RPGNow.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info













Back
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules $12.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 16
0 6
1 3
0 1
0 1
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Click to view
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Graham W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2011 14:51:41

The rules are easy to understand and quick to pick up. I particularly liked the ability to use any army against eachother, which is rare in most game systems. In one game I used fantasy demons with cardstock marines to knock up a chaos army to fight my cousin's space marines! It takes a little time to get used to creating your own troops, but I had a CD with the shee'tok and 51st legion already which helped. The only house rules we add are taken from a book by Martin Haket. We use his set up for scenery (2 pieces of terrain per 2' by 2'), armies (a map) and in game we write orders for units at the start of each turn, which means both players are involved all the time (and genuine surprises can happen). All in all the most enjoyable table top wargame I have played!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2011 08:36:14

For the price.....this game feels entirely too generic. Not a terrible game, I just feel there are much better rule sets out there.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2011 00:13:39

I really can't complain about the rules.Actually the rules are awsome. I just wish they had included the Human Royal Army and the Undead Army like the product states. Now it does say plain as day on RPGNOW website no armies included. To Keep the price down. I also wish there was some blank Stat cards/sheets. Which it also says is included. But isn't.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2009 22:59:17

Nice system - easy to use, and great for playing out mass combat scenarios for RPGs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2006 00:00:00

Budget Battlefield is a good set of generic minis rules. The rules are simple to learn and follow. We've run a number of battles using these rules, in a variety of settings and periods. The rules are simple enough for kids to play, but they also have enough subtlety to allow for good tactical play by experienced wargamers. While the rules are good, the price is a little steep for a simple rules set.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The rules are easy to learn and you can get playing very quickly.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Creating your own armies takes a bit more time than other miniatures rules systems I've played, but there are a number of pre-generated armies available for purchase from the publisher.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Joel T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2006 00:00:00

EXCELLENT alternative for people not willing or able to drop $100 to $200 just to play a miniatures wargame. The rules are also incredibly flexible to allow for teh ocnversion of juts about any type of unit, including teh stickiest detail of all...POINTS COSTS. Bravo, Microtactix!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Flexibility<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: No way to convert mecha in the original rules, but maybe I'll try and convince them to let me write an add-on for this, using a system my frineds and I have been using with Microtactix Budget Battlefiled to play with our Gundam models...<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by John A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2006 00:00:00

It's simple. It's fast. It's fun. Another universal set that holds up the promise of being a universal set of rules. Combat is quick and easy to understand. Dispite the simplicity of the game, there is enough here to keep most gamers interested. MT uses many very simple mechanisms to simulate all forms of combat. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Quick and easy to understand.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by wesley c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2005 00:00:00

How do I rate this product? Well to some it up it was a waste of $12.oo!! I was looking for a rule set for 15mm SciFi so I fugured I would try these rules. Boy they stink!!! The summery states these rules are for all types of war games but it only has weapons for Fantasy/Medeival and WWII/modern, with no weapon creator. Also the troops you build are low cost but tanks are high cost. ie Hero 47 pts tank 4000 pts yes 4000 pts.

DO NOT BUY THESE RULES!!!!!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Nothing<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: just about every thing!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Poor<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Ripped Off<br>



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Sorry you didn't like Budget Battlefield. I disagree with your assessment, and others obviously have not felt the same. But we never want one of our customers to feel ripped off. If you will email me from the email address you used to make this purchase, you can select any other similarly priced MicroTactix product and I will send you a free download of that product instead. Guy McLimore - MicroTactix Games service@microtactix.com
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2005 00:00:00

Cheap alternative to the likes of Warhammer etc. using cardstock figures.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Fast, simple game, easy to use for any period.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have liked to see some sample troop data cards, and blanks for my own use. I didn't like having to buy a troop pack to get the samples, and can't find any blanks anywhere.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2005 00:00:00

A awesome set of quick to play minis rules. So much potential for so much gaming.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by stuart f. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2004 00:00:00

This game system rocks! I am a regular customer of that big "games" company (the english one) and have spent a fortune over the years on books, rules,terrain, paint and minatures. I found this little gem and thought why not? how cheap can it be? one paypal transaction later I held in my formally paint covered fingers the slickest rule set I have seen in a long time. Some cutting, pasting and 2 hours later I had a 1000 point army to smash the defences of my worthy opponent with with. Tactics proved to be the word of the day, not "I spent more money than you did".The one d10 system is quick and simple and doesn't require you to take out a loan to finance a dice purchase.The added ability to "cross time and space" is an added bonus..wanna see how your SpecOps guys would do against Battle mage equiped Orks? do it and find out. The roll playing part should not be over looked either..as a veteran GM I have often put my players in the middle of "The Final Battle"(I know I am a heartless SOB)and this system lets me find out if they can "think on their feet" so to speak. The stand up figs are colorful and well presented. My standard color printer did a good job with the colored cardstock I used. I have seen some other comments about the black figure on the back. We used them backward until visual contact was made with the enemy..keeps you opponent guessing as to what he is facing..a simple way to introduce "fog of war" rules. Don't hesitate to invest a little in this product. If you like massed battles with big body counts...this is for you. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Richard M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2004 00:00:00

I'm an experienced miniatures gamer and I'm always interested in new rules systems and curious about 'universal' systems in particular. One of the nice things about PDF products you can buy at little risk to the bank. Sometimes a good thing when you're a miniatures gamer... :-)

On the negative side, beyond the need for more examples/genres (very basic fantasy and sci-fi settings are given), is better vehicle rules, more weapons examples, and perhaps a better way to work out costing for grenades (minor or major issue, depending on your genre!). And maybe some equipment? Again, players are likely to make up stuff for all of this, but it would be nice to get more in the book. In some cases you could end up doing so much work yourself the value of the rulebook seems to diminish.

Perhaps because of this last point, BB could probably stand to be a couple bucks less in its' current incarnation... sounds cheap I know, but because it's e-publication they could easily have added more Stuff :-) Perhaps the core rules could've been free (like Microtactix' Simply Roleplaying rules) and specific in-depth genre packs been purchased products?

On the positive, the core ideas and the gaming system has real potential. It's easy to grasp (good for beginners or casual miniature gamers), but there seems more to the system for more experienced gamers who like to tinker, create and add-on. Don't expect the world from the rules, but there is something to be liked about the system. Try it if you like to experiment and add stuff.

In all not bad. Nothing spectacular, but likeable! It has potential - hopefully it'll be supported and added-to in the future.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Trace C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2004 00:00:00

I loved this, as it provided me a fast, fun, and easy to teach rules that could be easily set in my own settings. Combine this with 21st Century Heroes and a set of Western paper minis and you'll be ready for nearly any setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2004 00:00:00

a very solid game. set in the 25mm scale, it lends itself well to large scale combat. the included armies and terrain pieces were invaluable to me and my group for role play purposes as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield Universal Miniatures Rules
Publisher: Microtactix
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2004 00:00:00

After looking at several different miniture rule sets, I decided to pick up this set based on a number of recommendations. I haven't been disappointed. BB is a nice ruleset without a lot of the complicated overhead that you find in some games. This was just what I was looking for. If you, like me are looking for a good set of fast play rules that allow you to blend multiple genres, then BB is a good set to work with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG