RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
 
$24.99 $4.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 7
2 1
3 0
0 0
0 0
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Click to view
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/03/2014 01:28:34
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: This is a printable PDF ($7.49) for figure flats covering most of the major Deadlands needs: Gunslingers, Texas Rangers, Men in Black Dusters, Blessed, Hucksters, Natives of all stripes, shysters, bandits, desperadoes, cultists, most of the previous also on horseback, walkin' dead, Hangin' Judges, wendigos, devil bats, Los Diablos, Mojave Rattlers and even Maze Dragons.

WHAT WORKS: This'll cover most of your Deadlands stand-ups needs. One of the biggest pains we've had is one PC that is a Native who has been Deputized...we managed to find a standup that did a pretty decent impression of him as well. It's cool getting different varieties of the same archetypes. Especially so I don't have to resort to, say, using Necessary Evil figure flats in a Deadlands game. You get 16 PAGES of printable flats, of various sizes as needed (the Prairie Ticks are tiny...the Maze Dragons are massive).

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: This was originally a print product, and the first page has a large trade dress/sidebar that you can't work around if you want to print that first page off. A lot of the art is good, but a bit too small, especially with the color, and it loses something. I've seen smaller images on printable figures that were just line art that printed better because of it. No Harrowed.

CONCLUSION: A really good purchase for a Deadlands fan that uses minis but needs something cheap and easy to fill up his battlefields (i.e. me). I would love a more fully featured product with clearer art and customized printing (like being able to select the figures you want to print off, instead of printing off three separate pages to get to the three figures my players were using, as I had to). I probably would have LOVED this in print, but working with a cheap printer, it is a less than optimal product...still a good purchase, just not a GREAT one.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by tim h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2012 16:02:09
good - excellent range of figures, covers all the characters necessary, most also on horse back - incredible value for money
bad - printing what the figure is on the base just really annoys me!! A deadlands figure with a camera is quite likely to be a muckraker!! I dont need this pointing out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 23:15:56
An absolutely great assortment for any sort of fantastic or pulp Western gaming.

Multiple figs for all of the major Deadlands archetypes, both on foot and mounted. A whole half-page of recognizably different Walkin' Dead and cultists. Even a small assortment of common monsters.

I don't usually use trifold paper minis, but these are so good I gave them a try anyway.

Mind, they are slightly smaller than the corresponding Deadlands metal minis would have been. It's not really glaringly so (unlike Cardboard Heroes) so it's easy enough to overlook.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by John I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2008 22:44:09
A fantastic product! It really made the characters (especially the character classes for d20) come to life. Enough pages that it lives up to it's name ("Starter"). No only that, but it will be very useful for other tabletop Western mini games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2006 00:00:00
Im such a fanboy of PEG/GWG that any coments I made would be biased drivel.


LIKED: Cowboys and Zombies, Oh my!

DISLIKED: Would have liked less character archetypes and more generic figs. Afew more bartenders and can can girls, less Hucksters and Lawdogs.
But thats just a personal hangup.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2006 00:00:00
Just about everything thing you need for a wild west or weird west adventure.


LIKED: Great images and lots of variety.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Steve G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2005 00:00:00
The Facts: I picked this up for the "traditional" western figures - having no interest in zombies or other horros in my old west. That said, The pdf is 16 pages long. All the art is full color. There are 80 characters on foot, and 42 on horseback, and that doesn?t count the last 5 pages, which is filled with zombies and other non-traditional western figures.

The characters on foot are a unique tri-fold design, with two panels showing the ?front? of the character, and the back in silhouette. Perhaps 60-70 of those 80 characters are ?traditional? or close enough to it to serve as figures in a regular game. There are very few "mad scientist? or ?spellcasting? figures in the mix. We?re talking mostly lawmen (and women), outlaw men (and women), and Indian warriors (men and women). Only a few that are not carrying some sort of obvious weapon. Probably 35 of the 42 mounted are ?traditional? or close enough to it to pass as figures in a regular game. Only a few mad scientist or spell casting figures.

LIKED: The full color artwork is fantastic. I took a gamble that this set would have enought "traditional" figures to make it worth my while, and I was not disappointed. The bulk of the figures on the first 11 pages would serve well in a wild (as opposed to a weird) west game.

DISLIKED: What's not to like? Everything was top-notch. The product is clearly advertised as a weird west supplement, so there was no mistaking the designer's intended (weird west) purpose. I would prefer the figures to be the more traditional bi-fold design, with a tab at the bottom to help them stand up (there's something about the three-sided design that doesn't appeal to me), but I must admit, they are less likley to tip over designed as they are.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by William S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2005 00:00:00
I was in a bind and needed some cowboy badguys fast! I normally use metal minis, but I couldn't find any in time. I remembered seeing some cowboy stuff on rpgnow - and I figured this might meet my needs.

Boy did it! These guys are beautiful and feature many of the characters in standing and horse-mounted poses. Very useful! The last two pages are huge monsters from the Deadlands game, which didn't help my game but do give a very good impression of the size of the badguys in the Weird West. Nice stuff!

LIKED: I liked the artwork, which printed out beautifully on my lexmark. I used some cardstock with a shiny surface and these things were just gorgeous. But best of all, if they get messed up I can just print some more.

DISLIKED: I wish the product was $8.00 instead of $10.00 - but I'm confident I'll get my $10.00 out of it in use. (I use movie prices as a gage for dollar to hour value.)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG