RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
TWILIGHT STREET Basic Urban Environment Set
Publisher: Microtactix
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2007 00:00:00
Another good Microtactix product. Bought them to use with 15mm WWII, but these are more 1950s and up style buildings. However, this and the other Twilight Street products have been pushing me towards doing some 28mm gangster games!


LIKED: Typical good quality buildings and extras.

DISLIKED: Not really a 1930's style setting.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TWILIGHT STREET Basic Urban Environment Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Menagerie
Publisher: Victory By Any Means Games
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2007 00:00:00
Another excellent VBAM product. I do wish I could find some players in my area for a sci-fi campaign using their rules and supplements.


LIKED: Interesting ideas for aliens, particularly the non-humanoid ones.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Menagerie
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleLands 15mm Normandy: 1944 Set A-Buildings
Publisher: Microtactix
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2007 00:00:00
Good buildings for Normandy. These are not as useful for other areas as the ruins though.


LIKED: A good selection of buildings at a good price. Much better pricewise than a resin equivalent.

DISLIKED: Don't care for the look of the church, although there is nothing specific about it I could put my finger on.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleLands 15mm Normandy: 1944 Set A-Buildings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleLands 15mm Normandy: 1944 Set B-Ruins & Scenics
Publisher: Microtactix
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2007 00:00:00
Advertised as Normandy ruins, but most of them can do service in other theatres as well. I do wish that the company would do a series of ruins for Eastern Europe/Soviet Union.


LIKED: Different styles of buildings. Can combine ruins into larger versions. Good alternatives to resin buildings.

DISLIKED: Generally happy all around

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleLands 15mm Normandy: 1944 Set B-Ruins & Scenics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Twilight Street Heroic Scale
Publisher: Microtactix
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2007 00:00:00
Excellent buildings. The 1930's style larger buildings will go great with my WWII miniatures. The fact that they can be scaled down for other figures is a great plus.


LIKED: Styles of buildings. Lots of different options for buildings.

DISLIKED: Generally happy overall.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Twilight Street Heroic Scale
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

In Harm's Way
Publisher: Better Mousetrap Games
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2007 00:00:00
Have not had a chance to play, but have read through the rules. Looks like a good replacement for the old Privateers and Gentlemen set from FGU in the 1980s. Since I have no practical experience with the game, I'm setting my ratings to "middle-of-the-road."


LIKED: One of my favorite topics and areas of history.

DISLIKED: Can't think of anything right offhand.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Harm's Way
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Victory by Any Means Campaign Guide
Publisher: Victory By Any Means Games
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2006 00:00:00
Another excellent VBAM publication! I found it most useful in understanding why some of the things in the FASB edition were done the way they were. The VBAM people are also very good about taking suggestions for improving their products.


LIKED: Very useful in understanding their other products. Typically good production values.

DISLIKED: Would like a way to show that these were bought as a PDF. I do sometimes feel funny about having them printed/bound at the local copy place when it looks like I've "ripped off" a copy. Some other websites do this by placing your name and order # on the PDF. Not a comment against VBAM specifically, just a general observation.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Victory by Any Means Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle of Trafalgar Scenario Pack
Publisher: Starboard Tack Press
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2006 00:00:00
Excellent scenario pack. Although written with the FASB 3-inch octagon rules in mind, it is easy to convert to other systems. The rules to play as a hex-based boardgame are OK, but not useful in my case. All in all, a very nice effort and I would like to see some other scenario packs from this company. I am certainly awaiting their 1805 naval board game!


LIKED: Nice to have scenarios other than Trafalgar alone in the package. I actually bought the pack as a guide to Calder's Action.

DISLIKED: A couple of minor quibbles about the counters, but not significant since I would use miniatures anyway.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle of Trafalgar Scenario Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fire As She Bears! 2nd Edition (2.1)
Publisher: Starboard Tack Press
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2006 00:00:00
I had the first edition, so I decided to update to this one. While I don't use it as a system, I would recommend it to AOS players.


LIKED: The octagon movement system is intriguing. The idea of firing doctrine is a good one, and I do like the rating of flag officers system.

DISLIKED: The PDF is a bit disorganized; I didn't like having to print the examples separately from the main rule book. 1"=80 yards is a little bothersome for me, as I prefer AOS games in the same scale as my 1/1200 scale miniatures. That is a personal preference though, and I don't fault Mr. Fry for doing it that way.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fire As She Bears! 2nd Edition (2.1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Barbary Coast War
Publisher: Guild of Blades
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2006 00:00:00
Very unimpressed with this game. Numerous errors of fact such as confusing the name and position of the Barbary leaders. Also mistakes on the American side, although I don't have them to hand. When I contacted the company they didn't really seem to care. Their response was, "well, we'll correct that in the next edition." When I asked if I could get a copy of the next edition, they put me off. Also errors in the map, such as saying that land areas are labeled for movement when they are not. I realize that it is an inexpensive game, but I don't even feel like I got my money's worth!


LIKED: Good example of the need for proofreading

DISLIKED: Numerous things; see comments.

QUALITY: Poor

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Barbary Coast War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Moderator's Companion
Publisher: Victory By Any Means Games
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2005 00:00:00
This book has everything one could think about in planning a sci-fi campaign! From ground combat to starship design to map design to legendary officers (a la Capt. Kirk) to some of the darker aspects of the genre, such as enslavement and genocide. All of it (especially the darker aspects) are handled quite well, and the book makes no bones about what your fellow species will think of you if you choose to use them. I have even found some things in the book that have been useful for my historical wargaming campaigns.


LIKED: Presentation is excellent. I particularly liked the monocolor option if you want to print the book out instead of using it as a PDF only.

DISLIKED: Almost too much information to digest. Also, some flipping back and forth between rules sections when looking for certain items. I will admit though, that I am doing some serious nitpicking here!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Moderator's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hoist Signals Aloft!
Publisher: Starboard Tack Press
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2005 00:00:00
A good simple system for adding signals to any of your tactical-level Age of Sail rules. Well thought out, and flexible too.


LIKED: Adaptability across rules systems. Good counters, especially the ones that have the color listed under the flag. The method of handling who you are signalling (van, center, rear, all) is quite simple.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hoist Signals Aloft!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

VBAM: Fire As She Bears! Edition
Publisher: Victory By Any Means Games
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2005 00:00:00
Overall, I am quite happy with this product and would recommend it to any Age of Sail gamer. It manages to give you the feel of runnning an Admiralty without bogging down into a mass of details.


LIKED: The concept. I like the idea of a playable AOS campaign. The support from the designers via yahoo groups and personal responses is quite quick and good.

DISLIKED: Some rules are a little ambigious, but that happens in any ruleset. Some of the charts in the rulebook did not print very clearly, but I later discovered that this is a problem with my printer settings.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
VBAM: Fire As She Bears! Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG