RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink $2.50
Average Rating:3.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 2
0 3
0 1
0 1
0 1
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Click to view
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Charles F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2008 20:23:48

I love all of the comodity card set ups.. they help jog your brain for materials and other items you come accross in the world... Also they have each volume separated into catagories with percentile rolls too...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:49:36

VERY useful tool. These massive (but not TOO massive) charts allow you to tailor your more "mundane" finds and allow you to quickly furnish your areas with "stuff" without having to say, "ok, you search and find 6 silver pieces and a bunch of other non-valuable stuff". Now you can easily populate those not so important room and actually identify what all that "stuff" actually is! Hey, I didn't know terrycloth fetched that much gold?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2007 00:00:00

I am really not happy with this product at all. Based on the product description, which says that the cards "depict" various items, I expected illustrations. Instead, every "armor" card has the same picture (a fuzzy suit of plate mail), every "potion" card has the same picture, and so on. All that changes is the text. This is a big disappointment to me, and almost a complete waste of my $10 (bundle). Sorry to be harsh, but I did not get what I was expecting, based on the product description and lack of any available demo page.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The tables at the beginning might be useful.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The actual cards themselves, which are really the whole point of the product!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Poor<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Ripped Off<br>



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Chris, We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the Commodity Cards products that you purchased from us. Based on your comments, we have removed the word 'depict' from our product descriptions as we never intended to imply that each item has individual artwork. We are sending you a free copy of the Gems & Minerals Bundle, which is the same value as the Commodity Cards Bundle. We hope that you enjoy our products, and want to keep you as a valued customer. Thank you, Coy Kissee & Geoff Habiger Tangent Games
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Natalya F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2007 00:00:00

I like this series ... it's very comprehensive and while I don't know how compatible it is with D20 (particuarly D&D), I find it's depth and thoroughness to be very good.

I printed them all off and have them as a great reference.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Thoroughness.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not sure how keyed in they are with D&D source books.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2006 00:00:00

I'm actually going to post the same review for Commodity Cards 1 through 5 since I bought the bundle and have the same things to say about them:

The Commodity Card series makes it quite easy to generate "mundane" (and more realistic) treasure for players, which should make it harder for them to get too much treasure and encourage them to interact more with the fantasy world and NPCs. It's quite nice to have summary tables of the cards, which I think I'll use much more than the cards themselves. In addition, someone wanting to use the variety provided will probably have to do some research to find out what some of the products really are and how they get used, but some basic hints are provided for the esoteric items. Even if a DM wanted to change the values of some of the commodities, the list provides a good comparison of relative worth between commodities. Although there may not be much provided in terms of fantasy commodities, it wouldn't be hard for a DM to make some up and use the existing information to price it appropriately.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Good coverage of everyday commodities.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/02/2006 00:00:00

Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink is a 47 page pdf that forms part of Tangent Games' Campaign Detailer series of products. This product aims to provide a large number of printable cards featuring common or exotic commodities such as beverages or meats that can be used for a variety of purposes, including stocking random treasure on a merchant caravan or pirate vessel, or even supplying the crude kitchen of an orc lair. Of the 47 pages of this pdf, 31 pages are devoted to the printable cards, while the remainder of the pdf discusses usage of these cards and also provides handy reference tables for those that don't want to print these cards.

The pdf starts with a simple one page introductory tale illustrating the use of commodities in any everyday campaign. Given that merchants, trading, farming and other mercantile pursuits are to a certain extent the lifeblood of society, commodities have intrinsic value that should not be underestimated. This pdf attempts to bring that to life by offering no less than 300 different commodities that can be used in any campaign and spice up the flavor of a given campaign world. While players intent on starting their own business will find use for this material, most of it is likely to be material that falls into the DMs domain.

The pdf provides a detailed explanation of all aspects of the various commodity cards, and the meaning of the text and other information contained on each card. Brief information is given on where these cards can find use in-game, such as for a merchant vessel, caravan, kitchen, warehouse or anything else where large quantities of common or exotic commodities may be found. Quantities are generally arranged so that each commodity quantity would fill a 5 ft. square, something that will be useful on a grid or battlemap.

In addition to indicating where these commodities can find use, the pdf offers tables that allow one to generate them as random treasure, and full tables are provided that allow DMs to randomly roll for a commodity rather than selecting a specific one from a stack of printed cards. In addition, a table is provided that can summarize the result of haggling when aiming to sell or buy these commodities on the open market. Sound advice is provided on how to adjust prices of commodities according to region, as well as how to appraise the value of the commodities.

The commodities are divided into several categories including beverages, grains, vegetables, fruits, meats, oils and spices. Just about anything imaginable is covered in this list, and even if the commodities themselves aren't used as presented, the DM will have a long list of items that can be used to stock a kitchen, tavern, or warehouse.

The cards themselves, the size of business cards at 2.5" x 3" when printed, each come with a category image. For example, in the case of beverages it's a flagon of beer, while for meats it's a piece of steak. The images are generally simple clipart-type images, and serve more as an general identifier for a card than to look impressive. Given the sheer volume of cards and the likely requirement for more than one of each card, some people may not wish to print these cards out but rather use the tables provided to generate what's needed. Other information included on each card is value, weight, name, and details on appraising the commodity.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The product provides a splendid variety of items to choose from, and enough information to never be without a mundane foodstuff or beverage when you need one. The tables provide a convenient way of generating your own commodity when you need to. A good variety for those wishing to add something more to a market encounter or a trip on a merchant vessel.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd have appreciated more creativity in the different commodities presented. This is a product for a fantasy world after all, and something more creative than dwarven ale or goat's milk would've been a lot more useful. The cards will likely require some ink to print, so I suspect many DMs will likely use the tables instead.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Nathan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2006 00:00:00

I wasn't impressed. It seems likea great concept, but perhaps with the cards being only food and drinks I walked away from the product unfulfilled. I talk a lot about variety in my review and I didn't get a sense that there was much here. I like the idea of item cards for characters but i hardly see hte point in carrying a ham around. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: THe potential. I'll wait for future products. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: If i'm introducing thisidea i woudlnt start with ham and wine <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Nathan, thank you for your feedback! We just released Commodity Cards II: Raw Materials, and we hope that this new supplement will help accomodate your request for more variety in the types of "mundane" treasures that this product line details. As the product line expands, you will be able to have an even broader array of goods that can be found in merchant caravans, trading ships, and city marketplaces.
Commodity Cards I: Food and Drink
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2005 00:00:00

A very interesting idea for an RPG product. I like the ideas that it gives me as a DM. I think that actually printing out all the cards would consume a ton of ink, and serves no more of a purpose than a simple list of the products would. Fortunately, this master list is included, along with attributes and values for all the items, so I don't need to actually use them as cards. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The details regarding size, weight, and value of each commodity<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: That the images on each card were in color, thus discouraging me from printing out the cards.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG