RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Castles & Crusades Character Reference Sheets
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/04/2015 10:52:10
Sheets specifically designed for Castles & Crusades. Plenty of room for all your equipment, information and spells.
I like that they are a nice combination of both modern functionality (3.x era) and old-school sensibilities (AD&D). Diving the sheets up by what ability the characters need (Strength, Dexterity, Wisdom) is a nice call back to the old "golden rod" sheets of a bygone age.
Yes you can find sheets on the web for free, but these are worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Character Reference Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Tome of the Unclean
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/04/2015 10:41:23
A collection of fiends, demons and devils for C&C (and any SIEGE Engine Game like Amazing Adventures). At 38 pages it focuses on some of the classics of fantasy RPGs. There are not a lot, but there are enough new creatures and unique devils to make this worth anyone's while.
Personally I would love to use this with Amazing Adventures. Faustian bargins against a backdrop of 30s pulp noir is just too tempting not to do.

The creatures each get about half a page of stats and description along with art. Just because you know these creatures from other games don't assume you know them for this one! Actually, go right ahead and assume. That makes the game that much more fun for the Castle Keeper!
If I had a criticism it is I wish the book was larger. There is enough material out there for a book 4 times this size.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Tome of the Unclean
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

No Salvation for Witches
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/02/2015 13:15:07
I picked up this Lamentations of the Flame Princess adventure based partly on the name (how could I refuse? I also bought it because I am a fan of Rafael Chandler and his Teratic Tome. While this adventure uses the LotFP rules, it can be easily adapted to just about any OSR/Old School game. It is also set in James Raggi's pseudo European setting which also makes it easy to convert to just about anything if you don't mind ignoring some of the history presented.
As the title implies, NSFW is not for everyone. It is no worse or no better in terms of art than anything else in the Lamentations catalog or TT. I will give Raggi credit, he springs for some quality art.
The adventure itself is weird, bloody and full of body horror. It is also a race against the clock. IF you go with the idea that Woolcott is a witch (and not a LotFP magic-user) and evil then the PCs have something to work for. Otherwise I can't see how the world they create in the end is all that bad? I am kidding, a little. For me I think it would be interesting that if in their goodwill to recreate a better world they made it more horrible.
The adventure is a combination of Eurotrash occult horror, Lovecraftian style outsiders and creepy history. There is also a splash of 80s slasher flick in this. It is a heady brew of horror tropes in the guise of an adventure. The Tract of Teratology featured in this adventure is almost worth the cover price. The listed monsters are also really cool and unique.
It can be hard to judge power level of this adventure. But I am going to say high level at least.
The book is 68 pages with covers, maps and OGL. It is also full color.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Salvation for Witches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics: Saga of the Witch Queen
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/02/2015 11:25:49
A longer review is posted here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

This is a meaty module. 84 pages, covers, maps and OGL still leave a lot of pages for material.
First off, if you are not familiar with Dungeon Crawl Classics modules they are meant to emulate a certain feel of early 80s play. They went on to create the game Dungeon Crawl Classics, but the adventures are still largely OSR compatible. Actually I didn't see a single thing in this adventure screamed is should be used for one system or the other.
This adventure is actually 3 adventures in one. Legacy of the Savage Kings, The Lost Passage of the Drow, and War of the Witch Queen. Each one is a different part of the Witch Queen's plan.

Reading through this adventure is one part excitement for the new and one part excitement for the nostalgia. For the new, I wanted to learn more about Kyleth (the eponymous Witch Queen) and the tome Ars Maleficus. The nostalgia comes from many little easter eggs through out the pages that call back to adventures of the TSR-days. I am convinced the Mad Hermit here is the same as the one in the Keep on the Borderland for example. There are also hints of influences from Vault of the Drow, Ravenloft, and even the rest of the GDQ series. In fact the second adventure, "The Lost Passage of the Drow" could be slotted into the D series and no one would be the wiser. Replace Baba Yazoth with the proper Baba Yaga and have one of the many adventures she features in as a side trek.

There are a number of named characters that would work well as witches, Maeve, Baba Yazoth and of course Kyleth herself. While using the title of "Witch Queen" Kyleth is only an 8th level Magic-user. Make her a 9th or 10th level witch and then you have something really scary.

Does it work with The Witch? Yes, absolutely. There are number of great items and story points in this adventure for any witch character. In fact I would say that any good witch would want to see Kyleth taken out on general principle. Plus there are a number of encounters and NPCs that would benefit from the rules in the Witch. Night Hags get more spell casting powers for example and the medusa can also have some levels of witch.

Of course there is the one issue of Kyleth being one of The Thirteen. The Thirteen most evil wizards, witches and necromancers in the world. She was the newest member, who are the other 12 and what are their plans? Anyone up for an adventure against the Legion of Doom? I might have to come back to this idea. I can see witches, vivamancers, blood mages, evil wizards, and necromancers part of this evil cabal. Each providing something different.
Seriously, there is so much fun stuff here I can't wait to try it out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics: Saga of the Witch Queen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Evil of Witches Fen
Publisher: Taskboy Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/02/2015 10:31:37
More detail reviews are here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

This adventure is really more of hex-sandbox. It is two pages and the central conceit is the characters are stranded here till the next boat arrives so they might as well figure out why the place is dying. There are some suggested quests and some points of interest. There are a couple of witches mentioned. The Gray Lady is the spectre of an old witch. She is also a quest. Dispatch her to help bring the area back from extinction. There is also the remains of a witch cult. They are not described in any detail.
This is a pay what you want product, then by all mean plop down a buck for it. At two pages (no title page or ogl) there is a still a lot here. You can find out more at the author's website: http://games.taskboy.com/#tbg-b
Does it work with The Witch? Yes. Only in teh respect that the adventure has so little detail that it works with anything. Now for some people this is perfect. Indeed I can see a number of sessions based on these two pages alone. You can drop it into any game as a break from the regular campaign. But if you want more meat to your module then this might not be for you.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Evil of Witches Fen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ruins of Ramat (S&W)
Publisher: Arcana Creations
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/02/2015 10:20:37
More detailed review at http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

This one is for Swords & Wizardry, but can be played in any OSR game really.
14 pages, 2 mapes, cover, ogl. This is the S&W conversion of the Castles & Crusades adventure.
The adventure is a good introductory adventure for players and low level characters. It is a simple two level dungeon that used to be the home of an evil cult. So there are a lot of undead and some demonic powers here. The catacombs are supposed to be filled with treasure according to legends.
Given that this all takes place on "Witch Hill" I would want to expand its history a bit to say more about the cults that were there. I would make the cult a coven of witches.
What I think works best about this module is not only can it be located anywhere, but it can even be located under anything in another adventure. A little tinkering and suddenly I have "The Ruins on Witch Hill".

Does it work with The Witch class? Well. There are no witches in this. So unless I want to make an active cult there (and that is really a good idea) then there is not much to add from my book. Save for some magic items and scrolls with ancient spells.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Ruins of Ramat (S&W)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Witch of the Tarriswoods
Publisher: Sharp Mountain Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/02/2015 10:07:54
Full reviews are here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

A 24 page OSR adventure (2 covers, toc, ogl, 3 maps). It's a good adventure of the "there is something strange going on in the woods, let's investigate!" type. The hazards make this more of a challenge for 3-7 level characters instead of say 1-3. That is fine really. I would use this to lull seasoned players into a false sense of security and then show them there are still dangers to be had in simple settings. This is the perfect adventure for say a lazy afternoon. You can drop it nearly anywhere in your world. Our main bad gal is Llorona, Witch of the Tarriswoods. She is a 5th level magic-user.
Does it work with The Witch class book? Yes. I say change Llorona to a 5th or 6th level witch and give her some more spells. Given her name, dress her in blue and white gowns and focus on water-based spells. change the "wizard staff" to a trident or tined fork. This would make her much more of a threat.

If you have a couple bucks and need something fun for the afternoon then this is a great choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch of the Tarriswoods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for the kind review and the good suggestions. GM\'s should feel free to adjust the Witch to their needs and change her attire and such to their liking. Thanks again, I really appreciate it!
Sparks of Light
Publisher: Aether Drive
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/01/2015 11:56:53
Sparks is a light hearted game of Magical Girls. I uses the Fate system, but it can be used as a guide for any magical girl game regardless of system.
I think the most important thing about this book is how do the characters relate to each other and too the NPCs. This is the key feature of any magical girl story whether or not it is Sailor Moon, W.I.T.C.H., Cardcaptor Sakura or even Charmed. It is the relationships that define the character. Take someone like Tuxedo Mask from Sailor Moon, he is (let's be honest) useless. But he does have relationships to the rest of the cast and that makes for drama. Would it make for a good game? No, maybe not, but consider Angel in the first season of Buffy. He was basically Tuxedo Mask.
I also really liked the Hope Points mechanic. Magic Girls rarely see last death or injury (Sailor Uranus and Sailor Neptune not withstanding), so hit points don't really make a lot of sense. Plus the Darkness is not about killing really. It's about snuffing out the light or hope of the heroes.
In this respect it might make it a better game for little kids. Don't get me wrong, I have played D&D with grade-schoolers and they are a vicious, blood thirsty lot. But they don't have to be.
If you like Fate then is a good game to try out, especially given the price.
If you like Magical Girls then this is a must buy (even if some of this is covered in other books as well).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sparks of Light
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Witch Girls Magical Minutia: Crossover
Publisher: Channel M Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/01/2015 11:16:03
This book for Witch Girls Adventures previews a bit of the rules we will see in WGA 2.0 and the upcoming super hero games from Channel M. WE are introduced to Nemsis Earth, an Earth populated by superheroes and some differences in history. Chapter 1 covers the details of this new Earth and it's features, both magical and tech.
The book is presented from the point of view of a Witch Girl travelling across the dimensions.
There are plenty of new equipment for Witch Girl stars and even a new heritage (Half-Metahuman).
Chapter 3 covers Channel M's new "Youthquake" team of superpowered teens.
The general feel of this "Crisis on Two Earths" and honestly I really like that. I wish I had had this back when I was working on Season 3 of my Willow & Tara game where I crossed over to a super powered Earth that resembled the Earth int he DC universe. While reading this I was also wishing I had an Icons version of this. Same ideas, characters and text, but Icons as the rules. They would mesh together rather nice I think.
If you are a fan of supers and Witch Girls Adventures then this is a good buy.
One issue. I hate to bring this up, really. I love Malcolm's work but he should really hire a good proofreader and editor to help clean up his work. That leaves him to focus on the big ideas and let others do the editorial work.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Magical Minutia: Crossover
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Sailors: The Magical Girl Supplement for White Star RPG
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/01/2015 10:38:43
Oh, this one is a fun. This little book (11 pages, including cover and OGL) is packed full of great material. Basically this presents a Magical Girl class, the Star Sailors. Each level the Star Sailor gains a "Heart Power" of a different color. Very cool. They also get a "Starlight Blast" that is blasted out of her "Star Sailor Starlight Wand". I know this all sounds silly, but trust me, this is exactly the sort of thing you would see in a Magical Girl show or book. I also love how each power has a catchphrase. I would totally make my players say these to activate each attack.
The powers are described, with effects. Also some background on the Starlight Entity. The sailors also can have mascots, aka pets.
There is also a great monster/big bad for the sailors to fight, the appropriately named "Gloom".
While the book is overtly for White Star it includes some ideas for Modern Times and S&W.
Really, really fun. The art also really fun and appropriate.
Don't like Magical Girls? You could, with minor tweaking, turn this into a Green Lantern like organization.
Either way, this is great stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Sailors: The Magical Girl Supplement for White Star RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:32:16
Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:51
Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:31
Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers Printable Player's Guide
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:20:00
Read my full review here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2015/05/review-x-plorers-
.html

This is everything the play needs to get their characters from cool concept to play. Best yet, print it out and give copies to your players.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers Printable Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers QuickStart
Publisher: BD Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:18:23
This quickstart gets you set up with characters to play X-plorers.
Want to know more, read my full review here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2015/05/review-x-plorers-
.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers QuickStart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 752 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG