RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The B/X Rogue
Publisher: Necrotic Gnome Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/24/2015 12:06:41

I love new B/X classes. If I have demonstrated nothing else here it is that. So when +Gavin Norman of the excellent City of Iron blog and Necrotic Gnome Productions came out with a new B/X class, well I had to get it.
Gavin has already given us some great classes in his Theorems & Thaumaturgy and The Complete Vivimancer. Now he takes on the thief archetype in The B/X Rogue.


I say archetype because what this book tries (and succeeds, but more on that in a bit) to do is create a Rogue class that encompasses all of the various "sub-classes" we have seen on the thief over the years. How he does it is both very elegant and very, very basic, if not Basic.


Like the thief the rogue has a number of talents at his/her disposal. Instead of a percentile (or d20) roll the rogue is assumed to be fully proficient in their talent. The differences lie in the choice of talents and some of the talents themselves. The example given is the iconic Remove Traps. If a rogue has this at 1st level then they can remove or disable a trap 100% of the time. However the types of traps are now changed. The rogue can only disable small mechanical traps. Not huge pits in the floor.


The rogue class begins with 4 talents. This increases by 1 per level. Some talents have prerequisites and can only be taken at 5th level (Expert Talents, love the split of Basic and Expert Talents here). Outside of that the class it remarkably like the B/X thief.


The bulk of the book describe the 36 talents a rogue might take. This allows for near infinite (or close enough for the amount of character sheets I'll print out) rogue types. There are even magical talents for the Bards and Arcane Tricksters out there. Of course I immediately went to the magic section and quickly figured out an Occult Scholar, a rogue that raids tombs and libraries for bits of arcane knowledge and some spells to help them out. Won't help you when you need an orc killed, unless he has a scroll for it.


There is also a very useful table to help you with your archetypes. Want an assassin? Great, take back-stab, hide, garotte, move quietly at 1st level. There are 10 of these, so a d10 will also get you up and going fast. Don't want a magic-one? Easy. Roll a d8 instead.


The PDF itself is 26 pages; a front cover, a back cover and two page OGL, all for a $1.50. Not a bad deal at all really, especially when consider how flexible this class is now.
If you are a fan of the theif class, B/X or Gavin's other classes then this is a must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The B/X Rogue
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics
Publisher: DYS Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/11/2015 13:03:04

This book is designed for the White Star game.Though it can be ported over to Swords & Wizardry with no issues. The psionist is introduced and powers are detailed. The psionist chooses a focus power area and sticks with that in the game. A nice, simple system with some useful powers. 11 pages with cover and OGL.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crypts & Creatures Psionics Handbook
Publisher: Pick Up & Go Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:45:04

At 12 pages for 50 cents this looks like a deal. But what we have here is a stripped down version of the psionic classes from the d20 SRD for the OSR crowd. I would have liked to see some more to be honest. There are classes and powers listed, but not really detailed. Now for someone this will be just perfect, but most people I think will want some more.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crypts & Creatures Psionics Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Osric Psionic Combat
Publisher: Dragoneer Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:42:00

This book has a lot of charm. A quick look at the author, artist and contributors leads me to believe this was something a whole family put together and then played. I can relate and honestly the book gets an extra star just for that. The books covers a very simple psionic combat system and a psionist class. Nothing more really. But that is all it set out to do, so great. I might not play as written, but the detail here is great and would convert nicely to any of the other systems I have used.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Osric Psionic Combat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Old-School Psionics
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:36:44

Designed to be a new psionics system for OSRIC this book introduces the Mentalist class. Powers are divided out among disciplines going to 7th level. Powers are treated mostly like spells, but that works well for adding into OSRIC. Also some psionic monsters are detailed including my favorite (and worth the price of the book) the Doppleganger as a proper psionic monster. 22 pages including cover and OGL. Very nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Psionics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

White Box Options: Psychic Talents [Swords & Wizardry]
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:31:19

At 10 pages this book really exemplifies what people love about S&W. Quick and easy rules that slot in nicely with the game they are playing. This is more of a psychic wild talent add on. Feels similar to the wild talent powers in AD&D1 or even OD&D. Random table of powers and descriptions of all the powers. Not a bad deal for just under 2 bucks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Options: Psychic Talents [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PX1 Basic Psionics Handbook
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2015 12:54:55

I love Basic-era gaming. Basic/Expert D&D was the first D&D I ever played. Even when I had moved on to Advanced D&D, it still had a strong Basic feel to it. So I was very, very pleased to hear about +Richard LeBlanc's new psionics book, Basic Psionics Handbook.
If you have been reading his blog, Save vs Dragon, a lot of what is in the book won't be a surprise, but it is all great stuff. Even then there are things in the book that are still a treat and a surprise.


The book itself is 58 pages (PDF), full-color cover and black/white interior.

The book covers two basic (and Basic) classes, the Mystic and the Monk. Both use the new psionic system presented in the book. The system bears looking at and really is a treat.


Overview. This covers the basics including how psionics is not magic and how attributes are used. It's a page of rules that slot in nicely with the normal Basic rules. The basics of psychic power including Psionic Level and Psionic Strenght Points (PSP) are introduced.


Mystics are next. Mystics in this case are more molded on the Eastern philosophy of mystics, not the clerical sub-class-like mystics I have detailed in the past. Though through the lens of Western thought. That's fine this is not a religious analysis, this is a game book. This class helps builds the psionic system used in this book based on the seven chakras. Chakras divide the psionic powers into broad groups; something like the schools of magic for spells. As the mystic progresses in level, they open up more and more chakras.
Each chakra has seven Major Sciences and twelve Minor Devotions, similar to the old AD&D rules (but not exactly the same, so read carefully). This gives us 72 devotions and 42 sciences. That's quite a lot really.
As the mystic progresses they also earn more PSPs and more attack and defense modes. They are the heavy hitters of the psionic game.


Monks are the next class. Monks really are more of psionic using class in my mind and to have them here next to the mystic is a nice treat for a change. Everything you expect from the monk is here. Unarmed attacks, no need for armor and lots of fun psionic based combat powers. The monk does not have the psionic power the mystic does, but that is fine it is not supposed to. It does have a some neat powers from the mystic's list. One can easily see a monastery where both mystics and monks train together, one more mental and the other more physical. The monk has plenty of customization options in terms of choice of powers. In truth it is a very elegant system that shows it's strength with the mystic and it's flexibility with the example of the monk.

This is very likely my favorite monk class.


Psionic Disciplines detail all the powers of the chakras. It is a good bulk of the book as to be expected. There are not as many psionic powers as you might see spells in other books, but this is a feature, not a bug. Powers can be used many times as long as the psychic still has PSP. Also many do more things as the character goes up in level.


Psionic Combat is next and deals with the five attack modes and five defense modes of psychic combat. The ten powers are detailed and an attack vs. defense matrix is also provided. The combat is simple and much improved over it's ancestors.


The next large section details all the Psionic Monsters. Some of these are right out of the SRD but others are new. Personally I am rather happy to see a Psychic Vampire. Though it is not listed, I assume that these creatures are also undead and are turned as if they were vampires.


Appendix A deals with something we abused the hell out of, Wild Psionics. At two pages it is the simplest set of rules I have seen for this sort of thing. Also it looks like something that could be ported into ANY version of D&D including and especially D&D 5.


Get out your crystals, Appendix B details Psionic Items. Again, short, sweet and to the point.


Appendix C: Psionics and Magic is a must read chapter for anyone wanting to use both in their games.


Appendix D: Phrenic Creatures turns normal creatures into psionic ones.


Appendix E covers Conversions for Monsters from LeBlanc's own CC1: Creature Compendium.
Appendix F details how to convert any monster into a psionic one.


We end with a a couple pages of collected tables and the OGL.


Bottom line here is this is a great book. Everything you need to play psionic characters and add psionics to your game. Personally I am going to use this to beef up The Secret Machines of the Star Spawn which I also picked up today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PX1 Basic Psionics Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PC1 - The OSR Warlock
Publisher: Jeremy Reaban
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/28/2015 11:38:34

A good example of what I call a "blasty warlock" is Jeremy Reaban's The OSR Warlock. Like his Witch Hunter book this book has a number of nice features in addition to the class. The class does not cast spells, it does have lot of special powers. This is by design and owning to the stated OGC and pulp sources. The warlock here does get some spell like abilities in place of powers. It actually works rather nicely What I think makes this book special is the level advancement tables for "First Edition", "Original Edition", "Basic/Expert" and "Cyclopedic Edition". Plus the author has a section of notes on the class.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PC1 - The OSR Warlock
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghosts -- The Incorporeal Undead
Publisher: James Mishler Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/22/2015 12:22:42

James Mishler has been producing quality material for the "Basic" era games for a number of years. I have followed him online and have always enjoyed his posts in various forums and on his own blog.

James has been in the business of releasing his own material for a couple of years now and they are always fun. Well this Halloween he has really, really outdone himself.


I grabbed his latest product Ghosts -- The Incorporeal Undead, pretty much without reading the details. It was James. It was Ghosts. How could I loose? Well let me tell you. I was in for a sweet surprise! I will be honest here. Pretty much EVERY other games can deal with ghosts better than D&D used too. This little book has a lot of work to do.


First off this "little" PDF is 64 pages. I printed it out and it would make a great supplement to my collection of various "Basic Era" books. Put on a nice cover and it would be right at home next to Labyrinth Lord, The Witch and many, many other books on my shelf. Let me step back for a moment and comment on this. James really "gets" Basic D&D. He knows why people choose it over Advanced or other games. His rules are very much in the vein of Basic/Expert and BECMI style D&D (More B/X than BECMI) but he also gives people options who like more Advanced-feeling games.


We begin with an overview of what ghosts are. I was pleased to see that this book treats ghosts as all being unique. A brief description of common powers to all ghosts is also given. Detail is paid to two of these powers, Fear and Level/Life Drain. In keeping with the Basic roots, the Fear effects table is simple and effective. If you are playing a horror game then you might want more, but in truth this is plenty. Level Drain is also discussed and how to regain those levels.

Now for me, I am still more inclined to use Constitution drain instead of level drain. Thankfully the rules as written here will allow that.


Next we get into people and animals with the Sixth Sense and Sensitives. No detailed rules here, just a nice simple approach that I really like. There is also a discussion on Mediums and Séances. Now THESE are much needed rules. This helps move ghosts from a monster with X amount XP to something that can be worked into a plot. We end with some information on ghost-sensitive animals. I love what he has done with cats and am thinking of using it for all witch familiars.


Next is the meat of the book. Ghosts Lesser and Greater. This is the "monster listing" of all the ghost types with their powers, weaknesses and alternate types. Included are some old favorites like Apparitions, Haunts, Spectres and Wraiths next to new one like Lost Souls and Geists. Following this is a list and description of all the special abilities (And ectoplasms) of the ghosts. You can mix and match to make anytype of Ghost you want. Following this is uses for uncanny ectoplasm.


There is a section on magic items. Some spells usable by or on or about ghosts.
(*The Spawn Ghost spell is really nice. If you are playing a witch then the spell level is 5.)


Finally is a Creepy Appendix N. There are a lot great resources on this page for ghosts of every type "inspired by anything from Hanna-Barbera and H.R. Pufnstuf to H.P. Lovecraft and H.R. Giger"!


There is no art. BUT I also want to add that ghosts are either invisible or look like anything. So this is not a downmark for this book.


If you play any old-school game, original or OSR, and you use ghosts, then you need this book. It isn't revolutionary, but it does feel a much needed gap in the rules and (if for no other reason) it will get game masters and players thinking about ghosts a different way.

Combine this with his Vampires of the Olden Lands for some serious Halloween fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts -- The Incorporeal Undead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PC3 - The OSR Witch Hunter
Publisher: Jeremy Reaban
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/21/2015 13:53:57

This book has a number of nice features in addition to the class. The class does not cast spells, nor does it have a lot of special powers. This is by design and owning to the stated literary source. It does have some skills such as read magic and turn undead. What I think makes this special is the level advancement tables for "First Edition", "Original Edition", "Basic/Expert" and "Cyclopedic Edition". Nice feature if you ask me



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PC3 - The OSR Witch Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player Paraphernalia #11 The Witch Hunter
Publisher: The Knotty-Works
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/21/2015 13:46:48

This class also gets good combat ability and some powers, but it also gets spells to 4th level. This puts it on par with the Ranger. It has a couple of new feats, but no new spells. Though you are getting a lot here for a buck and half.
I liked how this one was more focused against witches than just any spell casting class.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player Paraphernalia #11  The Witch Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/16/2015 11:06:39

Anyway, I picked up +Venger Satanis' latest book, How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss, not because I think I need help running my games (I have been running games for 35+ years now) but because I Was very, very curious about what he had to say. Besides, I am sure there had to be some tips worth reading. In any case, I am certain it was going to be a fun read.
I also wanted to read this because I was curious about his "O5R" philosophy. I have been doing something similar in my games with my kids, and I wanted to see his views.


To begin VS talks about what Role-Playing and Game-Mastering is. Ok, I expect this. He made a point about how he used to run games to where he is now.
• Do I have all my stuff (books, notes, dice, etc.)?
• Do I have a general idea of what’s going to happen?
• Am I ready to crank this bitch up to 11?
I understand this. I have a game I am running at a convention in 24 hours or so. Right now the only thing I would add to that list is "Do I have my Pre-gens?"


The book itself is largely divided up into various short essays that talk about what to do in any broadly defined situation. A lot of it is common sense, but there are few gems in there as well. I like the bits on handling NPCs and especially the NPC villains. In truth, his "Seinfeld" advice was about the last thing I expected to read here but I enjoyed it.

Other treats include the "Who to Blame" random table. Most of the tables are pretty fun and many are very useful. I loved the whole section of tables about Cults.

There is a section on the magical language he created for his games that add a nice bit of flavor, but I am wondering if would not have been better in The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence book.


It ends with three sample maps and an afterward.


While I certainly thought of this as a fun read I am not sure I got that much out of it. Granted I also don't think I am the target audience. I will certainly use the tables and his magical words are kind of neat. I think what I really need to do is give this one to my son and have him read it. He is a longtime player, but has only run a few games. He certainly has anxiety about running (as well all did the first few times) and I know there are some things in here that would help him out.


I think I will certainly use his cult tables to see what I can come up with.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crimson Dragon Slayer
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/15/2015 13:28:07

I had pretty high hopes for this one. I am part of his target audience, I enjoyed the 80s, enjoy a gonzo edge to my games, and I don't mind mixing my genres a bit. I also don't mind doses of humor in my games. But....well maybe I just didn't "get it" in this one.


I want to start off with the things I liked. The book is gorgeous and I am happy to see that VS is spending his money on art than say orgies dedicated to Cthulhu. No idea though he might be doing both. But the art is great looking in this book. It is basically three varieties, the "Lovecraftian" art found in earlier products (ex. on p. 23), the sword & sorcery (p. 11) and the humorous (p. 14). My favorite though is on page 4. The layout is fantastic and the character sheet on page 41 is a gem. Plus that cover art. Really, really excellent. If the arrt was a problem for you in his other products then take heart here. There is nothing here that isn't PG, and dare I even say it, G rated. Even the scantily clad barbarian and maiden on page 11 are still covered more than a swimsuit issue.


While reading this I am struck with how this is the RPG version of the Heavy Metal story "Den". In the movie a kid from earth is transported to a sci-fi/S&S world where he become a might thewed (and bald) barbarian. Not a bad idea really, and something I could do more with than say Carcossa. But it is also riff on the Dungeons & Dragons cartoon.


The book itself is a bunch of house rules. Again, this is what was advertised. Many were hinted at in previous books. Some are good, many I have seen in one form or another elsewhere over the last 35 years. A couple things jump out at me.
Infernal Elf: I have to admit I rather like this idea and it is something I have been toying with myself since listening to Kim Harrison's Hallows series. In that book Elves and Demons are ancient enemies, but are a little closer than they would like. This works right in with that.
Robots: Hmm. No. Not really my thing, but I get why it is here.


The chapter on magic is interesting and something I might adopt. At this point I am imagining Thule as not some distant planet, but as a mystical island just south of Hyperborea.


There are some magic items, some notes on converting monsters and even a small cavern crawl.


All in all the book is fine, but nothing really extra special. Maybe I was expecting more or something different. I don't know. I am not quite sure it lived up to my expectations of it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Dragon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/13/2015 14:53:36

The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence
Described as weird fantasy/sci-fi/gonzo, I also wondered if it was a subtle jab at "The Big Purple".
Let's start of with the easy stuff. Yeah, some people are likely to get offended by this adventure. That's not a bug, but a feature, as we say. Typically anything done either to purely offend or go out of it's way to push an agenda is going to suck. I get the feeling here that this is the sort of game he plays all the time. The art is still more "Heavy Metal" than it is "Hustler" and there is a solid 80s vibe to reading it all. Please keep in mind this aesthetic when reading; it is a guiding principle that fits the art and the game design. I think in someone else's hand it would have come off as crass or even as complete shit, but VS owns this. There is an honesty here that can be respected.


This book is a campaign book/hexcrawl/sandbox. The PDF is 110 pages and packed. It would make for a gorgeous looking book and it would sit nicely on my shelf with my other books circa 1983.


VSd6: This is a new mechanic introduced for skill checks/ability checks. He mentioned it has been influenced by 100s of other d6 based mechanics and you can see that here. It is an interesting system and provides some nice dramatic elements to the game, but not something I am planning on using myself.


Darker Secrets: This book also brings over the "Dark Secrets" idea/tables from Demon Slayer. So in some respects you can use this book as a means to "beef up" the Demon Slayer adventure, although you don't really need too. Though adding in the changes to magic that this book does might be fun.


The Monk: This campaign guide also features a Monk class. It is not too far from the AD&D1 standard, though not as much detail is given.


We get into the islands proper and are given some background; 20,000 years of background to be precise, but only in a couple of pages. The interesting bits happened in the more recent past including turning the "Purple Islands" into a penal colony. Yeah, no jabs here at all...


There is a lot going on with these islands and the worship of the Great Old ones is just a small part of it. The wording of the monsters, settings and even location is basic or even vague enough to allow you to put this anywhere. It feels kitchen-sinky enough to fit into places like Mystara (which has a little bit of everything anyway) but focused enough to give you hints that is part of a much larger world. Though I do like the appearance of the Shiny Demon and a preview of "Alpha Blue".


There are pop-culture references galore here, and it is very obvious that VS pulled out every bit of fantasy, sci-fi, euro-sleaze horror and 70s metal he had at his disposal and threw it into a blender with plenty of purple dye. It could have turned out to be a horrible mess, but it doesn't. Instead we get a ton of options spread over three islands.


I have to point out, don't play this as a single adventure. The purpose here really is not to clean out the island, but to explore it. It's a great place to strand some PCs after an ocean-going adventure.


At the end of the book we are given new spells and new magic items.


In the Afterword VS mentions that this product should not be used in isolation. I agree, again I think that this would make for a great semi-tropical island in Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea. The mythos are similar enough, or at least enough to fit together. The only thing that would make it more perfect is if this book could be printed in 7.0" x 8.5" format to fit in my AS&SH box.


Not sure where or how I want to use this yet, but I know I really want to.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Liberation of the Demon Slayer
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/12/2015 11:11:40

The adventure is six levels and 70 pages. VS suggests using 3 0-level characters per player and let everything work out, or a large party of 1st level characters. Nothing is mentioned on how many players, but I am guessing 6 to 8.


There is some background given about the world this adventure lives in. They are all optional, but it does set the mood for the rest of the book. I found the bits about Snake-men and elves to be interesting. The adventure is steeped in a lot of Lovecraftian tropes and we are introduced to some of the "Old Ones" here, albeit with different names.


If you, like me, love eldritch abominations and dark magic then this the adventure for you. The adventure itself "sounds" simple enough. Retrieve a demon killing sword from the caves to stop the demons attack your village. Easy peasy. Trouble is that the author grew up when dungeons-as-meat-grinders were a thing and everyone was afraid the big bad devil was going to get you. This adventure though is closer in tone and danger to the Hanging Coffins of the Vampire Queen than it is to most Lamentations of the Flame Princess products. With the right DM this could be a great and dangerous adventure where the party could live. Sure they could all easily die too. One can read this and imagine that all of the author's games are a bit like it.


Actually I have known the author for a number of years and yeah this is exactly the kind of things I expect in his games. I think the difference here with this adventure and some of his earlier material is there is a maturity here to accept the absurd. This adventure can be played straight or with a dash of dark humor. Think of it as a horror movie, even the scariest have a touch of humor to them; it sets you up for the bigger punch later down the road.


The adventure proper gets going about page 17. We are treated to rumors, some background, wandering monsters and some maps of the first level. The maps have been drawn by +Dyson Logos , so you know that these will be interesting. The feel of the first 4-5 pages of the adventure is really one of pure old-school nostalgia. The first level is a bit of meat grinder, by design, and there are a lot things going on here that would make the hard-core Gygazian adventure fan happy. Going back a bit it becomes obvious that the "optional" information above is still rather important since it colors the actions of many of the inhabitants in this dungeon.


As you descend into the dungeon things get weirder and more deadly. I mean really, really deadly. Devil lords, liches, vampires, freaking lasers and a nuclear warhead. Yeah, VS really cut his teeth on the 70s and 80s era gaming.


I want to take a moment to talk about the art. Yes there is a lot gore, nudity and phantasmagorical horror here. It comes off though more as "Heavy Metal" than say "Hustler". All I can really say is that it fits the aesthetic of the book. In truth I had more of an issue with the sci-fi elements (even though there were very good reasons for them to be there) than I had with the nudity.


The demon-slaying sword Kalthalax is an interesting weapon. One that would have a good home in my regular games to be honest and one that is enough of a hook to make me want to find a way to work this adventure in. Maybe I can make Clavenus a witch instead of a wizard.


In any case there is a lot of fun to be had with this adventure; if you don't mind the occasional casualty. I think what helps here is while the adventure is a meat grinder, it is done just to rid the party of the weak. They are expected to survive and tell people the tales of their great adventure.


While VS takes the care to make sure this works with nearly any old-school game (and in the future he fits 5e into that as well), I can't help but think how well this would work with Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea. The background is similar and the elves in Demon Slayer would be a nice addition to AS&SH, which does not have any elves. Indeed, elves would seem like souless, demon-like monsters compared to humans. At least to humans that have never seen an elf before. There is a mix of demons, devils and Lovecraftian beasts/gods that somehow feels right for that world. Mixing in AS&SH to this would give you something very, very close to playing akin to Michael Moorcock's world.


Curiously enough in my own games I do have an epic weapon for killing demons. In my current world state this sword is lost and a quest is needed to recover it. Maybe this is what I need. If so then the value of this adventure just increased ten-fold for me. I am going to have to spend some quality time with it and a pencil to see if it can be recrafted into something that fits my world a little better.


However YOU decided to use this adventure I am sure it will be fun. Maybe deadly fun, but certainly fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liberation of the Demon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 785 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG