RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
EABA v1.1
 
$13.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 14
4 4
4 1
0 0
0 0
EABA v1.1
Click to view
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Viktor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2006 00:00:00
As a playtester for this game, I enjoyed it a lot. The layout is a little clunky, the art choices not really to my taste, and the rules seem a little dry. But Greg is a game designer and not necessarily a graphic designer or an art buyer, and it shows. His mechanics hang together wonderfully, and after numerous kicks at the can (the TimeLords system, the CORPS system), EABA in fact does exactly what it sets out to do: it's quick to play and, perhaps oddly, rather fun! It's about at the same level of complexity as HERO, GURPS, CORPS, and D20, but our playtest seemed to suggest that it had aspects in play smoother than any of these other universal system.

For simple fun and smoothness of play, EABA rivals the venerable Basic Roleplaying System made popular by RuneQuest and Call of Cthulhu.

This product is a /lot/ more usable now that the supplement Stuff! is available; EABA's rating improves with its availability, and I would highly recommend buying both together. Having EABA without Stuff is rather owning the "Players Handbook" and "DM's Guide" without the "Monster" book. I would heartily cheer if Greg decided that, for a deluxe edition, he offered EABA bundled with Stuff, together in a print on demand version (and then I'd pony up again for that book).




LIKED: It takes a bit of energy to get your head around the rules, and the mechanics work oddly differently to most rolegames; however, very shortly you'll find that the game system seems reasonably natural and you'll be surprised at how quick and fun it is to play.

DISLIKED: As is typical with nearly all Greg's games, I wasn't very fond of the book design, or the art choices. But the /game/ underneath is what I'm after when I buy BTRC products, and this is no exception.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2006 00:00:00
This is a great RPG that combines ease of play with solid game mechanics. If I were to make a comparision to other systems, I'd describe it as having the simplicity of WEG's D6 combined with the substance of HERO System and yet as amenable to realistic level games as GURPS -- all the while avoiding the flaws of those other games. EABA is one of the best universal systems around.


LIKED: The Universal Chart is a brilliant idea, putting on one page all the data that most games need a whole GM's screen to hold.

DISLIKED: The game's title isn't very catchy.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2006 00:00:00

EABA RPG

I bought this game quite some time ago. I have read parts of it and then veered off into another RPG. Came back to it and read the same part over, then once again veered off into another RPG, then came back. This went on for some time. Finally I decided to sit down and read the whole thing front to back. I don?t know why I waited so long or why it took me so long. This is a really good system and there is enough crunchiness in it to make me happy.

I will attempt to cover just some simple bullet points about EABA as others have done a much more in depth review of EABA on RPGNow.

Two PDF?s come with this a color version and a B&W version to save ink.

The presentation is simple and utilitarian. To explain that; It is not embellished with lots of art or graphical goodies to please the eye (only on chapter headings). It is designed to be useful and does that quite well. The writing, if albeit, somewhat dry is good at explaining the core systems of the game and there are many examples throughout the book.
The System only uses a six-sided die but multiple d6?s can and usually are thrown at times and picking the best three rolls. The system relies heavily on the EABA Universal scale. This table allows you to cross reference just about any type of measurement needed for the game, from weight to length to dice rolled to damage done, size, money?. Just about anything.

Characters
Character creation is point based with the number of points given based on the level of play from Low Normal (60 points for both attributes and skills) to Grand Superheroic (200 points for both attributes and skills).

Powers
Powers are extremely customizable and can be used for Super Powers, Magic, Gadgets or anything in between. This chapter needed the most explanation and could have used more but it is still understandable. Powers is the best part of this book. Creating powers is a simple approach with lots of options. Basically you decide what the power does and does not do and then figure out the cost by referencing a table. As an Example, if you decide you want to create a power that projects a lethal black ray from gauntlets on your hands Looking at the power modifiers table
Lethal Damage costs +40 points,
It is ranged 4-7 meters distance +15 points.
Requires focus (gauntlets) -10
For a total of 45 points for that power.

Combat
Combat is based off of skill rolls of the combatants and uses the best three rule, which is to say that if the character rolled 5d+0 dice and the results were 4,4,3,2,1, the best three would be added to get a total of 11. Damage is determined as lethal (pistol), half-lethal (club) or non-lethal damage (punch). The full total in damage is used. So if using a hunting rifle which has a damage of 5d+2 and the character hits the target and rolls the following damage 5,5,4,2,1 you would add those together and add +2 for a total of 19.

There is no setting in the EABA rules. The rules take up the entire 159 pages. There are multiple settings available for purchase through BTRC and RPGNOW.
Man, so much for just bullet points?. Oh well. I hope this is helpful



LIKED: A very good universal RPG System with a great Powers system.

DISLIKED: slightly dry writing if I had to pick something.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Ross P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2006 13:40:36
What can I say? EABA is my game system of choice. Simple, clean mechanics, covers all the bases of virtually any human scale genre. Brings forward all the things I really liked about the CORPS system, and amends the things I didn't like so much. Does cross-genre campaigns really well.

Very few tables needed for play, everything is available on the character sheet. Decent granularity in character stats and skills, covers almost any genre you might like to do. Minimal math, reasonable amounts of dice rolling. Reasonably realistic system with a cinematic flair.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Ross P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2006 00:00:00
What can I say? EABA is my game system of choice. Simple, clean mechanics, covers all the bases of virtually any human scale genre. Brings forward all the things I really liked about the CORPS system, and amends the things I didn't like so much. Does cross-genre campaigns really well.


LIKED: Very few tables needed for play, everything is available on the character sheet. Decent granularity in character stats and skills, covers almost any genre you might like to do. Minimal math, reasonable amounts of dice rolling. Reasonably realistic system with a cinematic flair.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2005 00:00:00
An elegant universal RPG, EABA is quickly becoming my default system. It seems to handle everything I throw at it and the simple but powerful Powers system means I can build any setting specific magic, psionics, technology, etc., that I need without resorting to home brew patches.


LIKED: I love getting to roll lots of d6's while not having to actually add all of them together. I like how it handles low and extremely high power characters cleanly and easily. And the character sheet looks really cool, too.

DISLIKED: The layouts are somewhat bland and at times it takes a few reads to make sense of the rules (dodging, for instance).

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Rob M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/06/2005 00:00:00
PRESENTATION & LAYOUT

EABA is presented as two different PDF's, a version which has colored illustrations and uses color in the graphic design and layout, and a grayscale version for printing. (Though the full page chapter graphics would still eat up a lot of ink, more than I would be willing to spend on them, but you can always skip those page if you print a copy of the PDF.) The color version makes good use of color with attractive graphic elements, such a Chapter title graphic with the chapter title, and a series of red crossbars and dots to indicate the chapter number that is repeated every 2 pages for quick info on what chapter you are reading.

The PDF also makes good use of color in different parts of the text. General text, is in black, important notes or concepts are in red, examples in green, and advanced topics in blue. The PDF also makes good use of hyperlinks, with page references done as hyperlinks in text. Overall it is a nicely done PDF, With attractive and functional layout and convenient hyperlinking. the index is sparse, but usable. A nice selection of character sheets and other record forms is included as well.

OVERVIEW

EABA is a generic universal role-playing game system in a 150 pages, 150 well-written pages. It is terse, yet provides enough examples for you to understand what is presented. It is based on 5 major concepts. First, that dice rolling is fun, specifically, rolling a handful of d6. (It uses a best-of-three mechanic, where you take the three highest dice out of the dice thrown to determine your result.) Second, that is cool to be heroic. Thus, characters are easy to hurt but hard to kill. Third, that variety gives character. This is represented in the design by providing a detailed character creation system with lots of options. Fourth, no risk no reward. This means that, even though the game is heroic, the characters can still fail, suffer losses, and even die. Five, that story, rules. Thus the rules are designed to be easy to learn and remember, a task at which I would say they succeed. So you only need what's on your character sheet to play the game. Instead of having to flip through books and consult charts while you're trying to play. It also features one of the best effects based power systems in any game.

CHARACTER CREATION

Characters, or adventurers as they are called in the book, are defined by three main elements, Attributes, Skills, and Traits. Traits in this case being advantages or disadvantages in other systems. Adventurers are designed by a point based system, with points coming from two different pools. An attributes points pool, the points for which are designated by a number followed by a capital A, 5A for example. And a skill points pool, the points for which are designated by number followed by the capital S, 3S for example. Traits are purchased with either attribute points or skill points depending on the trait.

Attributes are given a number rating called levels, 7 is average, each of which corresponds to a number of dice plus an add, called the default roll. An attribute level of 7 corresponds to a default roll of 2d+1 for instance. The attributes are Strength, Agility, Awareness, Health, Will, and Fate. Fate is a special attribute that represents luck in most games or can be used to determine the level of power a adventurer can wield, such as psionics or magic.

Attributes limit the maximum level of skill you can attain. You add your default roll and your skill rating, given as a number of bonus dice, to get the dice you roll to perform a task. So if your adventurer had a Skill level of +1D and his default roll was 2d+1, you would roll 3d+1 when the adventurer used that skill. The maximum skill bonus your adventurer could get would be 2d+1. So the highest rating your adventurer could achieve with that skill would be 4d+2. Remember that you only count the highest three dice thrown, plus any add to determine your result. Thus results range from 3 to 20 for normal characters, there is an advantage that will let you count 4 of the dice rolled to determine your result.

EABA provides a detailed skill list with an option to specialize in certain
aspects of a skill. This specialization gains the adventurer a +1D to
his skill when performing an action where that specialty applies.

Traits in EABA include advantages such as Forte, which provides a bonus die to attributes in certain situations, and disadvantages such as Weakness,which merits a penalty die to the default roll for attribute, in certain situations.

POWERS

The powers system presented in Chapter 6 of EABA is different from most games. Rather than being a list of predefined effects that you can apply modifiers to, EABA offers a meta system whereby you design the effects you want by combining a number of individual power elements called modifiers. Modifiers include, lethal damage, non-lethal damage, prevents an effect, reverse an effect, melee or ranged range, conveys movement, acts like an attribute, subverts movement, etc. These effects are rated in dice, just like Attributes & Skills, the number of which is determined from your Fate attribute. (As I mentioned earlier, Fate is a special attribute which can be used to represent psionic power, mutant ability, magical aptitude, etc, depending on the game world as defined by the GM.)

In EABA, using a power is a three-part process. First you must activate the
power, then target it, and finally roll for effect. Effects scores can be
converted to all sorts of different values using the Universal Scale table.
These values include measurements such as distance, size or movement, time,
weights, money, and even information. This table is similar to the AP scale in DC Heroes.

All powers in the system include certain default elements as part of their
definition. these elements are Noticeability, Duration, Range, and Target. By default, powers can be seen and heard, and if in the area of effect, even felt, smelled or touched. By default, powers have a duration of instant, they occur instantly. By default, powers have a range of touch. By default, powers affect a single target. By altering these default elements, and applying "effect" modifiers that define what the power's effect does, as well as "limitation" type modifiers, you create individual powers. So an adventurer that can manifest a damaging energy aura around himself while angry might be defined by the following modifiers;

Lethal damage (the effect dice causes lethal damage)
Melee range (Only affects those he touches or who contact him.)
Power lasts as caster wills (It lasts as long as he is angry)
Generic Limit (Only when adventurer is angered)

Each modifier has an "activation cost" associated with it. These costs are added up to get a point value. The point value is used to determine the difficulty of activating the power. Thus the more sweeping and effective the ability, the harder it is to activate, and thus use.

The cost and requirements to have a power are set by the GM based on the world. In general, A player must have a Skill related to the ability to be activate it and thus use it. This is usually a general skill based on the type of ability, you might have a general Sorcery skill or Psionics, of Mutant Powers Skill. The book recommends that each individual ability, whether magic spell or psionic discipline or power stunt, require a specific skill as well. So to use powers you have, you have to at least pay skill points for your general power skill, and points for skill with individual abilities. The GM can also rule that if you don't have the skill you can't attempt to use the power at all. Which would be the case with mutants, or where only those sensitive to mana flows can attempt to use powers. It is also possible to apply the Power costs +3A modifier, which
reduces the activation costs by 10 in exchange for 3A from the character's
attribute points pool, of which you have less than you have skill points. There is also the Gifted advantage on which you can spend attribute points to obtain powers that are always on or always function, because the "activation cost" has been reduced to 0, and thus activating the power has a difficulty of 0.

Rules for creating power frameworks, i.e. templates for common power origins are types, are included. there is also a section on how the presence of powers in a game world affects its economics. There are also rules for enchanting objects and gadgets.

With a little practice using the system you will be able to create all manner of different powers. The system is a bit confusing and more examples would have been helpful in understanding it. A supplement showing the system used to create a wide variety of powers wouldn't hurt either. overall however, after working with the system a bit, you'll be impressed with the effects that you can create with it.


COMBAT

Combat in EABA is handled as a series of skill rolls against a character's
relevant weapon skills. Damage done by weapons is rated as a number of dice and is qualified as either lethal or nonlethal, or combination damage. Lethal damage is marked as a X, and nonlethal damage is marked as a / on the damage track. As the character reaches certain points on the damage track from accumulated damage he suffers penalties rated as a number of dice to his attributes. Thus a character can be quickly incapacitated by damage, being unable to perform an action, without necessarily being killed or knocked unconscious.

If your character takes damage equal to the sum of his health score plus his will score he will pass out. if your adventurer takes damage equal to his health plus his will in lethal damage he will die. One interesting element of the system is that as you take more damage, any additional attacks will have less effect on your adventurer, unless they do a greater amount of damage. the advanced combat chapter has additional rules for special situations and other detailed topics.

SUMMARY

EABA is a very good generic universal system made up of a compact set of rules with well-designed mechanics. Its power system is unique, flexible, and detailed. It offers gamers a satisfyingly detailed and crunchy set of mechanics that is still manageable and easy to learn, being that is only a hundred and fifty pages. Anyone looking for a flexible generic universal system that isn't mired down in an rulebook so thick it is bulletproof should give EABA a try.



LIKED: Easy to read layout & graphic design & hyperlinking. Great price for a solid well-designed system with flexibles powers creation system.

DISLIKED: The Powers system could have used more explanation.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Helge P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2005 00:00:00
I have been looking for a universal system suitable for modern & magic alike for a very long time. While GURPS is pretty good (especially in the 4th edition), it is much too complicated sometimes, lots of micromanaging to do, etc.

With EABA I have easily achieved what I wanted: Playing interesting scenarios with many options but not too much hassles for the players. When one of my players wanted a new weapon, I just design it, the same goes with new cyberware, new magic spells and nearly everything (will be easier one Stuff! is released, hurry up, Greg!) else. And that without brealing any existing gear, rules or characters.

All in all it's not perfect but it is very good choice if you would like to have a consistent rule-set for a multitude of different settings and are not afraid of designing some things by yourself (with the wonderful design rules).

I like it better than CORPS (similar system from the same author) simply because I like throwing more dice... :-)

LIKED: - universality
- granularity
- design rules simple and very clean
- responsive author

DISLIKED: - not enough background information for a given universe
- no companiopns products (like magic or psi or gear, you know what I mean)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Jim F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2005 00:00:00
Greg Porter's games always combine the design sense and 'reality' of an engineer with a wickedly inventive imagination, and a passionate desire to take 'what if' to it's logical conclusion. Both qualities are evident in EABA, which is the best 'object-oriented' game system I've seen.

The essence of the system is a core of interlocking systems with a common design philosophy which can be mixed and matched to produce consistent, detailed worlds of any milieu. The emphasis here is 'common' and 'logical' the game philosophy is to create as few new rules as possible, simply repurposing rules to fit new situations. There's one one chart (aside from equipment), a massive relate-everything-to-everything chart which is great for winging it when, say, you need to translate 10d6 of fate into exactly how far your wizard can use levitate to throw a tank.

Playability is also good: only the d6 is used, but lots of them (core design principle: rolling dice is fun!) and I've found that the basic concepts were easily grasped by players new to both RPGs or just new to EABA.

There are not a lot of frills in this book, no pre-designed world, but there is a detailed section on the essentials: character design, combat, doing things, dealing with 'the world' and samples of weapons, vehicles and characters from common milieus. It's a thinking-person's RPG; lean, mean and rewarding to those who like to *think* about the worlds they create.

LIKED: Object-oriented design philosophy, the various sub-systems interlock very well and allow for easy customization and a lot of flexibility. I like the flexibility of the power design system (magic, superpowers, gadget effects.

Also, Greg is very active on the Yahoo group for EABA, and is very good at clarifying rules, soliciting community input and generally being helpful. That's good support.

DISLIKED: The book did seem a little sparse, and I would have liked to see more concrete examples. On the other hand, fully developed worlds can be downloaded for $8 each; given the price of the base game and supplements I can (almost have) buy the whole library of EABA product for less than I'd pay for four d20 'Core' books.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Terrance W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2005 00:00:00
Truthfully, I have always been hesitant about products I can't feel and touch. There is nothing I enjoy more than ruffling the pages of a new RPG book at the game store. That's why my purchase of EABA is so out of character for me. I have a history with BTRC games, starting with a cyber punk-esque game ("Space Time" I think it was), and moved on to "TimeLords", and then "CORPS". (There was a smattering of "Warp World" and "Macho Women With Guns" as well.) But I still what to touch and feel what I'm buying. OK, I'm a grown-up and understand that may good games are being delivered electronically now, as printing and shipping is a huge cost. Quite simply, I just decided to get it one day, almost on a whim. I don't know what I was expecting, but I can say I was impressed right form the start. The game mechanics are quite simply top-notch, and I challenge you to find a better "universal" system. The writing and formatting of the book was well beyond what I expected. (I guess I was expecting a "scan" of a paper book.) The hyperlinked index and table of contents show that quite a bit of care went into this document. The color coding makes everything easy to digest, and gives good examples of what could be complex, and makes it simple. The page layout and overall setup is more than I expected for the price I paid. I can say, with no reservations, that this game system was definitely worth the purchase price and then some. The support from BTRC has been simply outstanding.

LIKED: I was not a huge fan of "universal" systems for the simple fact that most of them are balanced for one environment/time/mythos or another. In order to be "universal" they have to be simplistic or vague to fit many competing requirements. The nice thing about *all* of BTRC's stuff is that it was never "dumbed down" so it could be made to fit somewhere it didn't belong. The system stays balanced in all places and times, letting me focus on story, plot, and action rather than game mechanics. It may seem complex or daunting at first, but make a couple of characters and just "putz" around with it. The straightforwardness shines through. Doesn't matter if you are staging an old-west quick draw between desperados, or a battle of ancient magic between powerful wizards, it simply works. I just don't have enough nice things to say about the system or BTRC in general.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2005 14:05:57
EABA is a d6 only, flexible generic engine, designed for flexibility.

CGen is point based, and very flexible. The Paranormal Powers system allows everything from low-powered stuff that could be passed off as technology through the world shattering powers of certain 4-color Supers settings.

EABA uses a multi-d6 based resolution, with a twist, roll lots, keep the best three. THerefore, difficulties are in a range that all skilled individuals can attain, but with better skills granting better chances at the higher end.

EABA also includes a simple vehicle and weapon design system.

What's more, the Open Supplement License allows you to publish your own stuff for it.

If you like EABA in general, but want reduced dice gaming (Nearly diceless) CORPS is very similar in execution, but is a dice reduced engine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Stuart A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2005 00:00:00
The first product I have bought from BTRC - purchased so I could play Nocturne (also from BTRC). I have to say I am extremely impressed with this system.

On first reading through it I thought it was extremely complicated and I didn't see how I could possibly learn it well enough to GM it. Then I sat down, created a couple of characters and played out some scenarios. I was very pleasently surprised by how easily and smoothly it played. You have a lot of control over the degree of crunchiness by using advanced/optional rules; the mechanics work well and the "universal table" relatin strength, distance, time, etc. actually works.

Being a "universal" system, you need to do some work if you are going to use these rules in your own setting, but that's half the fun :)

The "powers" section is particularly well done and seems to produce a balanced range of effects.




LIKED: System works very well; beautifully presented.

DISLIKED: Nada.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2004 09:04:32
A pretty good universal systeme, easy to understand, quick to fix. Sowhere between Fuzion and D6 from WEG. The core rule lacks of more sample.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Phillip M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2004 23:43:00
EABA is, well, if not *quite* the "end all, be all" of role playing games, at least is closer to it than pretty much any other system on the market. The core rulebook has what you need to create *any* sort of campaign and *any* sort of character and the whole system works in an elegantly logical, yet still simple and easy to use, way. I have to say that this is my personal favourite of all the game systems available on the market today.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2004 00:00:00
Maybe a little heavy rules wise, but the system works fine.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG