RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Lost Colony Companion $19.99 $4.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 4
1 5
0 0
0 0
0 0
Lost Colony Companion
Click to view
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2004 00:00:00

First of all, I must say I'm somewhat biased due to the fact I am a fan of Deadlands and that tends to colour my opinion a lot (such as being able to tolerate what I consider to be a clumsy rules system that is extremely munchkin-encouraging, terrible over-statting of NPCs/monsters, etc).

Lost Colony was a sourcebook rather than a stand-alone like Weird West and Hell on Earth Was. It was very similar to Quick and the Dead and Wasted West. However, it left a lot of unanswered questions in what I consider to be "basic setting info" and so I was expecting to find them in Lost Colony Companion (LCC).

Where, LCC is not a source book. It is a campaign book. If you have got the recent Great White Games (formerly PEG) campaign books for Savage Worlds (e.g. Evernight) then this is more that it is like. It does provide some insight and background but only with respect to what is involved in the Grand Campaign. It completely fails to answer what I consider to be critical info for the setting, like how many moons does Banshee actually have? (2 according to the novel Banshee Screams but 1 according to some random page in LC). Just how are the Anouks organised in their tribes? Are they like indians? Do they have live young or do they lay eggs? You know, stuff you normally get as a 5 page summary in most RPGs.

That aside, there is a lot of good stuff here. It's an interesting read in the old DL style of writing. There's a few things I don't agree with but it's a matter of style. It could use a couple of reference sheets or organisation sheets to help Marshals keep track of what's going on but it only takes about 15 minutes to make one yourself, which I have done for my current game using this product (only using EABA for rules instead).

So in essence, this is a good product but you must be aware of what you are getting. It is a Marshal's Campaign sourcebook, not a Lost Colony Companion!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by William R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2004 00:00:00

Really liked this companion book. Wrapped up some important threads and lets the players actually try to finish the series. Some typos and less important information marred the final product though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dan N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2004 00:00:00

It is an aid to anyone trying to run the end of a long-running Deadlands Campaign, covering the destruction of the Reckoners...

It's also rather rushed, and doesn't really contain the rule tweaks I was expecting to flesh out the mutes, shamans, or guardians. Obviously, space was a premium.

What is there are the basic ideas needed to create a campaign. I think that the layout could have been made more efficient, since a lot of it doesn't connect or flow very well, requiring invention of major plot points and clues for the characters to track down. For several of these points, suggestions are made.

One of the nicer points, outcomes of several of the plot points covered has clear effects on later plots, and the fights against the Reckoners. This suits my play style fairly well.

It's not the best work out of Pinnacle. But still above average.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Christine E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2004 00:00:00

Magnificent. The end of the tale, with rules on the Big Bads, great storyline elements, and everything coming together. Little to add.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by frank f. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2004 00:00:00

Very good book for those marshals who want to know the low down on banshee, or want to be able to take your possee's on a reckoner killing spree.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2003 00:00:00

A great book that allows you to craft a campaign based on the plans of the major players in Faraway. Rather than providing a scripted campaign, it jut gives you an overview of what everyone has and what their aims are. How they get there is up to the GM.

On the down side, there are a few important omissions and it is unclear if they are deliberate (eg, Famine's Coup).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Wayne H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2003 00:00:00

If your a Deadlands player you need this book. It's the end of the Metaplot and your invited with front row seats. Stats for the Reckoners, wrapping up all the loose ends, what more could you want.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by massimiliano t. b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2003 00:00:00

I'm very amazed by the Pinnacle's products for Deadlands! They've got great ideas and are very original too. Deadlands is a game on which u can do almost everything u want! Grat!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Colony Companion
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Piotr K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2003 00:00:00

Great book, I don`t have to say anything more !!! Buy it :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG