RPGNow.com
Find Category
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Gratuitous Anime Gimmick
Publisher: Matthew V Morgan
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2017 14:37:58

A complete game of the modern anime era. Character classes, skills, quirks, races, magical or scientific artifacts, beastiary & foes, setting, hazards. A simple system, 1d10+modifier (never above 3), levels (but no experiance points to keep track of, only 3 hit points, good index, gm advice. All you need to play the game. The only art is one picture each of the character classes, but it is good, of the Pokemon people sort. The character sheet isn't in the book, but is on Drivethrurpg for free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gratuitous Anime Gimmick
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

About Mazes & Minotaurs
Publisher: Legrand Games Studio
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2017 18:41:35

Since I got the game off their website in 2012, and it was even popular back then, it is odd that they still have to keep pointing out that it is a real game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
About Mazes & Minotaurs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The First Adventure - A Fiasco Playset to Teach Fantasy Gaming and Roleplaying to New Gamers
Publisher: Encoded Designs
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2017 18:45:23

There were two files. One was printed sideways, making it a headache inducer to read, so I gave up. The other may have been useful if you had the Fiasco rules set. Almost every thing needs to be explained by getting and reading that other main ruleset. Since I don't, most of the book is unintelligible.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The First Adventure - A Fiasco Playset to Teach Fantasy Gaming and Roleplaying to New Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Anime Action: Diceless Anime-Style Roleplaying
Publisher: Three Sages Games
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2017 17:04:29

Oddly I felt that this was very similar (except for all the dfferences) to the PDQ system. Making the character was a lot like it. The Fiat (attributes) and traits were set up a Lot like PDQ, but spending energy et al to push it higher, and then if you lost, consequences (sort of like FATE) instead of losing ranks. So sort of an expanded PDQ, but nothing Left to chance. I also like Tia (the demon girl on the cover) giving examples and explanations through the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anime Action: Diceless Anime-Style Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Medicinal Herbs – 1D100
Publisher: dicegeeks.com
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2017 21:22:24

It is a list of 100 names of herbs - but not what they are used for.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Medicinal Herbs – 1D100
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Encounter Building Decks Rulebook
Publisher: Eric Bright
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2017 19:28:40

The rule book explains how to use the four decks. Doeas a rather good job. Mostly is is an idea generator rather than a flat out list of here is what it is. each card seems to handle 4 to 6 possible things at a time, so it really dosn't matter if the same card comes up again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounter Building Decks Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cosmic Warriors RPG
Publisher: Thunderegg Productions
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2017 20:19:19

I did like gathering ki, and going to 0 hit points is not instant death. But I thought that giving advantage or having a disavantage roll was a replacement for all of those fiddly modifications. having both does seem redundant.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Warriors RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Havenshield The Complete RPG Rulebook
Publisher: D.S. Myers
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2017 19:33:29

While too close to D&D for my taste, it is well done. Simplifies most things, has a couple of new things. Like Advantages and disadventages where you roll three dice instead of two and take the two best or two worst, rather than adding a whole list of modifiers. Includes a monster manual, and geography, with both maps and descriptions. Of course nothing prevents the players from reading the GM 2/3 of the book, but that is the danger of putting everything in one volume.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Havenshield The Complete RPG Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenPlay Presents: Ironbound
Publisher: Mystical Throne Entertainment
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2016 14:24:10

The first half of the item is an almost complete copy pf the rules for Screenplay. I will ignore the rules since I a going to review them seperately. (Psst. I generally like thm.) The second half gets to the Ironbound adventure. Which they suggest is the whole of their fantasy, uh, mini-campaign. In other words a single movie with no sequals. But then suggests your writing sequals. It is an anti-magic crusade lead by a guy who is secretly a magician. Magic is defined as sort of the Cthulhu Mythos type. I.E. it drives both the practitioner and the one putting it down nuts. So everyone has some nuroses and phobias, if not flat out demon possesed or needing a few trips to the rubber room. Even if you don't plan on sequals, you will have a lot of writting a head of you as this is more of an outline than most scenarios. Which can be a good thing, as you and the players flesh it out, or a bad thing if your players aren't very inventive.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenPlay Presents: Ironbound
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sancta Sanctorum RPG Demo
Publisher: Acchiappasogni
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2016 13:49:56

THe demo is good, does its job of presenting the game and making you want to get it. However, I will subtract a point for passing off new age ideas and doctrines and trying to pass it off as something connected to Christianity through the use of Christian words. That way it almost sounds Christian (martyrs, saints, faith, etc.) while giving a wildly different meaning to the words that has nothing to do with Chritianity, Roman, Orthodox or Protestant. So play the game if you like, enjoy it even, but do ignore the terrible theology.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sancta Sanctorum RPG Demo
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Worlde of Legends™ GamePlay Preview - Attributes
Publisher: Worlde of Legends
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2016 20:47:10

OK, D&D combines bodily movement and finger useage dexterity when the word literally means finger skill. You rightly call bodily movement agility. So where did the finger involeved ability go? i admit you beat my 14 attribute system. Did you decide not to go to 19?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlde of Legends™ GamePlay Preview - Attributes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the download and the review! We went with 18 attributes after much trial and error. We eventually decided that the 18 Attribute System gave us the appropriate flexibility for our formula based, attribute guided system. As for where did the finger related ability go? It is in our Precision attribute which affects things like aim, balance, and melee attacks. Mix Agility with Precision and Perception and you pretty much have the traditional Dexterity. Again, thanks for the review! Keep an eye out for our next release!
Worlde of Legends™ GamePlay Preview - Adventurer Creation QuickStart Edition
Publisher: Worlde of Legends
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2016 20:34:46

Rather good with one or two distractions. A tendancy to explain too much. On one page I found WAM and some other items explained twice each withword for word identical titled paragraphs. And do we really need to be told a rope climbing skill is used to climb a rope? You never gave us the promised starting characters. Just character sheets with no names attributes, skillls or other identification at all. Uh, Of is spelled with an o, not an i. Admittedly my spell checker insists I misspell a lot, but a two letter word?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Worlde of Legends™ GamePlay Preview - Adventurer Creation QuickStart Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. The Worlde of Legends™ Design Team is always open to the questions, comments and criticisms. We take all comments seriously, and we will surely consider your comments when we finalize the QuickStart rules that are scheduled to release in Spring of 2017. If you read this reply, do you think we explain too much if you are a brand new player who has never played a tabletop fantasy RPG? Again, thank you for the feedback. It is truly appreciated.
Unity Free Sampler
Publisher: Zensara Studios
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2016 18:50:47

Well, the artwork is marvelous. the arragement of the pages well done. Everything looks professional and first class. Except for one thing. The words are printed so small that you have to raise the adobe reader to two or three times what you normally would. Not a big problem if you are reading an electronic version, though you may have to move the page about to continue reading when one of those marvelous pictures gets in the way. But you can't raise the print size on the pages of a print book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unity Free Sampler
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Camelod6 - A simple D6 RPG
Publisher: Alex "Earin Shaad " Petrovic
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2016 17:31:38

It's for kids, kindergarten, first or second grade. much past that it would grow boring, unless good gms who understood that age group. As they admit, it's an introduction to rpg's.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Camelod6 - A simple D6 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Five by Five
Publisher: Dreams and Dragons
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2016 17:24:24

All right. I probably would have rated it better if the author hadn't improved this system in his Hero DxD, for supers. Since I read Hero first, it had to pale by comparison.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five by Five
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 158 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG