RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Synanthropes Lite
Synanthropes Lite
Pay What You Want









Back
Werewolf: The Forsaken
 
$19.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 6
8 3
3 0
0 0
0 1
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Click to view
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Paul H. D. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2013 15:58:43
Werewolf The Apocalypse was a complex RPG that was of the innovator of all that came after it. Every entity, from the Vampire to the faery owe their existence to the ideas that were put to paper back in 1992. The Forsaken is a similar, yet different animal. The concepts of the genre are more or less the same, but they are more condensed. The auspices, fetishes, totems, tribes and packs have survived the transition into this remake very well, while doing away with the breeds, the lost tribes changing breeds and reducing the overall number of tribes, to make the diversity of the werewolves in this universe less prolific and more to the point. The style of writing is as potent as the one used in the predecessor's and for people who want less to assimilate and more straightforward material, Werewolf the Forsaken is ideal.

In terms of content, the Tribes of the Moon can be considered an off-shoot of the Garou Nation. They are less prolific in their organization, but fascinating in their mindsets. Warriors, reformists, territorial guardians, domineering alphas, students of metaphysics, the Uratha have as much to offer as their Garou counterparts. I see the Forsaken line to be something of a case study in the various ways an RPG can be reinvented.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Dean K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2012 03:33:56
I seem to like the Promethean story better, however the Werewolf the Forsaken book makes me feel good and that is why I read it. Back in the days when I played D&D there was this isolated village, and we went to the bartender than sat down, and everything was fine, however I looked up and shockingly noticed that absolutely every single person in the place was staring at me, than just as quickly they all looked away and I could not be sure about what I had seen. So I have thought of werewolves as evil creatures in the past. They try to hide the human body parts that they are snacking on (but not that well hidden). Here the werewolves are moderators of the world of darkness. There are different groups of them divided into territories. It is a sided struggle, along with negotiation, and a nurturing Goddess. So therefore this is perhaps a chance to examine. You can still have evil wolves, however they are not all single minded. Since it feels so good to read, I have to give it the five stars, but I was much more enthralled by the horror in the Promethean book. There are so many game worlds to consider, and that is probably the real question. For the first time in a very long time, the same guy can not make everything! I would look at several core books.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Mathias V. K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2012 14:09:47
Whitewolf's newest incarnation of the Werewolf setting brings an unique view to the World of Darkness, combining the mysteries of the supernatural with humanity and placing the players in the centre of the bloody intrigues and wars that remain hidden to the mortal eye.

Werewolf is a flexible system that allows for both experienced and new players to experience amazing tales of the Uratha*, the guardians of the Gauntlet between the worlds. New players may learn the ins and outs of the World of Darkness through the eyes of young Werewolves awakening to a world of shadows and ancient wonder while older players can seek further into the depths of the spirit world. While the spirits are far from friendly to Uratha, players can bargain and parley with them further than in most settings of the World of Darkness.

The game does a good job of introducing the lore of the Uratha, but the extensive history and system of the setting may not be for everyone. The Starter Kit may help easing the initiation, but the game stays very true to the World of Darkness' trademark focus on storytelling and mystery. If you are stretched on time or just looking for a hack'n'slash game with light-hearted adventures and a missing 4th wall, this game might not be for you.

Optimism is a short-lived candle in a World of Darkness, after all. And who knows what... moths are drawn to it?

*the word for Werewolves in the First Tongue, the language of the spirits.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2010 18:12:48
A most impressive addition to the core rulebooks for the 'new' WOD, even though it represents perhaps more of a departure from the classic Werewolf lore than, say, Vampire does. This is largely mandated by the nature of werewolf lore - as the book itself takes pains to bring forward, 'werewolf as ravening beast' does not make for the best of roleplaying experiences. Much is also added into the mythos with regard to the spirit world, but it never feels forced or tacked on. Instead, the additions feel organic and well considered in the context of the overall approach. If you have played any of the other new lines, much here will be familiar (mechanically) and the learning curve, for the most part, is not excessively steep. White Wolf also meets its usual high standards with regard to art, layout and quality of writing. A solid entry in the line, if perhaps not quite so striking as some of the other basic books.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2009 15:58:05
Beautiful, per the normal White Wolf approach to book making. The PDF is original digital format so it is a perfect, searchable copy. There are sufficient bookmarks to navigate so the book is fully functional.

White Wolf makes beautiful books. This one, like the other core books (Requiem, Changeling, etc) all work off of the (new) World of Darkness book. It is a good system but there are many who think it is too simplified. I, for one, think it is the best version of the WW dice pool system anyone could have come up with. It's slick and fast.

The setting is much different than the Werewolf you remember. Like Requiem is for Vampire, this book is a new game for Werewolf. It is not an expansion or a new edition, it is a new game with familiar themes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by sebastien d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2008 19:19:23
I really like the new ways of the Werewolves, the ways the game work (more local than worldwide) is very interesting. The other changes in the game also bring new posibility.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Blake R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/29/2008 03:41:24
Well written and easy to read, this is one of my favourite RPG books. Great guidelines for creating characters, running games, setting the scenes and style of the werewolf game. Plenty of detail on the various aspects of characters lives, encouragement to roleplay at every page, Enough in this corebook to run several campaigns without other books, plenty of hints at other things that storytellers/game masters can flesh out on their own. It's not all combat either, plenty of mundane life vs werewolf life, tribe vs tribe drama etc is detailed. Once you've read the book very little will need to be explained, this is all you need for a great modern horror game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2006 02:39:59
I didn't initially like the new werewolf game. It probably has the biggest change in the setting from the previous game. Werewolves are no longer savage heroes fighting a hopeless war. They are just, well, savages.

The game has begun to grow on me, though. The new setting is more a matter of modern tribalism. Werewolves are now a small, xenophobic race struggling in a very hostile world. They don't have big spirit allies or clear enemies telling them what to do, and must figure things out on their. The game focuses on littler stories: working to protect your kin, fighting weird (and creepy) spirit-ridden mortals and fending off your worst enemies: other werewolves.

In the end, I think I like the new game. Werewolves are certaintly better balanced than they were before: each tribe and auspice has a enough character to be genuinely unique without outshining the others. And if you don't like the new setting, it is easy enough to use the new rules with the old background.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Ariel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2005 22:27:17
Being a adept player of WtA I was at first having a hard time accepting the demise of my favourite game, that is, until I put my hands on The forsaken book.
Werewolf the forsaken gives the player a freedom that his predecessor never dreamt about. While I read the book i felt that it centered around you as a wolf in a mans guise. The forsaken dont have to fight a overwhelming cosmic force of evil like the wyrm, instead, they have to defend and enlarge their territory. Of course they still have their connection to the spirit world, but now the spirit world is not a nice place for the Uratha(as the werewolf call themselves now), instead, its a dark and menacing place.
I felt much closer to the wild animal inside me as i read this book then when i was playing the old Werewolf the apocalypse. Open your minds and give it a try. Im sure it will be worthy!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Forsaken
Publisher: White Wolf
by Ned S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2005 18:19:37
While it was of course necasery to change werewolf when it was brought over to NWOD unlike the other three books t has changed for the worse the removal of metis and lupus forms detracts from variaty among charatcters and the removal of the werewolfs service to gaia greatly detracts from the game. I also greatly miss the other changing breeds especaly te Kitsune and other hengeyokai. On the other and the NWOD is much better than OWOD. But in the end stick with the tried and true I am just going to edit Werewolf: the apocalypse for NWOD just after i port Demon.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG