RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Fate Core System Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
62 32
11 3
3 3
1 0
1 1
Fate Core System
Click to view
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by trace l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2018 17:42:59

While I can't say I adore the system after trying it, I believe that to be a matter of taste. The quality of the material provided within the manual is solid, though. It's very clear throughout and gives reasonable examples. The fact that it consistently shows the same material as is available elsewhere in the text can be a good or bad thing depending on perspective, but I appreciated it.

Like I said, after playing with it a bit it wasn't exactly my cup of tea. That being said, for the price it's well worth a look if it's of any interest. If nothing else, it has fun ideas you can put towards campaigns in other systems if you fancy. Definitely worth a purchase if it seems of interest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2017 15:03:44

I enjoyed the feel of this system. It took some getting used to and the changes, though a challenge, were a nice addition to the current landscape.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by brian w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2017 12:18:57

I'd been hopeful about FATE ever since I heard about "a game that uses FUDGE dice." I backed the kickstarter at the hardcover level, and was impressed with how its creators maintained transparency, produced professional work, and kept backers updated.

But even slick layout and consistent design and organization wouldn't mean much if the game is not on-point. Fortunately, FATE is both clearly organized and fun to play.

My gaming group has run several sessions, and we've loved it since our initial session of setting up the campaign world. It's been a great ride so far, and we're looking forward to more FATE in the years to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2017 14:36:34

Very dope. I started with the free pdf, and now I have the hard cover for core and the toolkit. There are lots of examples, and it's pretty easy to grasp. So far my group has enjoyed it. Infact, one of the members enjoyed the simplicity and versatility so much that went out, bought dice, and is starting up his own games! Fate Core has budded!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2016 10:39:27

I am currently in a campaign of Fate Core System with some friends of mine and i absoultely fell in love with the game. So much so that I decided to start my own campaign of it. I had only previously played DnD in terms of RPGs and the thing I hated about it was how insignificant charcater development was. So when I found Fate, I loved how you literally can't play the game without developing your character. I also love how open-ended it is with genre. My friend's game is a fantasy theme with a "Game of Thrones" feel to it while my theme is a fantasy-steam punk crossover. My only critique of it is the manual doesn't explain how damage works very well. Other than that, I highly recomend this RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2016 06:53:39

FATE seems to have inspired a loyal set of pretty fanatical fans, to which I account for by very effective marketing. For me, however, I have tried but simply cannot get traction on the game's appeal. Character's are presented in a rules-lite manner, and the core mechanic is pretty simple. However, the whole book just seems to go on and on about rules, rules discussion and then some more rules discussion. I don't really see where the massive innovation in the game is, as most of the ideas have already been done in much older games if you are prepared to look for them. It's neatly packaged, supported and comes at an appealing price - but, ultimately, I just find it a boring read and a so-so game to play in or run.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Jan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2016 16:39:17

For me this was the very first time where I have tried a pen and paper based game. I knew some of the general rules but had no clue on how to play,what to do or how to start and end. Fate gave me a front to back explanation on how I can play a good game and gives you all the freedom you want to have if you fell like you need this . So, its great. Dont regret a thing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Allie G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2016 07:13:46

We haven't really played this yet, just test-drove it a little, but I think I love the rules system. But Holy moley they needed to take some of their Kickstarter money and hire a technical writer and an editor! The rulebook is is desperate need of editing. In several places the exact same paragraph is repeated within a page of the same location, and the whole book is so poorly organized that it's next-to-impossible to sift through and find the actual rules. This rulebook reminds me of a Depression-Era meatloaf: I can tell there's meat in there somewhere, but there's so much filler it's not possible to identify it. Did we really need pages and pages explaining the difference between game time and real time? Couldn't all the stuff having to do with skills be under one heading in one place instead of fifteen headings scattered throughout? Did the errors make it into the print edition, or is the problem with repeated pages limited to the electronic edition?

This seems like an excellent system for a mature group of experienced players. For a group of teens or drama queens, it could be a recipe for disaster. Player characters gaining power the more time they spend role-playing their personal problems... I envision entire sessions spent trying to coax emo pcs out of the bathroom, with the night ending with everyone taking new aspects entitled something like, "Is so over Jane and her issues." This system seems to have been designed for taciturn fighters who need to be encouraged to interact, not for my usual group who drive GMs insane by refusing to stop futzing around in character and get to the action.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Content repetition is part of the teaching text philosophy that informed the editing of the book. Very few have had problems with it proportionate to the magnitude of your objection. I\'m sorry it wasn\'t to your taste. :)
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2016 07:52:57

I paid something around 2 and a half dollars for this product. In hindsight, I should've bought it for more, because it is a fantastic one. I thought I would need the system toolkit to fine tune and help work out details for particular takes with Fate Core, but just this book already has so much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2015 12:38:25

I got both Accelerated and Core. Fate is a different enough system you really need the explanations and examples from Core. But once you understood the terminology and mechanics, Accelerated really took off and worked better and faster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2015 22:37:41

I found this clunky and bland. Just another 'universal' system that other rule sets did better long ago. Did this need to be created? Not really.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Obviously we disagree on whether or not it needed to be created, but that\'s fine. Gaming is big. :)
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2015 04:49:38

A nice update to a brilliant system. Easy to use for pick up and play story-driven RPGs. Very open to inexperienced players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Kevin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2015 20:05:05

A very simple system with a surprising amount of depth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2015 20:41:07

FATE Core is my new favorite roleplaying system, and the most elegant thing I've ever run. It's getting to the point where I'm hesitant to play anything else, because it simply does the job that well.

FATE is a setting-agnostic rules-lite game with a heavy focus on fast play, cooperative storytelling, and the ability to do damn near anything you can imagine. The traditionally strong border between Game Master and player is broken down somewhat, with lots more power to shape the narrative given to players than usual. Modular mechanics are king in FATE, with the ability to add or strip out anything you could possibly want.

The game shines best when dealing with cinematic styles of play; I ran a pulp adventure game in the Eberron setting (normally from D&D; FATE shines in porting over existing settings with minimal effort) that had the players swinging through the jungle and swashbuckling on the rolling deck of a pirate ship with ease. FATE's rules are there to make play easier when they show up, and are otherwise unobtrusive and out of the way. Don't expect constant dice-rolling or rules memorization during play, nor any lengthy lists of equipment or spells.

Some will be put off by FATE's rules-lite nature, or the lack of a default setting. But for me? I'm head-over-heels in love.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2014 12:22:10

I have been running Fate Core for a year now, and have done everything from steampunk to medieval fantasy. It is a very clear system that is INCREDIBLY easy to adjust to your liking (such as converting to 2d6 instead of fudge dice, adding magic as stunts, adapting it to an Attrubute-Skill type system, etc.). It truly is generic, but requires a little bit of work on the part of the GM to make it fit the genre or to simply redo the system but keep base mechanics. All-in-all, it is a great system.

Likes:

Easy to adjust to liking from lethality, to skills, to using attributes, etc. Very character driven, which is a nice change of pace from more "numbers driven" generic systems like GURPS Can be minimized and maximized as a system, making it able to range from rules lite to rules heavy

Dislikes:

Requires a bit of adjusting before playing, especially if you are not quite as fond of the dice mechanics as others



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 39 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG