RPGNow.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info













Back
Battle for Oz $20.00
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 8
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Battle for Oz
Click to view
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Genford B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2014 12:13:07

I am relatively new to Savage Worlds, but I was lucky enough to get to play in a Battle of Oz game at Mace-Con that was run by the creators of the game. It was one of the most fun gaming sessions I have had the pleasure to take part in. The creators did an excellent job with world building and adapting the Frank Baum Oz setting to Savage Worlds. The art in the book is also stunning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow,..we love hearing about Con Games! You are the reason we go to Cons Genford, we are excited to hear that you had a great time in our game. Thanks for picking up the book and keep your ear to the ground, we are working on a follow up book set for a fall Kickstarter! (shhhhh! you didn\'t hear that from me....Dan)
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Andrea G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2014 15:42:51

I love this game! Like all Savage Worlds games, the rules are simple to understand and support the story. The book features some truly lovely pieces of art inspired b its Kickstarter backers. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in alternate games for SW!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2014 13:22:05

Let me start by saying i think of this as being an A grade setting for Savage Worlds. The layout and art in the book is solid, looks great and gives some good content to work with. If the idea of running a game in Land of OZ has your interest then this is a great choice.

I have been running this with my kids and they are really enjoying it. The variety of Monsters is nice and the plot point campaign is a great way to just jump into the game. The Campaign needed some tweaks as I was running it as it's a bit too linear for me, but was a great guide to get the players involved in the Land of OZ.

I really like the creatures included in the book and my players will see many Pumpkinheads and Tin-Men during their adventures. While I was interested in the setting while the Kickstarter was happening I really fell in love with the game after I read the book and was able to play a few settings. It's a great addition to my Savage Worlds books and I'll be stealing some ideas from here even after we finish the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2014 22:14:48

What can I say about "Battle for Oz"? This is one the best game for the Savage World. This game could have been its own system and it would still a must have for your gaming group. But since it uses the Savage World rules its a must have for your Savage Campaign. If you don't have Savage World Then you should pick up both if nothing else then to play Battle for Oz. Its nice to see a fantasy game that not D20. And this is not just a Basic fantasy game, It' a Wizard of Oz role playing game from the L. Frank Baum books. It's not made to do this,or it is made for this, but you could have your favorite DeadLands or other Savage World NPC and PC join in this game. The Art is the best I See in a long time. So Don't miss out on getting the Premium books. The artwork alone will make up for $10 price. The Hardcover looks great and will last the test of time. The book and PDF is in full color, with some black and white Artwork. Even the Black and white art work came out great and fits the book. But the color art work will blow you away. The Races, Creatures, and NPC (oh my) in this book are more then I want to count. And all well done. This however bring up my only problem that I have. I feel everything is real powerful. So if you coming from D&D you should be careful not to throw to much at your player, or as a player not to go rushing up to a horde of Goblin Cavefolk, thinking your going to stomp them like Goomba in Mario brothers. Those things are no joke, they will rip you apart. Things in Battle for Oz are a little more power then I would have made them, however it does not hurt the game. And all the thing in Oz fits. I have to point out a couple of Races, Creatures, and NPC that I real like. The Goblin Cavefolk on (pg.141) look great. Claw Biter on (pg.132) are a great scarey monster. The Hammerhead Giant on (pg.139) are bad ass. The Hoac (pg.142) are a must bring in. The Pterodactyls Mounts (pg.149) came out great and a must have because the Hoac took away all the horses to use. The Tucrocs (pg.157) which is just a great idea, and last the Pumpkinheads (pg.150) which make the game. One more thing Hoffa (pg.174) is alive and in Oz. In closing this is a great game, A great book, and a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2014 05:10:09

When I head about the kickstarter I was intrigued, I signed up quickly. I am collector of Savage Worlds Settings, I have almost all of them, most I suspect I will never get around to playing, but this has gone to my will play list.

This is a first class product, the concept is well executed, the layout of the book is clear and concise, I am already "stealing" their rules for increasing extra damage die and the henchman and lieutenants rules.

The PDF while excellent somehow does not convey how gorgeous the actual print product is, this is one of the best RPG books I have own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, I huge compliment indeed considering the top notch settings out there...we are truly humbled by your kind words Sir, Thank You.
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Kristopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2014 12:53:02

There are many projects that are published that are sub par or rushed just for the sake of making money. There are Kickstarter projects that fall short of the hopes of the creators and their backers. This product is neither of those.

Battle for Oz is an amazing work from Pirate Press. The book is of high quality writing and artwork and if it were just that, it would be enough. But the creators, Dave Hardee, Dan Smith and Jennifer Lange, have woven a tapestry evoking the same wonder and delight to my imagination as when I first read the stories of Oz by Frank Baum. The Battle for Oz blends together the original stories with new writing and game mechanics to create a spectacular piece of fiction, that you and your friends can become a part of.

So grab your friends and your dice, grab a sheet a paper and don the identity of a scarecrow, tin-man, beast-man, munchkin, or even a winged monkey and follow your own Yellow Brick Road to adventure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2014 17:49:55

OK, this is a bit different type of review.

My great-great-uncle was John R. Neil who illustrated all but the first OZ books (and wrote several.) Since they were hanging around underfoot, he used members of his family for models. Ozma is my grandmother, Roberta Neil, and Dorothy is my Great-Aunt Ann Marie Neil.

I've been reading OZ book since I could read and have dozens of copies of the books, framed reproductions of Neil's work, and lovingly crayoned copies of his art. I have just read through the Pirates of Oz and have to say that the artwork is superb and very much in keeping with the original. Clearly the authors and illustrators have read and researched the original books and even the game play keeps close to the storyline.

Neil was working at the turn of the last century and his is a very flamboyant Art Deco style. However, I think if he was drawing today, he would not only approve of the Pirates of OZ but might well be working in much the same style. He had the same dramatic flair and slightly dangerous look that you can see in Pirates of OZ.

OK, I'll probably never play the RPG (a bit past that stage, I'm afraid) but I'm happy to see this new stage in the long and glorious History of OZ. It takes a classic adventure tale and refreshes it after 100 years.

(But I do want to see a Scalawagon, They were definitely my favorites. Drove themselves, answered verbal commands and cooked dinner at the same time Google has nothing on them!)

Terry Irving



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle for Oz
Publisher: Pirate Press LLC
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2014 13:16:50

Great twist on a long time classic. Love the historical perspective that takes OZ from pre-Dorothy to the rise of an evil wizard. Wide selection of unique creatures and the lands of Oz are nicely mapped and detailed enough to allow GM to add his or her unique touch. Graphics and maps are supurb. Can not wait to run this with my gaming group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG