RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life $6.95 $3.48
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 2
3 7
1 5
0 0
0 0
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Click to view
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Dra8er H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2013 06:04:50
Nice product. Great fluff for GMs that don't have the time to populate a city with businesses. It's got some interesting hooks and ideas to help you on the fly. A GM could also use this as a great starting point to get their own city up and running. Full of ideas and a decent price I'd recommend it to anyone looking to get their city going!!!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by SM F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2009 12:28:29
Very nice, good information, full of little goodies for the discerning GM.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Micah J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2004 00:00:00
The City Guide is a good starter for drop-in businesses and establishments in a campaign city. I found the descriptions to be well thought out and charming.

LIKED: I enjoyed the attention to the personalities that run the shops and businesses.

DISLIKED: I enjoyed the product as a whole and have no complaints.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Marcus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2004 00:00:00
Great supplement if you need to outfit a city or village with some shops. The presentation is good and the layout fitting. The Locales itself are not too extraordinary but also not Bland. There is a bit from everything in it. The Shops are very well presented from description, to inventorys to NPCs and even Plot Hooks. Each and everyone easily usable in any Fantasy Campaign.

My only gripe is that there are no Maps or exterior illustrations to go with the shops, wich kind of takes some value away for me. But still very usefull if you dont need maps or dont have a problem to create some of your own.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Ciaran H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2004 00:00:00
Excellent material for fleshing out as setting, wether a large city or a random hamlet.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2004 00:00:00
This is an ok product - the art is average, and the character/location write-ups are a bit... mundane, for the most part. Some of these locations will definitely find their way into my game, some wil not.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Chad I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2004 00:00:00
I'm not sure why, but I didn't find this book quite as inspiring as the first one (which was Book 3, oddly enough). Still, just as useful for any city campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Orval M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2004 00:00:00
A good effort. Some parts are useful, other parts essential, and other parts are, well, fluff.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Dean M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2003 00:00:00
I have read this book thoroughly and I find it pretty useful for the most part. I do find the writing and editing to be a bit forced and could use some polish but all in all, it's a useful source.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Christopher G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2003 00:00:00
I liked it. It is not an extraordinary product. Just average.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Stephen B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2001 00:00:00
When I read the description of this product, I thought "Hmm, I could probably use this. It may not be much but I bet I can add to it." Once I downloaded it and read through it, wow! I can't wait to spring the stuff on my players as is. A wonderful resource and well worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Jason B. - K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2001 00:00:00
Great resource, only problem is that there are no diagrams of the buildings... that would make it better. But the descriptions are WOW. Perfect for a DM who wants to make his players think he is on the ball and super creative... (however at the end of the game I do give this resource credit). Thanks for a great book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2001 00:00:00
This supplement is useful for a night when your brain is misfiring. I found it okay to read, somewhat dry, but useful like a toolbox. Not all of the shops are actually very creatively done. It sort of borrows the same feel of some of the old 2nd Edition AD&D stuff, with just about every NPC having a magical weapon or two. Still, for the price, it is a worthy download and will at least spurn ideas for the less fortunate out there.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Guide 1 : Everyday Life
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Issak H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2001 00:00:00
Buy It. Buy It Now.
This is good stuff. You have ideas of what your looking for - but not something complete - use this. Your players want to know whats on the shelf someplace - this is the place. If you want something specific its got 'em. I think I'll be using it to mix and match - use something from one section combined with another section.
Art leaves a little to be desired, but it's ok, it only costs $5. And it allows it to print easily (only the cover is in color). The only bad thing that I don't like is that it comes in multiple sections. Each of the 13 locations are broken down (i.e. a .pdf for each).
Overall I'd say 4 1/2 out of 5!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG