RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
UNORTHODOX Clerics
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2004 00:00:00
Its usefulness is slightly diminished with the release of The Book of Exalted Deeds as some of the concepts used in Unorthodox Clerics are addressed in it (although usually as a prestige class rather than a full class). Still, at only $2, its hard to go wrong with these even if you find the classes contained within only marginally useful. I thought the Elementalist was a unique twist worth the cover price alone.




Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Clerics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am very glad you liked this book. Funny thing is that during editing I didn't care much for it at all, but the playtesters loved it. And now that it has been released it has gotten rave reviews! I guess the writer, Robert J. Hahn, knew far better than me! ~Le
Synergy Artifacts
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2004 00:00:00
There is some really nice stuff in here. The only downside is that these are NOT for a low-powered game! (and would require signifigant changes to make them work) With the exception of the Baubles, most of these items get extremely powerful especially when the synergy bonuses start to come into play - in other words, these would work great for Forgotten Realms or other "high fantasy" settings.

With that said, there is still a lot to like. Some are pretty imaginative and some even have a bit of humor tossed into them. The price is certainly right for the sheer volume of items provided.

Thats all I have to say... and remember, "With great power comes great stupidity. Don't touch the wall."




Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Synergy Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the comments! This has been my proudest book to date. It took me a couple months to write and edit, but I am very happy with it. As for the "not for a low-powered game", I have only one comment: The more pieces of a set you give a player the more powerful and more unbalanced he becomes... so don't give him a full set! Really, players are not meant to become that powerful. It inflates their egos. ~Le
Regicide
Publisher: HinterWelt
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2004 00:00:00
Its not a bad little game just don't expect anything too detailed given the title of the game. Its all about making a grab for as much land as quickly as possible. There is a small amount of strategy involved (wise use of Jacks) but it largely comes down to the luck of the draw from the card deck. Looting seems like it could be a bit of a game breaker given the relatively low points given for taking land but this is a decent game for your money.




Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Regicide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to comment James. Bill
UNORTHODOX Druids
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2004 00:00:00
Meh. Its alright. I'm a bit biased because the druid has never been a favorite class of mine but I bought it to have all of the unorthodox books. They are all okay but really lack anything that really just screams "cool" to me.




Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Druids
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX Fighters
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2004 00:00:00
This is good but could have seriously benefited from another editing pass or two. It also has several classes that I felt would have been more appropriate as roleplaying opportunities rather than to try to represent them mechanically (such as Second Son or Legend Seeker).

Still, its worth $2 but just barely. I'd certainly recommend one of the other "unorthodox" books instead.




Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Fighters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX Monks
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2004 00:00:00
Nice material in here and there is a wide variety of character possibilities represented. This is definately worth your measley $2.

To give you a better idea of what you'll be getting:

Chaos Monk = Variable strikes (holy, ghost touch, etc.)
Lasserator = Wuxia-style weapon master
Shadow Warrior = Ninja-esque master of stealth/misdirection
Snake Master = Ability score damager/immobilizer
Spiritual Defender = Holy unarmed combatant

Its nice to see a book of cheap classes and ones that are done so well.




Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Monks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked the book. I am particularly proud of the LASSERATOR, which I mostly rewrote from scratch. ~Le
ARTIFACTS: Lawn of the Dead
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2004 00:00:00
This is written by the guy who did Eldritch Ass Kicking so I eagerly picked it up and I'm glad that I did. There are some really nice necromantic items in here. If your campaign tends to stray towards darker elements, you'll find a lot to like here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ARTIFACTS: Lawn of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Yes Yes, Nathan did a FANTASTIC job writing this, and it has gotten very good reviews. I hope to have him aboard to write some more books in the very near future. `Le
ARTIFACTS: Ducks of Ultimate Doom
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2004 00:00:00
OK. They may sond silly but the ducks of ultimate doom has probably got to be one of the most creative magical items that I have seen in some time and I can honestly see using them in a game. In addition to the ducks there are numerous other items in here that vary in usefulness but will ultimately depend upon the power level of your campaign. For only $2 this is a nice little item to have handy when it comes time to hand out the treasure.




Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ARTIFACTS: Ducks of Ultimate Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Definitely a great book you have there. It took me a month to write it and a few more weeks to edit it. I will probably revise it very soon with a "directors cut" version or something. Lol. I am very glad you like it. It has gotten great reviews so far! ~Le
UNORTHODOX Rangers
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2004 00:00:00
First of all, for only $2 its very hard to go wrong with this book. I was especially pleased to see something that would ordinarily have been a prestige class being expanded into a full 20 level class. For those of you considering this, let me try to give you a better idea of what you're getting:

The Beast Lord = Tarzan
The Hunter = super sniper
The Outdoorsman = survivalist
The Partisian = specialized against multiple opponents
The Trapper = "bring 'em back alive"

Table formatting would really be the only thing that I could say could use some work but this is easily worth the money you'll pay for it.




Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Rangers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RACES I: Animal Kingdoms
Publisher: The Le Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2004 00:00:00
This is only an okay product. Its value probably would have been higher to me if I had got this before Savage Species came out and gave rules for creating anthropomorphic animals. I also found that racial flavor information about each race was minimal and uninspired (Bearmen collect honey, etc.). If you have a spare dollar and are willing to take a chance, this might be worth your while. As it is now, I can only say that it was mediocre to me and its value was only increased by the inclusion of a RTF file so that I could modify what was provided.




Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
RACES I: Animal Kingdoms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

F*ck This expansion #2 (Supersized profanity)
Publisher: BTRC
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2004 00:00:00
This is a very good addition for anyone who owns the main game. The humor is much more biting and the vulgarity is pushed up a notch. Its also a good drinking game if you can avoid people who like to get fighting drunk.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
F*ck This expansion #2 (Supersized profanity)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

F*ck This! expansion #1 (Sex, drugs and rock & roll)
Publisher: BTRC
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2004 00:00:00
Not bad. The rock n' roll cards were a bit dubious in usefulness but it was made up for with the obviously always useful sexual references. All in all, I found expansion set #2 more useful in my games but, hey, the thing is only a buck. Definately a good addition if you play F*ck This on even a semi-regular basis.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
F*ck This! expansion #1 (Sex, drugs and rock & roll)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Tempest #1
Publisher: Khan's Press
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2004 00:00:00
Pretty good. Well thought out game mechanics but the overall contents are let down by the inclusion of the obligatory fiction that all 'zine publishers seem to think is so neat.

Definately worth it if you can get it at a discount but it seems that we're not going to see anymore of them as it has been several months now between issues.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Tempest #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ben Hvrt
Publisher: Cheapass Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2004 00:00:00
Good games never die - they just find their way to PDF and, if you're at all familiar with Cheapass Games, this is a good thing. Ben Hvrt is a very fun game of both gambling and racing and its nice to see this game get a new lease on life with a new group of players.

If you're into games that encourage backstabbing your dearest friends, this is a very good choice for an evening's entertainment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Hvrt
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MEG: Giant Monster Rampage: Live Wire
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2004 00:00:00
Just a whole lot of fun. If you're a fan of giant monsters (and who isn't?) you'll enjoy this. The art in GMR is great and the ability to make (and advance) your own beheamoth is a good idea to add some depth to what would ordinarily be a simple wargame. There is some really nice cheesy touches in here to the conventions of the genre (like tanks that die the moment they attack, etc.)

This is another high-class product from Ronin Arts and I'm definately going to have to buy Giant Monster Rampage 2 to get the extra rules!





Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MEG: Giant Monster Rampage: Live Wire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG