RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
 
$6.99 $3.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 7
1 4
0 1
0 0
0 0
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Click to view
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Txabier A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2010 11:10:19
Probably my favorite module in the great and prestigious long-running line of supplements, Th Mysterious Tower is a great old school-styled adventure that I have run with many of my groups for greqat effect and hours of enjoyment. While it 's aimed at low-levels, it can be easily scalable for Joseph made a well thought-out series of plans a nd encounters that can be easily adapted to siut your specific player groups.

While it's easy tu run, it's by no means straightforward, and with careful scheming of the DM's part it can easily keep the players on their toes and thinking their way out of increasing trouble.

Finally, I must admist that 3e wasn't my cup of tea, but the best thing with every Goodman Games module is that it can easily be adaptyed to suit your group's playing style or the system you've chose. So, yes, it will work--and marvellously so--with Pathfinder and be very easy to transplant into any of the newer Rune Quest settings... or go real old-school and use your AD&D or AD&D "nd Edition rules with it, with minimal hassle.

All in all, a solid, easy to read and use module from Goodman Games. I heartily recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Thomas I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2008 02:58:57
A good and entertaining adventure with much tricks and traps.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Joshua B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2008 18:24:05
Great adventure. Easy to run. Has all the dungeon goodness you are looking for.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Marlon M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2006 00:00:00
This is my first DCC and i liked it. The info is nicely presented. The players liked the story and the (few) puzzles are fun.


LIKED: Layout, monster stats in between.

DISLIKED: I prefer color images (handouts)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Simon L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2006 00:00:00
I'm quite a fan of the DCC products because, in the main, they are easy to insert into an ongoing campaign due to lack of an overly detailed background (which I assume is the whole point).

This one, in particular, is very useful since Mysterious Towers are a popular destination for adventurers. One could easily tailor the climactic encounter and treasure to campaign needs.


LIKED: Apart from the easy portability, this particular adventure has a pleasing mix of traps and combat. One encounter, in particular, has a wonderful twist on the expectations of experienced players.

DISLIKED: It probably would have benefitted from being aimed at a higher level, but ELs are easy to tweak. Like most dungeon crawls, the overall raison d'etre doesn't bear too close scrutiny.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2005 00:00:00
Goodman Games Dungeon Crawl Classic series is the best old school dungeoneering on the market. If you can't find a place for their modules in your campaign you may be doing something wrong. Excellent mix of traps, combat, and treasure. No ultra fancy monster selection, just the classics. I can hardly wait to run it!


LIKED: good player handouts and old school maps!

DISLIKED: nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2004 00:00:00
Another high-quality high-fun adventurous romp from Goodman Games!

LIKED: The straightforward sword and sorcery action. The clean, clear aesthetically-pleasing look of the adventure. The Erol Otus (Erol Otus!) cover art.

DISLIKED: As has been mentioned elsewhere, the ultimate guardian of the tower's treasure is a good-aligned creature. The author assumes that PCs will be the cliche greedy types who won't care about killing a good creature when so much treasure is at stake, but I know PCs (and players) who would care, and who would walk away rather than slay a good creature being forced to act against its will. DMs who also care will have to swap in an evil counterpart for the guardian creature -- the Monster Manual will make this fairly easy to do -- yet the tactics of the final battle will be changed thereby, which will mean more work for the DM. Honestly, this is the one objectionable element of this product; the author should've gone with an evil guardian, or else added in a means by which non-Lawful Greedy players might free the good-aligned guardian and still inherit the treasure. If not for this design lapse, I would've awarded The Mysterious Tower a perfect five stars.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2004 00:00:00
This is worth five stars for the cover alone! Now this is not the adventure that was released as a convention special with the very same cover...which is somewhat of a disappointment. However, aside from that...and the fact that it is a bit pricy for the page count...this is a fun and nostalgic adventure! I expect that I will be purchasing the rest of these dungeon crawls. As a GM I like your basic adventure/dungeon crawl...I like even more the fact that this can be dropped into my campaign with a minimum of muss and fuss. Basic adventures, which don't have all kinds of "new" stuff (feats, spells, monsters, etc.), are nice to have. Using the basic books I can just drop this into my campaign and get rolling...at least that's what I am hoping to do!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2004 00:00:00
Another great entry in the Dungeon Crawl Classics series - both I and my group have been enjoying these 'blasts from the past'; the original style artwork is a joy to behold and the straightforward nature of the adventure make it a great trip back to the old days of roleplaying :) Keep 'em coming, guys!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2004 00:00:00
Good module. Keeps the PC's guessing as to when they are actually going to get some GP's for the slashin they have to do. Couple of puzzles, bunch o traps, little bit of RP'ing (Well, dice rolling and a tiny amount of Roleplaying *chuckles*). Ultimately though, the end seems slightly unsatisfying. I would have to say that overall it was a decent module.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2004 00:00:00
Gotta love Erol Otus art!
Nice module, packed with activity - so good, I bought the print version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2004 00:00:00
It rocks like the other two modules in the series. ;)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG