RPGNow.com
Find Category
 Publisher Info













Back
The Strange (corebook)
 
$19.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 9
3 1
3 0
2 1
0 1
The Strange (corebook)
Click to view
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2015 08:13:25

The premise was a good idea; its been done. This seemed like it could be a new and interesting way of handling the topic. I haven't used the Cypher System; but it seemed overly complicated and, most importantly, limiting. Combat seemed to rely on "crits". It also lack a good dynamic for not being a "Story Telling" game. During a play test, I quit caring about the rolls at one point and hoped someone would die so it would end.

The topic to travelling between different realities is a good one. I played Amber Diceless for many years. I realize this game was not going to be that kind of travel; but the method this game uses, well, sucks. It seems like try to go somewhere, get there or not, maybe do something and comeback. The translation process kinda means you lose any gains you got from travelling. Worse, it means a different character sheet for each place. Worse, a character concept goes right out the portal. If I want to play a blind, female elf with Turrets. I'll roll one up. I admit that some of the translations could prove to be fun to play. Changing almost every time destroys character concept. "At home I'm an account, here I am a dragonslayer and there I am a speechless droid."

I had anticipated this game and read all the reviews. After I got the game, I wondered if I had the one they reviewed. RIFTS was a little too mathy and I had hoped with the promise of the Cypher System that a better way to handle changing worlds had been developed.

The book had excellent production values and I don't really just want to trash a game and it does have some well written, usable material.

I took a gamble that it was worth the 19.99 price for a "download". Very disappointed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Daniel J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2015 01:51:31

One of the favorite rpg I've bought in 2014. Very satisfying. It has a big possibility of expanding on various settings through theme that's named "recursions". And in these recursions our character developes another identity with new foci, and descriptors. I hope to see more of the supplements coming forth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Devin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2014 13:29:49

The Strange is a great system as well as a wonderful setting. If you're looking for an easy to play system with a setting that you can expand to fit your wildest dreams? Then look no further because The Strange offers the freedom and simplicity that rivals that of the GURPS system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/10/2014 09:54:43

Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/11/10/tabletop-review-the-strange-core-rulebook/

Back in August of this year, I reviewed The Strange Player’s Guide. I gave it a positive review, which is no surprise considering I liked Numenera so much. At the end of the review, I said I’d have a review of the Core Rulebook up by the end of the month. Nearly three months later I’m finally getting to post my review of the book. What happened? Well, time mainly. I’ve written forty-eight articles since the Player’s Guide review, so The Strange just got bumped because I had already done the PHB. In my mind, I wanted to spread my time amongst some small releases that might otherwise not get attention. It also didn’t help that D&D 5e, Warhammer: The End Times, Robotech RPG Tactics and the digital version of Horror on the Orient Express came out in that time period. So something had to give, and unfortunately, it was that review. Still, I feel a little better noticing most reviews for this game didn’t come out until late October, but I know I’m generally super timely with my reviews so I wanted to explain why this is so late compared to everything else I’ve done over the past few years.

The Strange is a massive tome compared to a lot of core rulebooks these days. Weighing in at 418 pages with eight parts, twenty-three chapters, two appendices and more, it will take you a long time to really go through this book and learn the system. The good news is that if you already have either NumeneraThe Strange, Player’s Guide, you’ll be familiar with a lot of the mechanics and/or concepts in the game. In fact, The Player’s Guide is the first seven chapters of the Core Rulebook, so I suggest reading my review of that to prevent recovering already trod ground. Besides, it’s been three months. Even if you’ve read that review, you’ve probably forgotten it. In a nutshell, Character Creation in The Strange is almost identical to that in Numenera. There are a few term changes like Nano/Jack/Glaive becoming Paradox/Spinner/Vector and that your character Foci will change based on which of the three core realities you are currently in. Essentially creating a character in The Strange is almost the same as in Numenera, but as I mentioned in my review, there are a lot less Foci available in The Strange so it’s a little more limiting in that respect. Otherwise it’s a fantastic character creation system. Heck, I have the Numenera app and sometimes just piddle away creating random characters when bored or waiting in a line. It’s a lot of fun and the same is true with The Strange. Again, read the Player’s Guide review for an in-depth look at these first two parts/ eight chapters of the Core Rulebook. Now let’s tackle the rest.

Part 3 is “Playing the Game” and consists of two chapters. These are “Rules of the Game” and “Rules of Translation.” “Rules of the Game” lays out the mechanics of The Strange which are about 99.99% the same as those in Numenera Both use the same Cypher System after all. When you roll, the difficulty of the task is rate from 0-10. Each step higher on the difficulty ladder adds another 3 points to the target number you are trying to roll. So a Level 1 Task need a 3 on a d20 to be successful, a level 6 Task requires an 18 and a Level 10 requires a roll of 30 or higher. So you’ve probably noticed that levels 7-10 can’t actually be accomplished with a d20 as it only goes so high. Well this is where the stats that came about in character creation come into play. If you are trained in a skill, you can lower a task’s difficulty level by one. If you are specialized in a skill, you can lower it by two steps. So if I’m trying to climb the Murderhorn which is a Level 10 difficulty task, but I’m specialized in mountain climbing, that task is lowered to a level 8 difficulty. As well if I have an asset which in this case could be exceptional climbing gear or maybe something that negates my weight so I am lighter and bouncier, the task can drop another level. Now this Level 10 task has dropped to level 7. Finally, I can apply points from my Effort pool (See character creation; again, read the Player’s Guide review.) Let’s say I spend 5 points of effort to lower this task two steps. Now all of a sudden because I am well prepared and spent effort this impossible level 10 task which needed a 30 on a d20 is now a level 5 and all I need is a 15 or higher to succeed. Sure the odds are still against me, but at least it’s now in the realm of possibility!

Other notes worth mention is that the GM never rolls; only the player. This is a subtle but neat aspect because it means the GM is pure storyteller and arbitrator. He’s not hiding his rolls behind some screen and fudging the dice in one way or another. There’s also the return of GM Intrusion where the GM can handout two experience points to throw a monkey wrench into the story. This could be anything from a weapon breaking in a fight to coughing during a moment where stealth is key. The player can either accept the change and keep the experience points (giving one to another player) or they can reject the intrusion by giving up the experience points bribe and spending one of their own accumulated XP to boot. In this respect, the players and the GM are coming together to tell a story. There’s no GM vs players. It’s simply everyone is involved and invested in telling a good story. It’s just the GM writes most of it and plays the NPCs. It’s a wonderful experience for everyone involved and it prevents players from feeling picked on or like the GM is trying to kill their characters 70s style. The rest of the chapter discusses basic rules, how to get experience points and character advancement. Standard stuff, but well written, easy to follow (especially for Numenera fans), and it’s a lot of fun to read.

“Rules of Translation” talks about what happens when a character travels between recursions. Recursions are the different planes of reality in the game. Some might be a pocket dimension 100 square feet in size, while others might dwarf reality as we know it. It all depends. “Rules of Translation” gives us the mechanics behind transferring your character’s conscious mind from a body in its core reality to a newly made one in the recursion it is entering. This process is called translation as reality tries to make you fit into it. Here you’ll see how long a translation takes, what one has to do in order to make it successful, and how player characters can make the process easier and faster by working together. It’s a pretty short chapter but it’s full of both substance and mechanics so you get a very good idea of how translation works. Since this is a huge part of The Strange, make sure you re-read this chapter enough times that you know the basics by heart.

Part 4 is “The Setting.” It consists of six chapters and is by far the longest part of the book. It is mostly background information as well as a detailed history on recursions and the core three worlds of The Strange: Earth, Ardeyn and Ruk. In fact, each of these four concepts gets their own chapter devoted to it and by the time you are done, you’ll be full of ideas for adventures, characters and what you want to see in your own Strange campaign.

Chapter Ten is “Recursions” and it gives you a basic overview of the concept in addition to teaching you how to craft your own demi-plane (Of Dread?). It’s exceptionally detailed and offers some good advice and an incredible amount of options, so anyone who plans to GM The Strange will be spending a lot of time in this chapter. Chapter Eleven is “Earth” and this might seem like a self-explanatory chapter. At this point in your life, you should be very familiar with Earth after all. What you might not know about are organizations like The Estate which police the planet from The Strange and recursions filled with hostile life forms. “Earth” is all about the Estate and other groups like it. You learn about its objections, sample missions, the type of people it recruits and so on. Most of the other groups only get half a page to a page of detail, where the Estate gets the bulk of the chapter. However, if you want to run a campaign where the PCs are Butterfly Objectors or Recursion Miners, you can! It’s your game after all.

Chapter Twelve is “Ardyen” and it is the base fantasy style world in The Strange. It has dragons and wizards and contains many fantasy tropes you love and/or hate. Ardyen was made by humans and is based off of a (in-game) MMORPG. Although it is relatively recent in terms of coming into existence, the world has thousands of years of history so you can create rich back stories for NPCs and even characters that come from this world. This chapter is exceptionally detailed with maps and in depth looks at locations (both building, region and geographical). There are even several pages of magic items. Hurrah!

Chapter Thirteen is “Ruk,” which is a dark dystopian world filled with mad science. Think Terminator meets Shadowrun for a quick mental image. This chapter is just as detailed as “Ardyen,” but it’s not human-made. Rather some other reality spawned this plane of existence. Perhaps one of the previous worlds if you are using The Strange in the same continuity as Numenera. Perhaps they are aliens from the same universe who had nowhere else to turn but in creating a recursion. Whatever the reason you choose, Ruk is a dark mirror of humanity and its residents don’t care much for us. It’s a much smaller world compared to Earth, but here there is technology and cyberorganisms far different than you would find on our own world. It’s an extremely alien world, but one worth reading about because there is a lot of story potential for adventures and/or campaigns in it. Heck, maybe a player will want their character to be from Ruk.

Chapter Fourteen is “The Strange,” and it gives more of an overview of what is called “The Strange” in-game. It’s not just the name of the franchise after all. In-game, The Strange is dark energy and matter that intersects with our own universe and causes things like recursions. The Strange is also know as the Chaosphere which was constructed billions of years ago by highly advanced aliens to help them in intergalactic travels. Something went wrong though and the Strange became what it is in modern times. Unfortunately, much, if not all, knowledge about these Precursors is lost, so you can’t really ask them. Again, this background information works as a great link to Numenera if you are familiar with that game. In this chapter, you will learn about how the Strange works and can be accessed by those aware of it. There are a whole host of locations to visit listed in this chapter along with some idea of what happens if you spend too much time in The Strange. Exploration has its dark side.

Finally we end Part 4 with Chapter Fifteen, “Other Recursions.” This is exactly what you think – a whole list of several other recursions to explore or perhaps even generate characters from, coupled with some artifacts that can be found there. I was quite amused that one of the recursions is called Innsmouth. Monte Cooke Games really does love to put Lovecraftian references in their games.

Part 5 is “Characters and Creatures.” It consists of two very cut and dry chapters. Chapter Sixteen is “Creatures” and Chapter Seventeen is “Non Player Characters.” You get nearly fifty pages of creatures, many of which are completely unique to this game like Cypher Eaters and Gnathostones, but you also get pretty standard creatures like Dragons and Giants. There are also some takes that straddle both extremes. The Hydra here uses the classic fantasy name but oh man, is it far more horrifying than the kind Hercules fought in Grecian lore. “Non Player Characters” is a similar chapter. You get a whole host of characters from different recursions and our own reality to throw into a game instead of making your own. It’s a much smaller chapter, consisting of only seven pages, but it contains everything from guards and generic Recursors to Professor Moriarity. Very cool.

Part 6 is “Running the Game” and this is where the GM of your group will spend the bulk of his time planning and reading. Chapter Eighteen is “Strange Cyphers” and it is roughly two dozen pages of cyphers (the equivalent of magic or special items in the Cypher System games), along with an explanation of what cyphers are, how they work and how to use them in your game. Chapter Nineteen is “Using the Rules.” Here you’ll find some dos and don’t for how to run a Strange campaign successfully. Right off the bat you are hit with a reminder that story is the most important part and that the rules are there to help you tell the story. They are guidelines, not set in stone facts. So neither The Strange nor Numenera are for ruleslawyers, thank Cthulhu. You’ll also find a discussion on setting task difficulty levels, how to be consistent, what to do when you’ve made a mistake and ways to use GM Intrusions without abusing it. The whole chapter is a great read, even if you are a veteran GM, and it’s worth reading for the advice on damage, mechanics and storytelling in general.

Chapter Twenty is “Building a Story” and it focuses primarily on creative a quality narrative, be it a one shot adventure or throughout a long running campaign. Within these pages you’ll learn about teaching the game to others and helping them through their first few gaming sessions as well as StrangeDungeons & Dragons to GUMSHOE. From the play example to a discussion on how to advice on preparing for an upcoming gaming session, this is actually my favorite chapter in the book

The final chapter of Part 6 is “Running a Strange Game.” Chapter Twenty-One continues the same line of thinking and advice as we have seen in the previous ones. The chapter begins with advice on an intro adventure for new PCs and how to ensure that The Strange lives up to its name. This brief chapter is primarily odds and ends that they threw together to finish Part 6. There is a talk about creating new recursions, which was covered earlier in the book, and adventure outline, which better off in Part 7. Things like that. It’s a very disjointed chapter and the weakest in the book to the utter lack of cohesion. Still, there’s stuff in the chapter GMs will want to read.

Part 7 is “Adventures.” Here you get a short thirteen page adventure called “The Curious Case of Tom Mallard” and the next chapter consists of two pages of story hooks and adventure seeds. I won’t spoil the adventure at all, but it is a decent one, especially for an intro adventure. Likewise there isn’t much in Chapter Twenty-Three, but it’s nice to see a bit of story threads for GMs that aren’t ready to homebrew their own adventures yet.

We come to the final part of the book with Part 8, aka “Back Matter.” Here are the odds and ends that don’t belong anywhere else in the book. Appendix A: Resources gives you a list of books, films and TV shows that inspired the creation of The Strange. Appendix B is a six page list of Kickstarter backers. The Glossary and Index are exactly what you suppose they are. The book then ends with a Character Creation Walkthrough and some character sheets. Both of these sections can be found in the Player’s Guide I keep mentioning and as such there is no need to talk about these for a second time. Suffice to say the character creation walkthrough is well done though and will really help out newcomers.

All in all, The Strange is another fantastic release from Monte Cook Games. I’ll admit I prefer Numenera‘s setting but that is 100% subjective. The Strange really is a fantastic game that came out in this summer of consistent top notch products. As such, I’m glad I’m covering it a little later than I normally do, because otherwise it might have been lost in the shuffle of all the big releases that came out around the same time. So if you missed the game in August when it first came out, here’s your chance to add it to your winter holiday of choice wish list and hopefully receive a copy of it in December. In many ways, The Strange reminds me of the old game Lords of Creation mixed with Numenera rules and trust me when I say, that’s a pretty big compliment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Ed W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2014 18:32:12

Very, very impressed, but I shouldn't be as these guys are some of the best in the business. Really like the setting, the mechanics. Nicely done guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Roger (. L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/29/2014 04:45:22

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/10/29/rezension-the-strange-neues-aus-dem-hause-monte-cook/

Numenera-Planescape oder doch mehr? Oliver hat sich das zweite Rollenspiel mit der Cypher-Engine angesehen und was es so mitbringt. Überzeugen die vorgefertigten Welten? Lässt sich den vielen Welten, die im Strange warten, etwas abgewinnen? Lest mehr über diese offene und ausbaufähige Settingwelt.

Rezension: The Strange

Als Monte Cook Games den Kickstarter für The Strange durchführte, wurde ich zwar darauf aufmerksam, aber damals war ich bereits nicht mehr willens, noch eines dieser überreichlich finanzierten Projekte zu unterstützen. Abgesehen von seinem Status als großes Projekt eines bekannten Autors aus dem Dunstkreis von D&D, dachte ich beim Überfliegen von Posts auf G+ damals, dass The Strange nichts für mich wäre. Ich ließ also den Hype an mir vorbeiziehen, aber jetzt ist es also soweit: Das Buch ist da, und irgendwie hat mich doch die Lust überkommen, es zu lesen. Und es hat sich gelohnt! Die Spielwelt

Gleich eine Warnung vorweg: Es ist eher verwirrend, The Strange von vorne bis hinten zu lesen. Was das Strange eigentlich ist, wird erst in Kapitel 14 wirklich detailliert beschrieben. Zwar strotzt das Buch vor Querverweisen, aber das kann den Mangel an Strukturierung kaum verbergen. Also hier mein Versuch, einen kurzen Abriss zu geben – wer keine Spoiler zum Hintergrund der Spielwelt mag, liest einfach bei der Überschrift „Lost in Translation“ weiter.

Das physische Universum hat ein Schattenuniversum, ein Netzwerk dunkler Energie, das Strange genannt wird. Eine Rasse aus der Frühzeit des Universums hat das Strange erschaffen, und das Schattennetzwerk ist tatsächlich der Grund, warum sich unser Universum ausdehnt. Ursprünglich diente es dazu, dass diese Wesen sich ohne Zeitverlust auf einer Welt hoch- und auf einer anderen herunterladen konnten. Von dieser Ursprungsfunktion ist kaum etwas übrig – die prähistorische Rasse, die Struktur, die Navigation … nur das Strange ist noch da. Als sich die Erde formte, kollidierte ein Bruckstück des physischen Aspekts des Strange – das Aleph genannt – mit der Erde und half den Mond zu formen. Das Aleph selbst ist der Grund, warum der relativ junge Planet Erde Zugang zum prähistorischen Strange hat.

Das Strange ist selbst schwer zu beschreiben – voller fraktaler Wirbel und Strukturen, die sich darin verstecken. Zu langer Aufenthalt im Strange selbst treibt Menschen in den Wahnsinn. Der Raum verhält sich im Strange anders, und die Navigation ist schwierig. Zum Glück ist es nicht unbedingt nötig, das Strange selbst zu bereisen, es ist gewissermaßen nur das Medium, in dem sich die Spielwelten befinden. Im Spiel reisen die Spieler aber meist nur zu Rekursionen. Dies sind Spielwelten, die durch kreativen Impuls intelligenter Wesen im Strange entstanden sind. Rekursionen entstehen rund um Primärwelten wie der Erde. Sie wachsen aus einem Reality Seed zu ganzen Welten heran – manche verbleiben als Pocket Dimension auf Zimmergröße, manche wachsen zu der Größe von Stadtstaaten, Kontinenten oder gar Planeten heran.

Ob bewusster Schöpfungsakt oder Welten aus der kollektiven Fantasie, alle Strange-Rekursionen können eine eigenständige Evolution erreichen. Gäbe es im Strange ein London aus den Sherlock-Holmes-Romanen, so würde es irgendwann seine Entwicklung in eine eigene Richtung fortsetzen. Und aus Statisten werden eigenständige Akteure.

Lost in Translation

Die wirkliche Besonderheit von The Strange ist natürlich das Reisen in die verschiedenen Rekursionen (Spielwelten), die von der Erde durch das Strange erreichbar sind. Der Prozess selbst heißt hierbei Translation. In der Ursprungswelt verschwindet der Charakter, in der Zielwelt taucht er in neuer Form auf. Bei dieser Art zu reisen ist physischer Kontakt mit dem Strange unnötig, der Wesenskern (und auch die meisten Spielattribute) bleibt erhalten, Geschlecht, Rasse und Aussehen können sich aber hierbei ändern. Der Spieler wählt diese aus dem Katalog der Zielwelt für die Spielfigur aus. Das Wesen der Spielfigur wird hierbei regelrecht in die neue Spielwelt übersetzt – daher der Begriff.

Translation funktioniert hierbei über verschiedene Mechanismen. Entweder durchschreitet man ein Translation Gate, SC und andere Wesen mit der Eigenschaft Quickened können dies aber auch ohne Hilfsmittel. Benutzt man kein Gate, ist der Prozess schwierig und mit Würfen verbunden. Man meditiert sich quasi durch eine mentale Verbindung mit dem Strange in die Zielwelt. Eine andere Besonderheit stellen die Inapposite Gates dar – diese transportieren ohne Übersetzung: Wesen und Dinge, die auf Prinzipien basieren, die in der Zielwelt nicht gegeben sind (Magie, abnormale physikalische Gesetze, oder sogar die regulären), beginnen sich in der Zielwelt zu zersetzen oder zu versagen.

Ein Spieler kann also in einer Spielwelt einen Hacker spielen, in einer anderen einen Steingolem, aber es ist jeweils der gleiche Charakter, nur eben in eine andere Rekursion übersetzt. Ein Drache kann von einer fiktionalen Welt durch ein Tor auf die Erde gelangen, aber dort nur begrenzte Zeit Schaden anrichten, weil die Magie, die die Kreatur erst möglich macht, in der Zielwelt Erde nicht existiert.

Im Weltenraum Die beiden detailliert beschriebenen Rekursionen sind Ardeyn und Ruk.

Ardeyn ist auf dem Körper Lotans errichtet, und ist eine Fantasywelt mit ägyptischem Einschlag. Sogar die Seelen der Toten werden im Court of Sleep gerichtet. Alles auf Ardeyn zielt darauf ab, dass Lotan nicht erwacht, denn er wäre eine Gefahr für die Erde. Ganz Ardeyn wurde von einem irdischen Wissenschaftler erschaffen, um die Erde von Gefahr abzuschirmen, und als Manifestation einer MMORPG-Spielwelt hat sie eine mehrtausendjährige Geschichte, die nie stattfand. Nach Ardeyn kann man als Mensch, Qephilim (sterbliche Nachfahren der Engel) oder als Golem kommen.

Mir persönlich wiederholt sich die Sache mit den Qephilim einfach zu oft, und das mag auch daran liegen, dass es eine Fantasywelt mit nur zwei Rassen ist. Eine der schönsten Eigenheiten von Ardeyn ist, dass das Strange sich über der Welt als Himmel wölbt und man vom Weltenrand hinaus in dieses mysteriöse Medium reisen kann. Fliegende Stufenpyramiden, ein Riesenbaum als Kleinstadt, eine Unterwassermetropole, eine Glaswüste, lebende Hügel, die Träume senden … Die Autoren haben sich Mühe gegeben.

Mag mich Ardeyn nicht begeistern, bin ich von Ruk noch weniger angetan. Diese Welt beherbergt eine humanoide Zivilisation, die den genetischen Code als Baumaterial versteht. Hightech auf Bio-Basis vermischt sich hier mit einem Internet der Zukunft (The All Song) und der Suche nach den Bruchstücken der ursprünglichen Information aus der Urgeschichte Ruks, dem True Code.

Ruk blieb gewissermaßen im Schlepptau der Erde hängen und ist keine auf Fiktion basierende Welt. Verschiedene Faktionen auf Ruk interagieren schon seit Jahrtausenden mit der Erde, und einige wollen sie sogar zerstören, damit Ruk wieder eigenständig das Strange durchziehen kann. Auch nach der Beschreibung der einzelnen Machtgruppen, der Hauptstadt und der Regionen, habe ich ein paar Eindrücke gewonnen, aber die Spielwelt verbleibt als Skizze.

Es sind noch mehr Rekursionen kurz skizziert, und einige davon basieren auf Romanwelten aus dem Public Domain. Interessanter ist da schon die Sammlung mehrerer Dutzend Monster, die dem Buch beiliegt. Kreaturen aus Ardeyn sind schon sehr nah an normaler Fantasy, und auf Ruk gibt es halt haufenweise fehlgeschlagene Bioexperimente, die einen fressen oder aussaugen wollen. Keine schlechte Sammlung, aber im Vergleich mit Numeneras Ninth World Bestiary ist die Auswahl weit weniger kreativ. Komm mit mir ins Abenteuerland ...

Das beigefügte Abenteuer hat einen Ermittlungsanteil, der es von einer reinen Schnetzelei deutlich absetzt. Leider liest sich das Haus, in das man als Erstes einbricht, wie ein Dungeon. Und es enthält ein so unlogisches „Monster“, dass sich mir die Haare gesträubt haben. Das Abenteuer ist sehr detailliert beschrieben, auch die NPC-Interaktionen sind in einem für den SL hilfreichen Format. Das Abenteuer endet in einem eher linearen Dungeon Crawl mit Boss-Kampf.

Es sind nur vier vorformulierte Abenteuerideen im Buch enthalten, aber die sind gut! Nimmt man das Buch und seine Weltbeschreibung als Ganzes, dann sollte man da reichlich Ideen finden, an die man anknüpfen kann. Tatsächlich sind zu wichtigen Orten auch stets mehrere kurze Hooks beigefügt.

Die Regeln The Strange hat beinahe alle Regeln mit Numenera (siehe unsere Rezension von Numenera) gemeinsam. Aber nochmals kurz rekapituliert: Die Basis-Engine basiert auf W20-Würfen. Schwierigkeitsgrade werden bei Proben mit 1-10 angegeben, die zu erwürfelnde Zahl ist hierbei der dreifache Schwierigkeitsgrad. Anwendbare Skills, besondere Assets und das Aufwenden von Effort stufen diese Schwierigkeit wieder herunter. Würfe sind auf die Spieler ausgerichtet, d.h. zum Beispiel gibt es an Stelle von Angriffswürfen der Monster Verteidigungswürfe der Spieler. Der Level eines Monsters ist grundsätzlich auch der Schwierigkeitsgrad es zu treffen. Schaden ist generell fix pro Waffentyp oder Power, d.h. es gibt keine Schadenswürfel sondern feste Werte. W20-Würfe von 17 oder höher und spezielle Fähigkeiten und Effort können aber den Schaden erhöhen.

Charaktererschaffung Die Klasse eines Charakters heisst Type. In The Strange gibt es drei Basistypen: Vektor (Haudrauf), Paradox (verrückte, magie-artige Powers) und Spinner (irgendwo zwischen Dieb und Superdiplomat). Bei jedem Type darf man sich für diese Klasse spezifische Besonderheiten und Skills auswählen, und zwar auf jeder Stufe, die man erreicht. Weiter spezialisiert wird der Charakter über einen Descriptor wie z.B. Clever oder Tough. Eine Liste Descriptors ist vorgegeben und jeder bringt auch noch mal mechanische Details mit sich.

Jeder Charakter hat außerdem noch einen spielweltbezogenen Focus. Dieser sollte pro Party einmalig sein. Selbst wenn alle Charaktere Clever wären, sollte es nur einen geben, der den Focus Works the System hat. So wird eine gewisse Unterscheidung der Spielfiguren garantiert. War in Numenera dieser Focus noch fest, ändert er sich aber in The Strange. In jeder Spielwelt, die der Charakter betritt, hat er einen Focus, der sich in dieser Welt nicht mehr ändert. Beim erstmaligen Betreten dieser Welt legt der Spieler den neuen Focus, der für diese Welt gilt, fest. Hierbei gilt zusätzlich Folgendes:

[box]When you translate into a recursion and choose a new focus, you gain and can immediately use every tier power offered up to your character’s tier.[/box]

Einmal Bombe, immer Bombe

Diese kleine Randnotiz fand ich in den Anmerkungen auf Seite 52 versteckt. Sie beschreibt einen zentralen Zusammenhang für das Spiel: Eine höhere Stufe (tier) verleiht automatisch alle Boni, die eine bestimmte Anpassung an eine Spielwelt bringt. Oder andersherum: Man kommt in jeder Spielwelt genauso kompetent, aber anders ausgeprägt an.

Jemand, der den Entertains-Focus auf der Erde hatte, kann nach dem Übergang nach Ardeyn trotzdem sofort kompetent in der Kommunikation mit Verblichenen (Shepherds the Dead) sein. Das ist dann schon ein bisschen „strange“. Es dürfte für einige Runden sehr reizvoll sein, diese krassen Übergänge und eventuell multiplen Persönlichkeiten auszuspielen, für andere reines Gimmick.

Einen initialen Focus in der Startwelt wählt man auf jeden Fall während der Charaktererstellung. Descriptor, Type und Focus formulieren zusammen eine Kurzbeschreibung eines Charakters: „Charakter X ist ein knallharter Vektor, der mit zwei Waffen kämpft.“ oder „Charakter Y ist ein schlauer Paradox, der sich an jede Umgebung anpasst.“

Im Weiteren gilt es, auf die Startwerte der drei Attribute Intellect, Dexterity und Might Punkte zu verteilen. Man schreibt die Werte auf, die der Type fest vorgibt (z.B. Effort-Limit und Edge), bzw. man wählte besondere Fähigkeiten und Skills aus den Listen des Types aus. Einen Background sollte man auch noch wählen, die Startausrüstung – insbesondere die initialen Cipher – ausfüllen und man kann losspielen.

Die Charaktererschaffung dürfte vor allem aufgrund der Fülle an Optionen etwas Zeit in Anspruch nehmen. Da aber die meisten Optionen durch Entscheidungen der Art „Wähle zwei der folgenden Eigenschaften“ erschlagen werden können, dürfte sich dieser Prozess viel schneller abwickeln lassen als ein Punkt-Kauf-System.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht Wie schon bei Numenera stößt die GM Intrusion erst mal sauer auf. Zu plump ist das gewählte Beispiel, dass man als SL einfach entscheidet, dass einem Spieler das Schwert aus der Hand fällt, und dafür XP hergibt. Und diese XP sind wichtig, gibt es XP ja ansonsten ja nur für besondere Entdeckungen. Für reguläres Spiel – Monsterplätten, Rätsel lösen, Hindernisse überwinden – gibt es keine XP! Das heißt, GM Intrusion ist wirklich zentral für das Spiel.

Sieht man sich den Mechanismus genauer an, und liest man die Beispiele im Spielleiterteil des Buches, dann merkt man schnell, dass eine GM Intrusion so etwas wie einen Compel des SL gegen einen Spieler oder die Gruppe darstellt. Unelegant wirkt dieser Eingriff nur dann, wenn der SL diesen nicht aus der Situation heraus ins Spiel einbringt. In Fate bezieht man sich dabei auf einen Aspekt, d.h. der Angriffspunkt der Komplikation ist schon definiert und irgendwie in der Szene drin – durch den Spielercharakter oder die Szene selbst. Diese Hilfestellung fehlt dem SL in The Strange, daher sollte man Intrusions auch mit Feingefühl anwenden. Ärgerlich sind sie für Spieler vor allem dann, wenn sie Einsen würfeln – dann gibt es nicht mal einen XP dafür. Aber genau dann lassen sich Patzer wenigstens noch gut rechtfertigen.

Ansonsten wirkt The Strange wie ein Spiel, das das Leiten an sich sehr erleichtert. Die Anzahl an Mechaniken ist klar überschaubar, das eigentliche Spiel tritt gegenüber der Regelverwaltung in den Vordergrund.

Episodisches Spiel

The Strange lädt zum episodischen Spiel ein. Wie bei einer Fernsehserie kann man hierbei jede, durchaus auch längere Episode, in einer anderen Rekursion ansiedeln, und so munter den Hintergrund und die Spielwelten variieren, während der alles verbindende Plot weitergetrieben wird. Vielleicht jagt man hierbei die Diener eines Planetenverschlingers (planetovore) durch verschiedene Rekursionen. TV-Serien wie Stargate SG-1 oder verschiedene Star Trek-Episoden können hierbei als Inspiration dienen. Neue Folge, neue Welt, neues Problem, eventuell aber immer die gleichen Schurken, die dahinter stecken. Für variantenreiche Kampagnen ist definitiv Potenzial vorhanden! Und wenn eine Rekursion den Spielern besonders im Gedächtnis geblieben ist, kann man ja auch gerne wieder dorthin zurückkehren.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht

Was mir am Cypher-System besonders gut gefällt, ist, dass alle Würfe von den Spielern ausgehen. Und es wird immer nur ein Wurf gebraucht! Ein Angriff auf ein Monster ist ein Wurf. Durch ein Monster angegriffen zu werden ist auch nur ein (Verteidigungs-)Wurf. Damit dürfen sowohl diejenigen zufrieden sein, die nur einen Wurf für eine Attacke wollen, als auch jene, die einen aktiven Verteidungswurf bevorzugen. Das gegenseitige Neutralisieren von Angriffs- und Verteidigungswürfen bleibt so auch aus. Ich finde das elegant. Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Für 20 USD bekommt man das dicke Gesamtbuch für den Spielleiter, sowie ein weiteres Buch, das aber lediglich für die Spieler bestimmt ist. Bei dem Umfang, der hohen Qualität der Illustrierung und der Qualität des Gesamtprodukts, ist der Preis sicherlich gerechtfertigt, auch für eine digitale Ausgabe.

Spielbericht Es fand keine Testrunde statt.

Erscheinungsbild

Das PDF hat umfangreiche Bookmarks und klickbare Querverweise. Das ist sicherlich hilfreich, weil beinahe jeder Seitenrand mehrere solche Verweise hat, und Begriffe und Örtlichkeiten deutlich zu oft mit wenig Erklärung benutzt werden. Das dürfte wiederum die Freunde des Gedruckten weit weniger freuen, aber es spart redundanten Text. Die vielen Fußnoten am Seitenrand erschweren das Lesen.

Die Menge Text pro Seite geht in Ordnung, eine abwechslungsreiche Formatierung und die Bilder vermeiden den Eindruck von Textwüsten. Ich hätte vielleicht doch eine leicht größere Schrift bevorzugt, aber im Druck ist es sicher weniger ein Problem.

Bonus/Downloadcontent Auf der Webseite für The Strange will der Hersteller eine Datenbank mit Rekursionen einrichten, die Spieler und Fans beigesteuert haben. Zugänglich ist diese aber noch nicht.

Fazit

Auch wenn mich die beigefügten Spielwelten nicht umhauen, ist The Strange ein sehr gutes Produkt. Die Grundidee erlaubt viel Variantenreichtum, und Science-Fiction, Fantasy, Science-Fantasy, Steampunk – alles das kann von Welt zu Welt auftauchen. Auch durch das mysteriöse Strange selbst zu reisen kann sehr interessant sein und bietet Abwechslung. Genauso wie Planescape ist The Strange als Setting eine große Klammer, die viele verschiedene Ideen vereinen kann. Ein großer philosophischer Überbau fehlt hierbei, und wird vielleicht auch nicht vermisst.

Das Spielsystem selbst scheint mir ein guter Kompromiss zwischen Detaillierungsgrad und Überschaubarkeit. Im Gegensatz zu Numenera sind die Cypher, die der zugrundeliegenden Cypher-Engine ihren Namen geben, weniger zentral. Für Abwechslung im Spielfluss sorgen die verschiedenen Welten, in denen man seinen Charakter immer wieder neu erfinden kann. Auch für kreative SL ist hier Einiges an Spielraum geboten.

Reichhaltig illustriert, aber mangelhaft strukturiert, überzeugt mich das Produkt nicht restlos, dürfte aber Material für mehr als eine Kampagne bieten. Und vielleicht siedelt man Numenera selbst auch als Welt irgendwo im Strange an, wer weiß? Beide sind kompatibel – immerhin ist ja der Regelteil weitestgehend übernommen worden. Man darf gespannt sein, was da noch kommt.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Scott R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2014 08:44:13

The Strange has a superb RPG combining a compelling storyline, countless opportunities to develop your own stories, and a lean but comprehensive rule system. Built on the Cypher System (hence the similarities to Numenera -- it is built on the same system), The Strange uses a simple conflict resolution system that applies to combat, investigation, and social encounters. As a result, the basic system can be taught in 5 minutes and people can jump into the game itself. The setting provides a compelling environment to build stories ranging from high tech espionage to high fantasy to far future science fictions -- sometimes mixed up within the same session. Furthermore, the game includes the rules to build your own settings. If you want to add historical Meso-American setting, the tools are here to help you do that. The simple system and the setting of The Strange, open the doors for you to take the game wherever you like. I unreservedly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2014 00:11:54

I was a fan of Numenera and when I saw there was another game using the system I had to take a look at it. I have to say, not only is the book itself visually stunning and well laid out, but the setting is completely brilliant. I can honestly say that the setting it the one complaint I had about Numenera. The system and character creation fascinated me, but the setting was a little too off putting and difficult to grasp. The Strange will completely replace Numenera for me and my group. I can not wait to get more information and material for this game. It will be one I run at local Cons every time from now on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Thiago Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2014 21:44:09

I am a Monte Cook Games Asset Team member, I have literally all the products they have released so far (some are great, others no so good). I fell in love with Numenera and thought that never would I find a better scenario. How wrong was I?!?! I still love Numenera, but The Strange is just so mind blowing, so expandable, the possibilities are infinite! The cypher system in itself is a good, simple, easy to learn and play system, it fits perfectly for both Numenera and The Strange, so no problems here! I GMed both scenarios several times now and I just can not get enough of it! If you like Numenera, you will probably like The Strange, if you are into sci-fi stuff, Doctor Who, and things like that, you will love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Craig S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2014 19:23:23

Another great game by good folks of MCG. Simple, easy and amazing! To those of you familiar with Numenera you will feel right at home within this gritty world that is built on the same chassis, the Cypher System. This paired with the adventure "The Dark Spiral" makes for a very happy group!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Federico D. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2014 09:14:03

I really, really liked Numenera. Buying "The Strange" I imagined Monte Cook Games would create another great game based on the same rule system. Instead what they did was to take a great story line and stitch it on the Numenera manual. Take the character types, for example: the Vector is exactly a Glaive to the point that almost all of the tier abilities are identical. Other parts offer a little more originality (like the cyphers list where only about half or so of them have exact Numenera counterparts) but the feeling doesn't change. This is probably not a problem if you're about to play "The Strange" without any previous knowledge of Numenera but feels like a rip off if you already own it.

Bottom line: I expected a different game using the same rules but I got almost the same game with just a different story line.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Daniel S. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2014 04:36:27

Incredible game using the Cypher system. If you enjoy Numenera, this should already be on your physical or digital shelf. The rules system is fluid as expected, and the setting has so much freedom for any type of game you would like to run, be that mystery, horror, old-school dungeon crawling, weird sci-fi or world of darkness style intrigue. Most of all, the beautiful book functions as a kickstarter for your imagination, worth it just for the reading experience even if you don't intend to play it.

The setting-shifting nature of the game really puts the focus on player characters and their personal reasons for going world hopping. In short: buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG