RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy $16.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 10
3 11
1 4
0 0
0 0
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Click to view
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Raymond M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2011 04:43:28
This is a good game thanks for the stuff lets do it again sometime

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:36:58
I have to admit that I bought this to see what the Mutants & Masterminds system would look like doing a fantasy game. I does a very nice job, but frankly I'm not into romantic fantasy and so didn't ever use this product at the table (I bought True20 when it came out instead). Even though I don't really know much about romantic fantasy and so have a hard time judging whether this game prodives everything a fan would expect I do feel I can say that the game is well written and put together. The setting seems very nice, nothing too radical, but a good solid base to tell stories in. Good art the fit the feel (I assume) they were going for. Good game, even if I haven't really played it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2008 07:34:41
This is a game I have fell in love with by bits, little by little. The beauty of its simplicity, the setting, concrete enough to play, but vague enough for the enterprising GM I am to develop, is a master work of creativity.

The organization is OK, but is tailored for the eager player who has just bought the game and wants to have fun immediately, and not so much for easy reference (however with a 4 rings binder, or your local equivalent - that's not a problem).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Simon L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2007 00:00:00
I bought this one for two reasons:

One. I've been toying with the idea of using the three generic classes as a system base for a while, heard of this and thought I could save myself the work.

Two. I thought it might make a better system for running a Dragonlance campaign.




LIKED: The True20 system is a nice variant, but although it is meant to be simpler it actually comes across as more complicated than d20, mainly due to the wider array of choice at character creation. I admit a guilty liking to the slightly twee nature of the setting too.

DISLIKED: It's interesting but ultimately not *that* different to standard d20 to make me really sit up and take notice. This could be that there are few feats (beyond the magical) that aren't the same as d20, or class abilities turned feat. Something a bit more individual to the Blue Rose setting might have been nice.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2007 00:00:00
Something for those of a romantic persuasion, Blue rose is designed around romantic roleplying.
the True20 System is pretty unique in that you ave no hitpoints just a 4th save against damage.
Great setting in my opinion.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Leif E. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2006 00:00:00
A great roleplaying with innovative rules and a great system that really one me over.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Benjamin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2006 00:00:00
Have a significant other that is interested in RPGs but doesn't like all the hack and slash? Maybe they read some Fantasy, but their interests run to Romance novels or general fiction? You might want to take a look at Blue Rose.

I purchased it for two reasons: I have two non-gamers in my house (wife and 9 year old daughter) that I wanted to play a game or two with, and I had read about their stripped down set of d20 rules (now known as True20). Haven't run a game yet, but I enjoyed reading the setting and the rules.

The book itself gives you enough to run the setting and includes a sample adventure. I wish though that they would make the TOC available in RPGNow to give you a better idea of what you get.


LIKED: Setting was interesting and I think it's one that you can use to get people interested in RPGs that are more into role-playing than roll-playing.

DISLIKED: The feeling that I should probably purchase the other BR books to flesh out some of the ideas in this first volume.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Angus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2006 00:00:00
This is an intriguing product, more for the possibilities in the True20 system than in the setting itself. Indeed, until Green Ronin announced that they were going to sell True20 as a separate project, I feared that a good system was going to disappear due to prejudice against the setting.

I love the notion of stripping down the rules the bear essentials. There are only three classes (combat, skill-using, magical), each open to free interchange between the three. Characteristics are no longer on the 3-18 level, but are presented as modifiers; think simply of the modifier attached to the score, instead of the score itself.

Even the magic system works and all of combat on the single D20. Spells work like skills, which means that they can fail. Damage is done on the same die roll as the attack, comparing the attack roll, the defense, and the weapon modifiers to come up with a quick resolution. This means that almost everything moves more quickly and smoothly, without having to rely on minis and battle boards.

This is not a game for power-gamers. It is not for people who prefer combat first and foremost. It is not for people who want to keep all the core material of D&D without alterations. Conversely, if you are more interested in adding in greater flexibility to and emphasis on social interactions, a notion that magic is able to fail.

I recommend this system highly! Give it a shot, even if the setting is not entirely to your tastes.


LIKED: A re-envisioning and simplification of D20, this is really a massive breakthrough for the system. Only 1 die is used or needed. The over-complication of combat is stripped down to the interesting elements. Magic feels like an organic part of the system, rather than an entirely different series cobbled onto the core.

DISLIKED: Like many other people, I am not overly fond of the setting. I'm just not that enamored of Mercedes Lackey, and other similar writers, and this can be off-putting, including the whole animals-as-characters part.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Aaron M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2005 00:00:00
Great introduction to d20, or a great alternative for those who prefer a more streamlined set of rules.


LIKED: Great degree of customization of PCs.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Lowell F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2005 00:00:00
The system is escellent, the layout is excellent, the graphics are amazing. If you've looked at the teasers and are at all interested in the setting as presented you should check it out. If you're a fan of the Mutants and Masterminds system, you should look at how they modified it. If you want to see a very different take on d20 you should also think about getting it.

However: be warned, the setting is not everyone's cup of tea and it runs deeply through the presentation.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/26/2005 00:00:00
This review covers Blue Rose the PDF but the content will be the same as the print book that comes out hopefully later this month. Blue Rose is a setting and twist on the d20 system to make it a bit more rules light and to adapt it to the setting and structure of Romantic Fantasy. That begs the question of what is Romantic Fantasy? It is a genre that has really only been around for twenty of so years. It deals more with personal connections, character emotion and growth, and can tend to be rather black and white. The good guys accept all kinds of people and all kinds of life styles. Ones sex, race, religion, or personally beliefs does not matter as long as you are not making life worse for your neighbor. It deals with an almost utopian based society but it has its enemies. The bad guys are controlling and just evil. They live to destroy the good society and usually come really close but never succeed. In that regard it reminds me a lot of the pulp stories from the 1930?s. The book recommends the following authors for a better feel of romantic fantasy: Kristen Britian, Diane Duane, Mercedes Lackey, Elizabeth A Lynn, Robin McKinley, and Tomara Pierce.

Blue Rose is a two hundred and twenty five page PDF by Green Ronin. It is a big file over ten megs zipped. The book is designed by Jeremy Crawford, Dawn Elliot, Steve Kenson, and John Snead. The book is really easy to find things in having a nice two page table of contents, is fully book marked, and has a very big index an item that is not seen in many books these days. The layout and art in the book is great. There are some really impressive full page art pieces. .There could be more art in the monster section but really that is a minor complaint in the scope of this book.

The book starts with a section that is rarely seen in RPG books these days; it explains what role playing is, what romantic fantasy is, and walk people through the basics and the jargon. This is a small section of about ten pages but it really sets the tone and shows how the writers are really thinking about their audience and are prepared for people new to gaming using their book. Next, the book goes into the world. Without diving to deeply into it; this section gives s a good overview of the gods, the countries, and the histories. There are gods of light (good), gods of twilight (neutral), and the gods of shadow (evil). The section talks about the creation of the world and how things fit together and have developed over time. It really lays the ground work to make the places seem real and realistic. There is a simple logical progression on how things have happened. Aldis is the country the game focuses on. We get some great details like day to life, education, government, travel, some customs, crimes and justice, how arcane abilities are viewed, religion, and holy days. The details are just great making the day to role playing and the feeling of actually living in this country really come to life.

There are plenty of threats to this nation of freedom. From the unscrupulous merchants and the fallen nobles, to the very real and deadly shadow cults and all sorts of the threats in between. There are pirates and bandits and sorcerers and cabals. It seems like a dangerous place to live at times. All in all there is a nice over view of the different countries and some of the opponents to good in the area. There is a nice map of the area and hopefully more maps will be coming in up and coming products. A bigger view at the world map would also make a great web enhancement.

Creating a character is a bit different then a standard d20 game. First of all attributes are represented by a modifier and not just a number. The average score is a zero with the lowest be a -5 and the highest being as high as they can get. However, no score can start out greater then +5 before racial modifiers. This is very similar to the Ars Magca attribute system for people familiar with that. Assigning attributes is done through a point based system that is very simple. Each player gets 6 points to distribute. They can lower some stats to higher others on a one by one basis. So, I can lower intelligence to a -2 to boost dexterity by +2. The attributes are very well defined and there is even a great side bar that discusses what a character with some high and low mental attributes behave. It is a great side bar that should help let people figure out how stats help with role playing a character. Next the player can choose her race and back ground. Backgrounds help define where the character comes from like one of the countries, an island folk, the forest, etc. Not all races get backgrounds as some races are only from one area. The races include the standard human, and some odder choices like intelligent animals and more mystical races like the long lived Vata. The races are all pretty fascinating and offer some very interesting role playing challenges. For instance playing an intelligent dolphin will hold some unique opportunities for both e Narrator (the person running the game) and the player.

The role of the character is the class. Blue Rose uses three generic classes much like the generic classes found in Unearthed Arcana. Blue Rose though adds a few differences to them given each a class defense and reputation score. The roles are Adept, Expert, and Warrior. Most abilities are gained through the acquisition of feats. Unlike other games feats are gained every level since none of the classes offer any special abilities that are set in stone. There is a lot of general feats and a section of feats that are only available to each class. Multi classing is fully allowed and allows characters to become broad of skill. Skills are also done a bit differently. Characters do not get skill points, instead they have known and unknown skills (class and cross class) as well as favored and not favored. A favored skill is assumed to have max ranks for ones levels. It is possible to acquire new favored skills by multi classing or through gaining the right feats. This will be an odd change that I think will take a bit of getting used to. But it will make character creation and leveling up a lot easier with out worrying about skill points. There is another little extra idea they have here called Conviction. Each character gets so many based on their level and they can spend them to heal, re roll a die, get a bonus to dodge etc. A character regains conviction slowly through time but faster depending on their actions.

The skills and feats make up the bulk of what the character can do. The skill list has been trimmed down to twenty five skills about ten or so less then a standard d20 game. I like the scaled down skill selection it still covers everything a character will want to do and allows for plenty of customization. The feats represent the true character power. There are feats for combat, for skills and for magic and psionic abilities. It really has a great and simple system for magic and psionics. There are no spells or spell levels that one has to worry about. No preparations of spell lists or anything like that. The arcane systems has a nice fatigue system that will slowly effect the caster to prevent lots of magic in a short period of time. There are some familiar feats like far shot and the ability to gain a familiar. There are plenty of options and it would be easy to take feats from other products and have them work for the setting. The game has no advanced classes and no prestige classes. The simplest way to include them I think is to make their abilities into feats with interesting names and requirements. This will work perfectly within the system as it is set up with the littlest amount of work having to be done by the Narrator.

Magic is very interesting. It is skill and feat based. The effects have a difficulty and that difficulty can get harder depending on the relationship between the caster and the recipient of the magic. Seeing the person has a no modifier to the check, but spells cast with out the person around can really get challenging. Some spells require attacks and other have saving throws. There are lots of options within the system. It seems easy to use and pretty straight forward. That actually can be said about the whole game, I like the simplicity of it all.

The game uses the wealth system from d20 modern. One minor change they made is they do not have the profusion skill to gain wealth. Instead they recommend determining which of the skills the character would use (diplomat uses diplomacy, musician uses perform, thief uses slight of hand etc) instead of having a single skill who?s only purpose is the wealth mechanic. The game does use a damage system like the one found in Mutants and Masterminds and not the hit point system of D&D. Each weapon has a single damage bonus and not a range of damage. Critical hits multiple the damage so critical can actually be really bad. The weapon and armor tables are familiar and a little smaller then in most games. The equipment lists on the other hand a little larger. It also includes some basic magical elixirs and stones. Most magical creations can not be made anymore as the knowledge has been lost but these two types of simple magical things are still being made today.

Next, the book goes into playing the game. It covers the basic rules like standard actions, using social skills in game, and movement. It starts out very rules oriented but then moves and covers a few areas that are very important for narrators to know about. These include when to fudge a die roll, how to improvise, saying yes to the players, and making mistakes. There is some really good advice in these few pages that hopefully most narrators have had a chance to read or something like it.

One big change from most ordinary games to Blue Rose is the different types of role playing that are emphasized. These are specifically discussed in a very thorough way. The book goes into emotional role playing, effect of reputation, role playing romance, and intrigue. The book has great advice and urges Narrators to not create situations that the players will be uncomfortable with. Not every one wants to role apply a love interest or experience the emotionally lose of a pet through their character. It is very important for the Narrator and the players to be on the same page in this area. While Romantic Fantasy does include these elements, the game is not hinged on them. Any or all of these can be removed from the game. It will change how the game is run and how it feels, but it will not make the game unplayable.

The book finishes up with a small bestiary, a short adventure, and conversion rules to make this book work with and d20 product. The creatures presented include many animals and basic write ups for the player races. There are plant creatures, elements creatures, and shadow spawn the mostly evil creatures that make life difficult for our heroes.

This product is one of the few I have been waiting for. Ever since I learned of it last year it has been on my must get as soon as it comes out list. And frankly not many books make that list. This book has lived up to my expectations and really surpassed them. I have read some of the books that inspired the setting and it really shows through with the level of though t and detail that this product has. It works for me as a very well done rules light version of d20 and also as a very fascinating setting and role playing challenge. I eager await the follow books Green Ronin has planned.


QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2005 00:00:00
I bought it for its innovative rules system, but this can now be purchased separately as the True 20 system.

Its a game of romantic fantasy, so should provide a good change of pace from the usual hack and slash of many d20 system games - if you can find people willing to look beyond the word "romantic" (my regular role-playing group win't even consider it, unfortunately).

It does a good job of introducing romantic fantasy, and centres around 3 countries - the utopia the players are assumed to be from, the realm of the evil sorcerer and the nation of misguided zealots.

LIKED: The tone and style; its very different from the other games I own.

DISLIKED: I woul have liked more detail about the world, rather than just having 3 nations.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Faith F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2005 00:00:00
The world itself is a wonderful change. For those of us who enjoy good guys vs. bad guys this is the place. We are launching our first BR campaign tomorrow. One thing that needs improvement is the character creation chapter. It needs to be cleaned up and ordered. There is too much jumping from section to section to build a character. But the setting is beautiful and creative.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Erskin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2005 00:00:00
Beautiful artwork and a clear direction make this work the definative guide to the realm of fantasy that has long gone unrepresented in roleplaying games.

While I am not necesarily a fan of the True20 system, it does seem simpler in some ways than that d20 system and seems to work well enough, I suppose.

What makes this book more than worth the cost is not the system however, but the setting. Romantic fantasy may seem at first "over the top cheesy" but don't be scared off by first galnce.

For too long fantasy settings have been scared to even consider some of the in depth character interaction adn development that is the mainstay of romantic fantasy. Even if you don't quite feel up to drowning yourself in the rich alternative that Blue Rose provides, recognizing what the alternatives you've been missing is vital. Just by adding /some/ of the character depth and relationship-focused story elements into your game can be an incredible change for the better.

Being hopelessly in love is only cheesy when you're a jealous spectactor. Those of you looking to find a fantasy world that deals with characters place in society and relationship to others as well as high adventure are in for a real treat with Blue Rose.

The rest of us are just as lucky to have someone show just how much a LITTLE bit of romance, relationship, or emotional focus can bring SO much more to our roleplaying.

Once you try a little, you'll wonder how you didn't notice how empty and hollow your games were without it.

LIKED: Incredible setting with clear and blanced focus on character depth in ways not otherwise seen in roleplaying settings before. Real examples of how to deal with romatic relationships as well as platonic ones. PLenty of high morals in real world situations.

DISLIKED: True20 just isn't for me. And as much as d20 would have made it more accesibe to the general RPG populace, I understand that d20 feels too inflexible and slow, and awkward for the setting. To me, it really calls out to be done in Savage Worlds.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Elzbeth M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2005 00:00:00
Having read 7 books from Mercedes Lackey's Valdemar series, I can safely say that Blue Rose remains very true to the romantic fantasy genre.

Some people may tout the mechanics rules while complaining about the setting, stating that the kingdom of Aldis is too whitesy-lightsy or goodie-goodie for their gaming tastes. All I can say to them is this: That's what romantic fantasy is all about.

If you don't like the idea of romantic fantasy as a gaming genre, save yourself the heartache and buy the True20 rules separately (available through RPGNow). But for those of you (myself included) who enjoyed Lackey's Valdemar, or Tanya Huff's "Sing the Four Quarters" series, check out Blue Rose. I promise you won't be disappointed.

LIKED: Options for those animal-crazy gamers to PLAY an intelligent animal.

DISLIKED: I don't care for the wealth system, but only because I like to count my coins and list my items on reams of paper. Not having to keep track of it all does streamline the shopping process.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG