RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Emily Vitori Designs: Lady Pirate 1
Publisher: Stardust Publications
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 16:00:53
Could be a pirate, could be a fighter. Either way I think I know where I can use her!
Hi-res TIFF image and easy to understand license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emily Vitori Designs: Lady Pirate 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Emily Vitori Designs: Lizardman 1
Publisher: Stardust Publications
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 15:58:17
Look more like a snake-face-man, but that is what I needed. Hi-res image and easy to understand license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emily Vitori Designs: Lizardman 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Emily Vitori Designs: Rogue Dancer 1
Publisher: Stardust Publications
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 15:55:51
What I needed when I needed it. Hi-res TIFF image and easy to understand license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emily Vitori Designs: Rogue Dancer 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

101 Variant Monsters (PFRPG)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 15:28:45
Like is says on the tin. 101 Variant monsters (44 pages), ordered by CR for Pathfinder.
Takes the normal monster from the Pathfinder Bestiary and provides an alternate or variant version. Perfect to spring a little new life into that standard monster (some of which have their roots in the game going back 30+ years).

Sure you can come up with all of this on your own, but there are lot of clever ideas here and for $6 you get 101 "new" monsters. Not a bad deal at all really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Variant Monsters (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Focus: Ghouls
Publisher: Minotaur Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 15:15:27
Six pages with cover and OGL. Presents some material for customizing ghouls and ghasts. New uses for Knowledge (Religion), new feats, alchemical items and spells. New magical items, new monsters and some adventure ideas. Crammed into just half-a-dozen pages, pretty good really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Focus: Ghouls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rappan Athuk Bestiary Pathfinder Edition
Publisher: Frog God Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 14:56:17
For under the price of a large latte you can get the Pathfinder version of the monsters from Rappan Athuk. There are some overlap here with other Fog God Games books, but this is still a solid collection of monsters.
26+ monsters ready to use in any Pathfinder game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rappan Athuk Bestiary Pathfinder Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rappan Athuk Bestiary Swords and Wizardry Edition
Publisher: Frog God Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 14:47:56
For under the price of a large latte you can get the S&W version of the monsters from Rappan Athuk. There are some overlap here with other Fog God Games books, but this is still a solid collection of monsters.
26 monsters ready to use in any S&W game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rappan Athuk Bestiary Swords and Wizardry Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Focus: Skeletons
Publisher: Minotaur Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 14:41:24
Six pages with cover and OGL. Presents some material for customizing skeletons and those that deal with these low level monsters. New uses for Knowledge (Religion), new feats, alchemical items and spells. New magical items, new monsters and some adventure ideas.
Crammed into just half-a-dozen pages, pretty good really.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Focus: Skeletons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Nemesis Bestiary Volume One
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 14:32:30
An interesting concept. 20 monsters complete with stat-blocks, art and description of their special abilities. There is almost no "fluff", just "crunch" to this book. The idea is you create the background yourself.
A lot of the monsters have origins that can be explained (undead, abberation) others just beg for their story to be told (whore eater and God Sperm for example).

Each monster was created in response to a piece of art. So somethings form can flow from function (Arm Stealer) or something else entirely.

If you want a book of ready use monsters, sans backgrounds, then this is a good choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nemesis Bestiary Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Skull Throne
Publisher: DramaScape
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 14:02:27
Wow. You get a lot more here than I expected.
You get a hi-res view of the room from above.
A flash file to se the room in 3d (really nice)
And a PDF to print out and put together.

If you have an evil necromancer, vampire or demon in your game that needs a throne room then this is a great choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skull Throne
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/13/2013 12:24:55
NOTE: This is an updated review.

A while back I wrote a review for Mazes & Perils, a 2012 Holmes-Basic Retro-clone from Vincent Florio.

http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2012/09/review-mazes-peri-
ls-2012.html

The 3rd printing/edition is now out (or rather it has been out for a bit) and I promised then I would re-review it.

This new version is cleaned up considerably and it does look like it has been rewritten. It is still free and the idea here (I think) is to provide a means to play "D&D Basic" or provide a common ruleset to allow people to create Basic-era compatible works. As a goal, that is a pretty solid one really. At 61 pages it is also really tight and it is also free.

I do want to address some of the issues that plagued the previous editions, but only as a means to talk about the improvements on this edition.
Like I said, the text has largely been rewritten. It now reads less like someone with a copy of Holmes Basic on their lap, but instead someone that played Holmes Basic for years and scribbled what they could from memory. The game now goes to 12th level, which is a good place to go to be honest. Yes, it is only 3 more levels than the previous version, but those are three levels that really make a difference in terms of end game play. Have a look of Adventurer Conquer King to see the same logic at work.

There are only the four basic classes (Cleric, Fighting Man, Magic-User, Thief) and the four basic races (Human, Elf, Dwarf Halfling).

I want to restate the things I did like about the previous versions. Obviously the name of the game is a nod to John Eric Holmes' book "The Maze of Peril" and I can respect that. If you are going to do a Holmes' homage or pastiche then that is a perfect name really. Clearly the author has done his research.

Others have complained about the art. I rather like it to be honest. The cover is very cool and the interior is no worse than what you would have seen in Holmes. In fact I was under the impression that the art was exactly what the author wanted. "Good" or "Bad" is subjective. To me it is perfect for this book.

What does this book do? OR What is it good for?
Well if you do want a simple game to give you the feel of D&D Basic, then it works well.
If you want an EASY book to create your own "Basic Era" products then it is also a good choice.
If you want a game with lots of options, then maybe Basic Fantasy, Labyrinth Lord, ACKS or even D&D Basic/Expert will work better.

This newer version is cleaned up and is certainly an improvement over the previous versions.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tacky, Tawdry and Tasteless: the Reality Show RPG
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/06/2013 15:25:18
A great game that comes in at just under 10 pages. Spectrum Games has made a name for themselves in Genre Emulation. Since Reality TV is often criticized as not needing any writers, the game brilliantly is equally as brief. Foregoing the typical "this is an RPG" section, the game gets right into the various types of reality TV shows are discussed. Once your group decides what sort of game they are going to do (or maybe your Director has decided for you) and then you go!
You then need to make your character. You figure out your name and stereotype then roll your stats. Figure out your positive and negative qualities and you are good to go! Like other Spectrum Games these qualities are not listed; instead you decide what they need to be. Typically these are needed to point out some character flaw your character has.
For rules, the only checks are ability checks (roll under, apply qualities as needed) and dramatic checks.
You also get "Edit Tokens" which work a lot like Drama Points. Tokens are awarded for good roleplaying and Sticking to Genre. You can also spend your tokens to change what is going on; such a "Oh No You Dit'unt!" and "I Ain't Goin' Nowhere!".
The basic structure of a game is also laid out, including Commercial Breaks. These can affect the Shows "Popularity" this can affect the amount of Edit Tokens the players can get.

The game is fast and is great for a like minded group. Given the nature of reality TV you could have enough material here for several "episodes" of material.

Personally I'd like to try it out sometime with people bringing in characters from any game and do a reality "TV Show" where all these characters have to live together in a house in between their normal adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tacky, Tawdry and Tasteless: the Reality Show RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art: Air Scarf
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/02/2013 13:46:01
Purple Duck always has the best stock art. Usually all I have to do is search RPGNow or DriveThru and they have the very thing I need.

Great art, easy to understand license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Air Scarf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tactical Art 001
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/02/2013 13:40:06
I love paper minis. I can print out as many as I need and if my kids want they can smash them when they have defeated them.
I also need more modern minis. So Dakkar has me covered on both grounds.

If you are at all familiar with Dakkar's work then you know what to expect here. Agents, aliens, gynoids, sexy civilians, sexier villains and so on.
All in all 92 cut our and fold minis. You can print them how you like for a variety of scales; though there is another product that has the same images scaled perfectly for 25mm. These are really designed for larger minis.

Great art. I even thought a few of them might work great in a couple of modern/sci-fi games I have.

The only thing that would make it perfect would be to combine Tactical Paper 001 and Tactical Art 001 into one product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tactical Art 001
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cerberus Stock Art: Zero One Three
Publisher: Cerberus Illustration
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/02/2013 13:20:37
20 high-quality, high-res images (about $1 an image). Great a variety of projects, heavy on the on the fantasy (though I'd love to find use for the 3rd Reich cyber-zombie).

Images look like paintings and not overtly like computer images. I like that.

There are a couple demons I have a use for already, so that made it worth it to me. The rest is icing on the cake.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cerberus Stock Art: Zero One Three
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review Timothy! Joe J. Calkins www.cerberusart.com
Displaying 91 to 105 (of 647 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG