RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
20 Encounters (The City Watch)
Publisher: DCS
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2014 16:53:06
First, this is a nice little product. You are getting 4 pages of encounters with the City Watch and 8 pages of ads or blank.
The content is very nice. A quick 1-5 initial encounters with the watch. Then 20 much more in depth encounters. To echo an other reviewer, all of these could become plot points
While this is titled Encounters with the City Watch, very easily this could be Encounters with the Police. A few require reworking, but all provide good, interesting brushes with the local law.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
20 Encounters (The City Watch)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

High Psionics: Power Displays
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2014 17:21:24
A good collection of interesting displays. Five different categories - Auditory, Material, Mental, Olfactory, and visual. These give nice flair to the usage of any power, as there's no mechanics these can be use with any system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Psionics: Power Displays
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Foreign Marketplace - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Publisher: Ambient Environments
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2014 01:01:49
I was uncertain of the effect this would add to my gaming table, but wow, both myself and players were impressed. The foreign bazaar / middle eastern sound really helped all of us get into the game. The little sounds, such as the animals and people haggling, really felt like we were on a street somewhere with all this action around us. I did not need to describe every little action happening as they could hear it.

A huge benefit to my game, looking forward to trying out some more.

Also it's only $2, which is a very fair price to try this out. Very affordable and reasonable.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foreign Marketplace   - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dirty Secrets of the Black Hand
Publisher: White Wolf
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2013 13:01:06
Ok this book is bit on the crazy side. Pushing the content of what a Vampire game was. However it introduced many new concepts that are a canonical pieces of the World of Darkness.

A new faction - The Tal'mahe'Ra - and how they have been manipulating, from behind the scenes, for centuries.
A strong tie-in to Wraith, with the detailing of the city of Enoch. The Tal'mahe'Ra fortress in the Shadowlands.
3 new Bloodlines - Nagajara, True Brujah, and the Old Clan Tzimisce - and their new disciplines.
A new Thaumatury path - Biothaumaturgic Experimentation - and many rituals.
3 new Paths - Path of the Scorched Heart, Path of Self-Focus, and Path of Lilith.
Many Abilities, Backgrounds, Merits and Flaws.
The fleshing out of Revenants. Which includes introducing 3 new Families - the Enrathi, the Marijava, & the Rafastio. Finally some families which are from somewhere other than Eastern Europe.

An interesting read, although a bit behind now that V20 is out, but good overall.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dirty Secrets of the Black Hand
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Werewolf The Wild West
Publisher: White Wolf
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2013 22:30:27
This is a great book. All the information you need for setting your Werewolf campaign during the 19th century. The book has many built-in rivalries, giving the impression of the tribes killing each other much more often than working together.

New Gifts, and Rites. And the mechanics of this match up with Werewolf 3rd edition. Starting with no character concept, I found the description of the tribes, and examples of common members, to be very inspiring with character concept and generation coming together very fast.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf The Wild West
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Memorable Villain Traits
Publisher: Lee's Lists
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2013 22:00:14
This product is only 2 pages, with no cover page, but don't be deterred by that. I found all of these traits to be interesting little hooks to help flesh out Villains (or any NPC). Now some of these are odd, skin is studded with gems, and may not fit all genres. However the mass majority are superb little gems to make your NPCs be much more memorable.

We have all fought the evil Baron and didn't really remember his name, because he was just the villain and didn't need a name. But enter the Baron, who is so grotesquely fat, that his fat rolls squeeze out of the armour he has somehow managed to get on, and who things he is stunningly handsome, and you have a memorable villain.

I was very pleased with this product. I received an excellent collection of traits, I can not wait to start sprinkling into my game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Memorable Villain Traits
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Locations & Rooms
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2013 21:47:41
While the list is only 1 page and gives no description of the rooms, the cost is 0.00 and takes only moments to download. I recently was mapping out a residence and could have used this product to help fill in some of the rooms. But that points out, this product is most beneficial when used ahead of time, during the planning of a adventure.

Many of the rooms have very imaginative names and that could be an evenings hook.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Locations & Rooms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

36 NPC Secrets
Publisher: Scavenger Studios
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2013 21:39:46
I was very pleased with this product. When first opening the book, the formatting and smart layout caught my eye. Each secret has a clear heading, that is very noticeable.

But what I really enjoyed is the plug-n-play nature of this content. These nasty little secrets will work with any game. Quite a few of the secrets have a suggestion, detailing how someone with said secret could come into play, and the havoc they would cause.

I heartily recommend this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
36 NPC Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Modern Happenings On A City Street
Publisher: Fishwife Games
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2013 13:02:37
This is a decent list of 100 random things that could be happening on a city street corner. As the header of the page says, this works in cyberpunk, urban modern, or any modern-ish city setting.

The list provides a nice starting event for an evening's adventure, some interesting background events, or possibly a hook for a side quest.

Every entry is a quick one or two sentence description of what's going on. And since it's merely a description, there no game system, so this works for everyone.

For only $1 this is a good purchase to add some descriptions to background activities.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Modern Happenings On A City Street
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Quirky Villager Traits
Publisher: Lee's Lists
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2013 06:31:25
I bought this product with the thought of the times when the players suddenly take interest in what should be a background NPC. A quick list like this really helps to flesh out characters. And the fact that's it's 100 traits makes for fast random rolling.

Some random groupings: (21) has delusions of grandeur, (47) Thinks he's more important than everyone else, (95) Absentminded, but brilliant inventor.

(36) Colourblind, (59) Constantly fidgets with a coin, (72) Unlucky in love.

Just pick some traits and the characters practically start forming themselves.


As a final note, while this does say Villager traits, these could be the traits for people in the big city, people in the spaceport at the edge of known space, or the traits of sentients other than human. I'm pleased with my purchase of this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Quirky Villager Traits
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2400+ 19th Century Occupations
Publisher: Lee's Lists
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2013 06:08:06
I was unsure what this would offer with the preview being so small. However, the three samples in the descriptions and the mass of text I could see in the preview (and the very reasonable price) swayed me to give this product a try.

And Wow! This truly is a list of 2452 Occupations. Sure every entry is the title and a brief one or two word sentence but that's all you need.
There is no need for a skill listing telling you the Bonesetter needs some sort of medicine or heal skill, or that the Fur Cutter needs survival or some sort of nature lore skill. Placing the appropriate skill for the job is pretty easy.

I'm not sure how a boarder or a freedman are occupations but I'm very happy with the added depth this can give any campaign set in some sort of a 19th Century.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2400+ 19th Century Occupations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

POSTMODERN: The Versatile Hero
Publisher: Big Finger Games
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2007 00:00:00
When I first read the description of this product I was intrigued about the possibilities it offered. Here was a chance to make customize a class specially to how I needed (or wanted) it to be. And best of all every time I need to personalize a class this pdf will work.


LIKED: I found the point based system of buying characteristics for the class to be ingenious. It felt well rounded and was very easy to implement. The bonus new talents were also well done. Things like Authority - to make people stop and listen to the characters voice - and Soldiery - to emulate the basic abilities of the soldier - are useful in non-combat situations, as well as providing new ways of overcoming obstacles.

DISLIKED: There is nothing I can say bad about this product. The cost is very appealing, the size is good, and the content is usable in any setting.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
POSTMODERN: The Versatile Hero
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
Publisher: Cryptosnark Games
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2005 00:00:00
I absolutly enjoyed this product. The level of depth it helps to add to characters is amazing. Now instead of just saying that your character is a prince(ss) in exile, you can purchese the title, the right to the land, and even extra gold. Naturally, in return for these benefits the character will have some difficulties, but that just makes the game more fun.


LIKED: The absolute variety of options. While this product does tend towards making very strong characters, as long as the GM sets guidelines there should be no complications.

DISLIKED: The only real downside is the increased time it will now take to make a character. There are so many options that it is hard to choose just the right ones.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Distinctions & Drawbacks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
Publisher: Cryptosnark Games
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2004 00:00:00
This product is packed with so many good ideals that I do not know how Scott Lynch does it. There are 200 (100 rings and 100 wonderous items) cross indexed goodies awaiting entry into a game and all of them are specifically crafted for a modern setting. None of that same stat box, different name going on here.
There's Oppenheimer's Ring (+10 vs radiation), the ring of sacrifical Striking (+1 to hit and damage, but 1 point of damage with each successful hit), the Bottomless Gas Can, and the Coat of Many Gang Colours. These are just the tip of the iceburg. Just about every item included is cleverly crafted and something that could slip virtually unnoticed into a modern game.
The best part is the many lists included. The book lists these toys in 5 different ways - rings alphabetically, wonderous items alphbetically, rings by purchase DC, wonderous items by the same, and finally a grand list which has everything on it listed by purchase DC.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thaumatech: Modern Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

22 Talent Trees
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2004 00:00:00
This product adds a whole new level of flexiblity to d20 Modern. I really enjoy talent trees and always looking for new ones to add to my game.
Some of the talent trees I thought to be espically useful are: Strong Heroes - Like a Rock (adds a natural armour bonus).
Fast Heroes - Elusive (adds a dodge bonus and makes it harder to hold the character down) & Need for Speed (special tricks to make your character an amazing driver)
Smart - Fast Learner (additional skill points, higher max skill ratings)
Dedicated - Animal Friendship (bonuses to interact with animals and at higher levels the ability to summon animals)
Charismatic - Facetious (Talents that make the character espically good at humour)

Unfortunately the Tough Hero only has 2 talent trees, FX Resistance and Poison Resistance. Although the Like a Rock talent may be a good choice to add to the Tough's talent list.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG