RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Courtship of the Flower Demons
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2018 17:43:20

Honestly, this book is essential if you have 4 Against Darkness. The setting and premise of the Flower Demesne is highly original and wonderfully evocative. You even have to forgoe a certain amount of combat and instead find yourself involved in weird courtship encounters!

The new classes are great too but the real winner (apart from the setting) here is the section on potions. Its incredible!

This book could completely change the way you play 4AD. Hunting for ingredients for potions is now a fascinating and lucrative objective that will see you seeking throughout many of the other books in the line already published.

I highly rate this supplement. Buy it immediately!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Courtship of the Flower Demons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
Publisher: Fishwife Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 14:57:07

More simplistic than Exiles of the Wicked Maze but easier to get going and has a different goal. Good fun! It would be a 5 star rating if there was more than one map like Exiles. 3 different mazes would be good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition: Return to Merlantis
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:46:52

See my review of 'Deadly Missions 2nd Ed. - The Portal' for my main thoughts about the game...

The 3rd edition of Deadly Missions is chiefly just a case of more is more. More characters, more creature tokens, more villains and another tile set to romp around on. For me thats easily worth the price alone.

There are however a few more things worth considering though...

  1. The rulebook has been improved. It's a little clearer and has a slightly better layout.

  2. There are some new abilities that are great additions. particularly the ruthless 'Swashbuckler'!

  3. We have water creatures/characters/villains and new rules for them.

  4. There are now blank templates and a point system for creating your own characters, villains or creatures.

In short, there's more new content than you can shake a stick at, the game has been improved and you now have all you need to create your own custom content. Definitely worth purchasing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition:  Return to Merlantis
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition: THE PORTAL
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by R. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2017 18:03:24

Deadly Missions is a 'print & play' Dungeon Crawler. Does the world need another Dungeon Crawler? Yes, certainly and here's why...

If you look at the Grey Matter Games section on DrivethruRPG you'll see that Deadly Missions has been consistently improved and expanded upon over quite a few years. This means that if you like it's basic premise you can slowly turn it into one mighty big game chock full of monsters, villains, heroes and artifacts that will give it almost infinite replay-ability.

The aim of the game is to gather 4-6 heroes with varying skill sets and pit them against a villain or boss monster in a dungeon of randomised tiles. Monsters appear ranked from 1st level goons up to 3rd level bad asses. The combat rules are simple but effective and doors and difficult types of terrain are covered well. I particularly like the fact that rear attacks are in the rules. The popular Dungeons and Dragons board games don't actually have have this seemingly essential tactic! You can even run out of arrows for your bow. Then you have to hope you can find some more on a dead Goblin. Yikes! Heroes and villains have access to any of the 48 abilities in the rules. As you can imagine this makes for a very interesting selection of characters. I like to randomise the characters I play and find the best way that the group can work together.

The 2nd edition of Deadly Missions is a great improvement over the first both in terms of the art and graphics and also the rules. All of the character art for the standees and cards is produced by the author and this is what really makes Deadly Missions so unique to me. David Wears has a great cartoon style of art that blends very well with his vision of pure unabashed fantasy. I particularly like all the anthropomorphic heroes.

Deadly Missions is really a sandbox game. Suggestions are made for three adventures. 1, defeat the main villain. 2, rescue the prisoner and 3, find the summoning circle and defeat the boss monster. That's it really. Yet, if you look at the tiles that come with the game (or even better the expansion Fantasy Quest 3 or indeed any of the many tile sets available online) See Lord Zsezse Works!) then you can let your imagination soar and come up with adventure ideas only limited by your imagination. The rules are light and flexible enough to accommodate any ideas you have.

So yes. I believe Deadly Missions is essential if you love Dungeon Crawling and are prepared to print and create your own game. Huge fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition:  THE PORTAL
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Mutant Epoch RPG Quick Start Rules
Publisher: Outland Arts
by R. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2016 18:44:43

I have Mutant Epoch core rules. I only solo roleplay with it. This game supports solo roleplay extremely well. All their large adventure books are written to account for a solo experience which is so very rare.

I digress. These quick start rules are an amazing addition. Apart from their obvious reason for being they are perfect for solo roleplaying. I need a game to be rules light in order to keep the pace snappy. This concise 48 page edition (the adventure is an additional 42 pages plus setting material) is perfect for my needs and comes with another fantastic adventure for free! When the rules become second nature I can start adding more from the full 246 page core rules.

Really, what more could you want? Great artwork? Its got that too!

Richard Smithston



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch RPG Quick Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Rad-Hack
Publisher: Karl Stjernberg
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2016 13:30:29

Great fun. Minimalist rule set. Excellent illustrations. I hope it gets expanded just a bit! Too much would ruin it's "less is more" approach.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rad-Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics
Publisher: Imperium Group, LLC
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2016 14:58:35

I originally bought this from the owners website & therefore had to post my review in "Discussions". I now have a copy on Drive thru, so I'm posting my review here too...

This game is fantastic fun. Do yourself a favour and get the tokens and map professionally printed. It was only then that I realised just how good the art is!

This is a rules light, Sci Fi skirmish game that works very well when played solo. This game excels at being fast to learn and fast to play. Crunchy it is not. If you follow this BGG link it will take you to a solo system originally created for 'Song of Blades and Heroes'

https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/73730/sbh-solo

It takes very little to adapt this for use with 'In Harms Way'. Now you have a neat A.I. For all your enemies!

Get both the expansions for huge replay-ability. The robot faction is very cool. Gaming heaven!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics: March of the Metal Horde
Publisher: Imperium Group, LLC
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 12:56:30

More stuff for In Harms Way. More is most definitely more here. The robot faction is the coolest. Officially they are the enemy but I can see myself playing these guys a lot!

Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics: March of the Metal Horde
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
Publisher: Paper Make iT !
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2016 19:00:06

This an excellent sc fi/modern map maker. The interface appears daunting until you get stuck in. Then it all falls in to place quite quickly.

Support for the program is excellent. Claudio is a very amiable and helpful chap.

Be aware that if you see a catalogue number on the end of the program files they need to be removed or the program will only half work. Claudio is aware of this but the catalogue number is added by Drive thru. If they don't remove the numbers you must!!

Also, when loading a new map be sure to clear the screen first. If you don't it can get buggy due to old layers still present under the new map. Remember this rule and everything is fine.

Highly recommended.

I would love to see more content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mission St. Mary
Publisher: Two Hour Wargames
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2016 12:25:12

As a supplement for Larger than life this a good book.

However, I was saddened by the lack of detail on the setting. I'm afraid you'll have to make that up. Also if you are thinking that this will be great for some Steam Punk fun then you will probably be disappointed. Yes you can play a Steam Punk character but there is very little in the rules that help you to build a unique Steam Punk character

Anyway, enough griping. What's the good news? Well, you have an entirely new country to explore filled with lots of new NPC's. Lemuria is a tropical locale and as such this supplement really enhances your Jungle and Lost World adventures. Of note are the dinosaur rules. Ever fancied hunting a Dinosaur? I wouldn't recommend it unless you are awesomely brave!

The core of this book is the idea of hanging out in a bar in Mission St. Mary, looking suspiciously like Indiana Jones and meeting various NPC's who can hire your services to go on many and varied expeditions. Real good Pulp fare.

Also there are rules for you to play a Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle story. Edgar Rice Burroughs would be proud!

So. Let down in regard to Steam Punk and background info on the campaign setting. Somewhat small for its price, yet I find it a very worthy add-on to my 'Larger Than Life' games.

I would love to see an expansion that covered a setting like E.A. Burroughs John Carpenter on Mars books!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mission St. Mary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Larger Than Life
Publisher: Two Hour Wargames
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2016 12:04:44

This game is awesome if you want to solo roleplay some over the top pulp action. I love Warrior heroes Legends by the same company (see my review for it) and this does for Pulp what WHL does for fantasy.

If anything, it does it better! There is a great system for clue gathering and it has a really great adventure generator. You'll find yourself hopping from location to location hunting lost treasure and foiling evil masterminds in no time.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Larger Than Life
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warrior Heroes Legends
Publisher: Two Hour Wargames
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2016 11:56:43

I love WHL. I have been trying to find a way to solo roleplay that I like. It never really clicked with me until I bought Warrior Heroes Legends. It is a meeting ground between miniature skirmish rules and roleplaying. The numerous tables help you to roll up a character, recruit some hirelings and go on many and various high adventures around a sizeable map. There are even some simple rules for character advancement.

If there is one thing I have learned whilst trying out various systems its that simplicity is paramount when solo roleplaying. The author understands this and keeps the rule set very tight.

I wish there were more monster stats but it would be fairly easy to create your own. You can play a monster if you wish. I have designs on playing a dim witted Troll who goes on a rampage!

I have marked it only 4 out of 5 because the layout of the book could be more intuitive. I find myself flipping backwards and forwards throughout the document a lot! I'm sure this could be improved. Also I found the dungeon delving rules somewhat irksome. I have followed somebody else's lead in this regard and use the rules for 2Hour Dungeon Crawl by the same company. A fairly simple fix albeit one which involves spending more money...

To summarise. I'm very impressed and will be playing this game a lot!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior Heroes Legends
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2 Hour Dungeon Crawl
Publisher: Two Hour Wargames
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2016 11:37:55

Excellent dungeon crawler that takes up very little space to play. Recommended.

Yes, its rather expensive but THW is a small indie press.

The rules aren't complicated. I'm not sure why the previous reviewer got so confused?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2 Hour Dungeon Crawl
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2015 18:54:37

Others have stated how good this system is. They're right! Here is another perspective.

This incredible rules lite system is tailor made for solo roleplaying along with Mythic GME. My system of choice has been Savage Worlds but this is very similar. I'd call it a distillation of SW down to its core elements. Excellent!

I'd love to see the author provide some charts/tables to facilitate solo roleplaying as he's obviously talented and solo play is woefully under catered for.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exiles Of The Wicked Maze
Publisher: Fishwife Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2015 18:36:29

Simple premise, great fun. Tons of replay value via online random map generator.

Highly recommended small dungeon crawl game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exiles Of The Wicked Maze
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG