RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Dungeon Bash v1.1 $9.95 $7.95
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 10
6 2
0 0
1 0
0 0
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Click to view
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Eric L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2007 08:29:33
Absolutely Genious!!!!
This is the best product on the market.
Hands down...the best.

LIKED: EVERYTHING

DISLIKED: NOTHING

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by gabriel d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2007 00:00:00
i like it.i like it.i like it.i like it.i like it.i like it.i like it.i like it.i like it.i like it.


LIKED: thought out well, great for spur of the moment gaming, solo play rules, easy to learn, updated with web enhancements

DISLIKED: ...

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by James N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2006 00:00:00
This set of rules rocks. It is well thought out, and fun to play. Also very easy to adapt to... whatever you choose!


LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by brian s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2006 00:00:00
Was a breath of fresh air to our gaming nights thats for sure. Instant hit with the group. We like to crack skulls and loot dead bodies and thats what DB is all about. Solo play or no DM with 4+ plus characters is great. Finally i get to kill something other than my friends characters :P


LIKED: Very nice bundle, tons of charts and bonus pdf's all the stuff you need and more.Great replay value. The random encounter table is a blast but dont let your buddies that roll low throw the dice :P DB did all the work here from quests to side quests and full pdf of monsters with treasure tables gallore. At the price for DB its like your stealling it.

DISLIKED: No real dislikes , but me and my group friends had some house rules that would play simillar to DB but lacked in alot of places. DB did all the hardwork and figured out a way to do it so it plays smooth. So what im sayin is theres no real big change in the DnD sessions we had, except that we have all the charts and all the scenerio's already worked out and that leaves more time to have fun and less time diving in books .

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Brent R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2006 00:00:00
This is something I have dreamed someone would do for a long time. I often thought of setting something like Dungeon Bash up based on my old Warhammer Quest/Hero Quest days. But this takes the cake. You can simply sit down with friends and have at it. No DM required, its perfect for the days when no one had anything prepared to run. I have even used it in a GM session for those little dungeon crawls that only serve the purpose of hiding a map to the real adventure.



LIKED: I enjoyed the simplified rules for combat. Often that is what bogs a game down, and with this it flows. I also enjoy the file structure. PDFs broken into pieces, so you can print them out and use them as quick reference. No heavy graphics. Just to the point.

Support is also nice. Via a forum on the companies website, you can get any question answered quickly.

DISLIKED: I would like to see more. The goblinoid dungeon charts expansion via the website is great. But urban bash / wilderness bash even though advertised for a while have been a long while coming.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Daryl A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2006 00:00:00
An overall excellent game and worthy investment. Great to just sit down and spend a few hours, and infinitely expandable depending upon your resources available.


LIKED: The randomization aspect is something I've always found helpful so that I can actually sit down and bash some heads with my friends, instead of running the game all the time. The pre-statted creatures are worth it as well.

DISLIKED: Not a whole lot of role-playing involved while bashing, but I think that's part of the point. And it's always possible to add dimensions of RP as necessary.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Andrew B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
Note: I received this copy for free for purposes of reviewing it. I was able to play Dungeon Bash a few times before writing this review.

Dungeon Bash is a set of rules for generating and playing random dungeon-based adventures for D&D. The game doesn?t stand alone (and isn?t really meant to), but works as a supplement to standard D&D. It?s accurately described as a combination of RPG and boardgame.

THE RULES
Before actually playing Dungeon Bash, I expected a game that played like a board game based on D&D. In reality, Dungeon Bash is less a board game with D&D roots and more a slightly streamlined 3.5E game with built-in dungeon generator. The characters are basically D&D characters (although the rules point out that some classes work better in the dungeon environment than others), and the combats are conducted using all of the usual D&D rules (initiative, feats, etc.) There are a few feats that are unique to Dungeon Bash, and a few new uses for skills that attempt to make them more useful than they would otherwise be in the random dungeon environment (such as Gather Information.)

A typical session of Dungeon Bash goes a little something like this: players generate a dungeon on the fly and explore it while trying to achieve some sort of goal. This goal usually involves reaching a final room and defeating a big bad evil guy, finding a certain item, or some similar task, although the game has enough variations on this to keep things interesting.

Along the way, players encounter things typical of a traditional dungeon crawl adventure: wandering monsters, NPCS, traps, and treasure. The rules are written assuming you have someone acting as GM, whose job it is to roll random encounters, run the monsters, and generate the dungeon layout. Rules are also included for those without a GM (or for someone playing solo). The random encounter rules are clever and easy to use. I also liked the rules for tracking turn order outside of combat. I thought that the game handled random traps well, but I would have liked to see a more interesting variety of traps.

I was pleased to see the inclusion of NPCs as possible random encounters. The game gives rules for interacting with them, along with corresponding rewards (or unpleasant consequences) depending on what you do and how well you roll. Looking over the list of possible NPC encounters, I can see how things might get a little repetitive once you?ve encounter a handful of NPCs. I would have liked a little more flavor and variety in the encounters and their descriptions. Still, it?s cool that the game includes more than just hostile monster encounters.

OTHER COMPONENTS
In addition to the rulebook, Dungeon Bash comes with some other stuff.

TILES AND COUNTERS
These are color room and corridor tiles. While the would look best printed out in a color and mounted on backerboards, they didn?t look half bad just printed out in black-and-white and spread out on the gaming table. As a bonus, the tiles would work well in a standard D&D game.

The counters aren?t that impressive, and just feature the name of the creature (i.e. ?goblin?) written in white on a brightly colored background. They?d do in a pinch, but it?s more likely that your average gamer is going to want to tap into his D&D minis when ?Dungeon Bashing.?

TABLES AND SUMMARY
The tables include stat blocks for every monster and NPC that you could possibly encounter in the base game. These aren?t just generic SRD monsters, but include many, many opponents with class levels as well. This is a big printout, and I found it a little cumbersome to actually use at the gaming table. Between the rulebook, the monster stats book, the random tables, and the treasure charts?I felt a little overwhelmed by all this stuff. I wonder if the game would play a little easier for a group with a laptop. Since the encounter tables are RTF files, though, it would be fairly easy to simple copy, paste, and print only the tables and creatures you need.

BONUS
The download also included area templates, a blank map, a spell reference sheet, and sample characters at 1st, 3rd, 5th, and 10th level.



LIKED: Dungeon Bash is a lot of fun. The game plays like a low-level D&D dungeon crawl, but with minimal preperation. Need something to do on an off-gaming night? Dungeon Bash is the answer.

DISLIKED: Dungeon Bash would benefit from more flavor. I think the designers went for generic, and ended up a bit too vanilla. There is plenty of room for expansion, though, and it wouldn?t take much to add things like themed dungeons, custom NPC encounter charts, unique traps, etc. to make the game a little spicier.

To their credit, the Other Game Company seems to realize this, and their website hints at a number of expansions (at least two of which will be free to those who buy the original) in the works.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Aaron M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2005 00:00:00
Very nice twist on d20 rules. If you like Warhammer Quest or HeroQuest, give this one a look.


LIKED: Lots of content - well worth the money.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Jacob L. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2005 00:00:00
Wow! I've been waiting for D&D rules similar to Warhammer Quest since D&D 3.5 hit the shelves. This is it, and I'm having a blast. I'm also looking forward to TOGC's forthcoming expansions for city & wilderness play. Why stop at the dungeon door?

I rarely give top marks to anything, but this one deserves it.

LIKED: The pre-generated treasure tables are both faster, and slightly more generous than those in the DMG. Now I'll finally be able to let my characters take the time to craft their own masterworks & magic items. TOGC's making the full DB mechanics OGL will make it easier to computerize the game for smoother solo play. Adding the floor tiles to the collection was the icing on the cake.

DISLIKED: I would prefer to see most of the supplementary tables & such as part of the master document with full bookmarking for hopping around, rather than having them separated out into separate PDFs. I've already got too much clutter on my taskbar, and this just adds to it.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2005 00:00:00
Highly recommended. Play is reminiscent of Advanced Heroquest or Warhammer Quest, but using d20 rules. Especially useful both in the game and in general play are the lengthy list of pregenerated NPCs of various races and levels and the flowchart for solo play, showing what each monster will do next. Some of the NPC skill levels look a little strange, I think they have too many hit points, especially the pregenerated Rogue PCs. Good value for money.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Derek D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2005 00:00:00
Holy Shiatsu! I am very glad to see this product come out! I had been wanting to design something very similar for our group to play with and now I can take it off the "to do" list. Utilizing the d20 system makes it very flexible to incorporate into other games with a little thought and a good testing ground for "house rules" you might want to implement in RPG sessions without designing a "hack and slash" scenario just to try them.

LIKED: It's a well-rounded product that includes everything you need to get playing, minus the dice.

DISLIKED: Typos! It needed some further proofreading before release, but they don't interfere with understanding of game mechanics. Just a nitpick.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash v1.1
Publisher: The Other Game Company
by Matthew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2005 00:00:00
Dungeon Bash is basically what I expected. A game in the likeness of Heroquest. I thought the major difference in building the dungeon, however, is that DB dungeons have more doors, so it seems easier to find that "quest room"; also there is only one "level" for each mission. Basically, this seems more streamlined than Heroquest. It is geared toward D20 D&D, but could be modified for another game system. But clearly most of the work has been put into making this a D20 game (monster tables, treasure tables, etc...). The included missions were a nice way to give flavor to the dungeon hacking. I think that with some home game tweaks, this game may become very popular for that niche of people who loved Heroquest.

LIKED: Solo play (no GM)!

DISLIKED: I felt that the position of monsters/objects in the rooms were left too open. Too bad there wasn't a way to roll up where these things are placed. In solo play, seems like players will place monsters to their advantage.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for this very kind review! To your criticism: duly noted. I designed the rules the way the appear in the rulebook to keep the dice rolls needed to a minimum (for quicker gameplay), but you're right - for those who want a more complex game I should've added rules for that. Expect these to be added to Chapter 5 in the upcoming update (where I'll also add the DB cards to the ZIP). Oh, and for object placement: the DB dungeon cards will indicate which objects are to be placed at what position.
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG