RPGNow.com
Find Category













Back
Go Fer Yer Gun! $1.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 10
4 1
0 0
1 1
0 0
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Click to view
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2015 12:56:35

I don't like it because I don't like turning ampluas into fixed classes. Also other rigid things in it



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Tom K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2013 11:32:18

A very, very great game!

The Wild West! One of the greatest, ‘though oft’ overlooked, rpg settings, or setting for any type of fiction.

Very playable system all around. The 11 character classes are very well thought out – just enough detail, not too much. Very accessible. Flexible enough to admit house-ruling if you want.

Rustle yerself up a copy, saddle up some players and hit the dusty trail! Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by JERRY M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2012 17:16:09

Another great game from Simon Washburne.

GFYG is a quick, d20 style Western Game that allows for some great, old school meets modern RPG style gaming.

Get it now and have a blast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2011 14:01:13

In a world of 300+ page RPG rule books GFYG! is a breath of fresh air. The rules are open and flexible but at the same time complete. I can see with just a bit of finagling GFYG! could be adapted to many settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2010 11:18:06

GFYG is slick and fun!

It's a Class/Level game, not a skill based game. It's clearly based on the Castles & Crusades SIEGE engine, an OGL version of the d20 system so it's very easy to pick up if you're familiar with any d20 game. (aside: I highly recommend C&C. Check out the Free QuickStart rules).

The 'rules light' game design is simple yet robust with no skills or feats, so character creation and action adjudication is qick and straightforward. It's easily adaptable to any situation the players may get themselves into so it's easy to run as the Game Master.

What makes it FUN is that the default answer is "Yes" if the players want to try something, not "no, you don't have the right power/feat/skill/proficiency." Of course, characters of a particular class perform the skills associated with a class better (like a gunslinger using sneak/stealth will never move truly silently, as a scout doing so would).

Those seeking a rule for each and every possibility will not find them, and to me, this is a strength of the game. The GM is encouraged to use common sense and communication with the players to adjudicate unusual circumstances on the fly to better maintain the narrative flow of the story and keep the game’s pace up. In short, rules lawyers need not apply, and everyone will have more fun. (The above paragraphs are also true of Castles & Crusades, BTW.)

The classes in GFYG are cleverly designed and fit well the mold of popular Wild West fiction. It's easy to see a party of these characters meshing well and providing all the skills needed to succeed a mission.

The game comes with a good GM section, several references of real Wild West people from history and three scenarios the GM can expand into adventures (I love the A-Team reference in one of the scenarios, a great touch!).

The equipment section is purposely vague, and some players may want more details, but it totally works. It's a rules light game and arguing that a Winchester may do 1 hp more damage than a Colt would add nothing.

If I were to add anything, I'd like to see Beyond Belief publish a few adventures for GFYG, and perhaps publish a Weird West suppliment. But as is, I reckon GFYG is damn near flawless.

In summary, I'd say GFYG in fun and accessible. I say Go For GFYG now. I recommend it highly! (and for only three bucks, take a chance if you're on the fence)

A+, 5 out of 5 stars, a 10. :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2010 20:17:11

A fantastic bridge from old-timer Boot Hill to the modern d20.

Mr. Washbourne doesn't get nearly as much credit as he deserves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Fred M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2008 14:33:46

Excellent system especially if you want to run a fast, easy to learn campaign and introduce those not familiar with old west RPGs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Robert F. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2007 00:00:00

A nice, concise, simple-without-being-simplistic rules-set for Western role-playing. I like it a lot.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Everything. Especially the muckraker class!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Leigh W.
Date Added: 12/04/2006 15:04:53

A nice, neat little package that'll bring a touch of the 'real' wild west to your gaming table. Thoroughly enjoyable, well researched and some nice illustrations from the period help ease you into the days of the good the bad and the ugly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Marvin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2005 00:00:00

I was a fan (and playtester) of the "Castles & Crusades" RPG, and "Go Fer Yer Gun" is based on the same basic mechanic, so I liked it.

It's very "old school" in philosophy and is easy to run. Not much background (although several historical figures are profiled for insertion into a campaign if you like) but I'd rather make up my own stuff there anyway.

Hit dice are cut off at a lower level, making the game more dangerous all around. This is important in order to maintain the flavor of the Wild West where a bullet could take you out at any time.

A really fun game to play!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Simple mechanic, easy to play, easy to DM. Old School feel.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by DAN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2005 00:00:00

Go Fer Yer Gun! It is a cool, old school style rpg. One look and you will see the 1st edition AD&D feel. It skips the D20 OGL stuff that slows down the game and makes you search for rules instead of playing. I was looking for an old west RPG when I stumbled upon GFYG! Simple enough for new gamers but enough meat for old timers. I really like the way it handles saving throws and stat rolls. You have 11 different classes to choose from and can even multi class! For the price you cant go wrong. I have started a yahoo group if you want to join and exchange ideas. The author of the game has joined and answers questions very fast.

http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/Go_Fer_Yer_Gun/

<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Simple and fast easy to play <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Kreg M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2005 00:00:00

Really cool! Not a lot of background/setting info, but seriously...what do you need?! IT'S A WESTERN! Heck, go to your local library and pick up a few Lamour books and pick and choose..

I have been curious what all the hubub about Castles & Crusades was about. This is an EXCELLENT primer...it's like the OGL version of the D&D system DONE RIGHT! (in fact, i hesitate to say that this is a better "Boot Hill" than WotC could ever do; d20 Past indeed. boo-hiss.)

The Art is composed of black & white western clipart. (see cover image) While this doesn't bother me in the LEAST, others might complain. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: No needless rules minutia that has become (apparently) the selling point of d20. Attacks of Opportunity BEGONE!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not a thing. Low price, good quality.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG