RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Complete Spell Cards - Updated $5.95 $4.95
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 44
3 16
2 2
1 1
0 0
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Click to view
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Peter K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2009 14:04:03
The product is quite ok with good Value For Money, but with three flaws:

* It's hard to get front and back aligned rightly;
* Lettering and cards are quite small;
* Annoying watermarks on front and back.

If those were mended, it would be *****.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2008 11:23:39
These cards were exactly what I was looking for. I like to keep things organized, at least in between uses, and these help me plan out my spellbooks and allow my GM to have his NPCs spells and such at his fingertips.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by DeWayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2008 20:32:17
Exactly what I was looking for for solo play. Making magicians and other magic users easier to handle

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2008 17:22:07
usable but unless your anal about prep time, having too many card sets at a table can be a little messy

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Salvador M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2007 21:06:02
Wonderful compilation of SRD spells, in an easily referenced format. Mix this with LPJ Design's Character Spell Book prop and you've got an easy way to stop referencing the PHB/SRD during gameplay. Could do with some different size options (3"x5" variant), as the printed size on 8.5"x11" is roughly the size of Arkham Horror cards. Portable, but not so great for precise cutting or printing.

Pro - Great idea and presentation, let's you check the overlap from the PHB/SRD without constant cross-referencing or table checking
Con - Printed size is small. Might be more useful if it could be "recomposed" in different sizes. As layed out, not much "give" for cutting.

Very Satisfied. Only the size and difficulty cutting cleanly lops it down to a 4-star.

Combined in a bundle with the LPJ Design Spell book, solid 5.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Steven v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2007 12:08:29
A great set of cards to use for your magic using character, whether pc or npc. No longer do you need to thumb trough the books as everything you need is on the cards. Print them out on a nice card stock and they will last a really long time. Comes with a box that you can make too. great product. I have really enjoyed using all of their products so far in my ongoing campaign as a GM.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2007 14:03:34
These cards are a great player aid to help keep track of spells. All info is there on the card, no flipping through books or character sheets.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2007 23:06:04
GET THIS. I can't tell you how useful these cards have been for me. I literally use them EVERY adventure. It keeps me from having to flip from book to book for every little thing. The ability to cut and paste from Adobe makes this really functional. When I hand out my cleric's spells at the beginning of the game for instance, they are all ready to go. Leave the bulky book on the shelf. If the wizard wants to actually build a spell book, Print out and insert. EASY PEASY. Trust me you will love it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by norm h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2007 10:59:54
I tried to get my players to write out their spells on 3x5 index cards. But they all cast "Deny Dungeon Master. Even the Sorcerer who only knows like 3 spells balked. Complete Spell Cards is the Man!

Lots of little things demonstrate their attention to details. This company has pride in it's products and it shows.

Great value for the money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2007 00:00:00
Quite useful if you can take the time and effort to create cards for all the spells you will use other then what is in the SRD. A great way to create a wizard's book, and have all the information for the spells on hand without digging through books to find each spell.


LIKED: Ease of use, having your spell book in hand with complete descriptions saves a lot of time thumbing through books. Easy to use for a DM creating a random spell book as well.

DISLIKED: I don't use only the SRD/PHB, thus I spent many hours over nearly a month creating cards for the spells not presented, only to have them ruined/lost. Is there some way to create a template I can save my work in?

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Donovan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2007 00:00:00
I was very pleased with the spell cards. They've come in very handy during gaming sessions; no more flipping through the PHB for a spell description!


LIKED: The whole thing!

DISLIKED: No complaints at all.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2007 00:00:00
A very nice service at a nice price. While there is nothing new here, it is nice to have someone make up cards for all the spells in the SRD. $6 for all of them formatted is a good price. Also, having a "site license" for 8 people to share em is perfect and changes it from "nifty" to "you should buy".

I just wish they had formatted them so that they would fit on some sort of standard perforated card stock (ie. like buisness cards, or some such thing...) But I guess cutting them out myself isn't the end of the world.


LIKED: The price, the complete coverage. The order of the spells are such that you don't have to print out too many (ie. by class and level so that you only print levels and class spells you need or want...)

DISLIKED: The formatting options. I'd prefer to have them slightly smaller, if possible.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Natalya F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2007 00:00:00
Overall a great idea, but badly implemented.

The cards are too small - it would have been easy (and logical) to accomodate 3x5 index cards or even the larger version (so GMs could then buy an index card holder), but instead they've gone with the 'card game', 'card trading' style, which doesn't make a whole lot of sense.

More importantly, the crop marks and layout of the cards on the PDFs is terrible. I printed these off on 140lb card on a $40,000 printer, cut them using a professional guillotine operator on a print-shop guillotine, and the layout is ALL OVER the place; fronts are centered, reverse side is off one way or the other, sometimes so badly that words are cropped off.

More care should have been taken to line the front and back up correctly.


LIKED: Nice idea.

DISLIKED: TERRIBLE layout; frontside doesn't line up with back side.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2006 00:00:00
Get this for your d20 group and you won't be sorry. It speeds up play tremendously.


LIKED: Very handy for spellcasters and DMs so they don't have to flip through books. You have the utility of the pre-made SRD spells and the flexibility of creating your own spell cards with the form-enabled PDF.

DISLIKED: Some of the font sizes used are too small for easy reading.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Spell Cards - Updated
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2006 00:00:00
A handy condensed version of the SRD spells. The included spell text was concise and contained all of the information needed to save flipping through the player guide. Just choose your spells, lay them out, and go. For clerics, you may want to mark which spells were chosen for your domain spell directly on the card, to remember which ones you cannot spontaneously cast as heals.


LIKED: The licensing allows for you to share with your entire party, up to 8 other players. Also includes blanks to allow you to add any other spells you want to keep track of.

DISLIKED: It was hard for me to get the front and back of the cards to match up on my printer. Despite following the included and clear directions and several tries, I never got it quite right, but as far as I can tell it was my printer, not the product. Other people's printers may have better luck.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Ah, the printer issue. If your printer settings are correct, the most likely cause for misalignments is Acrobat Reader - if you're using version 6. (Personally, I'm still using v5, which works like a charm. No issues with v7 have been reported thus far). Another thing that should be avoided is duplex printing, if your printer is capable of that. Solution: print front and back separately. Hope that helped!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG