RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2012 08:56:04

I am very impressed with this game. Layout wise it is gorgeous, and it looks perfect on my iPad 1 in both GoodReader and iBooks. Layout on the character sheet was excellent as well as we realized they were laid out to support the flow of play.

The content is excellent, but I will admit having to make a couple of passes through the book to fully grasp it. A full example of play would be nice. The system is innovative, and when played really supports the feel of a comic book.

Finally I want to point out the milestone XP system. This system is brilliant and is an design pattern I think a lot of the industry will start looking at.

The module in the book is short, fun, and has all the default marvel troupes (team up, super villains, redemption, etc).

Character creation makes sense when you realize it is more of an art than a science, and that it is up to the players, the Watcher, and yourself to not be the person at the time who wants to hog the spotlight and say you are good at everything. With that though a set of guidelines such as 'cosmic characters typically have..., street level characters typically have' would be nice. I for one do not want to see a point buy system for this.

Summary: Great game well worth the money. Ran it recently and my players are begging to play again. Pro: Innovative System, Easy to Play, Great Layout that works on iPad Cons: Book makes system feel dense. An example of play would have helped dramatically. Some sort of basic guidelines for power levels for character creation would help.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Slipstream
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2011 12:52:16

Return to the days when Sci-Fi meant rocket ships with fins, countless alien races, and an evil queen intent on conquering the universe.

Slipstream is a great return to the roots of pulp Sci-Fi serials such as Flash Gordan.

The settign includes many worlds, adventure starters, alien races, as well as a fully playable plot-point setting with many options for continuing beyond the included 'season 1'. As with most savage products, a copy of the savage worlds core rules is required.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slipstream
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
Publisher: Day Dreamer Interactive
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2011 08:56:54

I will give the author props for completeness and a clean layout. On the negative side; the system seemed overly complex.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Tales #6: Zombie Run
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2004 00:00:00

This is one of those fun and very evil adventures that you can expect from GreatWhite / Pinnacle games.

Players will curse your name for running this but you will enjoy every second of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales #6: Zombie Run
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WorldWorksGames / SeaWorks: SkullCove
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2004 00:00:00

Simply wow.

This is a heavily detailed pdf set with some amazing looking models.

This is the model set that has made me an addict of cardboard models for games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / SeaWorks: SkullCove
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Tales #7: The Highwater War
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2004 00:00:00

A wonderfull adventure that shows the multinature of savage.

You've got mass battles and normall combat as well as RP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales #7: The Highwater War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

12TM: Bloodlines--Savaged edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2004 00:00:00

Great adventure.

Very Cthlhu like but has nothing to do with the mythos. Looks wonderfull in savage, and looking forward to running.

One point. This is not a simple game. First it's highly scripted but if done right the PCs won't know they are being led by the nose. And two it's very complicated, lots of factors and behind the scene stuff.

Not for new GMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
12TM: Bloodlines--Savaged edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Hand of Fate
Publisher: Random Megacore
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2004 00:00:00

Intresting supplement. Some intresting ideas, but I don't think I would use it all that much.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Hand of Fate
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dreamwalker: Diceless Roleplaying in the Land of Dreams
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2004 00:00:00

Dreamwalker is the first supplment for Active Exploits I looked at. I was very impressed with the concept behind it, though I wish their was a little more discusion on mechanics and less on theme. Though this only slightly detracts from the supplment.

Creative and immagantive. A good source.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dreamwalker: Diceless Roleplaying in the Land of Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Tales #1: Privateer's Bounty!
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2004 00:00:00

Pretty much anything from Pinacle is a great product. And this is no exception.

A wonderfull pirate adventure in what is basically a real world setting, but coming from pinacle there will be a twist, and a big one at that.

A great adventure for savage world, one I'm personally looking forward to running.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales #1: Privateer's Bounty!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Tales #1: Privateer's Bounty!
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2004 00:00:00

Pretty much anything from Pinacle is a great product. And this is no exception.

A wonderfull pirate adventure in what is basically a real world setting, but coming from pinacle there will be a twist, and a big one at that.

A great adventure for savage world, one I'm personally looking forward to running.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Publisher: Word Mill
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2003 00:00:00

Very good an excelent buy, if nothing else than for having the GM stuff to aid in preping/running other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cartoon Action Hour
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2003 00:00:00

An excellent system. Generic enough to handle all those great 80s cartoons, but not near as complicated as some generic systems out there.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Classic: Law Dogs
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2003 00:00:00

A great reprint of a deadlands title. What is really nice is that this is updated to the new version of the deadlands core rules, all stats and mechanics have been fixed. Making this an excellent buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Classic: Law Dogs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG