RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Complete Guide to Beholders
 
$9.99 $7.49
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 6
2 2
1 2
0 0
0 0
Complete Guide to Beholders
Click to view
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/05/2011 17:42:50

What makes a good monster book? Probably most importantly, you have to be able to finish it and still want to kill them. ("Good" dragons have never appealed to me just for that reason.) Beholders, crazy floating eyeball beings, have been a staple of D&D play since the early days, when they were saddled with cartoony art. They were major villains throughout the Forgotten Realms, where their magical capabilities and scheming methods made them memorable antagonists.

Goodman Games has a reputation of producing high quality, high-detail supplements and the Complete Guide to Beholders is no exception. It contains information about beholder culture, physiology, and their beliefs about the universe. It's a self-contained set of beliefs (nihilism focused on "The Void") that has attitudes about "the gods" without reference to who they are, to help you fit them into whatever campaign world that you have. There are even suggestions for how to incorporate it into superhero, espionage and horror games.

A welcome addition is a section regarding how to roleplay the beholder (don't shake your head! You know how irritating that is?!) This is something that other games should take note of. Specific advice for GMs on this level is highly needed and very effective.

There are some ideas for beholder-oriented campaigns, most of them fighting them from the outside but at least two based on being magical beings connected to beholders, or even beholders themselves! If you like play-the-monster games, it's definitely worth checking out.

I'm reviewer tilting this one up one star because I absolutely adore the roleplaying suggestion/instruction section. Surprisingly flexible and highly effective, the Complete Guide to Beholders is Well Worth The Cheap Price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Joy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2005 00:00:00

Very informative guide. I enjoyed playing a beholderkin recently and this book was so helpful. The varieties of Beholders, their societies, kinds and basic attitudes were needed and greatly detailed. Also how to make Beholderkin and play them properly. The spell listings were a bit tough to decipher but with a bit of work I put together a great character. Many thanks for this!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The amount of information it held. The sheer varieties of Beholders their civilizations, and even their slaves.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It was a difficult read sometimes, but can be figured out with some patience.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Joe L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2005 00:00:00

I love this book. I played a Knight of Purity and it rocked. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It went into depth on a monster I had really not given much thought about other than "Run the heck away."<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Kenneth L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2004 00:00:00

This product is VERY detailed!! It gave me ideas for MANY MANY adventures to come!! Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2004 00:00:00

A pretty good book. Though it has limited use for me now because of the removal of beholders from the SRD, there are enough good ideas that can be easily converted to other creatures to make this book a good addition to my collection. I did get it while it was on sale, and that does shape my view of the value of the book vis-a-vis the price I paid. That said, for GMs who don't care about OGL stuff, and that use beholders in a prominent role in their campaigns, this is an excellent book to have (I would say it is a 4 star book for those GMs), especially if your PCs are starting to lose that healthy fear of the eye tyrant. Get this guide, and instill that fear all over again!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Robert I. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2004 00:00:00

Very high quality, and good original ideas. Recommended as an add-on to spice up a fantasy campaign



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2004 00:00:00

This is perhaps one of the best monster books I have purchased in a long time. Very in depth, this book makes Beholders prime candidates for arch villains in any campaign. Matches I, Tyrant in terms of content and quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2004 00:00:00

Like stated previously, I also don't think this is worth $10... good thing I picked it up when it was only $1. With that in mind, this is a good buy and presents several very interesting twists on the Beholder. The true usefulness of this book is right along those of the Slayer's Guides from Mongoose - if Beholders feature prominently in your game this is worth the cash to give them a level of unpredicablity. Otherwise, your use of this book is going to be a bit limited.

On a positive note, the information on beholder cults was extremely well done and presents a myriad of adventure possibilities.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Vernon A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2003 00:00:00

I was not too impressed with this book, but it does contain some unusual prestige classes. Not worth $10.00 I looked for this in stores but was dissapointed.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Beholders
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2003 00:00:00

Great! This book gives the much underused beholder some new and unusual twists. Worth getting for a read alone, a DM will have a field day with the ideas presented in this book (My own game world is just developing a secrect beholder run nation plagued by factional conflicts).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG