RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Dungeons: Basic Set
Publisher: The Forge Studios
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2014 13:47:22
Easy to use in a variety of configurations. I mount mine on the backs of linoleum tiles and they become very durable and reusable.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons: Basic Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Green Gables Inn 25mm Battle Plans
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2014 17:53:29
Simple, low ink usage map for any rpg that needs a tavern or inn. Price cannot be beat!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Green Gables Inn 25mm Battle Plans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Golden Grain Inn 25mm Battle Plans
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2014 17:52:36
Simple, low ink usage map for any rpg that needs a tavern or inn. Price cannot be beat!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Golden Grain Inn 25mm Battle Plans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #35: Gazetteer of the Known Realms
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
If you are a fan of Goodman Games modules, then the Gazetteer had to set your eyes alight. The product is massive, comprising 3 huge full-color maps; 2 adventure modules in classic Goodman Games retro style. A Gazetteer book, with history, demographics, and other details of the world; a DM book, with specific feats, spells, etc. for the world; all are included.

This is such a huge product that I am going to break my review into 2 parts. First, comments on the material itself, second, comments about the pdf itself.

Material
Maps: The maps themselves are beautiful, without too much verbiage cluttering them. The location of all of Goodman?s modules are marked on the map, which makes it easy to find a spot to place a group, with ample opportunities for pre-made goodness.

Gazetteer: This is a fine document. I have not read it all, but the sections I have read have plenty of information, but also leave plenty of creative room for the gamemaster to make it his own. One definite complaint is a lack of an index. With all these cities, countries, geographic features and personages, an index would be a Godsend, and it is not that hard to put together in this electronic age.

DM Book: Another fine document. The feats are interesting, but not overpowered. Plenty of campaign starting ideas for a GM. Adventure paths give you a flowchart of sorts to carry your players through, using Goodman?s modules. (OK, so it is a bit of self-promotion, but it is well thought out and a neat idea.)

Modules: 2 modules are included. The first is for a set of 0 level characters, who start with whatever the village can dig up for them, plus what they find along the way. The second is for 4-6th level chars. I have read the zero level game pretty thoroughly, and it looks very good. Arranged in the classic 1st edition style that Goodman is so proficient at, is has multiple styles of challenges, and looks to be a solid challenge.

Pdf product
This is a massive 300+ MB product. The maps are delivered as 45 single page maps, there are printer-friendly versions of the two main books.

These pdf?s are pretty no frills. No internal links from the chamber of contents, the bookmarks are tied to the chapters, but give no help within the chapter. There is no overall view of the maps, which makes getting a worldview, without printing all the maps and taping them together, very difficult. A 4 page document, 1 page with the three maps combined, and single pages for a combined version of the individual maps. Having these maps link to the existing full page maps would be a nice bonus.

While there are printer-friendly versions of the two main books, printer friendly maps for the modules would be a great addition, as the old-style maps eat tons of ink.



LIKED: The material itself. The modules.

DISLIKED: Maps are hard to use. INDEXES!! I would like to see more use of the possibilities of the pdf format (and would be glad to download another 300 MB version that corrects some of these flaws. Hint, hint, hint.)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #35: Gazetteer of the Known Realms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Athenaeum Arcane: Esoteric Libraries
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2005 00:00:00
Excellent ideas, perfect to spur your own ideas. One of them has already given me an idea for an adventure.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Athenaeum Arcane: Esoteric Libraries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elven Isle (v3.5) for lvl 7-9
Publisher: Dunham Studios
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2004 00:00:00
Solid adventure, with a well thought out storyline. The storyline took us two sessions, but may only take one for some groups. The ending left a nice hook to lead to a next adventure.

LIKED: Good value, interesting story

DISLIKED: Could have been better edited. Several typos betray a new and probably inexperienced publisher.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elven Isle (v3.5) for lvl 7-9
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Adventure Maps 1.0
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
Very cool product, and a way to show some of the possibilities from e-Advetures great tile sets.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Maps 1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 3
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Cave Details Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Cave Details Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Cave/Dungeon Links
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Cave/Dungeon Links
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Sewer Tunnels
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sewer Tunnels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Flooded Caves
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Flooded Caves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00
I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warrior ClipArt Vol 1
Publisher: Sacrosanct Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2004 00:00:00
Not a bad value, pricewise, but the images suffer from the same problem as others from this same company. The colors are lush and rich, but the poses and faces need some serious work. For 3 bucks, however, not a bad deal.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior ClipArt Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG