RPGNow.com
Category
 Publisher Info













Back
Gemerator $5.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 6
0 2
1 0
0 0
0 0
Gemerator
Click to view
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 11:41:04

I have had this product for some time now. I have always liked it, but I never realized how valuable it was until my most recent campaign. In our current game the players have discovered an old abandoned mine. It is rich with raw minerals, gems and ores. The Gemerator has made my life so much easier as a GM in this campaign it's not funny. It is an excellent product for the gamers who want more flavor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2010 17:35:31

I have used the Gemerator for a while now. The steps and tables are manual (e.g. pencil and paper based) and time consuming for each gem/jewel. The result is a unique and enchanting gem that my players enjoy. I would highly recommend the Gemerator or providing the extra sparkle to a treasure pack.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Colin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2008 16:13:54

I've always disliked saying 'You find half-a-dozen rubies each worth 50gp' - with this you don't have to anymore!

It gives you a great list of semi-precious and precious gems so you can at least vary the types of gems your PCs find and gives a detailed system for generating individual gems.

I am very impressed with this product and the obvious effort and research that went into it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Rose T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2008 12:35:02

This has been very helpful to my gaming group. We will use it a lot. I really like that it has pictures of the stones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2007 23:10:49

Simply a fantastic product. If you EVER wanted to make gemstones a part of your treasure hoard, use this, please. Gives you the knowledge of a mineralologist as a DM. tell your players EXACTLY what the gem is worth and what it is, what it looks like, what color variant it has, how rare it is, the cut (or not). Simply put, I learned more about gem stones in this book, than I ever would have thought possible. Again, fantastic product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Joel, Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoy this product. We definately tried to make it so that GMs could understand minerology and gems without having to go through a minerology class (like I did!). We hope this book will find lots of use in your games. Geoff & Coy Tangent Games
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2006 00:00:00

Great work - this appears to be everything you need to generate complete descriptions of gems and determine their worth. Other reviews complain it's slow to generate gems on the fly, but there are easy ways to solve that:

  1. Pregenerate lots of gems in a wide variety of ranges to use when you need them.
  2. Streamline the generation process (it's not hard).
  3. Use the existing (quick) random generators from other sources; this is for when you need good descriptions for your players.

This product seems to be very complete, yet flexible and extendable for adding more gem types such as ones you make up for your own world.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It's exactly what it claims to be and seems to be complete.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: If it were going to be improved, maybe there could be a section suggesting how to create your own gem types, with what natural processes tend to create what colors, shapes, hardness, and other properties. That would just be icing on the cake, however.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2006 00:00:00

A great resource if you want to put gems into your treasures, whether they adorn crowns, swords, statues, etc. or lay around loosely. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Lots of charts and pictures of raw and polished gemstones<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Perhaps some examples of typical treasures would have been nice.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Gavin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2005 00:00:00

I bought this PDF for pretty much the same reasons the front page said--only I, as the DM, wanted to be able to provide the detailed descriptions that my players didnt even know they were lacking.

The thoroughness of the generator, albeit a little slow in the process, if amazing. It covers many different attributes of the gem and cost and description. It also provides a nice understanding of the gems it presents, without all the "scientific" extras that confound the subject.

The process for generating the gems is slow enough that it isnt conducive for making them on the fly, but if you have time to prepare, the results are outstanding.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Simplicity of gem description and explanation.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The book isnt well suited for on-the-fly generation.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG