RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2017 15:36:19

Review of the Hardback Edition I saw this was using the D6 System as developed by my all time favourite RPG company West End Games so went for the hardback/PDF option on whim and boy, am I glad I did. I had no prior knowledge of the setting until I saw the rules and it dragged me right in. The d6 system meshes well with Manga and the end result is a very good and entertaining product. The quality of the writing style is good. The use of art works well to illustrate the game and is far from gratuitous. I guess the best way to describe it, if I have to compare it to other products, is a WEG D6 version of Talsorian's Teenagers From Outer Space and GURPS IOU but with more action and, actually, potentially more humour. If you want to play school age humans, aliens, space princesses and the titicular ninjas then this WILL be for you. I am really looking forward to running this more often. Great job Battlefield

5 for quality 5 for writing 5 for rules usage 5 Overall



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2017 06:20:57

Really good system - It works. It's good for experienced and new players as well as younger gamers. The mechanics are based around a d6 roll so are simple to pick up with a quick read through. What needs to be realised is that this is a toolbox for creating your own settings and worlds: There are some "Skins" included but are deliberately kept minimal to show what the rules are capable of.

I like the writing style and it comes over well. I love the the digest size and I just wish more companies used this format. Also of note is the cover art - please keep the cover as common theme through future releases. A great product at an amazing price. Quick, fast and fun. Savage Worlds has a worthy basic digest sized game competitor at last.

Can't wait for the promised settings books - they really will be the icing on the cake (bread ?) !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Universal Revised
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 09:21:30

PDF Version (Quick disclaimer: I am the author of some other OneDice material and a big fan of the system since its inception)

Updated and revised, the OneDice Universal ruleset goes from strength to strength. The original was good but it just got better with additional rules and ideas between the covers. Love the new look cover too.

The page count now stands at over 80 pages with the rules for Mooks & Minions plus Sanity in there too. The layout has also improved making it even easier to read through. Additionally, the book also includes a multiplayer fantasy adventure plus a solo play (Pick a Path style) Sci Fi one.

Great for any age group and the rules actually encourage roleplay rather than just rolling dice. A good system for teaching rp as well as for more experienced gamers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Heydelberg Horror
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 09:06:38

PDF Version A great and different addition to the Clockwork & Chivalry line. This (the first of a campaign) is set in Europe rather than the United Kingdom and features extra rules for the creation of more diverse PCs. The adventure itself is well written and well worth the money with a well woven story and background which is very tricky to comment on without giving any spoilers.

The art and maps are decent too and have quite a period look to them.

Rest assured you won't be disappointed

As a side note : With a bit of work this adventure can be also used quite easily with the Renaissance RPG Deluxe rules, BRP and CoC.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Heydelberg Horror
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OneDice Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2014 15:48:36

I have the "original" version of this game as a glorious hardback and love it... However, since buying the print version of this edition I have decided that this is the way forward. The One Dice system is a fast, furious and simplistic set of rules that can easily be adapted to any setting. It has become my generic system of choice over Savage Worlds and GURPS.

This book contains all the rules AND the setting. Absolute bargain for the price. I am combining it with the One Dice Steampunk rules to create the ULTIMATE Steam game.

The art adds to the flavour rather than detracts from it and the writing/editing is excellent like the other Cakebread and Walton partnership products.

Highly recommended and at this price, no downsides to it at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates & Dragons Corvette
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2014 14:19:03

Just got my copy of this through and WOW ! A great addition to the P&D line up from Cakebread & Walton. Floorplans are done by DramaScape who are what I consider to be the leaders in this field.

In total there are 77 pages (YES !!! SEVENTY SEVEN !!!)

First there is the cover showing the ship in all its (non-zombie) glory , a page of credits and then a page of stats for the vessel as a standard Corvette and as zombied one. Next are instructions on how to construct the plans and then there are the plans themselves available in square, hex or overlay-free format.

Excellent quality as would be expected with lovely detail. Five Stars !

I would love to see a few additional ships in this format. Maybe a Brigantine and Frigate or possibly a first to third rate Man o War ???



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates & Dragons Corvette
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2014 06:42:16

Fantastic map of the PIRATES & DRAGONS world. The definition is superb and is of an unequalled quality. Recommended "MUST HAVE" for any player/GM of the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates & Dragons Core Rulebook
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2014 06:39:02

Well, I have been quite looking forward to this since it was first announced and happily backed the Kickstarter to see it come to fruition. So, what is the actual end result and was it worth my money ?

The very quick answer to these questions are : Mighty fine and Hell yes !

The longer answer is here but first I must state that this review is based on the PDF and not the Printed Product as the latter hasn't yet arrived with me but is due oh so very soon and I decided to write this up now:

FIRST IMPRESSION : The Art is, like all Cakebread and Walton products excellent. They really have some great artists onboard (no pun intended... well, ok maybe a small one) who really create excellent visuals. This cover is so evocative and wants to really draw you in. The choice of font is good too and the layout adds rather than detracts from the feel of the product. The page count means this is one hefty tome too coming in at 349 pages (actually 347 less cover and the blank last page). So, all good so far.

THE RULES : The rules are a tweaked version of RENAISSANCE DELUXE also by Cakebread & Walton . The system is based on the D100 percentile rules that will be oh so familiar to players of Runequest, Call of Cthulhu and a stack of other games meaning most roleplayers will have a good grasp of the mechanics from the first read. For anyone new to gaming the D100 system is one of the easiest rulesets to pick up and understand which makes this (and the other Cakebread & Walton Renaissance Series games) a good starting point and also good for kids as well as adults. I really like the inclusion of Talents which works really well and Doubloons which are basically like "Bennies" from Savage Worlds and allow extreme cinematic Swashbuckling actions to be made by the players. The addition of a "Black Spot" on the back of one of these bennies really adds to it . Draw that one and you will have a really bad day :). I hope that C&W somehow make these available as a physical product at some stage as that would be a truly awesome addition.

THE SETTING : Now, the Setting. Well, let's face it THIS is what the game is about. The best way to describe it is to think 7th Sea combined with D&D, Deadlands and Pirates of the Caribbean all rolled into one with an additional multitude of ideas and thoughts as well. P&D is set on an Earthlike world around what would be our mid 18th Century but with magic and fantasy permeating it for good measure. Just one part of the world is covered: A Caribbeanesque sea and lands full of mystery and adventure. As you would expect from the title both Pirates and Dragons play quite a large part in the setting. The Dragons have made this part of the world their own. Evidence exists of a once mighty Draconic Empire on a closeby continent but for whatever reasons the remains of this empire are little more than crumbling ruins. The simple fact is that dragons are now here, in the isles along with their associated wealth due to their love of gold. Mix in some external powers entering the islands not dissimilar to the Western Powers of 18th Century Earth, local tribes, an insectoid race and the Pirates and you have a hotbed of intrigue and danger with lots of swashbuckling.

OVERALL : The book is well written and is a credit to Messers Cakebread and Walton. Long may they keep up their purveying of fine games ! There is also some good support coming for the setting and I suspect the next few years will see some real expansion of this world. I would love to see more fiction about it and also further sourcebooks as well as Doubloons ! I have just scratched the surface of the product here to give an overview. Buy it , read it, play it and enjoy it !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates & Dragons Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Renaissance Deluxe
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2013 07:24:29

The Hardback copy of Renaissance Deluxe arrived today and this review is based on this version of it.

This is the first Print on Demand from CAKEBREAD & WALTON since they decided to leave the Cubicle 7 stable and make their own way in the world.

First things first : It was well packed in a cardboard sleeve which ensured no damage in transit. A big plus to start with

Second thing that stuck out was the quality of the product : The binding is excellent as is the quality of the paper used and the clarity of the print itself. It actually feels good to hold it in my hands. I am confident that the book will survive many gaming hours at the table as well as being carried and transported around. Much kudos to the printers - Lightning Source based in Milton Keynes UK.

I also need to comment on the speed of printing and delivery. I collected the book from the Post Office today (Saturday) but the card for it advising of attempted delivery had arrived on the previous Tuesday. That means that the order would have arrived on the 6th day rather that the expected 14 days. Now, that is FAST !

Now a list of the contents but before I start on this section I do need to state that I do actually write Adventures and Supplements for this system and regard it as one of the most flexible and easy to use D100 systems on the market. So far I have used it as a base to write Cthulhu Mythos, Heroic Fantasy and Historical Adventures set in the French Indian War.

The book consists of an introduction, 12 Chapters plus a very comprehensive Index.

Introduction : This is what it says. It provides background as to what a RPG is but does give some thoughts on how to use the rules in a variety of settings and historical periods which means that, unlike many such commentaries in other games, it is useful and worth reading even by experienced gamers. It also includes a handy glossary of terms used.

Chapter One : Character Generation. What it says - How to create your Adventurer set out in a logical and ordered step by step way which refers you to other parts of the book as required. It also includes a great way of connecting the Characters together and giving them a base reason as to how they know each other via a useful Connections & Events table.

Chapter Two : Professions. A list of 26 (yes ! 26 !) different careers to choose from covering the Dark Ages through to the Victorian era.

Chapter Three : Factions. Now, I really like Factions. These are social, political and religious ideals that the Character may belong to. These really help with fleshing out the Character but also provides extra options and some great hooks for the games master. A variety of generic, customisable, factions are presented along with four fully fleshed out examples.

Chapter Four : Skills. Skills are split into Common which everyone has to some degree and Advanced which require some level of training or expertise. The lists are comprehensive, without being overly specialised and allow the creation of well balanced characters that can positively contribute to a game session.

Chapter Five : Combat. Comprehensive rules for ranged and melee combat. The chapter is written in such a way that you can include or leave out what you want resulting in either a quite complex system including hit locations etc. , a fast and furious ruleset or something in between. It works and works well but just be warned - Like most D100 combat systems, it can be very deadly. Just make sure the odds are in your favour before launching into a fight ! The Combat Reference Sheet on page 61 is well worth copying and keeping close to hand.

Chapter Six : Rules and Systems. This covers all non-combat activity and has a stack of optional rules covering aging, vehicles and encumbrance. Like all the other sections it is easy to read, logically set out and comprehensive.

Chapter Seven : Equipment. The currency used is the old English pounds, shillings and pence which some may find confusing at first but when equated to the D&D copper, silver, electrum, etc method you soon get used to it. The lists and descriptions are well researched and pretty much complete covering clothing, services, melee , firearms, armour, etc.

Chapter Eight : Alchemy. This is an example of a magic system for the game including spells, potions and familiars which is easily adaptable and expanded upon.

Chapter Nine : Witchcraft. Another magic system with its own distinct flavour and further options complete with spells.

Chapter Ten : Bestiary. 14 pages of natural, un-natural, fantasy creatures and races. Using this as a base you can create Elf, Dwarf, Orc, etc. characters rather than the standard human ones. The artwork provides some interesting images of goblins and orcs in historical dress which fires the imagination as to pseudo-historical fantasy worlds (French Orcs, German Elves, Dutch Goblins anyone ?)

Chapter Eleven : Sanity. A set of optional rules for the inclusion of sanity in the Renaissance game. This opens up the way for dark fantasy and horror themes, including Lovecraft's Cthulhu lore, to be effectively added into a more traditional setting.

Chapter Twelve : Games Matering. A superbly written chapter on game worlds and adventures as well as thoughts on how to run a Renaissance game. My only complaint about the whole book really is I would have liked to have seen more covered here as Ken and Peter obviously have a wealth of experience on the subject. I am hoping that a Gamesmasters Guide is released at sometime in the future as a standalone product.

Overall : A great product and very recommended in the hardback format. I still have the paperback version of the rules from their Cubicle 7 days and that will certainly continue to see use as well but this hardback will be reserved at the table for me and will provide many hours of reference and reading. My best RPG acquisition of the year for the writing and quality (As a pointer this list includes: Traveller 5th, Achtung Cthulhu !, Rocket Age, Swords And Wizardry, DCC Core Rules and The Dark Eye RPG amongst others).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Streets
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2012 16:45:32

What can say about this gem ? As soon as I started reading it I was hooked with ideas galore springing up as to what I could do with it. Georgian London combined with the cosmic horror of the Cthulhu Mythos is a a very potent setting which, like Cthulhu by Gaslight, lends itself to occult mysteries very well.

First Impressions : Good and evocative artwork sets the scene for what is inside the covers. Pages are well laid out and I found that the page background art complimented the writing/font choice well rather than being a distraction.

Introduction : Well written and gives a solid idea of what type of stories can be told with this setting.

Chapter One - London : Informative and entertaining. It gives a good overview of London including fashion, culture, politics, morality and The Bow Street Runners. Do be warned though : It does cover some more Adult subjects than other games in the Renaissance line but it all fits in with the setting. The maps are superb and the locations are well researched. It reminded me of the Victoriana supplement : The Smoke in many ways which is certainly not a bad thing. As a sideline here I would love to see a seperate supplement going into yet more details of the sights & sounds of 1750 London (or other cities) if it was done in the same manner as found here.

Chapter Two - Character Creation : Good additions and options to the core Renaissance rules. This includes Runners & Consultants (the main type of characters that players will be generally using) as well as new skills

Chapter Three - Factions : A large number of new and retakes on existing Factions including my favourite: The Association which made an appearance in the Clockwork & Cthulhu Setting book. These are well written and thought through lending another dimension to the rules.

Chapter Four - The Mythos : The Cthulhu Mythos as it is in the 1700's. It is good to see The Dreamlands here and the way the Magic system works within the Renaissance rules framework. It is written in such a way that someone with no real knowledge about HPL will easily be able to portray the horror aspects within the game.

Chapter Five - Bestiary : A good mix of Mythos and Non-Mythos creatures are listed here including another favourite the Moon Beast. The "core" deities are covered in this section too. Each entry in this chapter contains good information rather than a couple of lines which I am really pleased about.

Chapter Six - Adventures : So as not to spoil things I will simply say Very impressed. Lots of seeds and NPC's followed by a full length scenario called "Gin & St Giles" which looks like a cracker !

Finally we have some ready-to-play Characters so you can jump straight in to play.

Summary : As much a fan as I am of the Renaissance line I think this is the best so far. It combines historical setting with horror and investigation. It also will fit smoothly in with the Core Rules to provide further Character options and it could then be the basis for so many differing styles and genres of play from swashbuckling to political to espionage and more. I would love to see this supported with additional material.

Another superb release from Messers Cakebread and Walton. THE Purveyors of Fine Imaginings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Streets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2011 08:12:49

Great set of rules - nothing really new but should bring them to a wider audience. I am now writing some product for this on the basis that it will do for Mongoose what the Savage Worlds did for Pinnacle - Good rule set, great price, excellent accessability



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buccaneers & Bokor Treasure Chest (Issues 1-3)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2008 12:30:38

Great Source material for use with ANY Pirate RPG. Very recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buccaneers & Bokor Treasure Chest (Issues 1-3)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back