should definitely check this out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Gary C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2016 15:22:28

Dungeon World is such a light free system. I'm using it to introduce my brother to rpgs, because it's simple to learn and full of possibilities. I loved hearing it played on Friends at the Table, and having tried it for myself now, I like it even more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Tomer G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2016 11:43:34

If I have to run any sort of game that feels anything like Dungeons and Dragons, it's going to be Dungeon World. This is the perfect RPG that has all the elements of classic D&D lore and feeling, and for whatever reason just exudes the flavor I felt playing D&D as a kid 30 years ago. Additionally, it's a great starter system for anyone familiar with classic RPGs, but looking to get into the Apocalypse World style of GMing and games. The book reads partly as a how-to for the system itself, but so much of it actually reads as a how-to for GM-ing in general. The advice here is great for running almost any role playing game. Absolutely fantastic game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Jaan E. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:05:24

Dungeon World is one of the best indie RPG's out there. It combines celver mechanics with a strong poetry layer that darws you in. It is also a very diverse game playbol both by pepole who never played a RPG in their love as well as pepole who have played RPG's for most of their lives. It takes the best parts of Apolcalypse World and adds it's own flavour to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2015 17:18:34

Been playing since ad&d1e. These rules support what I always wanted out of the tabletop experience. This is a great entry point to tabletop, easy to learn and fast ro set up, it is deeply satisfying for veteran players as well. Cheap enough to be an impulse buy, but after using it online I wanted a physical copy. The approach to running a game directly translates to any system, and has flatl out made me better GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Spencer S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2015 12:29:08

Great system to introduce people to the DnD genera.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 01:47:03

This is such a good book. I learned a lot about dming from this. The partial successes and interesting failures really add to a game. The section on fronts completely changed the way I run campaigns / adventures. I've recommended the front section to many people off the back of "My campaign isn't working how I expected it to." conversations. I'm running a lot classic D&D adventures using Dungeon World and I no longer have so much of an issue waiting until my players are a specific level before throwing stuff at them. First level characters are more powerful than 1st level D&D characters, there isn't such a gap between levels, and the way monsters are designed means the game runs in a narrower power band than D&D. There are bits about this game that are obviously good and there are bits about this game that are subtly good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2015 20:59:34

I played this game several times with different roles. I found it easy to learn with clear language and instructive book. For those taking the role of GM, Dungeon Worlds great mechanized tools for great game mastering techniques written in a plain language. I recommend it for anyone who wishes to learn the role of GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG