RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Mythic Role Playing
Publisher: Word Mill
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2007 00:00:00
I bought this primarily for two reasons: curiosity (it has received lots of praise in forums I frequent) and for the adventure generator. I got the whole RPG product instead of the Game Master Emulator product because my curiosity about the RPG engine outweighed my frugality.

I was not disappointed. While I have not played it yet, I was immediately turned off by the RPG engine and probably will never play it. It's a little too freeform for my tastes. That said, the adventure and world generation sections are really, really nice once you wrap your head around it. Those portions will become a powerful addition to my GM toolbox.

Everything is ruled over by the Fate Chart and a smattering of given reference charts and tables. Players are expected to expand on the reference tables and several pages of blanks are provided. There is an element of randomness which alters the Fate Chart, even, though this is element is not actually explained until three or four chapters after the Fate Chart use chapter.

The basis of the system is the phrasing of yes/no question and rolls on the Fate Chart. In that sense, this is little more than a magic eight ball, and the answers given by the chart requires as much interpretation, though guidelines for doing just that are given in the text.


LIKED: The adventure generation section will soon become a powerful addition to my GM toolbox.

DISLIKED: * No print-friendly version.
* ToC & Index entries not clickable bookmarks, however the simple fact that they exist at all is really quite nice.
* Crossreferences are not direct, but mere references to some future unknown. No indication of precisely where to look. It would be particularly nice if they were clickable bookmarks.
* The organization, in general, is... not; organized, that is. There are whole sections that essentially reappear in different words in two or three different areas of the book. Some items are simply in the wrong part of the book (particularly, the Chaos Factor should be explained in the chapter on how to use the Fate Chart.)

A reorganization would gain this product two additional stars in my review.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Just a quick reply here from the author to address a few items in this review: ? The book does contain bookmarks that will quickly take you to any significant portion of the book. ? Not sure what he means by a print-friendly version. The pdf prints out quite nicely, if that's the way you want to go. ? Not too clear what he means by cross references to a future unknown. After more than 600 purchases, this is the first time anyone has commented on the book seeming unorganized. I chalk this up to personal preference. Okay, he seemed to like it, quite a bit, but gave it only 2 stars (the first sub-4 star rating). I hate to see the rating he gives a book he doesn't like!
Complete Psionic Power Cards
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2007 00:00:00
So... It's been a while since I've actually looked at these since they stopped being useful when I stopped playing D20-engine games.

From memory: These are really handy if you're one of those GMs who keeps a card-file handy at the table. They are also really nice for handing the card to your player so (s)he doesn't have to cram all those details into a small space on a character sheet. They very nicely paper-clip to it or fit in a pocket of a folio.


LIKED: Really, really handy IF you're a gamer who likes card-file boxes, like me.

DISLIKED: Drop that box and they scatter all over the place. What a mess.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Psionic Power Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

3rd Ed. Grunt Fantasy Battles: Cards Set #1
Publisher: Guild of Blades
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2007 00:00:00
If you play Grunt, this is way neat stuff. Lots more options for building up and customizing your forces to your style of play. [NOTE: This has been fixed.] The layout sucks, but there's a way to fix it yourself (see below) if you know how.




LIKED: Loads of new stuff to build and control my force. Lots of this stuff is way neato! Really rapid response to minor quality control issue [Thanks, guys.]

DISLIKED: Nearly every flaw I found was rapidly fixed and I need to apologize to GoB for taking so long to update this review. Much, MUCH better than original release.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
3rd Ed. Grunt Fantasy Battles: Cards Set #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Charles, Sorry about that. That was not intentional. Seems we had an incorrect setting in our distiller that turned put our 8.5" x 11" layouts onto 11 x 17 pages. We just corrected that and uploaded the proper version. Ryan GOB
The Other Side (Minigame issue #1)
Publisher: Valent Games
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2004 00:00:00
This is funny! As the cover blurb states, it's also a really good introduction to what goblinoid society would be like in a "traditional" fantasy setting. Everything is painted with a really broad brush, but it's done well enough to integrate into any campaign.

And the price is worth reading it, even if you don't intend ever to use it for your game.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Other Side (Minigame issue #1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BDA: Magic & Mayhem
Publisher: Team Frog
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2004 00:00:00
For about $1.50, this was slightly more than I expected. Four pages, including the cover which contains the rules. The other three pages are spell cards and unit stands. Simple and playable. A terrific addition to the BDA line of beer-n-pretzels miniature games.

DISLIKED: Spell cards awfully small and hard to shuffle conveniently.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BDA: Magic & Mayhem
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

EMISSARIES SF World Pack for Simply Roleplaying!
Publisher: Microtactix
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2004 00:00:00
Really great setting from MicroTactix. Similar, in concept, to Earth: Final Conflict; a bunch of aliens show up and start negotiating with the various factions of humanity, trying to help us. Or so they claim...

This actually would have worked better with a mini-campaign attached to it. It contains about the same amount of setting material as GWG's Savage Settings, but lacks the campaign backbone. Story ideas are not forthcoming to this GM.

That being said, if you enjoy cloak-n-dagger style play with lots of political intrigue, this looks like a really fun setting. Myself, I will probably use it to borrow ideas from for use in other settings.

DISLIKED: Seems incomplete, somehow, without an attached mini-campaign. Motives for the aliens never really spelled out, so GM has to find his/her own plausible reason for their coming.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EMISSARIES SF World Pack for Simply Roleplaying!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tour of Darkness Player's Guide
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2004 00:00:00
This is a terrific product for a _player_ to purchase. It contains nearly everything from the main ToD book that a player might need access to. Nearly, because there are four or five pages in the back of the book that should not be concealed from the players (military organization, what units were based where, ranks, some history, etc.)

Not a very good option for GMs wishing to provide free [printed] player's guides and references to his game group. While this provides a lot of useful information, only about five pages (of 37) make useful in-play references for players, about 15 pages of character creation and the rest setting information.

LIKED: Makes it easy for players to look something up without risk of them scanning into GM-only land.

DISLIKED: Left out some useful pages from the back of the main book. Can't disable the background image when printing (eats lots of ink).

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tour of Darkness Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tour of Darkness Figure Flats
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2004 00:00:00
The artwork is not what I expected from a gaming-house such as GWG/Pinnacle, but the quantity of troops is pretty incredible.

LIKED: Lots and lots of inexpensive troopies for visual reference on the table top.

DISLIKED: Artwork not what I expected. Prefer fold-over or tee-pee style to tri-fold.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tour of Darkness Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GM Screen Inserts--Tour of Darkness
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2004 00:00:00
Very superior to the EverNight screen. Most of the tables are relevant in a game session and the graphics are less intrusive.

LIKED: Landscape format allows me to conceal a larger amount of table space (for the same number of panes) while maintaining my ability to see the tabletop and my players.

DISLIKED: Some tables which are less-useful in-game on same page as some which are extremely useful in-game. Unable to disable background graphics for printing.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GM Screen Inserts--Tour of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GM Screen Inserts--Evernight
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2004 00:00:00
Moderately useful for GMing EverNight. 8.5 x 11.0 landscape. Some glaring flaws as far as useability goes.

LIKED: Landscape format allows me to conceal a larger table area from my players and still be able to see over the screen to see the table and my players.

DISLIKED: Lots of graphics. While they make it pretty, they also distract from my ability to read the thing. Also, the background graphic could not be disabled for printing, further muddling the usefulness.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GM Screen Inserts--Evernight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Big Damn Robots
Publisher: Team Frog
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2004 00:00:00
The rules are great! Very creative and unchanged from the older print version, as near as I can tell.

The page layout leave much to be desired. The original book was printed as four 5x8 pages printed per physical 8.5x11 landscape page and saddle-stapled. This layout has one single 5x8 page centered in one 8.5x11 portrait page. Very wasteful of paper to print.

The fold-ups are nice to have but the artwork is a major disappointment being limited to black silhouettes.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Big Damn Robots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Gamer's Cookbook
Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2004 00:00:00
I was mildly disappointed by this purchase. I expected more than the given number of recipes.

That said, these are some fairly traditional recipes with cost breakdowns and a few tips for how to keep everyone at the table well-fed.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Gamer's Cookbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Budget Battlefield ELVEN ARMY
Publisher: Microtactix
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2004 00:00:00
Tired of the traditional preconceptions of what elven battlegear looks like? Don't like the look of the haughty elf in scale army on a fancy-barded horse? These are for you. If you need a different feel for your elves, these are what to use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield ELVEN ARMY
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Budget Battlefield DWARVEN ARMY
Publisher: Microtactix
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2004 00:00:00
Need some troops to use against your RPG players? How about an instant army to try out a new set of wargame rules or even to use for Budget Battlefield? These are for you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield DWARVEN ARMY
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Budget Battlefield ORC ARMY
Publisher: Microtactix
by B. C. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2004 00:00:00
These figures are fabulous. Solid black silhouette back-side could be a gray if not art, but otherwise wonderful product.

The extra bits on that last few pages really make the product shine!


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Budget Battlefield ORC ARMY
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG