RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Biplane Barmy $5.56 $4.17
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 5
0 4
0 0
0 0
0 0
Biplane Barmy
Click to view
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Yosi E.
Date Added: 12/07/2005 00:00:00
I feel Biplane Barmy is simple, elegant system and rule is on the whole clear.
But there is some questions.

1)Alt +1 Maneuver at Altitude 6
Can the "Climb" or "Immelman" be selected at Altitude 6?


2)Infantry Rules
I can't find Infantry Rule( at 2.9 "Anti-Aircraft Fire").

_6.4 Determine Units
_If one side has less planes than the other they
_may take One additional plane OR Four AA
_weapons (Flak Guns, Machine Guns or Infantry)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by David N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2005 00:00:00
There are several really great comments from others about this game, so I'll be brief...

This is a really great, simple game. Of particular interest to me was how quickly and easily my son learned the rules. He and I often play other games, but this one was easy for him to learn.

Great game!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review David and I'm glad you're enjoying it. For anyone out there reading this, David has sent me some cool variant rules for Biplane Barmy which you can download from the freebies section of my website (fjgaming.com). He's also the other of the Knights in the Sky, another WWI air combat game. http://www.geocities.com/saedor/hits.html
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Craig G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2005 00:00:00
Bally good game really! A jolly time was had by all. That zoooooom, and then the whooosh, with a ratatatatata... quite thrilling!

LIKED: Simple to learn and use rules. You can get non-gamers going with the basics very quick.

DISLIKED: Black and white artwork, but for color planes, targets and map grids to use with the game you can get some FREE at www.paperworlds.com, just search on Biplane Barmy in the downloads!

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi Craig, Thanks for taking the time to review Biplane Barmy and I'm glad you're enjoying it :) -Jon
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Peter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2005 00:00:00
These are a nice set of simple WW1 aerial combat rules and excellent value for money. They may be too simplistic for some people but with a little tweaking it can make the rules more interesting.

For instance in our group the first hit on a manoeuvre instead of striking it off completely a single line is placed through it. The next time that manoeuvre is hit a second line in the oppososite direction is placed through it. On a third hit the plane is lost. Once the first line is placed through it the manoeuvre cannot be chosen. This makes planes last a little longer!

I know on other forums people have complained that a squared board is used instead of a hex system. Yes it may make less manoeuvres available but those people are missing the point this is a simple game.

LIKED: Nice and simple, clear rules. Well worth the price.

DISLIKED: All planes have the same movement options. I have already created different movement patterns depending on plane type. For example the Sopwith CAmel cannot use 10,11 and 14 as the camel could make good left turns. However, they are still crossed off for damage purposes.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks Pete, I'm glad you enjoyed it and I found your comment on the Camel interesting. If you'd like to share the modifications you've made I'd love to put them up on the website as freebies.. personally I'd love to see them myself :)
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2004 00:00:00
Take it seriously when they say this game is not meant as a mil-sim. It's just a quick little game for folks with a passing interest in flying biplanes. That said, and considering that's EXACTLY what they say it is, it's quite a good product. Certain rules points are annoying but easily changeable. After we get done with this we will have made extensive changes to it, but we'll have a great little game in the end.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Good to hear you enjoyed it John. As you say, its not a detailed military flight simulator and isn't meant to be, more a way to while away an hour or so with your friends :)
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2004 00:00:00
Great fun - highly reccommended for an afternoon of quick gaming!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review Bill, glad you enjoyed it :)
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2004 00:00:00
WARNING! If you opened the DEMO for this game and were not impressed, do not be discouraged!

Do you remember "Ace of Aces?" "Richthoffen's War?"

If you do, think about a game that combines and simplifies these two games. With "Biplane Barmy," you get an easy-to-play game of WWI aviation that has a "menu" of maneuvers which are used for simultaneous movement. You can play one-on-one combats, or a furball combat featuring a sky full of single-seaters, double-seaters, and bombers avoiding enemy balloons while being fired at by ack-ack, infantry and tanks. The use of dice as counters takes away almost all of the paper record-keeping.

What do you get for your hard-earned bucks? The rulebook (basic, advanced and optional rules, none of them difficult or obscure), several sheets of counters, a "map" (a plain ol' square grid), a random mission generator, a combat and maneuver chart, a glossary of WWI aviation slang, and some historical notes on planes and air services. Everything you need except a table, drinks and snacks, and some dice.

And speaking of dice, you'd better plan on having a fistful of D20's and D6's if you're planning a large game, although you COULD really do all your record-keeping and hidden movement orders on paper, and then just use one D6 for combat rolls.

I'd like to see an expansion to this, perhaps a missions pack, maybe even rules that extend the air battle to later years. Although it is a complete game, it begs for expansion.

It's not a deep military simulation, but it is a fast-moving, fun little game you can quickly pick up and play.
It's really just a modern microgame, at an old-time microgame price.

I'd have to rate it a surprisingly cool game at a great price. You really can't go wrong with this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review Brian, I've just got round to responding to every review (only took me a year :) For anyone reading this, the comments on the DEMO applied to the original demo, long since consigned to the dustbin and replaced by a fully playable demo of the game.
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Shaun A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2004 00:00:00
I have to admit I was a bit dubious about purchasing this game after looking at the demo rules. Gladly my doubts were unfounded. The real rules are way better than the demo set.

The game is exactly as the blurb describes it - fast and furious - and definately playable. A lot of thought has gone into converting the details of WWI aerial combat into a game that is fun but with simple recordkeeping.

Biplane Barmy includes basic rules to get you straight into the game but there are heaps of advanced rules too. These include shooting, bombing, rockets, clouds and balloons just to name a few. There is a simple but effective campain system and a mission generator.
You get counters, a demo map, Player reference sheets, Aircraft data, Air Services data and a Glossary of WWI slang for a bit of fun while playing the game -"I got in a right funk when Archie arrived and then me typwriter jammed".

The Author has put a lot of extra features into the rules that make this more than just a time filler. Although the rules are meant to use generic aircraft, there is a lot of scope for a more realistic approach to the game. I guess 38 pages is drawing near to the optimum size of a downloadable game and he wanted to keep it simple. To be honest it is only a small gripe and more than outweighed by the quality of the rest of the game.

I would definately recommend this product to anyone who likes WWI gaming.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hey, thanks Shaun.. always nice to get a good review and I am glad you enjoyed the game. I'm interested in your comments about the demo and would be very grateful if you could perhaps email me with suggestions as to where it failed.. I'm new to this publishing game and all feedback is much appreciated. my email is jon@urbanmyth.karoo.co.uk
Biplane Barmy
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by Wendell M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2004 00:00:00
A nice, simple game of WW I aerial combat. Other games have more realism and detail, but at a cost of slower, more difficult play. This is a good game if you want to have a quick dogfight without getting bogged down.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks Wendell, glad to see someone appreciates it :) Jon Clarke FJGames
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG