RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
 
$6.95
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 11
2 8
2 0
0 0
0 0
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Click to view
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/30/2011 11:36:41
d20 Modern's quick take on martial arts left many wanting more, and RPG Objects is there with this excellent supplement. Anyone who has been a fan of the Blood and * series as long as I have won't be surprised, or disappointed, at its high quality.

Blood & Fists opens with several martial-arts related advanced classes like the burly Barroom Brawler. They would fit right into most action-oriented d20 Modern games. Of particular note is the Martial Arts Master, whose special "masteries" are similar to talents, but focused entirely on martial arts. They get their own section near the end of the book.

The way that martial arts are integrated into d20 Modern is through the feat system. By selecting a martial arts style feat, moves and even some new skills are unlocked for a character. These style feats are therefore more powerful than many d20 Modern feats - and the game explains this, a welcome addition to those who are concerned with game balance when looking at third party supplements.

The styles themselves are presented each in a paragraph, each categorized and the categories explained, so that GMs who wish to create their own fictionalized style can make them similar to existing styles. Advanced uses of martial arts styles are called maneuvers or signature maneuvers and cost an additional feat.

Finally, "ki feats" introduce a new form of FX to D20 Modern, similar to what one might see in a modern martial arts film or TV show.

Perhaps the strongest section of the supplement is the description of several martial arts-focused campaigns, from wandering students searching for a legendary master to a rival-school fighting tournament setup, which is fleshed out in its own chapter.

These kinds of examples are key when you're trying to decide if you want a third-party supplement to a highly detailed game. It tells you how you can incorporate the material into your own game and what kinds of games you can expect to have.

The ZIP file comes with a print version, a screen version with landscape orientation (!) and a character sheet, all of which are welcome additions that garner this supplement my highest marks. I even sought it out in print because it was so useful to me in my d20 Modern games. If you want to incorporate martial arts material without completely replacing the system (as other games like Spycraft do), this is an outstanding choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Andy A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2007 00:00:00
This is a must have reference for anyone that is not satisfied with the martial artist class in d20 Modern. It provides good solid rules and structure that will allow players to customize their characters to unique styles and stay within the game balance.


LIKED: The rules structure and flexibility of this product are very solid and are balanced. The feats allow a character to "dabble" in the martial arts without having a life commitment to them. ("I picked up a few things here and there..")

DISLIKED: I believe the author was misinformed when he wrote the some of the style write-ups (i.e. Wing Chun)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by simon w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2005 00:00:00
An excellent martial arts supplement. I used with D&D without much change.


LIKED: Pretty much all of it. But especially use of skills.

DISLIKED: Layout could of been slightly better.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2005 00:00:00
A great way to handle martial arts in d20. Quite a few of the modern martial arts are presented. Maneuvers are feats, much like they are in all other d20 products that have combat maneuvers.

LIKED: A good job at turning martial arts into a bunch of feats

DISLIKED: I don't think that martial arts should be turned into feats; it is lame to have to be high level before you can have a bunch of maneuvers. Having skills would be better.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2004 00:00:00
this book handles martial arts like they should be handled in d20. great visual presentation and the editing noticable in that there were few typo's and errors (unlike my review.

LIKED: their system for martial arts and feats is very good, very very good. good mechanics, good feel. nice blend of real-world knowledge and movie/fantasy items.

DISLIKED: the prestige classes are a bit to similar. some diversity would help define and make them stand out more.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2004 00:00:00
This was done very well. The author does show he's got a very solid graps on the D20/D20M mechanics. I like that he used real world styles & techniques. The execution of those styles & techniques leaves me feeling that this is more for those wanting to run a primarily martial arts game. This is not a very good book if you just want to plug one or two items into your game (The Game Mechanics Martial Arts Meyhem is good for that). this is a perfect supplement for those wanting to run a "Hong Kong Nights/ Jackie Chan kinda game (Which The Game Mechanics books fall just shy of).

So if you want just a wee bit of martial arts or want to just spice up your game a little, this is not hte best product (still good!) But if you are looking for that Samurai Sunday program that ran in the '80's. THIS IS THE BOOK TO GET!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2004 00:00:00
A very extensive, respectful and true to form exploration of martial arts. A must have for action games ... I wouldn't change a thing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Robert O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2004 00:00:00
The book is professional and very well written. However, in my opinion the rules provided do not mesh well with other D20M settings, and would see best use in an entirely martial arts campaign.

Look for Martial Arts Mayhem by The Game Mechanics for "lite" martial arts rules that work bettern in other campaign settings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Kese C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2004 00:00:00
This is by far the best martial arts supplement I have purchased for the d20 system. An excellent addition to any d20 campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Erik K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2004 00:00:00
Two of my players in particular are really digging on this book. My only complaint is that it REALLY can up the power of martial artists (like a katana user doing 2d10+d6+str... ouch!). While I still think it is balanced, I have to be careful when combining this along with adds-ons like those from TGM. Still a very fun add on that makes each player in my group really feel like they have a unique style.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2004 00:00:00
The single best d20 Modern supplement I've purchased.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Neale D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2003 00:00:00
Flexible and handles the various schools well, though geared for 'kung fu' action first and foremost. May not work well with other modern campaigns.

Parents should note, there's a LOT of mature themes and adult language in this book. Definately one of those that deserve a 'mature' rating. While I know that's part of the genre that they're shooting for, I can't help but feel it's over the top, and there's absolutely no warning about the content.

Simply put, this is an 'R' game. Good, overall, but not for kids.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2003 00:00:00
Grasshopper you will learn that this PDF is awesome... I love the styles presented in this book and how it expands on the unarmed combat sections of D20 Modern. The Feats are way cool and can add such a dynamic to your game

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by DT B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2003 00:00:00
The d20 system needs a good martial arts system, and Blood and Fists is a giant leap in that direction. Covering several styles, this book is incredibly useful for any martial arts based campaigns.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Fists: Modern Martial Arts
Publisher: RPG Objects
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2003 00:00:00
Very good, and interesting, system for expanding on the sorely lacking martial arts aspects of heroes in d20. Applies to Modern, but I am looking at how to adapt it for use in our D&D game also; d20 based games have long suffered from a lack of options for those who like to punch, kick, strangle, or take their enemy to the ground... this is the cure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG