RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
No Sleep Til Finland [bundle]
Publisher: Asparagus Jumpsuit
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2014 10:52:17
For me the Character Workbooks were a complete waste of time and money. All they were is just a set of reminders for each class just repeating what is already listed for each class in the core book as well as the sources for each class (e. add HP, add feat at levels 3,6,9, etc., remember to add favored class bonus etc.). I had expected something like discussions of the merits of various class abilities, pros and cons of choosing various feats etc. They basically took the info from the various tables and put them in blocks of texts.
The Monster books were just minor variants from the author's home campaign. I don't care what they are like in your home campaign. I already have hundreds of monsters so I would not spend a cent for variants.

For me the items of this collection are worthless. Really, I want my money back.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
No Sleep Til Finland [bundle]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Faces of the Tarnished Souk: Ahnkar-Kosh, The Unstoppable (PFRPG)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2011 16:54:03
A very good product. An interesting and powerful character who can be hired as a bodyguard. Also included are some excellent new templates and a new character race. The Dreadnought and Quickling templates are detailed but the Protector (presumably a template) mentioned in his CR 21 description is not explained. Where is this Template?
This oversight reduced my rating.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Faces of the Tarnished Souk: Ahnkar-Kosh, The Unstoppable (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank R. A. Sanhai for taking the time to do a review of our product, the Protector Template should have been listed as coming from Rite Publishing's Book of Monster Templates, we apologize for the oversight.
The Secrets of Martial Mastery (PFRPG)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by R. A. S.
Date Added: 03/15/2011 18:08:07
This product is a worthless waste of money. In fact I want my money back. You have several maneuvers that if used provoke attacks of opportunity which mean they are not worth the risk. So then you need to waste a feat on the "Improved" version of the maneuver to actually be useful. The one that really irritated me somehow was the Cut Clothing maneuver (a la Zorro) except that without the feat you provoke an attack of opportunity.
The better way to handle this in my opinion would be you take a -2 to one attack (representing precise control necessary) and if you hit you slice the clothing instead of doing damage. If you fail by 1 you still hit but do only 1 point of damage if cutting normal clothing or mar the design on armor.

The prestige class could have been replaced by a few feats.

This is utterly disappointing compared to some excellent items from Rite Publishing. I'll be having 2nd and 3rd thoughts about any future products.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Martial Mastery (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your review, R. A. Sanhai; I will happily refund your money, please feel free to contact me using steve at ritepublishing dot com. I would like to point out however a number of factual errors in your review. First off all maneuvers in the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game provoke an attack of opportunity unless you possess the improved feet from Disarm, Grapple, Sunder, Bull Rush, and Sunder. Secondly in pathfinder you only provoke an Attack of Opportunity unlike 3.5 if they hit you, you still get to perform your maneuver, which also means you can Cut Clothing on an opponent who is not armed with a melee weapon (or does not have the unarmed attack feat). Thirdly, Corps A Corps does not provoke an attack of opportunity and "If your combat maneuver check is successful, you gain a +2 circumstance bonus to your next attack roll or combat maneuver check made against the target and you do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing that combat Maneuver" I am sorry to say say I am at total loss as to the problems you are having with this product, had we done as I am assume your suggesting (removing the AoO) it would have made the product incompatible with the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game. My apologies that this product cannot suit your needs, please contact me about a refund. Steve Russell Rite Publishing
Halt Evil Doer! Second Edition
Publisher: Phipps Studios
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2010 08:28:44
The Second Edition adds to the timeline of events and adds stats for new characters, some of which were just mentioned in the First edition. In this setting it is possible for characters to make significant changes to the world which is something I appreciate in a game. If you don't have the 1st edition then this a good buy.

However in having the 1st edition I wanted more out of the 2nd edition. I wanted more details on legendary items mentioned in passing, on the various alien races, and the other dimensions mentioned. By this I mean that I want actual game crunch not just some generalized descriptions. Let's see actual beings from the major races besides Mithrans and entities from the dimensions. These should be addressed in a future product.
The additions between 1st and 2nd edition was not really worth $15.00.

Rating: 4 of 5 if you don't have the 1st edition, but only 3 of 5 if you do.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Halt Evil Doer! Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Xcrawl Core Rulebook
Publisher: Goodman Games
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2008 13:24:50
Fairly interesting setting but I was disappointed in how little new magic there was. You would think that in a setting where technology advanced alongside magic there would be more technologically related magic as well as fusions of magic and technology.
If magic and technology have advanced side by side for thousands of years as supposed by this setting where are the technomagical fusions that are superior to either magic or technology alone?. Where are the technology enhancing or substituting magics? In the d20 Modern setting, where magic has returned only a few years before, there are far more spells that affect technology.

One more thing - why does the cover say color edition when the entire product is black & white?

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Xcrawl Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dave Arneson's Blackmoor: The Wizard's Cabal
Publisher: Zeitgeist Games
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2008 11:49:40
Disappointing. Incomplete. These two words describe the Wizard's Cabal supplement to me. In two areas especially I found that it failed. There was a section giving brief drscriptions of the ranking members of the Cabal but no stats for them. A book about the CAbal should stat out its major members. Then some rituals were introduced as new magic but there are no rules to show how they arrived at the DC to cast the ritual. This is a major flaw since the rituals given duplicate the effects of Epic spells but do not require an epic caster to use. Overall it just was not worth the price.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dave Arneson's Blackmoor: The Wizard's Cabal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prototype: Sorcerer Supreme
Publisher: LPJ Design
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2007 00:00:00
Disappointing. A class called sorcerer supreme should have the power to back up the title. This DOES NOT.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Ripped Off


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Prototype: Sorcerer Supreme
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prototype: Master of the Underworld
Publisher: LPJ Design
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2007 00:00:00
A fair effort. They should have considered the case of a non-evil Master of the underworld.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Prototype: Master of the Underworld
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Gravity Slinger
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2007 00:00:00
A good product generally. However, the introduction describes a multi-ton chunk of building suspended in mid air but the class has no ability that makes this possible since the telekinesis ability can't lift that much weight. An update , perhaps a feat, should be added to enable this. This is the only real flaw.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Gravity Slinger
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Perfect Archer
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2007 00:00:00
Excellent. This class makes archers a force to be reckoned with.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Perfect Archer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Player's Companion, Volume Two
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2007 00:00:00
Excellent !! Everything about this product is good. What I would like to see from them next is a D20 Future Arcana product - magic continues to increase while science progresses. How would magic and science combine?


LIKED: Just about everything, the classes, spells, items.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Player's Companion, Volume Two
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Sorcerers
Publisher: The Le Games
by R. A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2007 00:00:00
It seems as though they just threw together some vague ideas about new sorcerer types without proper development. All the classes are flawed. The numeromantic sorcerer contradicts itself. It says that they cannot cast spells with material components, then says only spells with verbal components then says only spells with somantic components. The Occult detective has an ability Retributioin that summons an "arrest force" from the "Lords of Justice" to his aid. This "arrest force" is nowhere defined. The Follower of the Sixfold Septauch has a list of abilities but does not say at what level you gain them and the final ability turns the character into a NPC. The other classes aren't much better. The one prestige class has no caster level increase unless you forfeit the class special abilities, not acceptable for a caster class. The most this product is worth is $1.


LIKED: The only good things were the short stories and the baubles. The 1st story could have been expanded as a campaign setting.

DISLIKED: Just about everything.

QUALITY: Poor

VALUE: Ripped Off


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Sorcerers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your feedback -- I will address each issue as best as I can. (1) The "arrest force" for the Occult Detective was intentionally left vague. The fact is that every campaign world is different, so it makes little sense to define the arrest force as, lets say, "a force whose headquarters are in the capital city," when in fact your campaign may take place on the ocean, in the dessert, or in a post apocalyptic setting, etc. The "arrest force" must be defined by the player and GM so that it is appropriate for your setting. (2) The Followers of the Sixfold Septauch gains special abilites, but not at specific levels -- it is a fundamental design of the Sixfold class. The text clearly states, "Followers of the Sixfold Septateuch gain new abilities once they have completed the requirements of a quest to achieve mastery of the path as specified by the GM.". So technically, you can get all the abilities at first level if the GM allows it, which I doubt he or she will. This allows the player and GM to scale the abilities accordingly, so that a character stays balanced within the confines of his or her current campaign setting. (3) You are correct about the Numeromantic Sorcerer -- they can cast spells "with or without a VERBAL component," not "material". That one error is where the confusion lies. Here's the good news; a new version of this book has been uploaded to rpgnow/dtrpg! If anyone reading this has purchased the book already, you can download the updated version for free! This new version makes the 1-line fix to the Numeromantic Sorcerer, and adds a 1-line clarification to the Sixfold Septauch so that readers will not get confused about the special abilities. Thanks again for the feedback -- I welcome all comments! -The Le Games (pronounced Tay Lee Games), We Enhance Worlds!
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG