RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Dungeon Demon v1.2a
Publisher: Rusty Axe Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2010 23:48:18

I have received further instruction on the use of this program and with the further instruction and the fact that there is now a keyboard shortcut list on the manual/website, this program becomes much more productive once you have this information. There are a still a nagging few issues left that could improve the usability of the program but now that the keyboard shortcuts are listed in the manual I believe the program deserves a improved rating. I have used the program much more and can tell you it works every time I use it and though it may not be as easy to use as other programs it is still much easier than some. Taking into account the room for improvement and the fact that I was emailed a nice professional response from the developer. I would like to give this a 3.5. But, since I can't give it half stars I am going in favor of the program and giving it a 4. It is definitely worth that much if you take in the ability to buy art packs with a commercial license for not much more.


Here is a problem I had that I figured out the solution to. I will also mention this to the developers.


When creating a shortcut on the desktop for this application manually. It will not open and give you an error, Unless, you fill in the Start In field with the folder the program is stored in under properties of the icon.


Old Review-Below I gave two stars.


I have bought many mapping programs and I must say that in it's current form Dungeon Demon is quite un-intuitive and disappointing to me. Creating Walls for a room consists of picking a vertical walll segment and then clicking on the map. To make horizontal wall pieces requires that you right click on a vertical wall segment and then a window opens and you have to type in the degree you wish to rotate it. Instead of what I consider to be a standard in mapping programs which is right click on the piece and it then rotates. There is also no undo feature as far as I can tell either. Making correcting a mistake on a large dungeon almost impossible and possibly requiring to restart the dungeon from scratch. The manual is web based and is not very helpful. Listing keyboard shortcuts would be more helpful and I am unable to find that anywhere. I hope this improves with updates because I can't really give it more than two stars until this program becomes easier to use. If it does improve in further updates I will gladly re-review it. I do not think the $20 dollar price point is worth it at the moment but, I am open to working with the program and improving the score. I hope this is just because it is a new program and with updates it will improve.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Demon v1.2a
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DTiles - Dungeons!
Publisher: Undermountain Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2010 13:15:58

This is an upgrade from the original DTiles for me. This has fixed my only problem from the last iteration. Lack of art. Creating rooms and halls and intersections is very easy and with the added art is much better. Add to that the fact you are now able to import your own art. You really cannot go wrong buying this. Buy this! I am sure you will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DTiles - Dungeons!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

EMG Mapper
Publisher: Emerald Giant
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2010 16:00:54

I bought the EMG Mapper several weeks ago. It is a very good random map generator. There are many options and it is really good to get good ideas for visual design of your dungeon. My only problem is I would like to save the map for use in my Campaign management software. I emailed support twice about this and have heard nothing from them not even a reply stating we have received your emails. I am taking one point off for lack of support. Disregarding that this a great random dungeon generator. At the moment if you want to save the file I would wait or try something different until there is a way to save the map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EMG Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The lack of support complaint is both fair and unfortunate. I'm a mostly one-man operation, and was blissfully unaware that emails to my support-addressed emails were not reaching me. I only get one or two support requests in a year (out of many hundreds of customers and growing), so I had no reason to go looking for problems. I have made sure that the link is now working: support@emeraldgiant.com. Apologies, and my assurance that when there is a problem, I will work hard to make it right. Have fun out there, Randy Baker Emerald Giant Software
DTiles - Essential Toolset
Publisher: Undermountain Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2010 17:46:58

This is a very good program. Very simple to use and it creates stunning rooms and corridors. In no time I created several rooms and corridors to create numerous layouts. My only gripe with the program is I do not believe there is not enough art resources for the price. I bought this when it was $19.95.


Now don't get me wrong I believe the price is decent enough to still purchase this and at the reduced price of $14.95 (at the time of me writing this) it is even a better deal. I just wish for more art resources to be included. As an example stuff to add character to the rooms and corridors. Things like dust, cobwebs, blood slotches, debris, light sources, stray gold coins and the like. If these were added in the default set I would gladly state that this is a MUST have product for any fantasy rpg game. As it is now this is a serious contender for favorite piece of rpg software to have and should be in everyones' top five list of software to use when playing rpgs.


I will gladly give this a 4 out of 5. I took one off for the lack of art resources but, if you have an extra $15 to $20 dollars you really can't go wrong with this!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DTiles - Essential Toolset
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghostly Spirits
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2009 23:10:15

One Monk miniatures have always served me well This set is no exception. I am a fan of undead and even though this is very colorful (which I normally think ruins the effect of the undead) but it works for the art. The only really fault I can find with this is that cutting them out takes a lot of concentration cause the edges are detailed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ghostly Spirits
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Talislanta 4th Edition
Publisher: Morrigan Press
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2009 23:05:05

This is a monster of a book. There is ALOT of background involved in this game. The race are quite unique and there are many of them. In fact with all the races in this book I was kind of concerned that they would just be copies of others races with a few numbers changed. Thankfully it is not.The Core mechanic in this games revolves around essentially one table. It's simplistic in an attempt to create a game about story and less about the roll. The core mechanic works for this game is rarely in the way of fun. This game is one of my favorites in the ever expanding list of RPGs I have purchased. My opinion is to buy this game if for no other reason other than to glean ideas from it for your own campaign or game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Talislanta 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Xcrawl Core Rulebook
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2009 22:56:44

Finally trying to catch and do reviews the stuff I have bought.


X-Crawl Core rulebook


This a great concept for a game. It is quite a niche product and if your gaming group is like mine this might be a hard sell. I feel this game is a mixture of American Gladiators and D&D and a fun attitude of a game like Paranoia. You may think otherwise so keep that in mind. This would be a fun game in between regular games/campaigns to have fun with and to breakup the seriousness of most campaigns.. I heartily recommend this game for a fun filled gaming experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Xcrawl Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Barbarians (for Iron Gauntlets)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2006 00:00:00

15 pages of crunchy goodness for Iron Gauntlets.


5 New Vocations


New skills, gimmicks and styles.


Umbre and Timbre magical abilities.


All this adds up to more gaming fun.


<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The new vocations and magical abilities and the price.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Need more, more and more. Other than that, nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Barbarians (for Iron Gauntlets)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Chronicles of Amherth
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2006 00:00:00

The Chronicles of Amherth


A Setting for the Iron Gauntlets game.


I was hesitant to buy this for Iron Gauntlet as the page count was low for a setting. I was pleasantly suprised to see that it covered everything I needed without getting into too detailed specifics about the world and the way things work. Enough information is given to give any GM a starting point to work from and allows lots of elbow room to make it your own.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Concise and full of the information you need and less of the information you don't.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Maybe better maps and another adventure if I had to come up with anything.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Amherth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Druids (for Iron Gauntlets)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2006 00:00:00

Unorthodox Druids for Iron Gauntlets


In this PDF you get 5 druid based Vocations for use with Iron Gauntlets. There are also two new magical abilities Umbre and Timbre detailed and expanded on further than what was listed in Unorthodox Barbarians.
More new gimmicks and skills as well.


This is a great buy if only for the gimmicks, but it also adds the 5 new vocations.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: New Vocations and gimmicks.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing that I can think of.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Druids (for Iron Gauntlets)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Andwan Legacy (For Iron Gauntlets)
Publisher: 0one Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2006 00:00:00

The Andwan Legacy (For Iron Gauntlets)


This is an adventure for Iron Gauntlets.


The adventure itself is fun and challenging. I will not give any spoilers away though.


The writing and production values are top notch along with maps and use of art.


The layout in the PDF is my only concern with it. It is shown as page next to page layout which is annoying at best for me. No matter what view I use it still display page next to page (2-page view) Printing it out makes it much easier to read and enjoy.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Great production values<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: layout of the pdf.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Andwan Legacy (For Iron Gauntlets)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2006 00:00:00

EABA RPG


I bought this game quite some time ago. I have read parts of it and then veered off into another RPG. Came back to it and read the same part over, then once again veered off into another RPG, then came back. This went on for some time. Finally I decided to sit down and read the whole thing front to back. I don?t know why I waited so long or why it took me so long. This is a really good system and there is enough crunchiness in it to make me happy.


I will attempt to cover just some simple bullet points about EABA as others have done a much more in depth review of EABA on RPGNow.


Two PDF?s come with this a color version and a B&W version to save ink.


The presentation is simple and utilitarian. To explain that; It is not embellished with lots of art or graphical goodies to please the eye (only on chapter headings). It is designed to be useful and does that quite well. The writing, if albeit, somewhat dry is good at explaining the core systems of the game and there are many examples throughout the book.
The System only uses a six-sided die but multiple d6?s can and usually are thrown at times and picking the best three rolls. The system relies heavily on the EABA Universal scale. This table allows you to cross reference just about any type of measurement needed for the game, from weight to length to dice rolled to damage done, size, money?. Just about anything.


Characters
Character creation is point based with the number of points given based on the level of play from Low Normal (60 points for both attributes and skills) to Grand Superheroic (200 points for both attributes and skills).


Powers
Powers are extremely customizable and can be used for Super Powers, Magic, Gadgets or anything in between. This chapter needed the most explanation and could have used more but it is still understandable. Powers is the best part of this book. Creating powers is a simple approach with lots of options. Basically you decide what the power does and does not do and then figure out the cost by referencing a table. As an Example, if you decide you want to create a power that projects a lethal black ray from gauntlets on your hands Looking at the power modifiers table
Lethal Damage costs +40 points,
It is ranged 4-7 meters distance +15 points.
Requires focus (gauntlets) -10
For a total of 45 points for that power.


Combat
Combat is based off of skill rolls of the combatants and uses the best three rule, which is to say that if the character rolled 5d+0 dice and the results were 4,4,3,2,1, the best three would be added to get a total of 11. Damage is determined as lethal (pistol), half-lethal (club) or non-lethal damage (punch). The full total in damage is used. So if using a hunting rifle which has a damage of 5d+2 and the character hits the target and rolls the following damage 5,5,4,2,1 you would add those together and add +2 for a total of 19.


There is no setting in the EABA rules. The rules take up the entire 159 pages. There are multiple settings available for purchase through BTRC and RPGNOW.
Man, so much for just bullet points?. Oh well. I hope this is helpful
<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: A very good universal RPG System with a great Powers system.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: slightly dry writing if I had to pick something.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HARP Hack & Slash PDF
Publisher: Test [Chuck]
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

I have finally gotten around to reviewing these products I have bought and there is quite a list. I bought this some time ago, so I went back and reread it front to back to be able to fairly review this. Hack & Slash greatly enhances the combat system of HARP. A very good system from ICE that deserves much more attention than it gets, but on to this PDF.


Hack & Slash is a combat alternative/supplement for HARP. It is 38 pages long. The first few pages explain different types of combat or I should say Damage and Attacks. Page 5 explains how to use the new damage tables. The New damage tables are streamlined and an improvement over the original tables, which, I believe, are a streamlined version of the Rolemaster damage tables, which is a good thing in my opinion, even though I thoroughly enjoyed the Rolemaster Armoury book. After page 5 they detail more about the tables and how to read them. Starting on page 11 is where the meat of this PDF starts. The damage tables. 16 different tables for 16 different types of damage. After the 16 tables they details special combat conditions and adjustments that would need to be made to the original HARP system to use these tables. The adjustments are minor and easily done. the PDF ends with two pages of new spells (yippee!) as a nice bonus.


This PDF is really well done and keeps with the formatting used with HARP, which is a major improvement of the Rolemaster formatting that I am also a fan of. Hack & Slash is extremely useful and a must buy in my book, for anyone who has HARP. It really streamlines the combat system even more and yet keeps the gritty damage details.


<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The streamlined damage tables which kept the gritty feeling of the original tables.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: If I had to pick something it would be the lack of a full color cover, but that is not worth a point.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HARP Hack & Slash PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

kLoOge.Werks The Digital Gaming Table (Master & Client)
Publisher: kLoOge
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

Kloogwerks was an antagonizing purchase for me. I wanted something to allow me to play RPG's online with other people. I also wanted something that would allow me to play systems other than anything D20 related since I have more systems that weren't D20 based than I do than were D20 based. I had also purchased other online RPG programs, which were basically D20 based only. I did not want to purchase yet another program to find that it only supports one ruleset. Also, there are other, no pay, programs out there which I have downloaded and tried as well.


So I debated it for a good long time before actually purchasing Kloogewerks. I am happy I bought Kloogewerks though. I guess the best thing I can say about it is that this is the only online RPG tool I have used that I have had to pay for. I do not use the ones I didn't pay for.


I find Kloogewerks to work quite well and support is great for this program. It is constantly updated, almost faster than I can keep up with, which shows a large amount of dedication for the product.


You can add different rule systems to it, though it is a bit complex to do so and would take some time. Several people have added their own rule definitions to the program. A HARP rule definition comes to mind.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: This program has lots of bells and whistles to it. There is so much that can be done with it. I suggest going to their website and viewing the great tutorial videos. www.kloogeinc.com<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b-
>: If I had to say something it is the fact that adding a a new rule definition( along with character sheets and the like) tends to require knowledge in xml programming to an extent, which makes it more difficult for the average joe (read me) to create new rule definitions.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
kLoOge.Werks The Digital Gaming Table (Master & Client)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

BASH - Basic Action Super Heroes


This game I bought on a whim. I was looking for a new Superhero game to try and I did not want it to be complex (ala Hero System) nor D20 (ala M&M, though that is a good D20 game, which is few and far between). There were several other superhero system to try from RPGNow. I tried this one first and I am glad I did. This is a great simple system that conveys the supers feeling very well. The art fits the feel of the book quite well.


I was, at first, skeptical about the 30 page count of the rules system. I was thinking it would be incomplete or too basic. I was, however, proven quite wrong. The rules system is simple yet refined enough to allow any situation to be covered.


Character creation takes up most of the book, with powers taking up most of character creation since there are only three stats to deal with. Character creation is simple and quick. You could easily start a game within 10-20 minutes of sitting down to create a character. There is a also a sample story arc and sample characters listed to give you some starting points and ideas.


<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The great superhero feel and the refined simplicity of the system.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I wanted more, though everything was covered and ideas were given. The system just doesn't seem to deal well with character improvement and that is mentioned at the end of the book, but a suggested system is given for experience.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked it and there is good news! There IS MORE! You can get Megapolis: A City of Supers. It is the first BASH! Sourcebook. Also be on the lookout for BAM! Basic Action Magazine-- a free fanzine.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG