RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews









Back
Ship of the Line
 
$8.95 $7.16
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 8
0 0
2 2
0 0
0 0
Ship of the Line
Click to view
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Tony S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2012 18:54:26
I have bought just about all of the old time "sailing games". While this one may be very simple it is definately the easiest to start playing without getting bogged down in rules. I really enjoy it and think it's worth the money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Steven M W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2011 11:23:03
In actual play this turns out to be a fun little beer and pretzels game. As a simulation, however, it fails on a number of levels. My biggest problem with the game and the reason for a rating of three rather than four lies in the "historic detail" provided. I am a long time sailor, an historian and reenactor and a fan of nautical fiction for more than 40 years, so I speak with a modicum of authority when I say that the period and setting detail is rather off. I didn't expect a level of detail conversant with that of, say, Close Action or a Brian Lavery book, but I did expect basic terminology to be used properly. Sigh.

Is it worth owning? Yes. Is it worth playing? Yes. Is it a reasonably accurate portrayal of the subject matter and period? Not by a long shot!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Wim N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2007 00:00:00
The pro's:
Easy to learn. The game has been stripped to the bare bones.
Counters included so you can play straight away.
Some original ideas regarding gameplay.
A point system for the ships.
Lots of historical scenarios.

The con's:
Very basic navigation. Again due to the stripping of the game.
Firing range of the ships is rather short.
The damage allocation is a joke.

Good game for those looking for a fast, easy to learn and relaxing game where you don't have to look up tons of tables. Avoid it if you're looking for a realistic alternative.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Eric T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2006 00:00:00
Great game, great system, it is very useful for naval combat and also using other game systems along with it, Pirates of the Spanish Main for example. What I also liked is the advance rules with added crew and officer options, different type of cannon shots, it is really a great game with alot in it that plays quickly if you want, thank you!!


LIKED: Advanced options w/ crew rating, officers, weapon add-on, scenerio generator!!

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Eric, Glad you enjoyed it :)
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Warren S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2006 00:00:00
This is an absolutely fantastic game. It runs fast and is an easy play.

You will be able to play the basic scenario within 10 minutes after downloading and printing it out. (not counting the prep time of fixing up the stand-up counters)

The great artwork is not too harsh on your printer and helps get you in the mood for a good sailing ship battle.

I call this game a "Must Have"!!!

I'd give it ten stars, instead of the top limit of five, if I could!!!!

Fantastic... simply Fantastic!


LIKED: It's fast and elegant.

DISLIKED: Nothing. Absolutely NOTHING!



QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Warren, Thanks for taking the time to post the review and I'm glad you like the game :) -Jon
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Chris C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/27/2005 00:00:00
First thing to keep clear is this is a board game, not an RPG. With that in mind, this is a gorgeous, elegant game. The rules, while not perfect, are efficient, well written, and clear. It's brimming with historical content, naval terminology, and just plain fun.

I cannot recommend this game enough. The author has filled it with historical naval artwork depicting many major engagements of the Napoleonic era.

If this were a boxed game, it would probably run for $25 minimum.

LIKED: The historical content, the game mechanics, the authentic feel. It's really a great game.

DISLIKED: The rules could probably be improved.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Chris, Thanks for your comments, all feedback is appreciated and I'm glad you liked it. If you go over to my website (www.fjgaming.com) you'll find some variant rules for ship of the line, submitted by other customers, which may address some of the rules issues (they include conversion rules to play the game on an octagonal grid, submitted by Pete Jones).
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by jonathan g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2005 00:00:00
A REVIEW OF ?SHIP OF THE LINE? FROM FAT JONNY GAMES

This is the fourth download-and-print PDF game I've bought from Fat Jonny Games, and I've been pleased with all of them. They are simple beer 'n' pretzels games, and they include everything you need except dice (and you'll need a bunch of dice for this particular game).

Games of Naval Warfare in the Age of Sail are full of atmosphere. Most of them are fairly complex (Wooden Ships & Iron Men, for example), and take a fair amount of time to play. "Ship of the Line" (referred to hereafter as "SOTL") has taken the general idea of these games and integrated some game mechanics from FJG?s previous releases to make a fast-playing, fun game of naval combat. He has simplified the mechanics and record-keeping of the typical Age of Sail game and made it operate at a easier to play, faster pace. Gobs of flavor, quick to learn (or teach) and play. It?s getting harder to get the time or opponents for the old standard Grognard-style games of the Avalon Hill Era, so this is a great way to introduce a new player to naval wargaming, or to get a bunch of the guys together for a lot of shouting and a desire for a rematch.

With FTG?s simultaneous movement mechanic (represented by a 20-sided die displaying the current maneuver selected from a list of twenty) you get the fog-of-war aspect that makes this a real face-to-face game.

WHAT YOU GET:
Basic Rules
Advanced Rules
Optional Rules
Campaign Rules
Random Scenario Generator
Ship and Island Counters
Playing Map Grid
Glossary of Period Naval Terms

WHAT YOU DON?T GET BUT YOU NEED:
D20 for every ship in the combat.
D6?s...a bunch of them.
Card stock to print out the playing pieces and map.

WHAT YOU DON?T GET BUT YOU MIGHT LIKE:
Ship status card. You could easily design one to print out.

IS IT A GOOD BARGAIN?
Absolutely

IS IT FUN?
Yep.

WOULD I BUY AN EXPANSION FOR THIS?
Almost certainly, sight unseen.



LIKED: Simple system.
Quick set-up.
Fast play.
Fog of war...reminiscent of Ace of Aces.

DISLIKED: Unnecessary duplication of maps in the downloaded PDF.
You can just print out the same page several times, if you need multiple copies.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your comments Jonathan, much appreciated and I'm glad you like the game :)
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Lance K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2005 00:00:00
I just finished the download, and have yet to do more than skim, but so far I am very happy. Just what I like in a game, simple and easy to teach! Plan to use it at cons. Already making plans to use miniatures. I am thinking a "1 always misses" rule on cannons will help the action, but other than that, I like what I see.

Keep up the good work.

LIKED: I like the movement system. Makes for nice play without a lot of records.

DISLIKED: Needs a "1s always miss" rule :), but then again perhaps I missed it.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Lance, Thanks for the review, much appreciated and I will indeed keep up the good work :)
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Peter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2005 00:00:00
Excellent value for money this is an extension of the system used in the Biplane Barmy rules.

In my humble opinion I feel that it is better suited to the Napoleonic Naval period than the WWI aerial period.

The game is played on a square gridded tabletop. Each ship has a choice of up to 20 movement options (depending on ship type and wind direction). As ships are hit the number of movement options decrease.

Combat is by use of rolling a number of D6 which represents the ships firepower. Roll greater than the range to hit and damage is taken from the movement options or the number of dice used for firepower.

The rules are ideal for multiplayer games or at conventions.

If you are looking for naval simulation forget them but if you are looking for a little fun on a gaming night these are value for money. They come with numerous cardboard stand up ships which you can use if you don't own any metal ones. A cheap way to try the period.

Again some people may think that use of a square gridded board instead of a hex gridded board is not so good. Maybe but these are a beer and pretzel type game.



LIKED: Well produced nice artwork.

DISLIKED: No complaints

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review Pete, first and foremost, glad you enjoyed it. I've mainly gone for squares because it cuts down the effective number of maneuvers to 20, which fits the idea of using a d20 for each ships maneuver dice. Using a hex grid significantly increases the number of possible movement options, which does add something to the game, but gets away from the d20 :)
Ship of the Line
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2005 00:00:00
With Ship of the Line, FJG has produced the ultimate expression of its square dice maneuver system. Very similar to the previous products (Blazing Jets and Barmy Biplanes), Ship of the Line is more suited to the game system than aircraft. I wouldn't have thought that Napoleonic era naval combat could be expressed so easily, but this game does it quite well.

FJG has also provided a large amount of background material that will satisfy the student of the period as well as informing the neophyte. With only a few minutes of preparation, I had a three-ship battle in progress with multiple exchanges of broadsides. This game was played with a juvenile who had little trouble understanding how the game worked with only a short explanation.

Bravo, FJG. Extremely well done!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Scott, thanks very much for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it so much :)
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG