RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Merchant's Guild
Merchant's Guild
$5.00









Back
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5 $9.95 $4.98
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 23
2 17
1 4
0 0
0 0
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Click to view
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Marcel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2009 07:35:03
One of the Best sorcebooks I ever laid my hands on-
You can use it in any Fantasy/DarkAge Setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/24/2007 00:00:00
Review of Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns by Natural 20 Press

This is one of the most universally useful books I have ever seen. It is also a fun read. Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns is a pdf book about contests and games. They have done a great job of creating interesting games from all sorts of cultures both human and non-human. This book is seventy-four pages of fun.

The book is color with black and white art. The pictures are of people playing the various games, and not all the games are illustrated. The format is very readable with tables that really make the new rules easy to use. The games are designed for anyone to play and it would be easy to challenge low and high level characters with them. One of the great things about this book is many of these games can be slightly altered and used in any game. With even a little more work these games can even be used in other gaming systems. It?s rare that we get a book so full of ideas that can transcend genres and systems. The book has a nice table of contents but no index. The games all seem to be listed he table of contents so finding a game should be really easy.

The book begins with the basic new rules many of the games use. These are very well done and kept relatively simple for ease of play. Here is also the drinking rules, as in alcohol consumption. These rules are very well put together and can easily be used in any of the many different d20 games like d20 Modern, Spycraft, Dragonstar, and Star Wars.

Chapter two is Classic Games. In here is arm wrestling, dice games, and chases. Chapter three is Martial tournaments like fencing and archery. Chapter four is tavern games and includes some rather interesting ones like Gin and Rabbits and Stageless Play. Chapter five is Magical Competitions and many of these could be substituted as Mage Duels and other ways to prove power or pass a test to learn magical knowledge as well as for fun and games. Chapter six is Festival Games and these games are not only for larger groups, but have very cool histories along with them to show how they came into existence. Chapter seven deals with how to run the games and really gives great advice for making them the best they can be. It then goes into detail of different places that many of these games and tournaments can be played and encountered at.

I simply cannot recommend this product enough. It has wide appeal and is easily used in most campaigns. It offers a great departure from just fighting and other routine encounters. This book is well written, full of great ideas, and all for rather good price. It?s rare to see all those qualities in any single product.



QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Devin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2007 00:00:00
Very, very useful! If you're a Dungeon Master and you ever plan to have an adventure or scene that involves a tournament, a fair, or even just bar-room gaming (dice, cards, etc.), this is an excellent resource. Rules are given (both in-game and out-of-game) for running non-lethal tournament combat, games of chance, carnival-style games, and so on. Not only does it include the classics, but it suggests a few examples of games that might exist in a fantasy world marked by non-human races and magic. A very nice graphic presentation, as well.


LIKED: It delivered on what the description promised.

DISLIKED: Nothing really comes to mind at the moment. A solid product.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2006 00:00:00
This is quite a useful campaign design supplement, dealing with the effects of alcohol, gambling, and designing effective tournaments, fairs, and taverns, among other things. The games, locales, and ideas tend toward the fantastic, but they do fire the imagination. In addition, as they mention, fairs are an easy place to introduce unusual and magical things in an otherwise mundane low-magic world.

While there are a number of editing mistakes, they're not terrible and the quality of the material more than makes up for it.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2006 00:00:00
This is an excellent supplement. The alcohol rules are especially elegant.


LIKED: Well written, well organized. Just solid all around.

DISLIKED: Some of the games are a little implausible, but this is a minor quibble.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Geoffrey B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2006 00:00:00
Very useful. Great Ideas for contests and games that will impact my adventures outside of festival days or tournaments. Why not lose money gambling to that guy before he gives you a quest to get some back, or have a future rival challenge an adventurer to an archery tournament at low levels.

I'm actually going to use a "race" in my next adventure as I had us competing to get to a treasure first, and the way they lay it out I think it will work and be fun.

The whole book is good for what it sets out to do, but even better when you consider the various different ways you can use the rules they set up in different situations.


LIKED: The rules for competitions and games really stand out as being well thought out and usefull for keeping interest during the game.

I liked the other stuff too, ideas for entertainers you can enjoy (or to compete with that bard who has to sing at every bar in the world) and the ideas for food specials at different bars will get plenty of use. Lots of useful stuff in various value to the GM.

DISLIKED: More! Really this was very good and they only disapointment was when I would hit the end of a section and there were no more games.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Del W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2006 00:00:00
A very worthy purchase! I thought the book was well-done, and it's nice to have a decent set of rules for handling competitions. I especially appreciate the many examples of games, which help add a little color to the ordinary tavern scene.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2005 00:00:00
I continue to be very happy with this product, and have used all kinds of things from it in my campaign, especially the drinking and festival games. If you need a way to involve your PC's in local flavor, or distract them for a pickpocket attempt, or just get them to mix a little in their off-time, this will give you the mechanics to run the session.


LIKED: Nearly everything. The product is excellent; graphics are of good quality and appropriate to the text, game mechanics are fun, work well, and are well-explained without beating a dead horse. The editing is top-notch.

DISLIKED: Actual graphics of the Gin & Rabbits cards should be included; I'd have created a real deck by now. Also (at least when I bought it) no PDF was included that didn't have the (very colorful) border attached, which made printing this one kind of expensive.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2005 00:00:00
Overall, a useful resource for the download price. As with most supplements of this type, there's bound to be some stuff you can use, some you can't, and some you could do for yourself. But if you want to throw a faire or tournament at your characters and make them use all their skills, this is a good resource. One nice part about adventuring in a tournament or faire setting is you can go through a lot of encounters without the characters risking death and having to stop to heal every five minutes.


LIKED: It was well organized, and clear. It gave me enough information about how to run a faire and games.

DISLIKED: I would have like some adventure/encounter hooks and descriptions that could be dropped into a tournament/faire campaign. I would have also liked some premade characters to drop in as well. It was still worth it for the download price.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by S?bastien G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2005 00:00:00
First of all it was a nice reading. I enjoyed having new tricks for relaxing moments in my campaign. It's always useful to have such thing to RP.


LIKED: It's simple and bring a RP edge to your campaign.

DISLIKED: Few pictures (which isnt really a big issue). I know it can be hard to come by pictures for this kind of product, but I do enjoy visual when I read RPG material.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Brent W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2005 00:00:00
Cool idea to be able to put all these games in one book. Well done!


LIKED: That there are so many games to choose from!

DISLIKED: There was no real artwork on the interior.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Jay L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2005 00:00:00
Lots of things that can be either a one-off or a well constructed set of encounters.

LIKED: The variety and length made it ideal for repeated use over a long period of time.

DISLIKED: Including some of the subtitles or trigger words for each would have been helpful for the table of contents. I remember a dwarf tossing game, but had to reread the book to find it because it was called something else (that I can't remember off hand).

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2005 00:00:00
This was exactly what I expected, and that's good. A few pages that can help bring the scene to life. Nice layout and interesting writing. I use it often

LIKED: It lives up to its title.

DISLIKED: Nothing significant enough to mention.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Phil M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2005 00:00:00
Good product. Limited scope, but very good use of that theme.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns: D&D 3.5
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Dylan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2005 00:00:00
This is the single best PDF I've found on the web. 5/5 for imagination, 5/5 format, 5/5 readability. The art could use some work, but I'd rather have a great product than a pretty one! This is the single best RPG purchase I've made in the last year! Flagon Dragon indeed!

LIKED: everything.

DISLIKED: uh... not in hardcover?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
EN Publishing
EN Publishing
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (245)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG