RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Mercenary
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:37:50
This one is really neat. It's a Starships & Spacemen class for starters. And it works great for that. In truth it is three classes that you can use how you need. This takes S&S from something that mostly "Star Trek" and makes it more Traveller. What I think is most interesting here is the market this opens up for BRG. Suddenly LL classes could now be converted to S&S classes with this template in mind.
I noticed the S&S compatibility license but not the OGL. Might need to add that.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mercenary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Halflings: Tales from the Fireside
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:35:14
This one is a bit different. First it is longer than all the other books at 23 pages. This is guide on playing halflings and what you can do with them. It is actually a rather fun book. It even has an evil counterpart in a monster section.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Halflings: Tales from the Fireside
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Half-Orc
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:34:36
Another one of the missing races from the "Basic" versions of the books. The Half-orc is a fighter with some nice abilities to cause extra damage and fear in others. Compared the classic Dwarf and Halfling classes this one works quite well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Half-Orc
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Half-Elf
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:34:18
The Original Basic rules and the games they have inspired have missed one important race; the Half-elf. This race-as-a-class gives you a 15-level class that is a combination of fighter and thief. The class to me seems to be missing something, but I am not quite sure what. Thinking back to the Half-elves I have read in tales, this class would work fine.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Half-Elf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gladiator
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:33:54
The Gladiator is a professional show fighter. There are a lot neat tricks for this kind of fighter say over the regular fighter. You could of course do some of this with clever role-playing. Though the rules here are pretty nice and well thought out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gladiator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Slayer
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:33:37
This one I have avoided reviewing since I have my own Dragon Slayer. Well technically "mine" was written by my oldest son. The Dragon Slayer has a lot of nice features which actually make the class more useful than some "Single Purpose" classes. In fact it could be re-tweaked and be any sort of monster hunting class.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Elf
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:33:16
Another older one. The Dark Elf is exactly that, the Chaotic, underground dwelling, cousin of the the Light Elves. They have some innate thief like abilities and some magic. On paper they most resemble a thief/magic-user multi-classed character. All-in-all a pretty satisfying class.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Elf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Burglar
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:32:55
This might one of the signature classes of BRG. The Burglar brings one of the most iconic figures of fantasy to Labyrinth Lord; the Halfling Burglar. Simply put the Burglar is a thief option for a halfling. Since Labyrinth Lord is Race-as-a-class then this is required. Otherwise this is a really fun class if you enjoy playing a halfling.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burglar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Barbarian
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:32:23
Another fairly self-obvious class. Your typical barbarian features are here; survival, calling a hoard, and savage strikes. No beserker like abilities though. I would have liked to seen more details on the Wilderness Survival skill. Does failure mean they don't find food for example. This is one of the earliest classes from BRG so I am sure an update would clear these up. Five pages, 1 for cover and 2 for the OGL.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarian
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bandit
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:31:39
This class is something of a cross between a fighter and a thief. Think along the lines of Robin Hood or a Highwayman. He has some thief skills, but some new ones like ambush and disguise. Honestly it would make a good compliment to the thief.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bandit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Archer
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:31:08
This is an older class compared with some of the others here. Five pages, 1 for cover, 2 for the OGL. The archer is exactly what is says. It is a bow and arrow focused fighter. This one doesn't have the utility for me as the other BRG classes, but my youngest son loved it. Still I think something like an extra attack per round before level 15 would have been nice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Archer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Acrobat
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:30:45
Six pages, 1 for the cover and 2 for OGL. This is more ore less an update of the Theif Acrobat class found in the Unearthed Arcana for 1st ed. This is a full class, not one that starts at 6th level. It is also redesigned with the LL/Basic rules in mind. The results are good. It feels different enough from the Thief (and Buglar and Bandit) to justify being it's own thing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Acrobat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 16:27:20
Another great Moldvay module. This one is so strange, but so much fun. I remember playing this one in 8th grade and honestly I had a blast. It wasn't though till many years later while running it for my own kids did I see it's Pulp fiction roots. Plenty of great influences can be seen in this from Robert E. Howard to Lovecraft to Clark Ashton Smith.

To me this one was always on the edge of that B/X divide. Sure it was a B series module, but it could have easily been one of the X series.
Unlike some adventures I played or ran in the 80s I went back to this one appreciated it more now then I did then.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 16:20:57
This adventure had always been something of a Holy Grail for me. I was a huge fan of Tom Moldvay, I had heard this adventure took place in Glantri and it was full of horror elements. As time went on and I still never found a copy I began to hear more; that it was a crazy dungeon full of crazier NPCs. That it is was more of a thinking module and not a hack and slash one and finally it was heavily influenced by Clark Ashton Smith, whom I always felt was superior to Lovecraft in many respects.

I did finally get a copy, paid a lot for it and I also got a copy here.
The module lives up to the hype. It is not a particularly easy module to run and you better spend a lot of time with it. But for me at that time (the mid 90s when I finally got a copy) it became a great addition to my growing Ravenloft collection. It was not officially part of Ravenloft mind you, but so much of it feels the same that is would have been a crime not to bring them together.

This is one of the last of the truly classic modules.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 14:36:45
This is my "go to" adventure anytime I want to start up a new group or game. It's a ritual for me, roll up characters and run them through the halls of the lost Castle of Quasqueton. I still have my copy that I bought all those years ago and it was also one of the first PDFs I purchased from WotC. I never really expanded on Roghan the Fearless or Zelligar the Unknown save that they were long dead and their Castle was now overrun with monsters.
It is one of those adventures I can run with zero prep time and each time I learn something new or remember something I forgot.
This module is simple, easy to use and can adapted to any campaign world and even any game.
It is a perfect module for the Basic game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 688 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG