RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version) $8.95 $4.48
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 7
0 4
2 4
0 0
0 0
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Click to view
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:45:21
Four-Color To Fantasy was one of the first 3.0 superhero add-ons that came out, and to some degree it shows. There are some clunky bits in here, and some things that don't really add up, but there are a lot of grand ideas that make it worth a gamer's while:

* The fantasy superheroes setting, while done less explicitly in games like Exalted, is both fun and compelling. The sample characters do a good job of getting across a superhero tone with fantasy trappings.

* The very flexible "hero" class that is used to funnel the normal level-based advancement of D20 into a point-buy system for powers and so on is quite effective. There is good advice on game balance as well.

* Because it's a D20 fantasy game, magic is implemented a lot more thoroughly than it is in many other superhero settings, which treat it, systematically, as just another way to have superpowered things happen.

Although it's perhaps been surpassed since the time it came out (and itself has several editions after this one), FCTF remains a solid product well worth a look.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2004 00:00:00
Very interesting, this is. With a few tweaks, this can become a flexible system that can be used IN PLACE of the book standard core classes. But then, I like mixing things up. :p

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Eric R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2004 00:00:00
I really like the flexibility of this system, and think that running a fantasy campaign that allows taking levels in the hero class would be full of Anime-like adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2004 00:00:00
A very well-designed super hero system. It also works as a good way to create races (much better than the silly Savage Species).

I have used it most recently as a unique way to handle psionics in a D&D game (as opposed to the usual psionics rules). It has proven to be most interesting when used in this way.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2003 00:00:00
Not too bad, but it seems that instead of innovating d20 to work with super-heroes, it tried to shoehorn super-heroes into a restrictive class system. The artwork is less interesting than some other equivalent products out there.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2003 00:00:00
An interesting attempt at d20 superheroes. I enjoyed reading the character creation methods, and the writes did a good job of balancing 1st level supers with 1st level characters. However, I've never felt that super heroes should be balanced with normal folks. That approach is what makes me not use this system. It's well written, and if you want balanced supers, I'd recommend it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2003 00:00:00
Seemed a little too plug and play for my tastes.
I perfer Deeds Not Words to this system. Although this is great if you are looking to add super powers to an existing D20 fantasy game or even D20 Modern (with very little tweeking needed)

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2003 00:00:00
I've read this several times but have not gotten the chance to play it. There are many different d20/OGL Superhero games available now and I reccomend this specifically if you want good value for money. Instead of using experience to pay for powers, like in Deeds Not Words, or completely changing certain rules like Mutants & Masterminds, all characters get a certain number of Power Points each level. This is a nice and simple way of handling things while staying in the established rules and seems to work well.

The artwork is also good, with a very comic book feel to it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Robert E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2003 00:00:00
Very well put together. For adding on to another d20 system, this should be your pick.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Cecil S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2002 00:00:00
This is a spectacular product. It is easily worth the download price and printing costs.

It provides a simple, flexible system for incorporating super powers into any d20 game, with only minor adjustments for non-D&D products. I am currently using it in a d20 Modern game, and it is rapidly becoming a staple of my gaming group.

As a disclaimer, although none of the powers presented is broken, there are ways of abusing these rules, and a DM who chooses to use them will have to be careful about how he allows his players to gain powers. However, with this simple precaution, Four Color to Fantasy adds a new dimension to standard d20 games, as well as providing an excellent backbone for d20 superhero games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Andy A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2002 00:00:00
This is good stuff. Everything you wanted to know about superheroes and d20. The hero point system is one of the best ways to utilize super powers in the game. The content is very descriptive, and has some good examples. However, I feel that the game balance will be tipped in the favor of whoever has the superpowers. Overall, this product is hands down the best PDF product I have ever purchased, and probably one of the best d20 products published. Kudos to Ryan Nock, Russell Morrissey and Osvaldo Oyola Ortega.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Ralph B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2002 00:00:00
I own a number of d20 superhero games and up till now I never really got what I expected. Teamfrogs horrific 'Foundation' was my first one, and a good reason to never try d20 supers again. But I persisted with 'Silver Age Sentinels d20'. SASd20 was an excellent game by itself, but it totally rewrote the core rules. Its d20 in name only.

But with 'Four Color to Fantasy' I got exactly what I wanted...a superhero supplement that is totally compatible with the core rules. Compatible and balanced as well. You can make a Hero class character and run it with the more traditional fighters and wizards without a problem.

FCtF bills itself as a toolkit and it succeeds here. With advice on how to integrate the rules into a variety of settings you should have tons of ways to introduce superpowers. One of my favorite ideas is to use the Hero class as a means to build your own templates. Half-demon love child of the high witch? We got you covered! Godling banished from his home plane? No problem! Plus it covers the more traditional aspects of superhero roleplaying pretty well...but it is the uses in a fantasy game that have attracted me.

Classes: The Hero class is the star here. With its flexible power rules you can cover just about any superhero type. But you still need the other core classes to get the full benefits of your powers so it balances well. No players is going to survive as a Hero alone. The second core class is the Specialist. Its the player characters answer to the NPC's Expert class. Just as good in its own way as the Hero.

Superpowers: The system has a solid set of superpowers to choose from, plus enhancements and penalties that let you modify the powers to suit your characters identity. Its got a few omissions (the most glaring being a lack of a way to simulate hand to hand attacks...how do you do Wolverines claws? No clue.) but its nothing that will prevent you from getting full use of the system. Natural20 press is going to release 'The Big Book of Superpowers' in a month or two, so any problems here will likely be solved. Power wise the superabilities compare favorably with those used by wizards and sorcerors without being overpowering. Since you have to buy power ranks in a similar system to skills it has a built in balance.

Overall I prefer non-d20 superhero systems for super games. D20 just doenst do it for me. But as a supplement to my Forgotten Realms game or fantasy in general you cant beat Four Color to Fantasy! Or if your just a d20 nut than this may just be the super system for you.

R.A. Boettcher

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2002 00:00:00
Alright, to begin with, I only downloaded the book over a day ago. In this time I printed, and had bound the pages at a local print shop of about two dollars...
This means that the cost of the product is about $10 U.S. including my time and trouble. This review will keep this in mind...

This book is much more than just a super-hero game for D20, it is a set of balanced rules to allow permanent powers into your fantasy game. If you have ever has a player ask you for a character with flaming wings and a sword of holy energy that appears when needed, then this is for you. After just a few hours, a realized the basic hero class could be added into any characer's class list and not even suspend belief! Not only that, but these rules can be used to act a cybernetics, bio-enhancments, personal enchantments, or godlike powers. I was able to give a 1st level wizard a low cost power that allowed her to throw blasts of fire at about 10' for 1d6 dmg as a ranged touch attack to allow her a choice when a fight broke out. Even checking the power level of a 10th level hero, it does not overpower any other character classes, especially since the basic hero class NEEDS other classes (like fighter, rogue, etc...) to use them at full strength...
The only thing I can say is: If you like to take your fantasy over the top, like to have fighters survive getting thrown through walls, sorcerers throw bursts of eldrich energy, and rogues that can really walk the ethereal shadows, then this PDF is not even optional... Get it today!

John Bowden
Mr. Oberon

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2002 00:00:00
This is a wonderful Super Hero supplement for the D20 system. It can be added to any D20 Game out there. It has a nice range of powers. All in all one of the nicest supers games I have seen in a while.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color to Fantasy: Superhero Toolkit (Original 3.0 Version)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2002 00:00:00
This is the perfect suplement for the d20 system. I have been looking for a good superhero game for a while and did not like any of them. Rules for use in a traditional D&D fantasy setting is the icing on the cake. The size is also well worth it for 99 pages my money was very well spent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG