RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples $7.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 10
2 2
2 0
1 1
0 0
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Click to view
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/01/2011 14:10:46

This set of tiles has a very particular application. Since this is e-Tiles after all, there's probably two tactical uses: defending a friendly temple or invading an evil one. If you're interested in defending a good-aligned temple, which is what I used for one of the first Freeport scenarios, the tiles have a red gear-like "law" feel to them, complete with gear covered pews, a giant red gear-patterned rug, and even a gear as an altar. This is unfortunately a little too lawful and not enough good in my opinion. There are two alternate altars that are generic enough, but they don't have the oomph that the red lawful motif brings.

The other tiles have hammers and a forge, clearly for dwarven worshippers. Unlike the law motif, there are no hammer-themed pews, but perhaps that's for the best. Unlike the law motif, the hammer motif could be used for evil or good dwarves so there's more incentive to use them.

But the real centerpiece of this set is the snake altar. Freeport and Call of Cthulhu campaigns frequently feature temples worshiping Yig and this set features a serpent-encircled altar, a 20-foot diameter pool surrounded by interlinked serpents, and a serpent design between two corner columns.

With all these sets the most important feature is its utility to your campaign. There are some unusual choices here -- law, dwarves, and snakes are not what I would consider to be typical temples that would be either invaded or defended – but if you have a campaign featuring any of those temples then these tiles will do nicely.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2005 00:00:00

A nice set of "generic" temple tiles, with a few specials (e.g. serpent temple) to liven the place up.

You can also buy short sets of specials e.g. temple of the sun very cheaply to add more variety to the set.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2005 00:00:00

This is the heart of the temple series. So a must have if you want to get others of the set. Generic tiles are wonderful and the little details for the special ones are priceless (esp how the head priest for the snake temple goes through a tube and not a door). A good product if you like the 2-D tiles.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by David T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2004 00:00:00

These sets are incredible. They are the best thing to happen to D&D since the d20 system. The also work well with 2nd ed. and compliment the D&D(Star Wars) miniatures very well. Thanks Ed. This has put the spark back in my campaign.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Flexability<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Addictive<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by William s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2004 00:00:00

I love every other one I have bought from e adventures. This one is just fair. I have probelms putting them together right.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Hisst K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2004 00:00:00

Love the temple sets and the expansions - keep 'em coming!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2004 00:00:00

I must say, although I am part of Alea Publishing Group, and thus may have a conflict of interest since we are putting forth an effort to do similar products, I found Ed has done a superb job. First and foremost, the product layout is very well done. The Intro has a sheet detailing the entire product in small detail. This is so you can plan out your temple in miniature before printing the tiles you might actually need. Secondly, the quality of work and the innovative temple layout makes it a worthwhile purchase. The temple squares are generic enough to fit into any campaign and can be dedicated to any number of gods or cults, while the level of detail is amazing.
The only thing I would like in future products are detailed walls and pillars rather than black-outlined white walls. However, the upside is that it does conserve on ink when printing the tiles out in color. I believe this is the reason he chose to do it that way. Anyway, it looks as though my players may find a temple dedicated to a dark dwarven god in the next following weeks. You have definitely set the bar high. Keep up the good work Ed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Slawo J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2004 00:00:00

This set contains everything you need to build a temple. There are three sets of benches, two different doors and lots of wall tiles with and without stairs leading to the temple. And the theme tiles (dwarf, law and serpent) have enough tiles to enhance the temples to be a unique location. All in all you get five different altars to choose from, and this doesn't include the bonus tile of a devastated one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2004 00:00:00

Very nice set, covering another area not often served by floorplan publishers. As usual the detail is crisp and the inclusion of the sample temple 'Hall Of Champions' is something I hope to see more of in future Skeleton Key products.

Can't wait to see what Ed has lined up for expansion tiles to fit in with this set!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2004 00:00:00

Great addition to any serious GM's library. A must have! Beautiful artwork. What I've come to expect from Ed at Skeleton Key Games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Koen H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2004 00:00:00

Fantastic Set...

The bonus map 'Hall of the Champions' demonstrates that you can build awesome temples using this set... Take a look at the bonus map first before you look at the tiles !!!)

While this is a single-purpose set (to create temples) a lot of the tiles can be used for other purposes.

There are 3 different temples in this set... Dwarf, Law and Serpent (I really like the Serpent Temple !!)

(This set is so good it deserves a second volume... maybe with some Chaos, Orc or Goblin temples in some Dark Caves... I know I would certainly buy it...)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Allen L. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2004 00:00:00

Once again you provide excellent modules for building great maps. Thanks



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Sacred Temples
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00

I have tried various printable terrain products and e-Adventure is by far the best. With an expanding product line, I am quickly developing a stockpile of tiles for any situation, whether I create an entire complex or simply a couple of important rooms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back